DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Due to applicant’s amendment filed on August 7, 2026, the claim objections and the 112(b) rejections in the previous office action (dated 05/19/2026) are hereby withdrawn.
The status of the claim(s) is as follows:
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 10 and 13 have been amended,
Claims 3-4, 11-12 and 14 were previously presented,
Claims 8-9 were and still are withdrawn from further consideration,
Claims 15-20 have been cancelled.
Therefore, claims 1-7 and 10-14 is/are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, ln. 13, the phrase, “…and the first molded pulp standoff components…” should read “…and the plurality of first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components…” to establish the proper antecedent basis and for consistency purpose(s) with the remainder of the claim(s).
The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 7, ln. 6-11, the phrase, “…in the folded configuration….and the first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component is located on the first panel region and projects toward the second panel region and the second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component is located on the second panel region and projects towards the first panel region…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to how the first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component (on the first panel region) can project towards the second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component (on the second panel region) when the applicant has established that the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components are fixed to a respective external surface of the panel component (claim 2, ln. 17-21; which claim 7 now depends from). In other words, when the overall panel component is in the folded configuration, the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components are provided on the external surface (i.e. the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components WILL FACE AWAY FROM EACH OTHER), then HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THEY ARE PROJECTING (OR FACING) TOWARDS EACH OTHER AS WELL IN THE FOLDED CONFIGURATION AT THE SAME TIME? Further clarification is required.
Examiner's note: The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamura (JP 2007331798 A; hereinafter Takamura) in view of Smith (US 8875889 B2; hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Takamura teaches a packaging assembly embodiment (1; as shown in Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (14);
wherein at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components comprises:
a base part (i.e. the form of plate (10) having sections (10a-10d); as shown in Takamura Figs. 2-4),
a first projecting part (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3 below) extending from the base part and defining a first hollow cavity that is open at a bottom side of the base part, and
a second projecting part (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3 below) extending from the base part and defining a second hollow cavity that is open at the bottom side of the base part,
wherein the second projecting part is spaced apart from the first projecting part along the base part, and wherein a shape and size of the second projecting part is the same as a shape and size of the first projecting part (see Takamura pg. 5 – middle of pg. 7).
However, Takamura fails to teach a panel component including a plurality of fold lines formed therein and along which the panel component is foldable, the plurality of fold lines collectively defining a plurality of panel regions; and the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed on the panel component, wherein each one of the plurality of panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed thereto; wherein the panel component is changeable between a laid flat configuration and a folded configuration, wherein, in the laid flat configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in common plane and the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components project in a common direction from the panel component, wherein, in the folded configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in multiple different panels, wherein the at least one of the multiple different panels are angular offset from each other.
Smith is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and Takamura, which is a packaging assembly. Smith teaches a packaging assembly embodiment (as shown in Figs. 17a-17b) comprising:
a panel component (i.e. in the form of a stabilizing panel (36)) including a plurality of fold lines formed and along which the panel component is foldable, the plurality of fold lines collectively defining a plurality of panel regions;
a plurality of impact absorbing standoff component (i.e. in the form of box-like cells (35)) fixed on the panel component, wherein each one of the plurality of panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing standoff components fixed thereto; and
wherein the panel component is changeable between a laid flat configuration and a folded configuration, wherein, in the laid flat configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in common plane and the plurality of impact absorbing standoff components project in a common direction from the panel component, wherein, in the folded configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in multiple different panels, wherein the at least one of the multiple different panels are angular offset from each other (Smith Col. 6 ln. 42-50).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the packaging assembly (of Takamura) with a similar panel component (i.e. a stabilizing panel; as taught by Smith) to further strengthen the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (of Takamura). By providing the panel component (of Smith), the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (of Takamura) will have “…trapped air or other gas within them. When they are crushed, they may burst allowing restricted release of the air within them to contribute to the damping effect…”; emphasis added (see Smith Col. 6 ln. 47-50).
Regarding claim 2, Takamura teaches a packaging assembly embodiment (1; as shown in Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (14);
wherein each of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components comprises:
a base part (i.e. the form of plate (10) having sections (10a-10d); as shown in Takamura Figs. 2-4) and at least one projecting part (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3 above) extending from the base part and defining a hollow cavity with an opening at a bottom side of the base part (see Takamura pg. 5 – middle of pg. 7).
However, Takamura fails to teach a panel component including a plurality of fold lines formed therein and along which the panel component is foldable, the plurality of fold lines collectively defining a plurality of panel regions; wherein the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed on the panel component, wherein each one of the plurality of panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed thereto; wherein the panel component is changeable between a laid flat configuration and a folded configuration, wherein, in the laid flat configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in common plane and the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components project in a common direction from the panel component, wherein, in the folded configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in multiple different panels, wherein the at least one of the multiple different panels are angular offset from each other; and wherein each of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components is fixed on a respective external surface portion of the panel component by an adhesive that bonds the bottom side of the base part to the respective external surface portion of the panel component such that the external surface portion of the panel component covers the opening of the hollow cavity.
Smith is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and Takamura, which is a packaging assembly. Smith teaches a packaging assembly embodiment (as shown in Figs. 17a-17b) comprising:
a panel component (i.e. in the form of a stabilizing panel (36)) including a plurality of fold lines formed and along which the panel component is foldable, the plurality of fold lines collectively defining a plurality of panel regions;
a plurality of impact absorbing standoff component (i.e. in the form of box-like cells (35)) FIXED ON THE RESPECTIVE EXTERNAL SURFACE OF THE PLURALITY OF PANEL REGIONS OF THE PANEL COMPONENT, wherein each one of the plurality of panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing standoff components fixed thereto;
wherein the panel component is changeable between a laid flat configuration and a folded configuration, wherein, in the laid flat configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in common plane and the plurality of impact absorbing standoff components project in a common direction from the panel component, wherein, in the folded configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in multiple different panels, wherein the at least one of the multiple different panels are angular offset from each other; and wherein each of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components is fixed on a respective external surface portion of the panel component by an adhesive (see Smith Col. 5 ln. 44-49) that bonds the bottom side of the base part to the respective external surface portion of the panel component such that the external surface portion of the panel component covers the opening of the hollow cavity. (Smith Col. 6 ln. 42-50 and see annotated Smith Figs. 17a-17b above).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the packaging assembly (of Takamura) with a similar panel component (i.e. a stabilizing panel; as taught by Smith) to further strengthen the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (of Takamura). By providing the panel component (of Smith), the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (of Takamura) will have “…trapped air or other gas within them. When they are crushed, they may burst allowing restricted release of the air within them to contribute to the damping effect…”; emphasis added (see Smith Col. 6 ln. 47-50).
Regarding claim 3, modified Takamura as above further teaches wherein the panel component is not formed of molded pulp (Smith Col.6 ln. 4-7).
Regarding claim 5, modified Takamura as above further teaches wherein the packaging assembly lacks any [of the plurality of] impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components that are fixed to more than one of the plurality of panel regions (see annotated Smith Figs. 17a-17b above).
Regarding claim 6, modified Takamura as above further teaches wherein the plurality of panel regions include a first panel region and a second panel region;
the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component include a first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component and a second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component;
the first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component located on the first panel region, the second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component located on the second panel region, wherein the second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component has a different configuration than the first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component (see annotated Smith Figs. 17a-17b above).
Regarding claim 10, modified Takamura as above further teaches wherein: the plurality of panel regions include a first panel region, a second panel region and a third panel region;
the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components include a first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component, a second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component and a third impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component;
in the folded configuration, the first, second and third panel regions are oriented relative to each other to define a three-dimensional corner, the first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component is located on the first panel region and projects outward from the corner in a first direction, the second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component is located on the second panel region and projects outward from the corner in a second direction that is different from the first direction, and the third impact absorbing molded pulp standoff component is located on the third panel region and projects outward from the corner in a third direction that is different from both the first direction and the second direction (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3’ below).
Regarding claim 11, modified Takamura as above further teaches wherein the plurality of fold lines include a first fold line and a second fold line;
the first panel region and the second panel region are directly connected along the first fold line, wherein the first panel region and the third panel region are directly connected along the second fold line, and the second panel region and the third panel region are not directly connected along any fold line (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3’ above).
Regarding claim 12, modified Takamura as above further teaches a multi-sided product (i.e. inner box (31)), wherein the panel component is in the folded configuration, wherein a corner region of the multi-sided product is disposed at an interior side of the three-dimensional corner and in engagement with the first panel region, the second panel region and the third panel region (see Takamura Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Takamura teaches a packaging assembly embodiment (1; as shown in Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a first standoff component assembly (i.e. the front lower cushioning material – as shown in annotated Takamura Fig. 1 below) comprising:
a plurality of first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (14; on the front lower cushioning material);
wherein at least one of the plurality of first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components comprises:
a first base part (i.e. the form of plate (10) having sections (10a-10d); as shown in Takamura Figs. 2-4),
a first projecting part (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3 above) extending from the base part and defining a first hollow cavity that is open at a bottom side of the first base part, and
a second projecting part (see annotated Takamura Fig. 3 above) extending from the first base part and defining a second hollow cavity that is open at the bottom side of the first base part,
wherein the second projecting part is spaced apart from the first projecting part along the first base part, and wherein a shape and size of the second projecting part is the same as a shape and size of the first projecting part;
a second standoff component assembly (i.e. the rear lower cushioning material – as shown in annotated Takamura Fig. 1 below) comprising:
a plurality of second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (14; on the rear lower cushioning material);
wherein at least one of the plurality of second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components comprises:
a second base part (i.e. the form of plate (10) having sections (10a-10d); as shown in Takamura Figs. 2-4),
a third projecting part extending from the second base part and defining a third hollow cavity that is open at a bottom side of the second base part, and
a fourth projecting part extending from the second base part and defining a fourth hollow cavity that is open at the bottom side of the second base part,
wherein the fourth projecting part is spaced apart from the third projecting part along the second base part, and wherein a shape and size of the fourth projecting part is the same as a shape and size of the third projecting part;
a packaged product (i.e. inner box (3)) engaged (i) on a first side or end by the first standoff component assembly in the first folded configuration and (ii) on a second side or end by the second standoff component assembly in the second folded configuration (see Takamura pg. 5 – middle of pg. 7).
However, Takamura fails to teach the first standoff component assembly comprising a first panel component including a plurality of first fold lines formed therein and along which the first panel component is foldable, the plurality of the first fold lines collectively defining a plurality of first panel regions; the plurality of first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed on the first panel component, wherein each one of the plurality of first panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of first impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed thereto; wherein the first panel component is changeable between a first laid flat configuration and a first folded configuration, wherein, in the first laid flat configuration, the plurality of first panel regions lie in a common first plane and the [plurality of] first [impact absorbing] molded pulp standoff components project in a common first direction from the first panel component, wherein, in the first folded configuration, the plurality of first panel regions lie in multiple different planes, wherein at least some of the multiple different planes are angularly offset from each other; AND
the second standoff component assembly comprising a second panel component including a plurality of second fold lines formed therein and along which the second panel component is foldable, the plurality of the second fold lines collectively defining a plurality of second panel regions; the plurality of second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed on the second panel component, wherein each one of the plurality of second panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed thereto; wherein the second panel component is changeable between a second laid flat configuration and a second folded configuration, wherein, in the second laid flat configuration, the plurality of second panel regions lie in a common second plane and the plurality of second impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components project in a common second direction from the second panel component, wherein, in the second folded configuration, the plurality of second panel regions lie in multiple different planes, wherein at least some of the multiple different planes are angularly offset from each other.
Smith is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and Takamura, which is a packaging assembly. Smith teaches a packaging assembly embodiment (as shown in Figs. 17a-17b) comprising:
a panel component (i.e. in the form of a stabilizing panel (36)) including a plurality of fold lines formed and along which the panel component is foldable, the plurality of fold lines collectively defining a plurality of panel regions;
a plurality of impact absorbing standoff component (i.e. in the form of box-like cells (35)) FIXED ON THE RESPECTIVE EXTERNAL SURFACE OF THE PLURALITY OF PANEL REGIONS OF THE PANEL COMPONENT, wherein each one of the plurality of panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing standoff components fixed thereto;
wherein the panel component is changeable between a laid flat configuration and a folded configuration, wherein, in the laid flat configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in common plane and the plurality of impact absorbing standoff components project in a common direction from the panel component, wherein, in the folded configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in multiple different panels, wherein the at least one of the multiple different panels are angular offset from each other; and wherein each of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components is fixed on a respective external surface portion of the panel component by an adhesive (see Smith Col. 5 ln. 44-49) that bonds the bottom side of the base part to the respective external surface portion of the panel component such that the external surface portion of the panel component covers the opening of the hollow cavity. (Smith Col. 6 ln. 42-50 and see annotated Smith Figs. 17a-17b above).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide each of the first standoff component assembly and the second standoff component assembly (of Takamura) with a similar panel component (i.e. a stabilizing panel; as taught by Smith) to further strengthen the first standoff component assembly and the second standoff component assembly (of Takamura). By providing the panel component (of Smith), the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components on BOTH the first standoff component assembly and the second standoff component assembly (of Takamura) will have “…trapped air or other gas within them. When they are crushed, they may burst allowing restricted release of the air within them to contribute to the damping effect…”; emphasis added (see Smith Col. 6 ln. 47-50).
Regarding claim 14, modified Takamura as above further teaches a box (31; see annotated Takamura Fig. 1 above);
wherein the packaged product, first combination panel and standoff component assembly and second combination panel and standoff component assembly are contained within the box.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the applied references (as applied to claim 1 above) and further in view of Van Der Werf (WO 02076848 A1; hereinafter Van Der Werf).
Regarding claim 4, Takamura as above teaches all the structural limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 3 (respectively), except for wherein the panel component is a corrugated board panel.
Van Der Werf is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, which is a packaging assembly. Van Der Werf teaches a packaging assembly (1) comprising :
a panel component (2; specifically made for corrugated cardboard material [which examiner equates to the claimed corrugated board panel]; see Van Der Werf pg. 3 ln. 29-30) including a plurality of fold lines formed therein and along which the panel component is foldable, the plurality of fold lines collectively defining a plurality of panel regions;
a plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components (3-5) fixed on the panel component, wherein each one of the plurality of panel regions includes at least one of the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components fixed thereto;
wherein the panel component is changeable between a laid flat configuration and a folded configuration, wherein, in the laid flat configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in a common plane and the plurality of impact absorbing molded pulp standoff components project in a common direction from the panel component, wherein, in the folded configuration, the plurality of panel regions lie in multiple different planes, wherein at least some of the multiple different planes are angularly offset from each other (Van Der Werf pg. 3 ln. 28 – pg. 4 ln. 3 and Fig. 1).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a similar corrugated cardboard panel component (as taught by Van Der Werf) for the panel component (of Takamura) INSTEAD of the composite panel component (that modified Takamura currently uses) to increase the overall strengthen of the overall packaging assembly (of Takamura). Since, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP §2144.07
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection(s).
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736