DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged. It is noted applicant indicated Group I, now includes claims 1-10, 12-18 and 21-23. It is agreed that new claims 21-23 are now included in Group I, drawn to a machine assembly. However, claims 10, and 12-18 are drawn to a method of Group II, which is nonelected. Group I drawn to a machine assembly includes claims 1-9 and 21-23.
Claims 10, 12-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fluch [EP400919, machine translation provided].
Fluch discloses a machine assembly for producing a laminated core comprising: an uncoiler (4) configured to uncoil a roll of sheet metal (paragraph 0023; Figure 1); an adhesive application apparatus (18) arranged downstream of the uncoiler and configured to
apply an adhesive to at least one side of the sheet metal (paragraph 0032; Figure 1); a first curing apparatus (21) arranged downstream of the adhesive application apparatus and configured to partially cure the adhesive (paragraph 0034; Figure 1); a stamp and punch machine (11, 14) arranged downstream of the first curing apparatus and configured to stamp and punch the sheet metal to form stamped metal pieces (Figure 1); a stacking apparatus (15) configured to form a stack of the stamped metal pieces (Figure 1); and a second curing apparatus (16) configured to fully cure the adhesive between each stamped metal piece in the stack to form the laminated core (Figure 1).
With respect to claim 21, Fluch discloses a machine assembly for producing a laminated core comprising: a storage area (4) for a roll of coil (Figure 1); an uncoiler (4) configured to uncoil a roll of sheet metal (paragraph 0023; Figure 1); an adhesive application apparatus (18) arranged downstream of the uncoiler and configured to apply an adhesive to at least one side of the sheet metal (paragraph 0032; Figure 1); a first curing apparatus (21) arranged downstream of the adhesive application apparatus and configured to partially cure the adhesive (paragraph 0034; Figure 1); a stamp and punch machine (11, 14) arranged downstream of the first curing apparatus and configured to stamp and punch the sheet metal to form stamped metal pieces (Figure 1); a stacking apparatus (15) configured to form a stack of the stamped metal pieces (Figure 1); and a second curing apparatus (16) configured to fully cure the adhesive between each stamped metal piece in the stack to form the laminated core (Figure 1). As Fluch shows the entire assembly in a single process line it is implied the entire assembly would be in the same warehouse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluch in view of Bohm [WO2024/105011]
Fluch discloses a machine assembly. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Fluch.
With respect to claim 2, Fluch discloses an uncoiler but fails to disclose one or more feeds between the uncoiler and the stamp and punch. Bohm discloses a machine assembly. Bohm discloses the assembly includes a feed unit (18) and a second feed unit (’18) between the uncoiler (feed unit 18) and the samp punch (10) (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the assembly of Fluch by including a second feed unit as taught by Bohm in order to improve efficiency of the apparatus and allow for faster processing.
With respect to claim 5, Fluch discloses an adhesive but fails to disclose an induction coil heater. Bohm discloses the apparatus includes an adhesive activation unit (30) which operates by heating and Bohm suggests induction which one of ordinary skill would appreciate would require an induction coil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Fluch by including an induction coil as taught by Bohm in order to ensure the adhesive is activated by the assembly.
With respect to claim 22, Fluch discloses the adhesive can be cured with heat, and Bohm discloses the adhesive can be treated thermally with heat or by UV radiation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus to include different curing apparatus as taught by Bohm in order to ensure a complete and efficient curing of the adhesive.
With respect to claim 23, with respect to insulating the inductor, it is well within the knowledge and ability of one of ordinary skill to insulate an induction coil from a metal workpiece in order to prevent electrical shortening, arcing and damage.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluch in view of Matsubara [DE112011100132, machine translation provided].
Fluch discloses a machine assembly. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Fluch.
With respect to claim 3, Fluch discloses an uncoiler but fails to disclose a straightener. Matsubara discloses a machine assembly. Matsubara discloses the feed of material leaves an uncoiler (11) and is passed to a straightener (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Fluch to include a straightener as taught by Matsubara in order to improve flatness of the feed and thereby reduce flaw occurrences in the final product and inefficiencies in the process.
With respect to claim 4, Fluch fails to disclose a loop control. Matsubara discloses the apparatus can be improved by being capable of operating at higher speeds and in a compact form by providing a loop control (loop guide portion) to ensure material is continuously fed to the punching station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Fluch by including a loop control as taught by Matsubara in order to increase machine speed while minimizing the size of the apparatus.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluch, Bohm and further in view of Swanger et al. [US6963057].
Fluch as modified discloses a machine assembly. Applicant is referred to paragraph 7 for a detailed discussion of Fluch as modified. Bohm discloses an induction heater. Swanger discloses an apparatus for heating workpieces with an induction coil. Swanger discloses skewing the induction coil relative to the direction of travel of the workpieces maximizes the volume of the workpieces heated by the inductor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to further modify the apparatus of Fluch by skewing the angle of the induction coil relative to the direction of travel of the workpieces as taught by Swanger in order to maximize the volume of the workpiece being heated.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluch in view of Merz [DE102012000705, machine translation provided].
Fluch discloses a machine assembly. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Fluch. Fluch discloses applying an adhesive but fails to disclose a roll coater.
Merz discloses a machine assembly. Merz discloses a coating unit including roll coaters (20, 21) configured to only coat one side of the sheet metal (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Fluch by including roll coaters as taught by Merz in order to rapidly and efficiently coat the workpiece feed with adhesive.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluch in view of Karlsson et al. [US2005/0126676].
Fluch discloses a machine assembly. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Fluch. Fluch discloses an uncoiler to feed the material worked upon by the assembly, but fails to disclose a cleaning system.
Karlsson discloses a machine assembly. Karlsson discloses a feed of metal foil is uncoiled and cleaned (paragraph 0030) prior to applying an adhesive for laminating the metal foil.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Fluch by including a cleaning system as taught by Karlsson in order to improve the surface of the material to be bonded prior to bonding thereby improve the quality of the final product and reducing chances of delamination due to contamination.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fluch in view of Alvensleben et al. [US4223633].
Fluch discloses a machine assembly. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Fluch. Fluch discloses an adhesive coater but fails to disclose a cleaning system.
Alvensleben discloses an apparatus including an adhesive coating applicator with a purge system which flushes away residual materials (column 6, lines 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of Fluch to include a cleaning system (purge system) as taught by Alvensleben in order to prevent plugging up the adhesive coating system with settled material.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
September 5, 2026