DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the leaf spring from claim 7 and the first surface and the second surface that are substantially aligned from claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the phrase “the biasing element comprises a leaf spring” from claim 7 does not have proper antecedent basis in the specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the phrase “the first surface and the second surface are substantially aligned” from claim 15 does not have proper antecedent basis in the specification
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19, line 1, recites “wherein latch element” which is grammatically incorrect and should be changed to --wherein the latch element--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8-14, and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 11, 12, and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,242,297 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 2. The latch element in current claim 2 corresponds to the labyrinth in claim 1 of ‘297, and the biasing element in current claim 2 corresponds to the spring in claim 1 of ‘297.
Claim 1 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 3.
Claim 2 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 5.
Claim 3 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 6.
Claim 4 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 8.
Claim 5 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 9.
Claim 6 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 10.
Claim 7 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 11.
Claim 7 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 12. Claim 7 of ‘297 discloses that the latch plate moves thus is also viewed as translating.
Claim 11 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 13.
Claim 12 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 14.
Claim 16 of ‘297 discloses all of the claim limitations of current claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 4-6, 8, 10-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Twomey (US 8,945,175 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Twomey discloses a latching mechanism comprising:
an actuation member (41) including a latch pin (45), the latch pin configured to move in a prescribed motion (the motion of 45 when 41 is engaged and disengaged);
a latch plate (46) including a latch element (50) for selectively receiving the latch pin, the latch pin engageable with the latch element to cause movement of the latch plate; and
a biasing element (47) configured to bias the latch plate.
Regarding claim 4, Twomey discloses that the biasing element is configured to extend and compress during movement of the latch plate (47 is a cantilevered spring thus when 47 bends from its home/neutral position to a bent position it is viewed as being compressed because it being bent towards itself and when 47 leaves the bent state and returns to the home/neutral position it is viewed as being extended).
Regarding claim 5, Twomey discloses that the biasing element extends from and is connected to the latch plate (see Figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Twomey discloses that the biasing element is integrally formed with the latch plate (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Twomey discloses that the actuation member comprises a lever (41 is a lever as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Twomey discloses that the prescribed motion comprises arcuate motion (41 moves in an arcuate manner thus 45 moves in a corresponding arcuate manner).
Regarding claim 11, Twomey discloses a latching mechanism of a surgical device, the latching mechanism comprising:
an actuation member (41) including a latch pin (45) configured to move in a prescribed motion (the motion of 45 when 41 is engaged and disengaged);
a latch plate (46) including a latch element (50) for selectively receiving the latch pin, the latch pin and the latch element engageable to move the latch plate in at least two directions (away from the home position and back towards the home position) relative to a home position (the position of 46 when the latching mechanism is not operated by a user); and
a spring (47) for biasing the latch plate towards the home position.
Regarding claim 12, Twomey discloses that the latch plate is configured to translate (46 is capable of moving thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 13, Twomey discloses that the latch element comprises a concave surface (54) for configured to receive the latch pin during latching.
Regarding claim 14, Twomey discloses that the latch element comprises:
a first surface (the area of 50 to the left of P4 in Figure 6) engageable with the latch pin prior to seating of the latch pin in the concave surface; and
a second surface (the area of 50 to the left of P6 in Figure 6) engageable with the latch pin after the latch pin is unseated from the concave surface.
Regarding claim 15, Twomey discloses that the first surface and the second surface are substantially aligned (the viewed first and second surface of Twomey are viewed as being substantially aligned because they are as much substantially aligned as Applicant’s first surface (260) and second surface (265) as shown in Applicant’s Figure 26).
Regarding claim 16, Twomey discloses a latching system for a surgical forceps, the latching system comprising:
a first member (20);
a second member (41) including a latch pin (45), the latch pin configured to move in a prescribed motion (the motion of 45 when 41 is engaged and disengaged);
a latch plate (46) mounted to the first member and including a latch element (50) for selectively receiving the latch pin, the latch pin and the latch element engageable to cause movement of the latch plate; and
a spring (47) extending axially and configured to bias the latch plate.
Regarding claim 18, Twomey discloses that the spring extends from and is connected to the latch plate (see Figures 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 19, Twomey discloses that the latch element includes a first surface (the surface that P3 directly contacts in Figure 6), a second surface (the surface to the right of P5 in Figure 6), and a third surface (the surface to the left of P6 in Figure 6) defining a labyrinth (see the shape of 50) configured to selectively receive the latch pin.
Regarding claim 20, Twomey discloses that the latch pin is engageable with the first surface of the latch element to force the latch plate away from the latch pin (when the pin is at P3, the pin causes 47 to be flexed and urges 46 off of the neutral axis N-N thus meeting the claim limitation).
Regarding claim 21, Twomey discloses that the latch pin is engageable with the second surface of the latch element to maintain a position of the latch pin and the first member (Column 7 / Lines 28-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twomey (US 8,945,175 B2) in view of Bales et al. (US 5,176,702).
Regarding claim 7, Twomey discloses all of the claim limitations, see above, but does not disclose that the biasing element comprises a leaf spring.
Bales et al. teaches a spring (400) that is a leaf spring (Column 11 / Lines 52-58).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biasing element of Twomey to be a leaf spring, as taught by Bales et al., for the purpose of providing a spring type that provides consistent dampening during the pivoting movements of the latch plate while allowing for the user to vary the spring dampening by altering the leaves of the leaf spring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Larson et al. (US 9,192,432 B2) discloses lever latch assemblies that includes a latch assembly that generally includes a latch arm coupled to a movable handle and a latch block engaged to a housing, although the reverse configuration, e.g., wherein the latch block is engaged to the movable handle and the latch arm is coupled to the housing.
/ADAM D ROGERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617