DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim under KR 10-2024-0025268 filed on 2/21/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minakuti et al, US 2017/0139308 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Minakuti discloses an encoding device comprising: an encoder configured to spatially filter image data based on a filter coefficient and encode the filtered image data; and a controller configured to receive encoding information from the encoder and, based on the encoding information, determine a variable parameter for adjusting the filter coefficient (Minakuti [0038] FIG. 23 – an example of a sharpness correction amount (a spatial filter coefficient) in accordance with the applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter; [0123] – FIG. 21 illustrates a parameter table summarizing an applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter 30 that is used when the low-pass adjustment mode is the normal mode. FIG. 22 illustrates a high-pass filter for detection of a high frequency component that is used when the low-pass effect adjustment mode is the automatic mode. FIG. 23 illustrates a parameter table summarizing a sharpness correction amount (a spatial filter coefficient) in accordance with an applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter 30).
Regarding Claim 11, Minakuti discloses a method of operating an encoding device, the method comprising: determining a variable parameter for adjusting a filter coefficient based on encoding information; calculating the filter coefficient based on the variable parameter; spatially filtering image data based on the filter coefficient; and encoding the filtered image data (Minakuti [0038] FIG. 23 – an example of a sharpness correction amount (a spatial filter coefficient) in accordance with the applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter; [0123] – FIG. 21 illustrates a parameter table summarizing an applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter 30 that is used when the low-pass adjustment mode is the normal mode. FIG. 22 illustrates a high-pass filter for detection of a high frequency component that is used when the low-pass effect adjustment mode is the automatic mode. FIG. 23 illustrates a parameter table summarizing a sharpness correction amount (a spatial filter coefficient) in accordance with an applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter 30; [0123] – FIG. 23 illustrates a parameter table summarizing a sharpness correction amount (a spatial filter coefficient) in accordance with an applied voltage to the variable optical low-pass filter 30; [0135] – Next, in the step S207, sharpness correction is performed. The sharpness correction is performed by a 5×5 spatial filter, for example. A filter coefficient is determined in accordance with the low-pass characteristics (applied voltage) of the variable optical low-pass filter 30 determined in the step S200 with reference to a sharpness correction parameter table (FIG. 23) held in the camera 100, and the process is performed).
With regard to claim 16, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 11 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 11 is applied to claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minakuti, in view of Jang et al, US 2015/0319439 A1.
Regarding Claim 7, Minakuti discloses the encoding device of claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Minakuti does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to determine whether a bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information, configured to reduce the variable parameter based on the bitrate being overshot, and configured to increase the variable parameter based on the bitrate being undershot
Jang teaches the controller is configured to determine whether a bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information, configured to reduce the variable parameter based on the bitrate being overshot, and configured to increase the variable parameter based on the bitrate being undershot (Jang [0107] – In the table illustrated in FIG. 9, the term “overshoot” means that the bit rate PBR of a previous frame is greater than the first reference bit rate RBR1 or that the bit rate of a previous macroblock is greater than the second reference bit rate RBR2. The term “undershoot” means that the bit rate PBR of a previous frame is less than the first reference bit rate RBR1 or that the bit rate of a previous macroblock is less than the second reference bit rate RBR2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Minakuti to determine whether a bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information, configured to reduce the variable parameter based on the bitrate being overshot, and configured to increase the variable parameter based on the bitrate being undershot, as taught by Jang. One would be motivated adjust a parameter based on overshoot/undershoot.
Regarding Claim 8, Minakuti discloses the encoding device of claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Minakuti does not explicitly disclose the filter coefficient is configured to increase a cut-off frequency of the spatial filtering based on the variable parameter increasing, and wherein the filter coefficient is configured to decrease the cut-off frequency based on the variable parameter decreasing.
Jang teaches the filter coefficient is configured to increase a cut-off frequency of the spatial filtering based on the variable parameter increasing, and wherein the filter coefficient is configured to decrease the cut-off frequency based on the variable parameter decreasing (Jang [0111] – The pre-processing circuit 250, e.g., a spatial filter, may decrease the cutoff frequency using the first parameter PAR1 in operation S125. Therefore, the number of bits generated when the current frame CF is encoded may be decreased. When the bit rate PBR of the previous frame is less than the first reference bit rate RBR1, that is, in case of undershoot in operation S130, the CPU 210 may generate the first parameter PAR1 for increasing the cutoff frequency and may transmit the first parameter PAR1 to the pre-processing circuit 250; [0112] – The pre-processing circuit 250, e.g., a spatial filter, may increase the cutoff frequency using the first parameter PAR1 in operation S135. Therefore, the number of bits generated when the current frame CF is encoded may be increased).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Minakuti to increase a cut-off frequency of the spatial filtering based on the variable parameter increasing, and wherein the filter coefficient is configured to decrease the cut-off frequency based on the variable parameter decreasing, as taught by Jang. One would be motivated as the cut-off frequency allows for a system to maintain a certain range of a parameter for processing purposes.
Regarding Claim 9, Minakuti discloses the encoding device of claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Minakuti does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to transmit bit control information to the encoder and configured to control a bitrate, and wherein the encoder is configured to encode the filtered image data based on the bit control information.
Jang teaches the controller is configured to transmit bit control information to the encoder and configured to control a bitrate, and wherein the encoder is configured to encode the filtered image data based on the bit control information (Jang [0106] – FIG. 9 is a table explaining the operation of encoding tools illustrated in FIG. 3. Referring to FIGS. 1 through 9, the controller 200 may use encoding tools to adjust the bit rate (or the number of generated bits) of a current macroblock in the filtered current frame FCF; [0107] – In the table illustrated in FIG. 9, the term “overshoot” means that the bit rate PBR of a previous frame is greater than the first reference bit rate RBR1 or that the bit rate of a previous macroblock is greater than the second reference bit rate RBR2. The term “undershoot” means that the bit rate PBR of a previous frame is less than the first reference bit rate RBR1 or that the bit rate of a previous macroblock is less than the second reference bit rate RBR2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Minakuti to transmit bit control information to the encoder and configured to control a bitrate, as taught by Jang. One would be motivated as the bitrate can be an indicator to potential changes in adjustments to an image.
Regarding Claim 10, Minakuti and Jang teach the encoding device of claim 9, as outlined above.
However, Minakuti does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to determine whether the bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information, and configured to generate the bit control information according whether the bitrate is overshot or undershot.
Jang teaches the controller is configured to determine whether the bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information, and configured to generate the bit control information according whether the bitrate is overshot or undershot (Jang [0107] – In the table illustrated in FIG. 9, the term “overshoot” means that the bit rate PBR of a previous frame is greater than the first reference bit rate RBR1 or that the bit rate of a previous macroblock is greater than the second reference bit rate RBR2. The term “undershoot” means that the bit rate PBR of a previous frame is less than the first reference bit rate RBR1 or that the bit rate of a previous macroblock is less than the second reference bit rate RBR2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Minakuti to generate the bit control information according whether the bitrate is overshot or undershot, as taught by Jang. One would be motivated as the bit control can be an indicator to potential changes in adjustments to an image.
Regarding Claim 12, Minakuti discloses the method of claim 11, as outlined above.
However, Minakuti does not explicitly disclose determining the variable parameter includes: determining whether a bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information; reducing the variable parameter based on the bitrate being overshot; and increasing the variable parameter based on the bitrate being undershot
Jang teaches determining the variable parameter includes: determining whether a bitrate is overshot or undershot based on the encoding information; reducing the variable parameter based on the bitrate being overshot; and increasing the variable parameter based on the bitrate being undershot (Jang [0110] – When the current frame CF is processed, the bit rate PBR may be the bit rate of a previous frame. The CPU 210 may compare the first reference bit rate RBR1 with the bit rate PBR of the previous frame in operation S120. When the bit rate PBR of the previous frame is greater than the first reference bit rate RBR1, that is, in case of overshoot in operation S120, the CPU 210 may generate the first parameter PAR1 for decreasing the cutoff frequency and may transmit the first parameter PAR1 to the pre-processing circuit 250; [0111] – The pre-processing circuit 250, e.g., a spatial filter, may decrease the cutoff frequency using the first parameter PAR1 in operation S125. Therefore, the number of bits generated when the current frame CF is encoded may be decreased. When the bit rate PBR of the previous frame is less than the first reference bit rate RBR1, that is, in case of undershoot in operation S130, the CPU 210 may generate the first parameter PAR1 for increasing the cutoff frequency and may transmit the first parameter PAR1 to the pre-processing circuit 250).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Minakuti to reduce the variable parameter based on the bitrate being overshot and increase the variable parameter based on the bitrate being undershot, as taught by Jang. One would be motivated as the changes to the bitrate would allow for sufficient changes based on whether the bitrate is overshot/undershot.
With regard to claim 14, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 8 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 8 is applied to claim 14
With regard to claim 15, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 10 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 10 is applied to claim 15
With regard to claim 17, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 12 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 12 is applied to claim 17
With regard to claim 19, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 8 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 8 is applied to claim 19
With regard to claim 20, the claim limitations are essentially the same as claim 10 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject claim 10 is applied to claim 20
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 13, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AMIR SHAHNAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483