DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, ll. 3, “the first passage” seems to be referring to “the second passage.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuda (US 2019/0273420 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Yasuda discloses a motor assembly (10) comprising:
a housing (14) having a first housing end (24f), a second housing end (24s), and a motor cavity (¶ [0034]) defined between the first housing end (24f) and the second housing end (24s), the housing (14) defining a motor housing channel (¶ [0055]) along an inner surface (FIG. 1; space between coolant pipe 28 and stator core 16) of the motor cavity;
a stator (11) and a rotor (12) disposed inside the housing (14), the stator (11) having an exterior surface in contact with the motor housing channel (¶ [0055]); and
an axial channel (28) disposed within the housing (14), the axial channel (28) extending from the first housing end (24f) to the second housing end (28s);
wherein the axial channel (28) is in fluid communication (through hole 29) with the motor housing channel (FIG. 1), and the axial channel (28) and the motor housing channel are configured to circulate a liquid around an outside surface of the stator (11; ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 11/9, Yasuda was discussed above in claim 9. Yasuda further discloses wherein the axial channel (28) is in fluid communication with a first passage (25) and a second passage (25), the first passage (25) proximate to the first housing end (24f) and the second passage (25) proximate to the second housing end (24s), the first passage (25) and the second passage (25) configured to deliver the liquid to an inboard stator coil end (18f) and an outboard stator coil end (18s), respectively.
Regarding claim 12/11, Yasuda was discussed above in claim 11. Yasuda further discloses a first spray ring (25d) and a second spray ring (25d) coupled to respective outlets of the first passage (25) and the second passage (25), the first and second spray rings (25d) having an annular oil distribution channel (25b) configured to receive the liquid from the first and second passages (25) and spray the liquid around the inboard stator coil end (18f) and the outboard stator coil end (18s), respectively.
Regarding claim 19/9, Yasuda in view of Scothern was discussed above in claim 9. Yasuda further discloses wherein a fluid circulating within the motor (10) is a coolant fluid configured to cool the stator (11) and rotor (12; ¶ [0039], [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 2019/0273420 A1) in view of Scothern et al. (US 2020/0358337 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yasuda discloses a motor assembly (10) comprising:
a housing (14) having a first housing end (24f), a second housing end (24s), and a motor cavity (¶ [0034]) defined between the first housing end (24f) and the second housing end (24s), the housing (14) defining a motor housing channel (¶ [0055]) along an inner surface (FIG. 1; space between coolant pipe 28 and stator core 16) of the motor cavity;
a stator (11) and a rotor (12) disposed inside the housing (14), the stator (11) having an exterior surface in contact with the motor housing channel (¶ [0055]); and
an axial channel (28) disposed within the housing (14), the axial channel (28) extending from the first housing end (24f) to the second housing end (28s);
wherein the axial channel (28) is in fluid communication (through hole 29) with the motor housing channel (FIG. 1), and the axial channel (28) and the motor housing channel are configured to circulate a liquid around an outside surface of the stator (11; ¶ [0055]).
Yasuda does not disclose the motor housing channel is a helical channel.
Schothern discloses the motor housing channel (142C) is a helical channel (148C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Scothern to disclose the motor housing channel is a helical channel, as evidenced by Scothern in FIG. 4A-4C, changing the shape of the channel between the housing and the stator are obvious variants of each other.
Regarding claim 2/1, Yasuda in view of Scothern was discussed above in claim 1. Yasuda further discloses wherein the axial channel (28) is in fluid communication with a first passage (25) and a second passage (25), the first passage (25) proximate to the first housing end (24f) and the second passage (25) proximate to the second housing end (24s), the first passage (25) and the second passage (25) configured to deliver the liquid to an inboard stator coil end (18f) and an outboard stator coil end (18s), respectively.
Regarding claim 3/2, Yasuda in view of Scothern was discussed above in claim 2. Yasuda further discloses a first spray ring (25d) and a second spray ring (25d) coupled to respective outlets of the first passage (25) and the second passage (25), the first and second spray rings (25d) having an annular oil distribution channel (25b) configured to receive the liquid from the first and second passages (25) and spray the liquid around the inboard stator coil end (18f) and the outboard stator coil end (18s), respectively.
Regarding claim 8/2, Yasuda in view of Scothern was discussed above in claim 2. Scothern further discloses a bearing assembly (116) configured to support the rotor (102), wherein the second passage (right passage 134 in FIG. 1C) is in fluid communication with the bearing assembly (116).
Regarding claim 10/9, Yasuda was discussed above in claim 9. Yasuda does not disclose the motor housing channel is a helical channel around the outside surface of the stator.
Schothern discloses the motor housing channel (142C) is a helical channel (148C) around the outside surface of the stator (FIG. 4C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Scothern to disclose the motor housing channel is a helical channel around the outside surface of the stator, as evidenced by Scothern in FIG. 4A-4C, changing the shape of the channel between the housing and the stator are obvious variants of each other.
Regarding claim 18/11, Yasuda was discussed above in claim 11. Scothern does not disclose a bearing assembly configured to support the rotor, wherein the second passage is in fluid communication with the bearing assembly.
Scothern discloses a bearing assembly (116) configured to support the rotor (102), wherein the second passage (right passage 134 in FIG. 1C) is in fluid communication with the bearing assembly (116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Scothern to disclose a bearing assembly configured to support the rotor, wherein the second passage is in fluid communication with the bearing assembly, for the advantages of providing the same coolant to cool the stator, rotor and the bearing, simplifying the cooling process.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 2019/0273420 A1) in view of Scothern et al. (US 2020/0358337 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sasaki et al. (WO 2022/108875 A1) and Ohashi et al. (US 2013/0038151 A1).
Regarding claim 4/2, Yasuda in view of Scothern was discussed above in claim 2. Yasuda in view of Scothern does not disclose wherein the rotor comprises a shaft bolt and a rotor shaft encasing the shaft bolt, the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft defining an annular clearance region along at least a portion of the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft, and the rotor shaft defining a rotor shaft helical channel along an outer surface of the rotor shaft.
Sasaki discloses wherein the rotor (30) comprises a shaft bolt (5) and a rotor shaft (2) encasing the shaft bolt (5), the shaft bolt (5) and the rotor shaft (2) defining an annular clearance region (12) along at least a portion of the shaft bolt (5) and the rotor shaft (2; FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Scothern, further in view of Sasaki to disclose wherein the rotor comprises a shaft bolt and a rotor shaft encasing the shaft bolt, the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft defining an annular clearance region along at least a portion of the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft, for the advantages of sufficiently securing cooling oil to be flown through the shaft in the axial direction, while allowing cooling oil to flow radially outwards towards the rotor and stator.
Ohashi discloses the rotor shaft (70) defining a rotor shaft helical channel (35c) along an outer surface of the rotor shaft (70; FIG. 12(b); ¶ [0120] spiral groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Scothern, further in view of Ohashi to disclose the rotor shaft defining a rotor shaft helical channel along an outer surface of the rotor shaft, for the advantages of equalized temperature distribution (¶ [0120]).
Regarding claim 5/4, Yasuda in view of Scothern, Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 4. Sasaki further discloses wherein the second passage (94) is in fluid communication with a centerline conduit (95), the centerline conduit (95) partially extending along a rotor axis, the centerline conduit fluidly connecting (through radial channel 96) the second passage with the rotor shaft helical channel (98; as disclosed by Ohashi in claim 4) through the annular clearance region (12).
Regarding claim 6/5, Yasuda in view of Scothern, Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 5. Sasaki further discloses wherein the rotor shaft (2) includes a helical channel exit slot (97; helical channel as disclosed by Ohashi in claim 4) fluidly connecting the helical channel (axial channel 98) with an inner surface of the inboard stator coil end (42c; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 7/4, Yasuda in view of Scothern, Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 4. Sasaki further discloses wherein the rotor shaft (2) further includes a radially oriented orifice (22, 97) fluidly connecting the annular clearance region (12) with an inner surface of the outboard stator coil end (42c).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 2019/0273420 A1) in view of Sasaki et al. (WO 2022/108875 A1) and Ohashi et al. (US 2013/0038151 A1).
Regarding claim 13/11, Yasuda was discussed above in claim 11. Yasuda does not disclose wherein the rotor comprises a shaft bolt and a rotor shaft encasing the shaft bolt, the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft defining an annular clearance region along at least a portion of the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft, and the rotor shaft defining a rotor shaft channel along an outer surface of the rotor shaft.
Sasaki discloses wherein the rotor (30) comprises a shaft bolt (5) and a rotor shaft (2) encasing the shaft bolt (5), the shaft bolt (5) and the rotor shaft (2) defining an annular clearance region (12) along at least a portion of the shaft bolt (5) and the rotor shaft (2; FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Sasaki to disclose wherein the rotor comprises a shaft bolt and a rotor shaft encasing the shaft bolt, the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft defining an annular clearance region along at least a portion of the shaft bolt and the rotor shaft, for the advantages of sufficiently securing cooling oil to be flown through the shaft in the axial direction, while allowing cooling oil to flow radially outwards towards the rotor and stator.
Ohashi discloses the rotor shaft (70) defining a rotor shaft channel (35c) along an outer surface of the rotor shaft (70; FIG. 12(b); ¶ [0120] spiral groove).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Ohashi to disclose the rotor shaft defining a rotor shaft helical channel along an outer surface of the rotor shaft, for the advantages of equalized temperature distribution (¶ [0120]).
Regarding claim 14/13, Yasuda in view of Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 13. Ohashi further discloses wherein the rotor shaft channel (35c) is a helical channel (FIG. 12(b)) extending along and around the outer surface of the rotor shaft (70).
Regarding claim 15/13, Yasuda in view of Scothern, Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 13. Sasaki further discloses wherein the second passage (94) is in fluid communication with a centerline conduit (95), the centerline conduit (95) partially extending along a rotor axis, the centerline conduit fluidly connecting (through radial channel 96) the second passage with the rotor shaft channel (98; as disclosed by Ohashi in claim 4) through the annular clearance region (12).
Regarding claim 16/14, Yasuda in view of Scothern, Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 14. Sasaki further discloses wherein the rotor shaft (2) includes a channel exit slot (97; helical channel as disclosed by Ohashi in claim 4) fluidly connecting the channel (axial channel 98) with an inner surface of the inboard stator coil end (42c; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 17/13, Yasuda in view of Scothern, Sasaki and Ohashi was discussed above in claim 13. Sasaki further discloses wherein the rotor shaft (2) further includes a radially oriented orifice (22, 97) fluidly connecting the annular clearance region (12) with an inner surface of the outboard stator coil end (42c).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda (US 2019/0273420 A1) in view of Heilman et al. (US 2017/0063182 A1).
Regarding claim 20/19, Yasuda was discussed above in claim 19. Yasuda does not disclose wherein the coolant fluid is a lubricant fluid configured to lubricate at least one bearing assembly of the motor assembly.
Heilman discloses wherein the coolant fluid is a lubricant fluid configured to lubricate at least one bearing assembly (42) of the motor assembly (10; ¶ [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Yasuda in view of Heilman to disclose wherein the coolant fluid is a lubricant fluid configured to lubricate at least one bearing assembly of the motor assembly, for the advantages of providing the same coolant to cool the stator, rotor and the bearing, while also lubricating the bearing.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834