DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Final action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of June 29, 2026.
Claims 3, 6, 11, and 17 have been canceled.
Claims 21-24 have been newly added.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 12-16, and 18-24 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the objection to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection to the claims as presented in the Office Action of April 7, 2026 has been withdrawn. However, new objection to the claims is presented below based on the amendments to the claims presented in the Amendment of 29 June 2026.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC §112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 22 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22, line 1, “wherein determining the drive out time for the vehicle …” should read “wherein the determining the drive out time for the vehicle …”.
Claim 23, line 1, “wherein determining the drive out time for the vehicle …” should read “wherein the determining the drive out time for the vehicle …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“processing device” in claims 1 and 19, described in Applicant’s specification as “In the example embodiment, autonomy computing system 200 is implemented by one or more processors and memory devices of autonomous vehicle 100”, [0046] and “The vehicle 402 can include a processing device 404 (e.g., computing system 200, computing system 300, or the like)”, [0050].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-10, 12-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortazavi et al., US 2021/0001882 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mortazavi, in view of Cazzoli, US 2019/0114921 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cazzoli, and further in view of Linkowski et al., US 2022/0306092 A1, hereinafter referred to as Linkowski, respectively.
As to claim 1, Mortazavi teaches a system for providing drive out guidance for a vehicle, the system comprising:
one or more sensors disposed around a drive out location of an environment (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 64-66 regarding an infrastructure sensor 3180 may be any sensor that is disposed along or proximate to the transportation network 3000 and that communicates with the external resource 3160, Mortazavi), wherein the drive out location includes an obstructed view area of the environment for the vehicle at a distance offset from the drive out location (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraph 26 regarding an occlusion scenario may refer to a situation where the sensor system of an autonomous vehicle is unable to obtain reliable vehicle sensor data (also referred to as “vehicle data”) for the autonomous vehicle to determine a control action because of an obstacle or other object that is obstructing the sensors of the vehicle. For example, a building may obstruct the field of view of a video camera of an autonomous vehicle when the vehicle is attempting to turn left onto a road. If the building is blocking the field of view of the camera from the left (where vehicles may be due to intersect the route of the autonomous vehicle), the autonomous vehicle may be in a situation where it is unable to determine whether to turn or to continue to wait. In another example, an autonomous vehicle may be at or near a crest of a hill, whereby the vehicle cannot determine if any vehicles are coming over the hill, Mortazavi); and
a processing device in communication with the one or more sensors, wherein the processing device is configured to execute instructions stored in a memory to perform operations comprising (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 63-66 regarding the external resource 3160 may be a collection of one or more computing devices that collect data from vehicles traversing the transportation network 3000 and/or from infrastructure sensors 3180. An infrastructure sensor 3180 may be any sensor that is disposed along or proximate to the transportation network 3000 and that communicates with the external resource 3160. See also at least paragraphs 79-81, Mortazavi):
acquiring sensor data from the one or more sensors representative of the obstructed view area of the environment (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 65-67 regarding an infrastructure sensor 3180 may be any sensor that is disposed along or proximate to the transportation network 3000 and that communicates with the external resource 3160. Examples of infrastructure sensors 3180 can include, but are not limited to, inductive-loop traffic sensors (or “loop sensors”), video cameras, radar sensors, audio sensors, and LIDAR sensors. The request for infrastructure data may include a geolocation of the autonomous vehicle 3100 and/or an estimated location corresponding to the occlusion scenario (e.g., an estimated location of the blocked portion of the transportation network). In response to receiving the request, the external resource returns infrastructure data corresponding to the location of the vehicle/location of the occlusion scenario. In some implementations, the infrastructure data may indicate a location of a detection event and a time-stamp, Mortazavi);
determining from the sensor data if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from one or more objects (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 65-67 regarding as the vehicle 3150 passes the infrastructure sensor 3180, the infrastructure sensor 3180 may transmit a signal to the external resource 3160 indicating that the sensor-space is occupied via a communication network 3170. For example, the infrastructure sensor 3180 may transmit a first signal value when the sensor-space is occupied and a second signal value when the sensor-space is unoccupied. In receiving the signal from the infrastructure sensor 3180 and knowing the geolocation of the infrastructure sensor 3180, the external resource 3160 may determine when a potentially moving object passed over the infrastructure sensor, Mortazavi); and
transmitting to at least one of the vehicle or an output source a signal indicative of if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 64-66 regarding the infrastructure sensor 3180 may transmit a first signal value when the sensor-space is occupied and a second signal value when the sensor-space is unoccupied. In receiving the signal from the infrastructure sensor 3180 and knowing the geolocation of the infrastructure sensor 3180, the external resource 3160 may determine when a potentially moving object passed over the infrastructure sensor. For example, the external resource 3160 may determine a time-stamp corresponding to the occupancy event. In response to receiving a request for infrastructure data, where the request indicates a location of the autonomous vehicle and/or the occlusion scenario, the external resource 3160 may retrieve any spatiotemporally-relevant data relating to the request. For instance, the external resource 3160 may include the locations and time-stamps of any occupancy events in the previous five seconds (or any other suitable time duration) in the infrastructure data that is responsive to the request. Furthermore, the external resource may provide speed information relating to objects detected by the infrastructure sensor. The speed information may be determined by the infrastructure sensors 3180 or may be interpolated by the external resource 3160 based on infrastructure data received from two or more infrastructure sensors 3160. The autonomous vehicle 3100 receives the infrastructure data from the external resource 3160 and again determines one or more candidate actions based on the vehicle data obtained from the vehicle sensors and the infrastructure data received from the external resource 3160, Mortazavi).
Mortazavi does not explicitly teach wherein the obstructed view area of the environment is within a field-of-view of the one or more sensors; or wherein the obstructed view area is beyond a distance limit of a field-of-view of one or more vehicle sensors.
However, Cazzoli teaches wherein the obstructed view area of the environment is within a field-of-view of the one or more sensors (see at least paragraph 2 regarding the sensors may not perceive aspects of the surroundings that are beyond a particular distance (e.g., sensing range of the sensors). Moreover, a field-of-view of the noted sensors can be obstructed by objects within the surrounding environment such as buildings, trees, and other vehicles causing the sensors to potentially fail to detect occluded objects in the obstructed areas. See also at least paragraphs 18-19 regarding remote sensors of other vehicles and devices (e.g., mobile phones, infrastructure sensors, etc.) within the surrounding environment are leveraged to acquire information about objects that cannot be directly perceived by the vehicle); and wherein the obstructed view area is beyond a distance limit of a field-of-view of one or more vehicle sensors (see at least paragraph 2. See also at least paragraphs 34-40 regarding identifying whether the remote sensor data 260 includes information about objects that are occluded from the perspective of the vehicle 100. That is, because a perspective and present location of the vehicle 100 may obscure the vehicle sensors 120 from perceiving certain objects due to buildings, vehicles, and other objects obscuring those occluded objects or form the occluded objects being beyond the range of the vehicle sensors 120, the monitoring module 220 analyzes the remote sensor data 260 to identify the occluded objects and thus improve situational awareness of vehicle systems and/or the driver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Cazzoli which teaches wherein the obstructed view area is beyond a distance limit of a field-of-view of one or more vehicle sensors with the system of Mortazavi as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the obstructed view area is beyond a distance limit of a field-of-view of one or more vehicle sensors and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi.
Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, does not explicitly teach if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects, generating one or more control signals to control travel of the vehicle through the drive out location based on the signal.
However, such matter is taught by Linkowski (see at least paragraphs 44-46 regarding the one or more vehicle sensors 118 of the vehicle 112B have a field of view with no line-of-sight 136 to the mobile object 128, because the field of view 134 is limited by an obstructing stationary object 130. However, as further illustrated in FIG. 3, the infrastructure node 102 does have a line-of-sight 136 from at least one infrastructure sensor 104 to the mobile object 128. An infrastructure sensor 104 such as a radar or a lidar can provide data for an infrastructure computer 108 to determine that the mobile object 128 is approaching the limited operation zone 132. A control command to a vehicle 112 is a command to control vehicle subsystems 120 such as propulsion, braking and steering, including control commands provided by the infrastructure computer 108, typically via the infrastructure communication module 106. See also at least paragraphs 50-56 regarding the infrastructure computer 108 could determine, upon detecting a vehicle 112 approaching a limited operation zone 132, that the limited operation zone 132 is unoccupied. Based on the limited operations on being unoccupied, the infrastructure computer 108 could determine to allow the vehicle 112 to enter the limited operation zone 132, and could provide a control command accordingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Linkowski which teaches if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects, generating one or more control signals to control travel of the vehicle through the drive out location based on the signal with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of generating one or more control signals to control travel of the vehicle through the drive out location based on the signal if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli.
As to claim 2, Mortazavi teaches wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle or a semi-autonomous vehicle (see at least paragraph 63 regarding an autonomous vehicle 3100 that has encountered an occlusion scenario 3110, Mortazavi).
As to claim 4, Mortazavi teaches wherein the one or more sensors include at least one of a camera, radar, or LiDAR (see at least paragraph 65 regarding examples of infrastructure sensors 3180 can include, but are not limited to, inductive-loop traffic sensors (or “loop sensors”), video cameras, radar sensors, audio sensors, and LIDAR sensors, Mortazavi).
As to claim 5, Mortazavi teaches wherein the one or more sensors are stationary mounted sensors (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraph 65 regarding an infrastructure sensor 3180 may be any sensor that is disposed along or proximate to the transportation network 3000 and that communicates with the external resource 3160, Mortazavi).
As to claim 7, Mortazavi teaches wherein the sensor data supplements data from the one or more vehicle sensors to provide coverage of the obstructed view area (see at least paragraphs 26-29 regarding the infrastructure data can indicate whether there is an object (e.g., a vehicle) in the area being monitored by the infrastructure sensor. The external resource may transmit infrastructure data to the autonomous vehicle. The autonomous vehicle can utilize the infrastructure data to determine a control action for the vehicle to undertake. In particular, the autonomous vehicle can supplement the vehicle data obtained from the sensors with the infrastructure data to determine the control action. For example, in some implementations, the autonomous vehicle can input the infrastructure data and the vehicle data into a machine-learned model to determine the control action, Mortazavi).
As to claim 8, Mortazavi teaches wherein the one or more objects include other vehicles (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 63-65 regarding the external resource 3160 may be a collection of one or more computing devices that collect data from vehicles traversing the transportation network 3000 and/or from infrastructure sensors 3180, Mortazavi).
As to claim 9, Mortazavi teaches wherein the one or more objects include pedestrians (see at least paragraphs 63-65 and 96-97 regarding an infrastructure sensor may be configured to transmit an occupancy signal that indicates whether an area being monitored by the infrastructure is currently occupied by an object (e.g., a vehicle, pedestrian, cyclist, etc.), Mortazavi).
As to claim 10, Mortazavi teaches wherein the obstructed view area includes a road, and wherein determining if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects comprises determining a speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects along the road (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 63-65 regarding as the vehicle 3150 passes the infrastructure sensor 3180, the infrastructure sensor 3180 may transmit a signal to the external resource 3160 indicating that the sensor-space is occupied via a communication network 3170. … Furthermore, the external resource may provide speed information relating to objects detected by the infrastructure sensor. The speed information may be determined by the infrastructure sensors 3180 or may be interpolated by the external resource 3160 based on infrastructure data received from two or more infrastructure sensors 3160, Mortazavi).
Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, does not explicitly teach wherein the operations comprise determining if the vehicle is capable of exiting the drive out location onto the road without interfering with the one or more objects based on the speed and the direction of the one or more objects.
However, such matter is taught by Linkowski (see at least paragraphs 50-56 regarding the infrastructure computer 108 could predict a path of a mobile object 128, e.g., based on a current speed and heading of the mobile object 128. Additionally, the infrastructure computer 108 could predict multiple possible future locations for a mobile object 128, e.g., where the mobile object 128 is approaching an intersection of travel paths in the limited operation zone 132 and could turn in one and/or another direction and/or go straight. A mobile object 128 and possibly its location and/or predicted future location(s) could be identified from a wireless transmission from a device co-located with the object. For example, a movable object could broadcast or send its location and/or intended path including one or more future locations to the infrastructure node 102. For example, a human user could carry a portable computing device 125 such as a smartphone, tablet, or the like that could include an application to transmit a location of the smart phone receivable by the infrastructure node 102, e.g., according to a wireless protocol such as Bluetooth or the like. Based on a determined location of an object in the limited operation zone 132, the infrastructure computer 108 could then provide a control command to a vehicle 112 including a directive to follow a path to avoid the location of the object. For example, the infrastructure computer could specify a location or locations for a vehicle 112 to avoid and/or could specify a path for the vehicle to follow to avoid the location or locations of a mobile object 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Linkowski which teaches wherein the operations comprise determining if the vehicle is capable of exiting the drive out location onto the road without interfering with the one or more objects based on the speed and the direction of the one or more objects with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining if the vehicle is capable of exiting the drive out location onto the road without interfering with the one or more objects based on the speed and the direction of the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli.
As to claim 12, Mortazavi teaches wherein the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that no objects exist at the obstructed view area (see at least paragraphs 63-65 regarding transmitting a second signal value when the sensor-space is unoccupied, Mortazavi).
As to claim 13, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, does not explicitly teach wherein the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that the vehicle will not interfere with the one or more objects in the drive out location of the environment based on a detected speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects.
However, such matter is taught by Linkowski (see at least paragraphs 50-56 regarding the infrastructure computer 108 could determine a present and/or predicted future location of an object such as a mobile object 128 in the limited operations zone. … Further, the infrastructure computer 108 could predict a path of a mobile object 128, e.g., based on a current speed and heading of the mobile object 128. Additionally, the infrastructure computer 108 could predict multiple possible future locations for a mobile object 128, e.g., where the mobile object 128 is approaching an intersection of travel paths in the limited operation zone 132 and could turn in one and/or another direction and/or go straight. A mobile object 128 and possibly its location and/or predicted future location(s) could be identified from a wireless transmission from a device co-located with the object. For example, a movable object could broadcast or send its location and/or intended path including one or more future locations to the infrastructure node 102. For example, a human user could carry a portable computing device 125 such as a smartphone, tablet, or the like that could include an application to transmit a location of the smart phone receivable by the infrastructure node 102, e.g., according to a wireless protocol such as Bluetooth or the like. Based on a determined location of an object in the limited operation zone 132, the infrastructure computer 108 could then provide a control command to a vehicle 112 including a directive to follow a path to avoid the location of the object. For example, the infrastructure computer could specify a location or locations for a vehicle 112 to avoid and/or could specify a path for the vehicle to follow to avoid the location or locations of a mobile object 128. See also at least paragraphs 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Linkowski which teaches wherein the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that the vehicle will not interfere with the one or more objects in the drive out location of the environment based on a detected speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that the vehicle will not interfere with the one or more objects in the drive out location of the environment based on a detected speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli.
As to claim 14, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, does not explicitly teach wherein the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that the vehicle will interfere with the one or more objects in the drive out location of the environment based on a detected speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects.
However, such matter is taught by Linkowski (see at least paragraphs 50-56 regarding the infrastructure computer 108 could determine a present and/or predicted future location of an object such as a mobile object 128 in the limited operations zone. … Further, the infrastructure computer 108 could predict a path of a mobile object 128, e.g., based on a current speed and heading of the mobile object 128. Additionally, the infrastructure computer 108 could predict multiple possible future locations for a mobile object 128, e.g., where the mobile object 128 is approaching an intersection of travel paths in the limited operation zone 132 and could turn in one and/or another direction and/or go straight. A mobile object 128 and possibly its location and/or predicted future location(s) could be identified from a wireless transmission from a device co-located with the object. For example, a movable object could broadcast or send its location and/or intended path including one or more future locations to the infrastructure node 102. For example, a human user could carry a portable computing device 125 such as a smartphone, tablet, or the like that could include an application to transmit a location of the smart phone receivable by the infrastructure node 102, e.g., according to a wireless protocol such as Bluetooth or the like. Based on a determined location of an object in the limited operation zone 132, the infrastructure computer 108 could then provide a control command to a vehicle 112 including a directive to follow a path to avoid the location of the object. For example, the infrastructure computer could specify a location or locations for a vehicle 112 to avoid and/or could specify a path for the vehicle to follow to avoid the location or locations of a mobile object 128. See also at least paragraphs 64-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Linkowski which teaches wherein the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that the vehicle will interfere with the one or more objects in the drive out location of the environment based on a detected speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects if the sensor data indicates that the vehicle will interfere with the one or more objects in the drive out location of the environment based on a detected speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli.
As to claim 18, Mortazavi teaches wherein the operations comprise transmitting to at least one of the vehicle or the output source a signal indicative of if the environment in the obstructed view is not clear from the one or more objects (see at least paragraphs 63-65 regarding transmitting a first signal value when the sensor-space is occupied, Mortazavi).
As to claim 19, Examiner notes claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected under the same rational.
As to claim 20, Mortazavi teaches wherein the obstructed view area includes a road, and determining if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects comprises determining a speed and direction of travel of the one or more objects along the road (see at least FIG. 3 and paragraphs 63-65 regarding as the vehicle 3150 passes the infrastructure sensor 3180, the infrastructure sensor 3180 may transmit a signal to the external resource 3160 indicating that the sensor-space is occupied via a communication network 3170. … Furthermore, the external resource may provide speed information relating to objects detected by the infrastructure sensor. The speed information may be determined by the infrastructure sensors 3180 or may be interpolated by the external resource 3160 based on infrastructure data received from two or more infrastructure sensors 3160, Mortazavi).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortazavi et al., US 2021/0001882 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mortazavi, in view of Cazzoli, US 2019/0114921 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cazzoli, in view of Linkowski et al., US 2022/0306092 A1, hereinafter referred to as Linkowski, and further in view of Takahashi et al., US 2022/0148430 A1, hereinafter referred to as Takahashi, respectively.
As to claim 15, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, does not explicitly teach transmitting to a graphical user interface of the vehicle if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects.
However, such matter is taught by Takahashi (see at least FIG. 1B and paragraphs 22-27 regarding the cameras 110, 112 may detect an object that, when sent to the computing device 116, is unrecognizable. An unrecognized object may be an object (such as rubber from a tire, or the like. The object may be at or near the intersection, for example. The current application may add text and/or manipulations of the image and/or video in the anomaly report to highlight the unrecognized object at or near the intersection. An illustration 120 of a display 122 inside of a connected agent's vehicle 104. Data is sent from a processor in the computing device 116 to a processor in the connected vehicle 104, such as a transport processor. … the connected agent of the display 122 is highlighted on the display 126, such that the observer of the data may be able to easily understand the data. In another embodiment, a command 128 may be presented on the display 122, informing that an action is presumed to be a safe action).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Takahashi which teaches transmitting to a graphical user interface of the vehicle if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance by retrieving environmental data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of transmitting to a graphical user interface of the vehicle if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortazavi et al., US 2021/0001882 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mortazavi, in view of Cazzoli, US 2019/0114921 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cazzoli, in view of Linkowski et al., US 2022/0306092 A1, hereinafter referred to as Linkowski, and further in view of Noguchi et al., US 2020/0361450 A1, hereinafter referred to as Noguchi, respectively.
As to claim 16, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, does not explicitly teach wherein the output source includes a traffic signal, and wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects, the operations comprise illuminating a green light on the traffic signal to indicate safe passage for the vehicle, and wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects, the operations comprise illuminating a red light on the traffic signal to indicate unsafe passage for the vehicle.
However, Noguchi teaches wherein the output source includes a traffic signal (see at least FIGS. 12-17 and paragraphs 145-155 regarding a stop line LNs is drawn in the stopping area 310 and an electric bulletin board 380 and a traffic light 390 are installed near the stop line LNs. The electric bulletin board 380 and the traffic light 390 are controlled by the parking lot management device 400), and wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects, the operations comprise illuminating a green light on the traffic signal to indicate safe passage for the vehicle (see at least FIGS. 12-17 and paragraphs 141-155 regarding the controller 420 determines whether or not a vehicle has stopped in the priority space by analyzing an image of the getting-into/out-monitoring camera 370 (step S210). The controller 420 causes the traffic light 390 to be turned on in green or the like indicating the permission of entry because there is a space where a vehicle can be stopped), and wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects, the operations comprise illuminating a red light on the traffic signal to indicate unsafe passage for the vehicle (see at least FIGS. 12-17 and paragraphs 141-155 regarding the controller 420 determines whether or not a vehicle has stopped in the priority space by analyzing an image of the getting-into/out-monitoring camera 370 (step S210). The controller 420 of the parking lot management device 400 causes the traffic light 390 to be turned on in red or the like indicating the prohibition of entry).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Noguchi which teaches wherein the output source includes a traffic signal, and wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects, the operations comprise illuminating a green light on the traffic signal to indicate safe passage for the vehicle, and wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects, the operations comprise illuminating a red light on the traffic signal to indicate unsafe passage for the vehicle with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance by retrieving environmental data, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the output source includes a traffic signal; illuminating a green light on the traffic signal to indicate safe passage for the vehicle wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is clear from the one or more objects; and illuminating a red light on the traffic signal to indicate unsafe passage for the vehicle wherein if the environment in the obstructed view area is not clear from the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski.
Claim(s) 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mortazavi et al., US 2021/0001882 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mortazavi, in view of Cazzoli, US 2019/0114921 A1, hereinafter referred to as Cazzoli, in view of Linkowski et al., US 2022/0306092 A1, hereinafter referred to as Linkowski, and further in view of Ghose et al., US 2022/0324439 A1, hereinafter referred to as Ghose, respectively.
As to claim 21, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, does not explicitly teach wherein if the one or more objects are detected in the obstructed view area, the operations comprise determining a drive out time for the vehicle for traveling through and out of the drive out location without a collision between the vehicle and the one or more objects.
However, such matter is taught by Ghose (see at least FIG. 10 and paragraphs 58-60 regarding the object identifier module 208 can identify the truck 108 in a field of view of the sensor 114. The occluded region definer model 210 defines an occluded region in the field of view of the sensor 114 (where the occluded region is caused by the position of the AV 110 relative to the position of the truck 108), wherein the occluded region is represented by dashed lines 1012 and 1014. The completion estimator module 220 can compute an amount of time required for the AV 110 to complete the left-hand turn, such that the entirety of the AV 110 is out of the second lane 1006 of the first roadway 1002. The completion estimator module 220 can compute such amount of time based upon a current location and orientation of the AV 110, the map 207, and content of the AV profile 206. The map 207 can indicate an angle between the roadways 1002 and 1008, and the AV profile 206 can indicate a physical profile of the AV 110, a maximum acceleration of the AV 110 with respect to the turn that the AV 110 is to make, a maximum velocity of the AV 110 when making the turn, and so forth. The completion estimator module 220 can loosen certain constraints when computing the aforementioned amount of time; for instance, the completion estimator module 220 can loosen boundary constraints, such that the completion estimator module 220 can compute the amount of time required for the AV 110 to complete the turn if the AV 110 turns more sharply than normal. Based upon the amount of time required for the AV 110 to complete the left-hand turn as computed by the completion estimator module 220, and further based upon the estimated time when the hypothetical vehicle 128 will reach the intersection as computed by the reaction estimator module 212, the maneuver identifier module 222 can identify a maneuver to be performed by AV 110. For example, the maneuver identifier module 222 can ascertain that the AV 110 is to perform the left-hand turn when the times output by the reaction estimator module 212 and the completion estimator module 220 indicate that the AV 110 will complete the left-hand turn well before any possible collision between the AV 110 and the (hypothetical) vehicle 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Ghose which teaches wherein if the one or more objects are detected in the obstructed view area, the operations comprise determining a drive out time for the vehicle for traveling through and out of the drive out location without a collision between the vehicle and the one or more objects with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of determining a drive out time for the vehicle for traveling through and out of the drive out location without a collision between the vehicle wherein if the one or more objects are detected in the obstructed view area and the one or more objects and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski.
As to claim 22, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, does not explicitly teach wherein determining the drive out time for the vehicle comprises using a worst-case acceleration rate for the vehicle.
However, such matter is taught by Ghose (see at least paragraphs 43-45 regarding the reaction estimator module 212 can compute the interaction point and the completion estimator module 220 can compute the velocity curve for the AV 110, wherein the velocity curve indicates how quickly the AV 110 can accelerate while still being able to stop prior to the interaction point. When the interaction point is behind the AV 110 and/or when the maximum velocity in the velocity curve is below a threshold, the AV 110 can refrain from entering the second lane 106. Instead, the AV 110 can move (within the first lane 104) to reduce an amount of the second lane 106 that is within the occluded region 126. See also at least FIG. 10 and paragraphs 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Ghose which teaches wherein determining the drive out time for the vehicle comprises using a worst-case acceleration rate for the vehicle with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of using a worst-case acceleration rate for the vehicle and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski.
As to claim 23, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, does not explicitly teach wherein determining the drive out time for the vehicle comprises using a worst-case road condition state.
However, such matter is taught by Ghose (see at least paragraphs 34, 42-45, and 54 regarding the reaction estimator module 212 can ascertain the road geometries based upon the map 207 that is retained in the data store 202. Thus, the reaction estimator module 212 can compute the interaction point 406 based upon the road geometries represented in the map 207. In addition, the completion estimator module 220 can compute the velocity curve based upon the road geometries represented in the map 207. For example, the completion estimator module 220 can ascertain that the AV 110 will have to sharply turn right a relatively short distance from the AV 110. Accordingly, the completion estimator module 220 can determine a maximum velocity for the AV 110 when navigating around the truck 108 (such that the AV 110 is traveling slowly enough to safely navigate the curve in the roadway 102). See also at least FIG. 10 and paragraphs 58-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Ghose which teaches wherein determining the drive out time for the vehicle comprises using a worst-case road condition state with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of using a worst-case road condition state and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski.
As to claim 24, Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, does not explicitly teach wherein the drive out time for the vehicle includes a time gap providing a safety margin to account for uncertainties in traveling through and out of the drive out location.
However, such matter is taught by Ghose (see at least FIG. 10 and paragraphs 58-60 regarding based upon the amount of time required for the AV 110 to complete the left-hand turn as computed by the completion estimator module 220, and further based upon the estimated time when the hypothetical vehicle 128 will reach the intersection as computed by the reaction estimator module 212, the maneuver identifier module 222 can identify a maneuver to be performed by AV 110. For example, the maneuver identifier module 222 can ascertain that the AV 110 is to perform the left-hand turn when the times output by the reaction estimator module 212 and the completion estimator module 220 indicate that the AV 110 will complete the left-hand turn well before any possible collision between the AV 110 and the (hypothetical) vehicle 128. For example, the maneuver identifier module 222 can identify that the AV 110 is to perform the left-hand turn when there is at least an N second gap between when the AV 110 will have completed the left-hand turn and when the (hypothetical) vehicle 128 is estimated to reach the intersection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the system of Ghose which teaches wherein the drive out time for the vehicle includes a time gap providing a safety margin to account for uncertainties in traveling through and out of the drive out location with the system of Mortazavi, as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski, as both systems are directed to a system and method for providing navigation guidance to the vehicle based on the detected information, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the established utility of having wherein the drive out time for the vehicle includes a time gap providing a safety margin to account for uncertainties in traveling through and out of the drive out location and would have predictably applied it to improve the system of Mortazavi as modified by Cazzoli and Linkowski.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Davis (US 20220163974 A1) regarding a system for determining whether or not the obstruction can be ignored, for instance based on dimensions of the obstruction.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.S.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666