DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata et al. (US 20110156699; hereinafter Shibata) in view of Lee et al. (US 20080007251).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 a position-torque sensor system comprising:
two angle sensors (para. 36 - multi-turn angle sensors including a plurality of resolvers; fig. 5), wherein each of the two angle sensors is configured to detect a rotational movement, wherein each of the two angle sensors comprises:
a rotor (rotor 62,64) rotatable in response to the rotational movement to provide a rotor rotational movement; and
a stator (stator 61A, 63A) that comprises an excitation coil (e1…e4) and a set of receiving coils (a1..a6; para. 9 - stator 63A is provided with four pole teeth 101 to 104, around each of which is wound one of four windings 111 to 114 … Each of these windings comprises excitation wiring and sensing wiring; fig. 8), wherein:
the rotor is rotatable relative to the stator (abs. - rotors 60, 62, 64, each of which rotates in a different manner with respect to an input shaft 19, and a common stator portion 66),
the set of receiving coils (a1…a6; para. 10 :- wiring 111 of the stator 63A is formed by an excitation wiring f1 and a sensing wiring a3; fig. 7) generate output signals indicative of the rotor rotational movement (para. 11 - resolver formed by the stator 63A and rotor 62, a voltage in accordance with a rotation angle of the rotor is generated between pins 5 and 4 and between pins 6 and 4 of the connector 68), and
the sets of receiving coils (a1…a6) of the stators of the two angle sensors are structurally same and the rotors of the two angle sensors are structurally the same (abs. - identical shape including a plurality of sets of pole teeth corresponding to each of the rotors. A single length of unspliced electrical wire is wound around each of the pole tooth sets; fig. 5-7).
Shibata does not teach explicitly each of the two angle sensors is aligned on an axis of the rotational movement. wherein the output signals are based on an inductive coupling of the excitation coil and the set of receiving coils, and wherein the inductive coupling traverses an axial distance in parallel with the axis.
However, Lee teaches in figure(s) 1-25 each of the two angle sensors (angle sensor incl. 46,48, and angle sensor incl. 56,58; fig. 2) is aligned on an axis of the rotational movement (rotation axis of 52). wherein the output signals (426,428; fig. 21A) are based on an inductive coupling of the excitation coil (420) and the set of receiving coils (422, 424; para. 40 - coupler element modifies the spatial distribution of the flux coupling between the exciter coil and the receiver coil(s); abs. - coupler element modifying an inductive coupling between the transmitter coil and at least one receiver coil), and wherein the inductive coupling traverses an axial distance (along 426, 46, 58; figs. 2, 21A) in parallel with the axis (52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata by having each of the two angle sensors is aligned on an axis of the rotational movement, wherein the output signals are based on an inductive coupling of the excitation coil and the set of receiving coils, and wherein the inductive coupling traverses an axial distance in parallel with the axis as taught by Lee in order to provide suitable configuration of multiple angle sensors as evidenced by "combined angle and steering torque sensors, which determine both steering angle and steering torque in an apparatus within a single housing" (para. 5). Based on these findings, this is an example of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 2, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 1 further comprising: a sensor controller (para. 35 - connected to a connector of a signal processing circuit) electrically coupled to the two angle sensors, wherein: the sensor controller is configured to receive the output signals from the set of receiving coils, and for each of the angle sensors, the sensor controller is configured to determine an angular position of the rotor rotational movement based on the output signals from the set of receiving coils of the angle sensor (para. 11 - A position of the input shaft 19 up to 600 turns can be accurately detected by numerically processing the values of the three absolute positions sensed by these three resolvers).
Regarding claim 3, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 2, wherein the sensor controller is further configured to provide an input voltage to the excitation coils of the two angle sensors (para. 10 - wiring 111 of the stator 63A is formed by an excitation wiring f1 and a sensing wiring a3. The connections between the wirings and between the wirings and the connector 68 are achieved by soldering connections onto the printed circuit boards 51, 52; para. 11- a voltage in accordance with a rotation angle of the rotor is generated between pins 5 and 4 and between pins 6 and 4 of the connector 68 by applying a pulse voltage between pins 2 and 4 of the connector 68 fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 3, wherein the input voltage is a periodic voltage (para. 11 - applying a pulse voltage).
Regarding claim 5, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 2,
Lee additionally teaches in figure(s) 1-25 wherein the sensor controller is further configured to determine a torque of the rotor rotational movement based on a displacement position between the angular positions of the rotor rotational movement (para. 7 :- combined angle and torque sensor further determines a twist angle across a torsion bar; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 1, wherein the set of receiving coils (a1…a6; fig. 7) includes at least two coils, and wherein the axial distance is bounded by the rotor and the stator.
Regarding claim 7, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 1, wherein the stators of the two angle sensors are provided on one or more circuit boards (para. 10 - each of the connections to a connector 68 provided on printed circuit boards 51, 52).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Lee, and further in view of Shao et al. (US 9914477).
Regarding claim 8 Shibata in view of Lee teaches the position-torque sensor system of Claim 1.
Shibata does not teach explicitly further comprising an electromagnetic barrier provided between the two angle sensors.
However, Shao teaches in figure(s) 1-7 further comprising an electromagnetic barrier provided between the two angle sensors (col.2 lines 52-56 - a ferrite sheet underlies both sensors on both sides of the PCB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata by having further comprising an electromagnetic barrier provided between the two angle sensors as taught by Shao in order to provide "ferrite sheet acts as a magnetic shield which effectively eliminates interference between the two sensors" (col.2 lines 52-56).
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Byrne et al. (US 4986124).
Regarding claim 9, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 a position-torque sensor system comprising:
two angle sensors (para. 36 - multi-turn angle sensors including a plurality of resolvers; fig. 5), wherein each of the two angle sensors is configured to detect a rotational movement, wherein each of the two angle sensors comprises:
a rotor (rotor 62,64) rotatable in response to the rotational movement to provide a rotor rotational movement; and
a stator (stator 61A,63A) that comprises an excitation coil and a set of receiving coils (para. 9 - stator 63A is provided with four pole teeth 101 to 104, around each of which is wound one of four windings 111 to 114 … Each of these windings comprises excitation wiring and sensing wiring; fig. 8),
wherein:
the rotor is rotatable relative to the stator (abs. - rotors 60, 62, 64, each of which rotates in a different manner with respect to an input shaft 19, and a common stator portion 66),
the set of receiving coils (a1…a6; para. 10 :- wiring 111 of the stator 63A is formed by an excitation wiring f1 and a sensing wiring a3; fig. 7) generate output signals indicative of the rotor rotational movement (para. 11 - resolver formed by the stator 63A and rotor 62, a voltage in accordance with a rotation angle of the rotor is generated between pins 5 and 4 and between pins 6 and 4 of the connector 68), and
the sets of receiving coils of the stators (a1…a6) of the two angle sensors are structurally same and the rotors of the two angle sensors are structurally the same (abs. - identical shape including a plurality of sets of pole teeth corresponding to each of the rotors. A single length of unspliced electrical wire is wound around each of the pole tooth sets; fig. 5-7).
Shibata does not teach explicitly configured to have sinusoidal windings.
However, Byrne teaches in figure(s) 1-39 configured to have sinusoidal windings (col. 26 lines 50-55 :- outer 244 and inner 245 sense windings… single turn sinusoidally shaped windings are used; fig. 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata by having configured to have sinusoidal windings as taught by Byrne in order to provide efficient winding as evidenced by "sinusoidally shaped windings are used in each case, because of space limitations on the board" (col. 26 lines 50-55). Based on these findings, this is an example of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.
Regarding claim 10, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 9 further comprising a sensor controller electrically coupled to the two angle sensors, wherein the sensor controller is configured to determine a characteristic of the rotor rotational movement based on the output signals (para. 11 - two resolvers can respectively sense an absolute position of the input shaft at one turn and 24 turns).
Regarding claim 11, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 10, wherein the sensor controller is configured to determine, for each of the angle sensors, an angular position of the rotor rotational movement, as the characteristic, based on the output signals from the set of receiving coils for the angle sensor (para. 11 - two resolvers can respectively sense an absolute position of the input shaft at one turn and 24 turns).
Regarding claim 13, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 10, wherein the sensor controller is electrically coupled to the excitation coil of each of the two angle sensors to provide an input voltage signal to the excitation coils (para. 10 - wiring 111 of the stator 63A is formed by an excitation wiring f1 and a sensing wiring a3. The connections between the wirings and between the wirings and the connector 68 are achieved by soldering connections onto the printed circuit boards 51, 52; para. 11- a voltage in accordance with a rotation angle of the rotor is generated between pins 5 and 4 and between pins 6 and 4 of the connector 68 by applying a pulse voltage between pins 2 and 4 of the connector 68 fig. 7), wherein the input voltage is a periodic voltage (para. 11 - applying a pulse voltage).
Regarding claim 14, Shibata in view of Byrne teaches the position-torque sensor system of Claim 9,
Byrne additionally teaches in figure(s) 1-39 wherein the sinusoidal windings comprises a first sinusoidal winding and a second sinusoidal winding, and wherein the first sinusoidal winding comprises a first phase with respect to an origin and the second sinusoidal winding comprises a second phase with respect to the origin, and further wherein an intersection of the first sinusoidal winding and the second sinusoidal winding is based on the first phase and the second phase (col. 28 lines 20-30 :- vary in sinusoidal manner with circumferential displacement; col. 26 lines 60-65 :- coil pairs 254a and 254b define a portion of a first phase winding, while coil pairs 255a and 255b define a portion of a second phase winding. This winding is most useful for large diameter multicycle transducers. It has the advantages of having perfect quadrature and magnitude matching between phases; fig. 32).
Regarding claim 15, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 9, wherein the stators of the two angle sensors are provided on one or more circuit boards (para. 10 - each of the connections to a connector 68 provided on printed circuit boards 51, 52).
Regarding claim 17, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 the position-torque sensor system of Claim 9, wherein the set of receiving coils of the stator includes two or more coils (a1…a6; fig. 7).
Regarding claim 18, Shibata teaches in figure(s) 1-9 a position-torque sensor system comprising:
two angle sensors (para. 36 - multi-turn angle sensors including a plurality of resolvers; fig. 5), wherein each of the two angle sensors is configured to detect a rotational movement, wherein each of the two angle sensors comprises:
a rotor (rotor 62,64) rotatable in response to the rotational movement to provide a rotor rotational movement; and
a stator (stator 61A,63A) that comprises an excitation coil and a set of receiving coils (para. 9 - stator 63A is provided with four pole teeth 101 to 104, around each of which is wound one of four windings 111 to 114 … Each of these windings comprises excitation wiring and sensing wiring; fig. 8),
wherein:
the rotor is rotatable relative to the stator (abs. - rotors 60, 62, 64, each of which rotates in a different manner with respect to an input shaft 19, and a common stator portion 66),
the set of receiving coils (a1…a6; para. 10 :- wiring 111 of the stator 63A is formed by an excitation wiring f1 and a sensing wiring a3; fig. 7) generate output signals indicative of the rotor rotational movement (para. 11 - resolver formed by the stator 63A and rotor 62, a voltage in accordance with a rotation angle of the rotor is generated between pins 5 and 4 and between pins 6 and 4 of the connector 68); and
a sensor controller electrically coupled to the two angle sensors (para. 35 - connected to a connector of a signal processing circuit),
wherein:
the stators (stator 61A, 63A) of the two angle sensors are structurally same and the rotors of the two angle sensors are structurally the same (abs. - identical shape including a plurality of sets of pole teeth corresponding to each of the rotors. A single length of unspliced electrical wire is wound around each of the pole tooth sets; fig. 5-7),
the sets of receiving coils of the stators of the two angle sensors are provided on one or more circuit boards (para. 10 - each of the connections to a connector 68 provided on printed circuit boards 51, 52), and the sensor controller is configured to determine, for each of the angle sensors, an angular position of the rotor rotational movement based on the output signals from the set of receiving coils of the angle sensors (para. 11 - A position of the input shaft 19 up to 600 turns can be accurately detected by numerically processing the values of the three absolute positions sensed by these three resolvers).
Shibata does not teach explicitly receiving coil configured to have sinusoidal windings.
However, Byrne teaches in figure(s) 1-39 receiving coil configured to have sinusoidal windings (col. 26 lines 50-55 :- outer 244 and inner 245 sense windings… single turn sinusoidally shaped windings are used; fig. 3-7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata by having receiving coil configured to have sinusoidal windings as taught by Byrne in order to provide efficient winding as evidenced by "sinusoidally shaped windings are used in each case, because of space limitations on the board" (col. 26 lines 50-55). Based on these findings, this is an example of applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP §2143.
Claim(s) 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Byrne, and further in view of Elpermann et al. (US 9945694).
Regarding claim(s) 12, 19 Shibata in view of Byrne teaches the position-torque sensor system of Claim(s) 11, 18, respectively.
Shibata does not teach explicitly wherein the sensor controller is further configured to determine a torque of the rotor rotational movement based on a displacement position between the angular positions.
However, Elpermann teaches in figure(s) 1-4 wherein the sensor controller is further configured to determine a torque of the rotor rotational movement based on a displacement position between the angular positions (col. 1 lines 24-27 :- steering torques are determined by a torsion bar inside the steering column using angular differences and calculated from this information; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata by having wherein the sensor controller is further configured to determine a torque of the rotor rotational movement based on a displacement position between the angular positions as taught by Elpermann in order to provide "A rotary angle sensor used to determine a relative angular position as compared to a reference position" (abstract).
Claim(s) 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata in view of Byrne, and further in view of Shao.
Regarding claim(s) 16, 20 Shibata in view of Byrne the position-torque sensor system of Claim(s) 9, 18, respectively.
Shibata does not teach explicitly further comprising an electromagnetic barrier provided between the two angle sensors.
However, Shao teaches in figure(s) 1-7 further comprising an electromagnetic barrier provided between the two angle sensors (col.2 lines 52-56 - a ferrite sheet underlies both sensors on both sides of the PCB).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibata by having further comprising an electromagnetic barrier provided between the two angle sensors as taught by Shao in order to provide "ferrite sheet acts as a magnetic shield which effectively eliminates interference between the two sensors" (col.2 lines 52-56).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Godelar et al. (US 20210336514) discloses “sensor arrangement comprising two rotation angle sensors of different types”.
Ozaki et al. (US 20120330490) discloses “motor driving system for electric vehicle”.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858