DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (U.S. 2017/0248790).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system (100, Figs. 21-23; page 10, para [0111]) comprising:
a first optical element (optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0113]) disposed at a first position along an axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 21; page 10, para [0112]), wherein the first optical element (optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 22) comprises:
a first input surface (vertical input surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23);
a first beamsplitter (162-1, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0113]) optically coupled to the first input surface; and
a first output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the first beamsplitter (162-1, Fig. 23);
a second optical element (optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]) disposed at a second potion along the axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 23), wherein the second optical element (optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) comprises:
a second input surface (vertical input surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23);
a second beamsplitter (162-2, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]) optically coupled to the second input surface; and
a second output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the second beamsplitter (162-2, Fig. 2);
a third optical element (optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 13; page 10, para [0114]) disposed at a third position along the axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 23), wherein the third optical element (optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23) comprises:
a third input surface (vertical input surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23);
a reflective surface (reflective surface of 162-3, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the third input surface; and
a third output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the reflective surface (reflective surface of 162-3, Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first position (position of 162-1, Fig. 23), the second position (position of 162-2, Fig. 23), and the third position (position of 162-3, Fig. 23) are disposed in order along the axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system (100, Figs. 21-23; page 10, para [0111]) comprising:
a first optical element (optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]) disposed at a first position along an axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 21; page 10, para [0112]), wherein the first optical element (optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 22) comprises:
a first input surface (vertical input surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23);
a first beamsplitter (162-3, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]) optically coupled to the first input surface; and
a first output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the first beamsplitter (162-3, Fig. 23);
a second optical element (optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]) disposed at a second potion along the axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 23), wherein the second optical element (optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) comprises:
a second input surface (vertical input surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23);
a second beamsplitter (162-2, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]) optically coupled to the second input surface; and
a second output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the second beamsplitter (162-2, Fig. 2);
a third optical element (optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 13; page 10, para [0114]) disposed at a third position along the axis (optical axis along 210, Fig. 23), wherein the third optical element (optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) comprises:
a third input surface (vertical input surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23);
a reflective surface (reflective surface of 162-1, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the third input surface; and
a third output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) optically coupled to the reflective surface (reflective surface of 162-1 Fig. 23);
wherein the third optical element (162-1, Fig. 23) comprises a right angle prism (such as right angle prism of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) operable to reflect light in a green wavelength range (162-1 comprises a right angle prism operable to reflect light in a green wavelength range, Fig. 23; page 10, para [0113]).
Regarding claim 13, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first output surface (horizontal output surface of 162-1, Fig. 23), the second output surface (horizontal output surface of 162-2, Fig. 23), and the third output surface (horizontal output surface of 163-3, Fig. 23) are coplanar.
Regarding claim 15, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the first beamsplitter (162-1, Fig. 23) is parallel to the second beamsplitter (162-2, Fig. 23).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above and further discloses wherein the reflective surface (reflective surface of 162-3, Fig. 23) is parallel to the second beamsplitter (162-2, Fig. 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (U.S. 2017/0248790).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above but does not expressly disclose wherein the reflective surface (reflective surface of 162-1, Fig. 23) comprises a metallized coating. However, official notice is taken that it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a reflective surface can be comprised of a metallized coating in order to provide reflectivity to the reflective surface. Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the reflective surface (Cheng: reflective surface of 162-1, Fig. 23) of Cheng to be comprised of a metallized coating in order to obtain the benefits of providing reflectivity to the reflective surface as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above but does not expressly disclose a red color filter operable to transmit a red wavelength range disposed adjacent the first output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23). However, Cheng discloses that the second output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) outputs a red wavelength range of light (Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]). Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a red color filter can effectively filter out other color wavelength ranges of light in order to improve the transmission of a red wavelength range of light. Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the second output surface (Cheng: horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) with a red color filter operable to transmit a red wavelength range such that the red color filter is disposed adjacent the first output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) in order to obtain the benefits of improving the transmission of a red color wavelength range of light by filtering out other color wavelength ranges of light as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above but does not expressly disclose a blue color filter operable to transmit a blue wavelength range disposed adjacent the second output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23). However, Cheng discloses that the third output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23) outputs a blue wavelength range of light (Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]). Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a blue color filter can effectively filter out other color wavelength ranges of light in order to improve the transmission of a blue wavelength range of light. Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the third output surface (Cheng: horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23) with a blue color filter operable to transmit a blue wavelength range such that the blue color filter is disposed adjacent the second output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-2, Fig. 23) in order to obtain the benefits of improving the transmission of a blue color wavelength range of light by filtering out other color wavelength ranges of light as is well known in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations above but does not expressly disclose a green color filter operable to transmit a green wavelength range disposed adjacent the third output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23). However, Cheng discloses that the first output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) outputs a green wavelength range of light (Fig. 23; page 10, para [0114]). Furthermore, official notice is taken that it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention that a green color filter can effectively filter out other color wavelength ranges of light in order to improve the transmission of a green wavelength range of light. Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the first output surface (Cheng: horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-1, Fig. 23) with a green color filter operable to transmit a green wavelength range such that the green color filter is disposed adjacent the third output surface (horizontal output surface of optical element comprising 162-3, Fig. 23) in order to obtain the benefits of improving the transmission of a green color wavelength range of light by filtering out other color wavelength ranges of light as is well known in the art.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (U.S. 2017/0248790) in view of Sun et al. (WO 2020/048536).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng discloses a pupil separation system with all the limitations of claim 1 above but does not expressly disclose wherein the pupil separation system (Cheng: 100, Figs. 21-23) is characterized by an index of refraction greater than or equal to 2.0. However, Sun discloses an optical system comprising an analogous optical waveguide that is characterized by an index of refraction of 2.0 (page 79, para [0105]) in order to improve the field of view of the optical system (page 79, page [0105-0106]).
Therefore, before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the pupil separation system (Cheng: 100, Figs. 21-23) of Cheng to be characterized by an index of refraction of 2.0 (Sun: page 79, para [0105]) in order to obtain the benefits of improving the field of view of the optical system as evidenced by Sun (page 79, page [0105-0106]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 14, 17, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art as presently searched does not disclose the pupil separation system of claim 3 (having all the combination of features including wherein the first beamsplitter comprises a dichroic beamsplitter operable to transmit light in a red wavelength range and reflect light in a blue wavelength range and a green wavelength range), does not disclose the pupil separation system of claim 6 (having all the combination of features including wherein the second beamsplitter comprises a dichroic beamsplitter operable to transmit light in a green wavelength range and reflect light in a blue wavelength range), does not disclose the pupil separation system of claim 14 (having all the combination of features including wherein the first input surface is perpendicular to the second input surface and the third input surface), does not disclose the pupil separation system of claim 17 (having all the combination of features including wherein: the first beamsplitter is oriented at 45° to the first input surface; the second beamsplitter is oriented at -45° to the second input surface; and the reflective surface is oriented at -45° to the third input surface), and does not disclose the pupil separation system of claim 19 (having all the combination of features including a scanning mirror operable to rotate around an axis; and an eyepiece waveguide including: a first waveguide layer including a first in coupling grating(ICG) operable to receive light transmitted through the first output surface; a second waveguide layer including a second ICG operable to receive light transmitted through the second output surface, wherein the second ICG is spatially offset from the first ICG; and a third waveguide layer including a third ICG operable to receive light transmitted through the third output surface, wherein the third ICG is spatially offset from the first ICG and the second ICG). Claims 4-5 are objected to as being dependent on claim 3. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent on claim 6. Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent on claim 19.
Conclusion
/PAUL C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871