DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 9-10, the limitation, “the thickest portion” is confusing. Insert –at least one—before “thickest”.
Claim 5, line 1, the limitation, “the thickest portion” is confusing. Insert –at least one—before “thickest”.
Claim 7, lines 3-4, the limitation, “the thickest portion” is confusing. Insert –at least one—before “thickest”.
Claim 8, lines 1-1, the limitation, “the thickest portion” is confusing. Insert –at least one—before “thickest”.
Claim 10, lines 1-2, the limitation, “the thinnest portion” is confusing. Insert –at least one—before “thinnest”.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Parent claim 2 requires the copper base layer. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsuta et al. (US 2015/0001998).
Regarding claim 1, Katsuta et al. disclose an electronic component comprising:
an element body (12) having a contour having a pair of end faces (18a, 18b) and multiple lateral faces (14a, 14b, 16a, 16b) each of which is connected to the end faces (18a, 18b) and extends from one of the end faces (18a) to another of the end faces (18b), and at least one conductor (20a-20b) within the element body (12);
base layers (24) each of which is in contact with the lateral faces and one of the end faces (18a); and
Ni layers (26, [0030]) formed on the base layers (24), respectively, each of the Ni layers (26) disposed over the lateral faces (14a, 14b, 16a, 16b) and the corresponding end face (18a), each of the Ni layers (24) having at least one thickest portion disposed over at least one of the lateral faces, a thickness of the thickest portion being at least 30 percent greater than a thickness of a portion of the Ni layer disposed over the corresponding end face (table 1 – examples 2-5).
Regarding claim 2, Katsuta et al. disclose each of the base layers (24) is a Cu layer [0029].
Regarding claim 3, Katsuta et al. disclose comprising upper metal
layers (28) formed on the Ni layers (26), respectively.
Regarding claim 6, Katsuta et al. disclose each of the Ni layers (26, [0030]) has
the thickest portions that are located over the lateral faces and that are located farther from the corresponding end face (18b) than a middle between an edge farthest from the corresponding end face (18a) and an edge closest to the corresponding end face.
Regarding claim 8, Katsuta et al. disclose the thickness of the thickest portion of each of the Ni layers is from 3.5 to 5.5 micrometers [0030].
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US 2022/0139618).
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. disclose an electronic component comprising:
an element body (110) having a contour having a pair of end faces (3, 4) and multiple lateral faces (1, 2, 5, 6) each of which is connected to the end faces (3,4) and extends from one of the end faces (3) to another of the end faces (4), and at least one conductor (121) within the element body (110);
base layers (131a, 132a) each of which is in contact with the lateral faces (1, 2, 5, 6) and one of the end faces (3, 4); and
Ni layers (131b, 132b, [0073]) formed on the base layers (131a, 132a), respectively, each of the Ni layers (131b, 132b) disposed over the lateral faces (1, 2, 5, 6) and the corresponding end face (3, 4), each of the Ni layers (131b, 132b) having at least one thickest portion disposed over at least one of the lateral faces (2), a thickness of the thickest portion being at least 30 percent greater than a thickness of a portion of the Ni layer disposed over the corresponding end face (table 1, examples 9-12).
Regarding claim 2, Kang et al. disclose each of the base layers (131a, 132a) is a Cu layer [0067].
Regarding claim 3, Kang et al. disclose comprising upper metal layers (131c, 132c) formed on the Ni layers (131b, 132b), respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Kang et al. disclose each of the base layers is a Cu layer [0067] and each of the upper metal layers is an Sn layer [0115]
Regarding claim 5, Kang et al. disclose the thickness of the thickest portion is
at least 20 percent greater than a thickness of at least one thinnest portion disposed over at least one of the lateral faces (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Kang et al. disclose each of the Ni layers (131b) has
the thickest portions that are located over the lateral faces and that are located farther from the corresponding end face (3, 4) than a middle between an edge farthest from the corresponding end face (3,4) and an edge closest to the corresponding end face (3, 4).
Regarding claim 9, Kang et al. disclose the thickness of the portion of each of the Ni layers disposed over the corresponding end face is from 2.5 to 4.0 micrometers (table 1, samples 10-11).
Regarding claim 11, Kang et al. disclose the thickness of the thickest portions of each of the Ni layers (131b) is at least 30 percent greater than a thickness of portions of
the Ni layer disposed over boundaries between the end face and each of the lateral faces (see fig. 2).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kisumi (US 2022/0093336).
Regarding claim 14, Kisumi discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic component, the method comprising: forming base layers (12) on an element body (3) that has a contour having a pair of end faces [0019] and multiple lateral faces [0019] each of which is connected to the end faces and extends from one of the end faces [0019] to another of the end faces, and at least one conductor (9) within the element
body, wherein each of the base layers (12) is in contact with the lateral faces and one of the end faces (7);
reducing a thickness of at least a portion of each of the base layers (12, [0024]), the portion being in contact with at least one of the lateral faces [0024]; and
forming Ni layers (14, [0029]) on the base layers (12), respectively, wherein each of the Ni layers (14) is disposed over the lateral faces and the corresponding end face.
Regarding claim 15, Kisumi discloses wherein the reducing the thickness is performed by a blasting treatment [0024].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2022/0139618) in view of Cho et al. (US 2014/0020942 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kang et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a circuit board arrangement comprising: the electronic component according to claim 1; and a substrate on which the electronic component is mounted via solders.
Cho et al. disclose a circuit board arrangement (120) comprising an electronic component (10) and a substrate (120) on which the electronic component is mounted via solders (142, 144).
It would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the electronic component of Kang et al. on a substrate using solder, since such a modification would form a circuit board arrangement having a capacitor of Kang et al., since such a modification would form a circuit board arrangement having a low ESR capacitor that has excellent flexural strength characteristics.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Kang discloses an electronic device comprising the circuit board arrangement according to claim 12 [0003].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with the other claim limitations, the prior art does not teach or suggest an electronic component:
wherein the element body has first lateral faces connected to the end faces and second lateral faces each of which is connected to the first lateral faces and the end faces, and wherein each of the Ni layer has the thickest portions disposed over boundaries between the first lateral faces and the second lateral faces (claim 7); and
wherein the thickness of the thinnest portion of each of the Ni layers is at least 3.0 micrometers (claim 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,381,117 – ceramic component having resin layer
US 2012/0327555 A1 – ceramic component having thick external electrodes
US 2015/0083475 A1 – ceramic component
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847