DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 8, 11-13, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faaborg et al., US PGPUB No. 20170256096 A1, hereinafter Faaborg, and further in view of MacGillivray, US PGPUB No. 20180150204 A1, hereinafter MacGillivray.
Regarding claim 11, Faaborg discloses a system (Faaborg; a system [¶ 0057-0058], as illustrated within Fig. 8; moreover, HDM [¶ 0016-0018 and ¶ 0052-0053]) comprising:
an augmented reality (AR) display (Faaborg; the system [as addressed above] comprises an AR display [¶ 0017-0018 and ¶ 0049-0050]; moreover, AR/VR system for rendering a 3D virtual model [¶ 0038-0039]); and
control circuitry (Faaborg; the system [as addressed above] comprises (at least one) control circuitry [¶ 0058 and ¶ 0064]), wherein the control circuitry is configured to:
identify a plurality of content items to be displayed in the AR display (Faaborg; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to identify a plurality of content items to be displayed in the AR display [¶ 0038-0040]; wherein, determining a region or area for display of a window in which to launch content [¶ 0021 and ¶ 0024]; additionally, presentation windows can be launch in order to present a user with several content items [¶ 0040-0042 and ¶ 0044], as illustrated within Figs. 3B-D);
determine a location associated with the AR display (Faaborg; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to determine a location associated with the AR display [¶ 0038-0039]; wherein, determining a size and placement of a window in which to provide content [¶ 0020 and ¶ 0024-0025]; additionally, detection of user proximity (while wearing the HMD) [¶ 0028-0029]; additionally, one or more sensors which include distance/proximity and/or position (measurements) [¶ 0052]);
identify data for a plurality of zones corresponding to different physical areas within the location (Faaborg; the control circuitry [as addressed above] is configured to identify data for a plurality of zones (i.e. windows) corresponding to different physical areas within the location [¶ 0021 and ¶ 0038-0039], as illustrated within Fig. 1B and Fig. 3B; moreover, environment information [¶ 0031]), wherein the data for the plurality of zones comprises an anchor point for each zone of the plurality of zones (Faaborg; the data for the plurality of zones comprises an anchor point (i.e. target; target area) for each zone (i.e. window) of the plurality of zones (i.e. windows) [¶ 0021-0022 and ¶ 0026]);
for each content item of the plurality of content items:
identify priority data associated with the content item (Faaborg; identify priority data (i.e. requirements and/or preferences; user preferences) associated with the content item for each content item of the plurality of content items [¶ 0021-0022 and ¶ 0024-0025]; moreover, relatively high priority is given to target areas that are a desired aspect ratio [¶ 0023]; additionally, placement of windows is in relation with preferences [¶ 0034] and targets [¶ 0038]);
select a zone of the plurality of zones for the content item (Faaborg; select a zone (i.e. window) of the plurality of zones (i.e. windows) for the content item for each content item of the plurality of content items [¶ 0021 and ¶ 0026-0027]; wherein, windows for content and content can be selected [¶ 0040-0041 ¶ 0044]; moreover, selection of a targeted area for present content maybe intelligently selected based on characteristics [¶ 0028-0030], and determination of a window or target area utilizing image data [¶ 0055-0056]);
assign the content item to a physical location within the selected zone based on (a) the priority data and (b) an anchor point corresponding to the selected zone (Faaborg; assign the content item to a physical location within the selected zone (i.e. window) based on (a) the priority data (i.e. requirements and/or preferences; user preferences) and (b) an anchor point (i.e. target; target area) corresponding to the selected zone (i.e. window) for each content item of the plurality of content items [¶ 0020-0022 and ¶ 0024-0025]; moreover, launch presentation window in relation with presenting content [¶ 0040-0041 and ¶ 0044]); and
cause the AR display to display the content item at the assigned physical location within the selected zone (Faaborg; cause the AR display to display the content item at the assigned physical location within the selected zone for each content item of the plurality of content items [¶ 0020-0022 and ¶ 0024-0025], as illustrated within Figs. 1B-G; wherein, targets of windows are configured to display content [¶ 0038-0039] that is selected/assigned content [¶ 0040-0041 and ¶ 0044], as illustrated within Figs. 3B-D).
Faaborg fails to explicitly disclose priority data.
However, MacGillivray teaches priority data (MacGillivray; priority data corresponding to user preferences further corresponding to a hierarchy [¶ 0030-0031]; in other words, data is prioritized based on proximity to a user and/or the desire of the user to view the content [id.]; wherein, the user is able to manipulate the virtual objects [¶ 0026 and ¶ 0028-0029]).
Faaborg and MacGillivray are considered to be analogous art because both pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effects in combination with a user-interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg, to incorporate priority data (as taught by MacGillivray), in order to provide an improved user interaction within a virtualize environment that is not limited to a user’s hands (MacGillivray; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0014-0015]).
Regarding claim 12, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone (Faaborg; the control circuitry is configured to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) by:
determining a distance to the anchor point for the selected zone based on the priority data (Faaborg; assign the content item [as addressed above] by determining a distance to the anchor point (i.e. target, target area) for the selected zone (i.e. window) based on the priority data (i.e. requirements and/or preferences; user preferences) [¶ 0028-0029]); and
assigning the content item to the physical location based on the distance to the anchor point for the selected zone (Faaborg; assign the content item [as addressed above] by assigning the content item to the physical location based on the distance (i.e. proximity) to the anchor point (i.e. target, target area) for the selected zone (i.e. window) [¶ 0028-0029]; additionally, wanting to present content within arm’s length [¶ 0033]; wherein, one or more characteristics are considered [¶ 0021-0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the content item is associated with a priority level and the assigned physical location is at or proximate to the anchor point for the selected zone (Faaborg; the content item [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is associated with a priority level and the assigned physical location is at or proximate to the anchor point (i.e. target; target area) for the selected zone (i.e. window) [¶ 0028-0029]; additionally, target areas can be high priority [¶ 0023]).
MacGillivray further teaches the content item is associated with a highest priority level (MacGillivray; the content item is associated with a highest priority level [¶ 0030-0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate the content item is associated with a highest priority level (as taught by MacGillivray), in order to provide an improved user interaction within a virtualize environment that is not limited to a user’s hands (MacGillivray; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0014-0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured to select the zone of the plurality of zones for the content item based on (a) a plurality of weighting factors corresponding to the plurality of zones and (b) the priority data associated with the content item (Faaborg; the control circuitry is configured to select the zone of the plurality of zones for the content item [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] based on (a) a plurality of weighting factors (i.e. characteristics) corresponding to the plurality of zones (i.e. windows) [¶ 0020-0022] and (b) the priority data (i.e. requirements and/or preferences; user preferences) associated with the content item [¶ 0021-0022 and ¶ 0024-0025]; wherein, characteristics include the size of a region [id.] as well as flatness of a region and/or the smoothness/texture of a region [¶ 0018]; and wherein, factors of weight correspond to prioritizing target areas based on one or more characteristics [¶ 0023-0025]).
MacGillivray further teaches the priority data associated with the content item (MacGillivray; the priority data associated with the content item [¶ 0030-0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate the priority data associated with the content item (as taught by MacGillivray), in order to provide an improved user interaction within a virtualize environment that is not limited to a user’s hands (MacGillivray; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0014-0015]).
Regarding claim 18, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 17, wherein the plurality of weighting factors corresponding to the plurality of zones are assigned based on locations of the plurality of zones within a field of view of the AR display (Faaborg; the plurality of weighting factors (i.e. characteristics) corresponding to the plurality of zones (i.e. windows) [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] are assigned based on locations of the plurality of zones (i.e. windows) within a FOV of the AR display [¶ 0028-0030]; additionally, other characteristics, such as size, texture, and/or flatness can be taken into consideration in relation to the one or more windows [¶ 0021-0023]; wherein, determinations based on location/positioning are connected with determinations of size [¶ 0026-0027]).
Regarding claim 1, the rejection of claim 1 is addressed within the rejection of claim 11, due to the similarities claim 1 and claim 11 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 11 regarding the rejection of claim 1. Although, claim 1 and claim 11 may not be identical, they are considerably comparable or substantially equivalent given their overlapping subject matter. Thus, it is reasonable to reject claim 1 based on the teachings and rational in relation with the prior art within the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 2 is addressed within the rejection of claim 12, due to the similarities claim 2 and claim 12 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 12 regarding the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 3 is addressed within the rejection of claim 13, due to the similarities claim 3 and claim 13 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 13 regarding the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 7 is addressed within the rejection of claim 17, due to the similarities claim 7 and claim 17 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 17 regarding the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 8 is addressed within the rejection of claim 18, due to the similarities claim 8 and claim 18 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 18 regarding the rejection of claim 8.
Claim(s) 4-6, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faaborg in view of MacGillivray as applied to claim(s) 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Moore, US PGPUB No. 20210286504 A1, hereinafter Moore.
Regarding claim 14, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry is configured to select the zone of the plurality of zones for the content item based on a type of the content item (Faaborg; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)] is configured to select the zone (i.e. window) of the plurality of zones (i.e. windows) for the content item based on a type of (and/or preference for) the content item [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0026]; wherein, windows can be specialized [¶ 0056]; additionally, one or more characteristics of a target area influence content [¶ 0021-0022 and ¶ 0028-0029]).
Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray fails to disclose to select the zone based on a genre of the content item.
However, Moore teaches to select the zone of the plurality of zones for the content item based on a genre of the content item (Moore; to select the zone/region of the plurality of zones/regions for the content item [¶ 0070-0071 and ¶ 0092-0093] based on a genre of the content item [¶ 0078 and ¶ 0096]).
Faaborg in view of MacGillivray and Moore are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effects in combination with a user-interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate to select the zone of the plurality of zones for the content item based on a genre of the content item (as taught by Moore), in order to provide an improved user-interface that allows a user to navigate and/or perceive a relatively large amount of digital content more intuitively (Moore; [¶ 0003-0004 and ¶ 0012]).
Regarding claim 15, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry (Faaborg; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is further configured to:
identify a first content item and second content item of the plurality of content items displayed by the AR display (Faaborg; identify a 1st content item and 2nd content item of the plurality of content items displayed by the AR display [¶ 0021-0024]; moreover, identifying a video stream [¶ 0020] and/or identifying personal items [¶ 0026]; additionally, applications are intelligently selected for presentation [¶ 0028-0029]), wherein the first content item is within a first selected zone and the second content item is within a second selected zone (Faaborg; the 1st content item is within a 1st selected zone and the second content item is within a second selected zone [¶ 0021-0024]; moreover, 1st and 2nd presentation windows [¶ 0040-0042], as illustrated within Figs. 3C-D; such that, the 1st and 2nd presentation windows each comprises their own target area further corresponding to their own content [¶ 0044]);
based on determining that the first selected zone is a target zone, cause the AR display to transmit audio for the first content item (Faaborg; cause the AR display to transmit audio implicitly (given video streaming media) for the 1st content item based on determining that the 1st selected zone is a target zone [¶ 0022]; moreover, audio sounds generated by applications [¶ 0069]); and
Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray based on determining that the second selected zone is not the target zone, cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the second content item.
However, Moore teaches based on determining that the second selected zone is not the target zone, cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the second content item (Moore; cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the second content item [¶ 0237] based on determining that the second selected zone is not the target zone [¶ 0141-0144]; wherein, objects which are mapped to locations within the virtual space having increased prominence [¶ 0075 and ¶ 0119-0120]; additionally, object of interest mapped to a virtual space [¶ 0136-0138]).
Faaborg in view of MacGillivray and Moore are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effects in combination with a user-interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate based on determining that the second selected zone is not the target zone, cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the second content item (as taught by Moore), in order to provide an improved user-interface that allows a user to navigate and/or perceive a relatively large amount of digital content more intuitively (Moore; [¶ 0003-0004 and ¶ 0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 11, wherein the control circuitry (Faaborg; the control circuitry [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]) is further configured to:
determine whether the selected zone is a target zone (Faaborg; determine whether the selected zone (i.e. window) is a target zone (i.e. drop target; target area) [¶ 0021-0023]; wherein, selection can correspond to approaching and/or facing a target area [¶ 0028-0029]):
based on determining that the selected zone is the target zone:
determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone (Faaborg; determine whether the content item is a priority content item of the target zone (i.e. drop target; target area) [¶ 0024 and ¶ 0026] based on determining that the selected zone (i.e. window) is the target zone (i.e. drop target; target area) [as addressed above]).
MacGillivray further teaches determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone (MacGillivray; determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone (i.e. closest proximity and/or gazing area) [¶ 0030-0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone (as taught by MacGillivray), in order to provide an improved user interaction within a virtualize environment that is not limited to a user’s hands (MacGillivray; [¶ 0002-0003 and ¶ 0014-0015]).
Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray fails to disclose based on determining that the content item is not the highest-priority content item of the target zone, cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the content item.
However, Moore teaches determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone (Moore; determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone [¶ 0075 and ¶ 0142-0144]; wherein, objects which are higher priority are mapped to locations within the virtual space having increased prominence [¶ 0119-0120]; additionally, object of interest mapped to a virtual space [¶ 0136-0138]); and
based on determining that the content item is not the highest-priority content item of the target zone, cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the content item (Moore; cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the content item [¶ 0237] based on determining that the content item is not the highest-priority content item of the target zone [¶ 0141-0144]).
Faaborg in view of MacGillivray and Moore are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effects in combination with a user-interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate determine whether the content item is a highest-priority content item of the target zone; and based on determining that the content item is not the highest-priority content item of the target zone, cause the AR display to deactivate audio for the content item (as taught by Moore), in order to provide an improved user-interface that allows a user to navigate and/or perceive a relatively large amount of digital content more intuitively (Moore; [¶ 0003-0004 and ¶ 0012]).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 4 is addressed within the rejection of claim 14, due to the similarities claim 4 and claim 14 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 14 regarding the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 5 is addressed within the rejection of claim 15, due to the similarities claim 5 and claim 15 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 15 regarding the rejection of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 6 is addressed within the rejection of claim 16, due to the similarities claim 6 and claim 16 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 16 regarding the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faaborg in view of MacGillivray as applied to claim(s) 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Kosik et al., US PGPUB No. 20200035203 A1, hereinafter Kosik.
Regarding claim 20, Faaborg in view of MacGillivray further discloses the system of claim 11, the data for the plurality of zones (Faaborg; [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]); and
the control circuitry is configured to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone (Faaborg; [as addressed within the parent claim(s)]).
Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray fails to explicitly disclose a layout for each zone of the plurality of zones; and
to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone further based on (c) the layout for the selected zone.
However, Kosik teaches wherein: the data for the plurality of zones further comprises a layout for each zone of the plurality of zones (Kosik; the data for the plurality of zones further comprises a layout for each zone of the plurality of zones [¶ 0039-0040]; moreover, a layout of virtual screens configured to consider user preferences, movements, position, and viewing angles [¶ 0050-0052], as illustrated within Fig. 2; additionally, a primary virtual viewing screen with one or more secondary virtual screens configured adjacently positioned (next to the primary virtual screen) [¶ 0053]); and
the control circuitry is configured to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone further based on (c) the layout for the selected zone (Kosik; the control circuitry [¶ 0034-0035] is configured to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone (i.e. screens) further based on (c) the layout for the selected zone (i.e. screen) [¶ 0050 and ¶ 0053-0054]; moreover, a main virtual screen and sub virtual screens, of a layout, can be configured to present general, specific, and related content [¶ 0056]; additionally, content can be assigned to a screen within a layout given one or more condition are met [¶ 0064-0066]).
Faaborg in view of MacGillivray and Kosik are considered to be analogous art because they pertain to generating and/or managing data in relation with providing media data to a user, wherein one or more computerized units are utilized in order to produce visualization effects in combination with a user-interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention was made to modify Faaborg as modified by MacGillivray, to incorporate the data for the plurality of zones further comprises a layout for each zone of the plurality of zones; and the control circuitry is configured to assign the content item to the physical location within the selected zone further based on (c) the layout for the selected zone (as taught by Kosik), in order to provide an improved user-interface that allows for an expansive/dynamic view of content within an immersive environment that is less obstructive or cluttered (Kosik; [¶ 0001 and ¶ 0003-0005]).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 10 is addressed within the rejection of claim 20, due to the similarities claim 10 and claim 20 share, therefore refer to the rejection of claim 20 regarding the rejection of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(regarding virtual screens and content)
Forutanpour et al. (US PGPUB No. 20150145887 A1);
Zurmoehle et al. (US Patent No. 11087563 B2, US PGPUB No. 20210097775 A1);
Pahud et al. (US PGPUB No. 20190005724 A1);
Phillips et al. (US PGPUB No. 20180070113 A1, US PGPUB No. 20220345757 A1);
Demaine (US PGPUB No. 20120200600 A1); and
Algreatly (US PGPUB No. 20150277699 A1).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
CHARLES LLOYD. BEARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2611
/CHARLES L BEARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611