DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS’s) submitted on 05 February 2025 and 27 July 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statements have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-11, & 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANIBUCHI et al. (US 2012/0044309 A1) in view of Takabatake et al. (US 20215/0062280 A1).
As related to independent claim 1, WANIBUCHI et al. teaches a printer comprising: a storage unit in which a roll-shaped printing medium is stored (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 1 & Figure 3, shown below); a print head configured to print on the medium (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, Reference #19, shown below); a damper [i.e. tension guide] disposed between the storage unit and the print head and against which the medium is pressed as a result of tension in the medium that is drawn out from the storage unit (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, Reference #26 and Page 3, Paragraphs 37-40); and an elastic body [i.e. spring member] including one or more non-linear elastic members against which the damper is pressed when the medium is pressed against the damper (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, Reference #26 and Page 3, Paragraphs 37-40). WANIBUCHI et al. does not specifically teach a first roller that is rotatable to draw out the medium from the storage unit while pressing the medium against the print head. However, Takabatake et al. teaches a printer comprising a storage unit and a print head configured to print on a roll-shaped printing medium (Takabatake et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4) and specifically teaches a first roller that is rotatable to draw out the medium from the storage unit while pressing the medium against the print head (Takabatake et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 34-37 and Figures 1A & 8A, shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printer of WANIBUCHI et al. with the print head for thermal printing of Takabatake et al. in an effort to provide a further example of the thermal head and the elastic body for printing on the roll-shaped printing medium of WANIBUCHI et al. to ensure the recording paper is not damaged and there is no size increase of the printer apparatus (Takabatake et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4 & 9-10 and WANIBUCHI et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 37-40 and Page 5, Paragraph 67).
As related to independent claim 11, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains for the reasons indicated above and continues to teach a printer comprising: a storage unit in which a roll-shaped printing medium is stored (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 1 & Figure 3, shown above and Takabatake et al. – Page 2, Paragraphs 3-4); a print head configured to print on the medium (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, Reference #19, shown below); a first roller that is rotatable to draw out the medium from the storage unit while pressing the medium against the print head (Takabatake et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 34-37 and Figures 1A & 8A, shown above); a first plate that is rotatable about one side thereof and against which the medium is pressed as a result of tension in the medium that is drawn out from the storage unit [i.e. tension guide], another side opposite to said one side contacting the medium between the storage unit and the print head a based structure that rotatably supports the first plate at said one side thereof (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, Reference #26 and Page 3, Paragraphs 37-40); and one or more elastic members [i.e. spring member] sandwiched between the first plate and the base structure (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, Reference #26 and Page 3, Paragraphs 37-40 and Takabatake et al. – Page 3, Paragraphs 34-37 and Figures 1A & 8A, shown above).
As related to dependent claims 4 & 14, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the elastic members are attached to a base structure and arranged along a longitudinal direction thereof (Takabatake et al. – Figure 8A, shown above).
As related to further dependent claims 5 & 15, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the elastic members are arranged symmetrically with respect to a virtual center line on the base structure, the center line being perpendicular to the longitudinal direction (Takabatake et al. – Figure 8A, shown above).
As related to further dependent claims 6 & 16, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach one of the elastic members is on the center line (Takabatake et al. – Figure 8A, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 7, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the damper includes one or more second rollers against which the medium that is drawn out is pressed, and a pivot point about which the damper rotates to be pressed against the elastic body as the medium is drawn out (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, shown above).
As related to dependent claim 17, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach one or more second rollers are attached to said another side of the first plate and contact the medium. (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figure 3, shown above).
As related to dependent claims 8 & 18, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a lower housing having an upper opening and in which the storage unit, the print head, the first roller, the damper, and the elastic body are stored; and a cover that covers the upper opening (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figures 1 & 3, shown above and Takabatake et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4).
As related to further dependent claims 9 & 19, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach a discharge port formed in a gap between the lower housing and the cover and through which the printed medium is discharged (WANIBUCHI et al. – Figures 1 & 3, shown above and Takabatake et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4).
As related to dependent claims 10 & 20, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the medium is a thermal sheet (WANIBUCHI et al. – Page 3, Paragraph 67 and Takabatake et al. – Page 1, Paragraphs 3-4 and Page 2, Paragraphs 27-28).
Claims 2-3 & 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. (US 2012/0044309 A1) and Takabatake et al. (US 20215/0062280 A1) in further view of Nureki et al. (US 2009/0290010 A1).
As related to dependent claims 2 & 12, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach the elastic members are compression coil springs (Takabatake et al. – Figure 8A, shown above) but does not specifically teach having unequal pitches. However, Nureki et al. teaches a thermal printer comprising one or more non-linear elastic members which are compression coil springs (Nureki et al. – Page 1, Paragraph 9 and Figure 14, shown below) and specifically teaches the coil springs have unequal pitches (Nureki et al. – Page 6, Paragraphs 105, & 108-111 and Figure 14, Reference #8 & #62, shown below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastic members of the combination of WANIBUCHI et al. and Takabatake et al. with the elastic members of Nureki et al. in an effort to provide urging force correction means which ensure the correct pressure is applied and the amount of paper used is reduced (Nureki et al. – Page 2, Paragraph 31 and Page 8, Paragraphs 108-111).
As related to further dependent claims 3 & 13, the combination of WANIBUCHI et al., Takabatake et al., and Nureki et al. remains as applied above and continues to teach ach of the coil springs includes a plurality of spring portions respectively having different pitches or diameters (Nureki et al. – Figure 14, Reference #8 & #62, shown above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Imai et al. (US 5,709,488 A) teaches a thermal printer with a damper disposed between the storage unit and the print head. MURATA (US 2016/0185141 A1) teaches a thermal printer having a damper and four coil springs on different tension components. ANDO (US 2017/0326894 A1) teaches a thermal printer for printing on a roll-shaped printing medium with a damper against which the medium is pressed.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular Figures & Reference Numbers, Columns, Paragraphs and Line Numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Ricardo Magallanes can be reached at (571) 272-5960. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/John P Zimmermann/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853