DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240297994 A1 LEE; Bae Keun et al. (hereafter Lee), and further in view of US 20190141318 A1 Li; Bin et al. (hereafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses A video decoding method (Fig.2), comprising: obtaining a video bitstream that includes a plurality of encoded blocks including a current block (Fig.2, [91]); and when a multiple reference line intra prediction (MRLP) mode is enabled for the current block and a non-adjacent reference line is used for the current block (Fig.40, [372]-[375], intra prediction may be performed by selecting any one of a plurality of intra reference lines configured with an non adjacent intra reference lines): determining a first allowed intra prediction mode (AIPM) set for the current block ([390], the second group is the AIPM), wherein the first AIPM includes: a set of one or more intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block (Figs.32-35, Fig.40, [378], each indexed subset of adjacent reference line is the AIPM); and reconstructing the current block using an intra prediction mode from the first AIPM set (Fig.2, [78], [390]-[391]).
Lee fails to disclose a set of one or more intra prediction modes derived based on a signaled nominal angular mode and an angle delta value.
However, Li teaches a set of one or more intra prediction modes derived based on a signaled nominal angular mode and an angle delta value (Figs.7, [130], [133], [206], for some allowed intra prediction modes, a predicted sample value is calculated along the prediction direction for an angular prediction mode, and the value of an offset region tend to indicate appropriate corrections to the predicted sample values of the current block along that prediction direction).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video decoding method disclosed by Lee to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Li, in order to improve the effectiveness of the intra-picture prediction, as identified by Li.
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses The method of claim 1, wherein all prediction modes with nominal angles are included in the first AIPM set regardless of a size of the current block ([145], [388]).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first AIPM set does not include any non-directional SMOOTH modes regardless of a size of the current block ([100]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first AIPM set includes a SMOOTH_V mode and a SMOOTH_H mode regardless of a size of the current block ([100], [134]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising, when the MRLP mode is enabled for the current block and an adjacent reference line is used for the current block: determining a second AIPM set for the current block, wherein the first AIPM set comprises a subset of the second AIPM set; and reconstructing the current block using an intra prediction mode from the second AIPM set (Fig.38, [78]).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the second AIPM set includes two or more levels, each level of the two or more levels including a respective subset of intra prediction modes ([272]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the first AIPM set includes all angular modes from the second AIPM set (Figs.34, 35).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the second AIPM set includes at least one non-angular smooth mode that is not included in the first AIPM set (Fig.34).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the first AIPM set includes at least one angular mode that is not included in the second AIPM set (Figs.37-38).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: when the set of one or more intra prediction modes of neighboring blocks of the current block includes an angular mode, the first AIPM set includes at least one angular model with a non-zero angle delta (Fig.10, [133]).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches The method of claim 1, wherein a size of the first AIPM set is equal to a power of 2 ([171]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a size of the first AIPM set is equal to a sum of multiples of power of 2 (Figs.38, 39).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a size of the first AIPM set is based on modes of the neighboring blocks of the current block (Fig.38).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses The method of claim 13, wherein, when the neighboring blocks of the current block have less than a threshold number of non-angular modes, the size of the first AIPM set is than when the neighboring blocks of the current block have more than the threshold number of non-angular modes (Figs.36-38).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses The method of claim 14, wherein, when the size of the first AIPM is set to zero, the non- adjacent reference line is not applied to the current block ([379]-[380]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses The method of claim 1, wherein a size of the first AIPM set is based on modes of the neighboring blocks of the current block and a reference line index for the MRLP mode ([377]).
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection for claim 1. Lee further discloses A video encoding method, comprising: obtaining video data that includes a plurality of blocks including a current block ([53], [83]); and encoding the current block using an intra prediction mode from the first AIPM set ([67]).
Regarding claim 20, see the rejection for claim 1, further Lee discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more sets of instructions configured for execution by a computing device having control circuitry and memory ([500]-[501], the one or more sets of instructions comprising instructions for: the plurality of encoded blocks including a current block encoding using a multiple reference line intra prediction mode ([373]-[375]); Li teaches obtaining a source video sequence that comprises a plurality of frames (Fig.3); and performing a conversion between the source video sequence and a video bitstream of visual media data according to a format rule ([49], codec/compression standard is the format rule, encoding is the conversion ), wherein the video bitstream comprises a plurality of encoded blocks corresponding to the plurality of frames ([69], [155]).
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Li, and further in view of US 10484712 B2 Zhang; Li et al. (hereafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising, for a chroma component of the current block, not applying the non-adjacent reference line to the chroma component when at least one of the neighboring blocks has a corresponding non-angular mode (col.4 line 49-col.5 line 10).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Lee, Li and Zhang before him/her, to modify the video decoding method disclosed by Lee to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Li and Zhang, in order to improve the effectiveness of the intra-picture prediction, as identified by Li, and improve overall coding quality, as identified by Zhang.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising, for a chroma component of the current block, not applying the non-adjacent reference line to the chroma component when at least one of the neighboring blocks has a different prediction mode than another of the neighboring blocks (col.19, lines 20-33).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20220279162 A1, US 20220109835 A1, US 20200007870 A1.
/TRACY Y. LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487