DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-22, in the reply filed on 10 July 2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10 July 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 8, 11-15, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 29 of copending Application No. 19/266745 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 8 and 15 recite a structure having integrated passages produced by an additive manufacturing process comprising a base part comprising a plurality of grooves, a cap at least partially positioned in the groove, and an additional layer of material securing the cap. This is patentably indistinct of claim 29 of the ‘745 application which recites a nozzle for a rocket engine comprising integrated passages produced by an additive manufacturing process comprising machining grooves in a curved surface, positioning tubes/wires into the grooves, and depositing an additional layer on material over the tubes to secure the tubes in the grooves and machining the additional layer. As both the instant claims and those of the ‘745 application recite overlapping structures with grooves having caps (i.e. tubes/wires) secured therein with additional material they are patentably indistinct from one another.
Instant claims 11-12 recite shapes of the groove necessary to accommodate the tube overlapping claim 29 of the ‘745 application. Instant claim 13 recites cap and groove sidewalls contacting which is necessarily present in the tube/groove combination recited in claim 29 of the ‘745 application. Instant claims 14 and 22 recite a nozzle of a rocket engine overlapping the rocket nozzle of claim 29 of the ‘745 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
It is noted that Notice of Allowance is in the file wrapper of the ‘745 application, but the application has not issued as of the writing of this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 11-17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroaki et al. (GB 2501413).
Considering claims 8 and 15, Hiroaki teaches a heat exchanger (abstract) including an embodiment taught in Fig 2 (reproduced below) comprising stacked units A having grooves (4a) and (4b) formed therein (i.e. a base with a plurality of layers comprising a plurality of grooves) with heat transfer pipes (2) therein (i.e. caps positioned within the grooves) with a further unit A thereon (i.e. an addition layer of material securing the layer below) (Paragraph 12) where the further unit A has grooves (4a) and/or (4b) thereon (i.e. machined to a predetermined shape) where each groove and tube combine to form a plurality of passages. As such, the disclosure of Hiroaki anticipates that which is claimed. Further the recitation of ‘produced by an additive manufacturing process’ is considered a product-by-process limitation and is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2113.
Considering claim 11, Hiroaki teaches an embodiment where the grooves have a bottom (i.e. first region having a base wall) and slopes connecting to the bottom (i.e. sidewalls tapered at an angle) (Fig 2) as no particular angle is recited. See MPEP 2111.01.
Considering claim 12, Hiroaki teaches where the grooves have a bottom portion (i.e. a first region) and where the upper portion of the groove (i.e. second region) is wider than the bottom (Fig 2). See MPEP 2111.01.
Considering claim 13, Hiroaki teaches the groove and tube each comprise a sidewall and where they contact one another (Fig.2; Paragraph 13).
Considering claim 14, Hiroaki teaches where the structure is a heat exchanger (Paragraph 12).
Considering claim 16, Fig 2 of Hiroaki above teaches where the groove comprises an inner region to receive the tube and where the groove terminates at a flat portion to receive the next unit A.
Considering clam 17, Fig 1 of Hiroaki teaches where the units A comprise flat sections between the grooves and is considered ‘a smooth surface’ as no particular degree of smoothness is recited. See MPEP 2111.01.
Considering claim 20, Fig 2 of Hiroaki above depicts where the passages are defined by the tube on the bottom of the groove and where the tube is a square cross-section (Fig 6) defining sides and top surfaces (Paragraph 31) and meets the claimed configuration due to the recitation of the open-language transitional phrase ‘comprising’. See MPEP 2111.03.
Considering claim 21, Hiroaki teaches where the tube is a square cross-section (Fig 6; Paragraph 31).
Considering claim 22, Hiroaki teaches where the structure is a heat exchanger (Paragraph 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 2010/0101768).
Considering claims 8 and 15, Seo teaches a heat transfer plate (abstract). The plate comprises a groove (8) formed therein with a pipe (16) (i.e. cap) inserted in the groove and secured by lid plate (10) (i.e. additional layer of material) (Paragraphs 40 and 77-78; Figs. 4A, 4D, 4E) where (10) is joined to the body by friction stir joining to form a shape (Paragraph 87). An embodiment taught in Fig.14 (reproduced below) depicts where plural grooves and pipes are used to form the heat transfer plate (Paragraph 143). The grooves and pipes are considered to combine to define passages in the base.
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed structure this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Seo as this is considered a combination of conventionally known grooves and pipes (i.e. cap materials) known to form heat transfer plates and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. While not teaching where the base is formed by an additive manufacturing process to deposit layers of material, this is considered a product-by-process limitation and is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art absent a showing as to how the claimed process affects the final structure of the claimed article. See MPEP 2113.
Considering claim 9, in addition to the disclosure as outlined in claim 8 above, Seo teaches where the groove comprises a rectangular upper portion and tapered lower portion (Fig.4A – reproduced below) and where this configuration is formed with the pipe therein and where material from (10) is plasticized and moves into areas (P) around the pipe (Fig. 10) during joining such that the material is within the tapered portion of the groove and the upper rectangular portion (Paragraph 110; Fig.11) and (10) is considered the cap material as claimed.
Considering claim 10, Fig.8 of Seo depicts where lid material (10) is U-shaped contacting (16) underneath upper lid plate (40) (Paragraph 102).
Considering claims 11-12, Fig.4a (reproduced above) of Seo depicts where the groove has an upper rectangular portion with a base wall and a second portion below having tapered side walls where the upper portion is wider than the bottom portion (Paragraph 80).
Considering claim 13, Seo teaches where the pipe (i.e. cap) and groove comprise sidewalls which contact one another (Fig.4C).
Considering claim 14, Seo teaches where the device is a heat exchanger (Paragraph 1).
Considering claim 16, Fig.4a of Seo above depicts where the groove comprises an upper region to receive (10) (e.g. a second region) and a lower region to receive the pipe (i.e. a first region) (Paragraph 80).
Considering claim 17, Fig.14 of Seo above depicts where (10) is smoothed.
Considering claim 18, Fig.8 of Seo depicts where lid material (10) is U-shaped contacting (16) underneath upper lid plate (40) (Paragraph 102).
Considering claim 19, Fig.4a of Seo above depicts where the groove comprises an upper rectangular region which receives (10) and a lower tapered region to receive the pipe (Paragraph 80).
Considering claim 20, Figs. 4B and 4E of Seo above depict where the passages are defined by the tube on the bottom of the groove and where the tube is a near-rectangular cross-section (Fig. 18C) defining sides and top surfaces (Paragraph 181) and meets the claimed configuration due to the recitation of the open-language transitional phrase ‘comprising’. See MPEP 2111.03.
Considering claim 21, Fig.18C of Seo depicts where the pipe is compressed and deformed into a near-rectangular shape (Paragraph 181). Further, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) and Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Considering claim 22, Seo teaches where the device is a heat exchanger (Paragraph 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sugimoto et al. (US 2014/0274726), Phelan et al. (US 9,233,438), Cox et al. (US 2022/0080522), and Guy et al. (US 2022/0196330) teach structures similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784