Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP24155925.1, filed on 02/06/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 02/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81. Accordingly, the drawings are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted on 02/05/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydenko et al. (US20210364607A1, " Davydenko1") in view of Imoto (JP2000077769A, "Imoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Davydenko1 a device (Davydenko1, Para [0040], Fig 1 and Fig 3, where scanning device 14 can determine distance to object 12 via successive measurement intervals of a change in time) for scanning measurement of a range to an object, comprising:
a light source configured to generate light having a varying frequency (Davydenko1, Para [0041], Fig 1 and Fig 3, where light source 16 may be a DFB laser emitting light at a wavelength of 1550 nm with frequency modulation applied to the signal);
a light splitter configured to split the light generated by the light source into a plurality of light portions (Davydenko1, Para [0042], Fig 3, where splitter 17 is used to output light beams L11-L14);
a plurality of processing units (Davydenko1, Para [0042], Fig 1 and 3, where the optical output signals generated by light source 16 come from splitter 17 to amplifier 18, to then be allocated to splitters 19 to four processing units PU1-PU4), wherein each processing unit comprises:
N free-space couplers where N is an integer that is 2 or greater, wherein each free- space coupler is configured to emit the light portion that is amplified by the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier (Davydenko1, Para [0045], Fig 3-4, where the free space couplers FSC11-FSC14 to outcouple output signals to be reflected on the object 12); and
A 1xN switching matrix comprising a plurality of optical switches and connecting the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier to the N free-space couplers (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where the distribution matrices M1 to M4 are switching matrices (with optical switches like S11, S21, S22 for matrix M1 as disclosed in Para [0051]) distributed after the amplifier 18 onto processing units PU1 to PU4. The distribution matrices M1 to M4 then selectively supply to one of the free space couplers FSC and therefore are connecting the amplifier to the couplers);
a control unit configured to control the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier and the switching matrix of each processing unit such that, at a given time, [[only]] the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier of at least one processing unit is in an "on" state so that only one of the free-space couplers of [[said]] the at least one processing unit emits the light portion (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where by selectively supplying to the free space couplers FSC such that only one optical output signal exits during each measurement interval, at least one processing unit is therefore in an "on" state), and
a collimating optical system having a front focal plane in which the free-space couplers are arranged (Davydenko1, Para [0049], Fig 4, where the output signals exit divergently from focal plane 23 from free space couplers FSC1-FSC4);
a detector configured to detect a superposition of reflected light that was emitted by the free-space couplers and reflected at the object, and reference light that was not reflected at the object (Davydenko1, Para [0046], Fig 3, where processing unit PU1 also has detector D1, which detects superposition of the optical measurement signal reflected from object 12 and a reference signal that includes a branched off part of the optical output signal generated by the light source 16); and
a calculation unit configured to determine the range to the object based on the superposition detected by the detector (Davydenko1, Para [0046], Fig 3, where processing unit PU1 also has detector D1, which detects superposition of the optical measurement signal reflected from object 12 as a photodetector, and therefore determines range to the target).
However, Davydenko1 does not teach a switchable semiconductor optical amplifier connected to the light splitter and configured to amplify one of the light portions
the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier of the remaining processing units are in an "off' state, wherein at least one of the optical switches in the switching matrix of at least one of the remaining s is operated;
On the other hand, Imoto teaches a semiconductor optical amplifier that can be switched on or off from a splitting branching circuit (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where branching circuit 4 splits input signal light to semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 and 3-2 which can be switched on or off), where the inputted signal from an off semiconductor optical amplifier can be outputted (Hitachi, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 is ON and 3-2 is OFF with inputted signal light to be outputted, and switching is controlled by whether or not forward current is injected into the optical amplification sections 1-1 and 1-2 of the semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 and 3-2. For the signal light to be inputted into an alternative semiconductor optical amplifier to be outputted to output port 4b or 4c, light must be emitted sequentially between optical amplifiers via alternating switches 8-1 and 8-2 on and off).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device for scanning measurement of a range to an object of Davydenko1 in view of Imoto by using semiconductor optical amplifiers that can turn on and off for light to be injected and outputted to reduce noise contained. (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the N free-space couplers of each processing unit are configured to receive the reflected light, and wherein each processing unit further comprises at least one detector that is connected to the N free-space couplers (Davydenko1, Para [0045], Fig 3-4, where the free space couplers FSC11-FSC14 to outcouple output signals to be reflected on the object 12 back into the waveguides W11 to W14, and each processing unit has four free space couplers).
Regarding claim 3, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 2, wherein each processing unit comprises a merging matrix that connects the N free-space couplers to the at least one detector (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where the distribution matrices M1 to M4 are merging matrices (with optical switches like S11, S21, S22 for matrix M1 as disclosed in Para [0051]) distributed after the amplifier 18 onto processing units PU1 to PU4. The distribution matrices M1 to M4 then selectively supplies to one of the free space couplers FSC and therefore connect the amplifier to the couplers).
Regarding claim 4, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 3, wherein the merging matrix comprises a plurality of further optical switches (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where the distribution matrices M1 to M4 are merging matrices (with optical switches like S11, S21, S22 for matrix M1 as disclosed in Para [0051])).
Regarding claim 6, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to control the switchable semiconductor optical amplifiers and the switching matrices of the processing units in an alternating manner such that after a free-space coupler of one processing unit has emitted a light portion, a free-space coupler of another processing unit emits the next light portion (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 is ON and 3-2 is OFF with inputted signal light to be outputted, and switching is controlled by whether or not forward current is injected into the optical amplification sections 1-1 and 1-2 of the semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 and 3-2. For the signal light to be inputted into an alternative semiconductor optical amplifier to be outputted to output port 4b or 4c, light must be emitted sequentially between optical amplifiers via alternating switches 8-1 and 8-2 on and off) by using semiconductor optical amplifiers that can turn on and off for light to be injected and output to reduce noise contained. (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 6, wherein the control unit is configured to control the switchable semiconductor optical amplifiers such that, at a given time, one half of the switchable semiconductor optical amplifiers are in the "on" state, while the other half are in the "off' state (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 is ON and 3-2 is OFF with inputted signal light to be outputted and therefore half of the amplifiers).
Regarding claim 8, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 1, wherein each processing unit comprises a further light splitter configured to split off a sub-portion from one of the light portions before the latter enters the switching matrix, and wherein the sub-portion forms the reference light (Davydenko1, Para [0042], Fig 3, where splitter 17 is responsible for light directly entering the splitting matrix, as well as light directed by splitter 21. The light produced by splitter 21 serves as the reference light).
Regarding claim 10, Davydenko1 teaches a method for performing a scanning measurement of a range to an object, comprising the following steps:
generating light having a varying frequency (Davydenko1, Para [0041], Fig 1 and Fig 3, where light source 16 may be a DFB laser emitting light at a wavelength of 1550 nm with frequency modulation applied to the signal);
splitting the light into a plurality of light portions (Davydenko1, Para [0042], Fig 3, where splitter 17 is used to output light beams L11-L14);
processing each light portion in a different processing unit (Davydenko1, Para [0042], Fig 1 and 3, where the optical output signals generated by light source 16 come from splitter 17 to amplifier 18, to then be allocated to splitters 19 to four processing units PU1-PU4), wherein the processing comprises:
selecting a free-space coupler from a plurality of N free-space couplers (Davydenko1, Para [0045], Fig 3-4, where the free space couplers FSC11-FSC14 to outcouple output signals to be reflected on the object 12);
controlling optical switches of a 1xN switching matrix such that the amplified light portion is guided towards the selected free-space coupler; and emitting the amplified light portion by the selected free-space coupler into free- space (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where the distribution matrices M1 to M4 are switching matrices (with optical switches like S11, S21, S22 for matrix M1 as disclosed in Para [0051]) distributed after the amplifier 18 onto processing units PU1 to PU4. The distribution matrices M1 to M4 then selectively supply to one of the free space couplers FSC and therefore are connecting the amplifier to the couplers);
collimating the amplified light portion emitted by the selected free-space coupler using a collimating optical system (Davydenko1, Para [0049], Fig 4, where the output signals exit divergently from focal plane 23 from free space couplers FSC1-FSC4);
detecting a superposition of reflected light that was emitted by the selected free-space coupler and reflected at the object, and reference light that was not reflected at the object (Davydenko1, Para [0046], Fig 3, where processing unit PU1 also has detector D1, which detects superposition of the optical measurement signal reflected from object 12 and a reference signal that includes a branched off part of the optical output signal generated by the light source 16); and
calculating the range to the object based on the detected superposition (Davydenko1, Para [0046], Fig 3, where processing unit PU1 also has detector D1, which detects superposition of the optical measurement signal reflected from object 12 as a photodetector, and therefore determines range to the target);
wherein
(Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where the distribution matrices M1 to M4 are switching matrices (with optical switches like S11, S21, S22 for matrix M1 as disclosed in Para [0051]) distributed after the amplifier 18 onto processing units PU1 to PU4. The distribution matrices M1 to M4 then selectively supply to one of the free space couplers FSC) of each processing unit is controlled such that at a given time,
[[only]] the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier of at least one processing unit is in an "on" state so that only the selected free-space coupler of the at least [[said]] one processing unit emits the amplified light portion (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where by selectively supplying to the free space couplers FSC such that only one optical output signal exits during each measurement interval, at least one processing unit is therefore in an "on" state).
However, Davydenko1 does not teach,
amplifying the respective light portion in a switchable semiconductor optical amplifier;
the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier
the switchable semiconductor optical amplifier of the remaining processing units are in an "off' state, iwherein at least one of the optical switches in the switching matrix of at least one of the remaining s is operated.
On the other hand, Imoto teaches a semiconductor optical amplifier that can be switched on or off from a splitting branching circuit (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where branching circuit 4 splits input signal light to semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 and 3-2 which can be switched on or off), where the inputted signal from an off semiconductor optical amplifier can be outputted (Hitachi, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 is ON and 3-2 is OFF with inputted signal light to be outputted, and switching is controlled by whether or not forward current is injected into the optical amplification sections 1-1 and 1-2 of the semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 and 3-2. For the signal light to be inputted into an alternative semiconductor optical amplifier to be outputted to output port 4b or 4c, light must be emitted sequentially between optical amplifiers via alternating switches 8-1 and 8-2 on and off).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method for performing a scanning measurement of a range to an object of Davydenko1 in view of Imoto by using semiconductor optical amplifiers that can turn on and off for light to be injected and output to reduce noise contained. (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 11, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the switchable semiconductor optical amplifiers and the switching matrices of the processing units are controlled in an alternating manner such that after a free-space coupler of one processing unit has emitted a light portion, a free-space coupler of another processing unit emits the next light portion (Imoto, Para [0020]-[0021], Fig 1, where semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 is ON and 3-2 is OFF with inputted signal light to be outputted, and switching is controlled by whether or not forward current is injected into the optical amplification sections 1-1 and 1-2 of the semiconductor optical amplifiers 3-1 and 3-2. For the signal light to be inputted into an alternative semiconductor optical amplifier to be outputted to output port 4b or 4c, light must be emitted sequentially between optical amplifiers via alternating switches 8-1 and 8-2 on and off).
Regarding claim 12, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the N free-space couplers of each processing unit receive the reflected light, and wherein at least one detector in each processing unit detects the reflected light (Davydenko1, Para [0045], Fig 3-4, where the free space couplers FSC11-FSC14 to outcouple output signals to be reflected on the object 12 back into the waveguides W11 to W14, and each processing unit has four free space couplers).
Regarding claim 13, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the reflected light propagates through a merging matrix from the selected free-space coupler to the at least one detector (Davydenko1, Para [0053], Fig 3, where the distribution matrices M1 to M4 are merging matrices (with optical switches like S11, S21, S22 for matrix M1 as disclosed in Para [0051]) distributed after the amplifier 18 onto processing units PU1 to PU4. The distribution matrices M1 to M4 then selectively supplies to one of the free space couplers FSC and therefore connect the amplifier to the couplers).
Regarding claim 15, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the method of claim 10, wherein in each processing unit a sub-portion from the respective light portion is split off before the respective light portion enters the switching matrix, and wherein the sub-portion forms the reference light (Davydenko1, Para [0042], Fig 3, where splitter 17 is responsible for light directly entering the splitting matrix, as well as light directed by splitter 21. The light produced by splitter 21 serves as the reference light).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydenko1 in view of Imoto and Davydenko et al. (US 20210316756 A1, “Davydenko2”)
Regarding claim 5, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 2
However, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto does not teach wherein each processing unit comprises a plurality of light separators that guides more than half of the reflected light coupled into one of the free- space couplers towards the detector
On the other hand, Davydenko2 teaches the allocation of light to an output through the use of light separators (Davydenko2, Para [0077], Fig 5, where the 3dB directional couplers 421-424 functions as the light separators to allocate half the incoming signals to two outputs associated with each detector 381 to 384. In combination with Davydenko1, the output would be considered as free space couplers FSC11-FSC14 which are associated with the detectors)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device for scanning measurement of a range to an object of Davydenko1 in view of Imoto and Davydenko2 by allocating half of the incoming signals to two outputs to ensure the signals applied have the same intensity but are phase shifted (Davydenko2, Para [0078]).
Regarding claim 14, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the method of claim 12.
However, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto does not teach wherein more than half of the reflected light is separated by light separators from an optical waveguide after entering the selected free-space coupler.
On the other hand, Davydenko2 teaches the allocation of light to an output through the use of light separators (Davydenko2, Para [0077], Fig 5, where the 3dB directional couplers 421-424 functions as the light separators to allocate half the incoming signals to two outputs associated with each detector 381 to 384. In combination with Davydenko1, the output would be considered as free space couplers FSC11-FSC14 which are associated with the detectors)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the method for performing a scanning measurement of a range to an object of Davydenko1 in view of Imoto and Davydenko2 by allocating half of the incoming signals to two outputs to ensure the signals applied have the same intensity but are phase shifted (Davydenko2, Para [0078]).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydenko1 in view of Imoto, a first embodiment of Davydenko2 and a second embodiment of Davydenko2.
Regarding claim 9, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto teaches the device of claim 8.
However, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto does not teach wherein each processing unit comprises at least two detectors and at least one reference light switch.
On the other hand, a first embodiment of Davydenko2 teaches multiple detectors for a single matrix within a unit (Davydenko2, Para [0077], Fig 5, where detectors 381-384 are for distribution matrix 20 which functions inside a single processing unit in accordance with Davydenko1)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device for scanning measurement of a range to an object of Davydenko1 in view of Imoto and a first embodiment Davydenko2 by using multiple detectors to allocate half of the incoming signals to two outputs to ensure the signals applied have the same intensity but are phase shifted (Davydenko2, Para [0078]).
However, Davydenko1 in view of Imoto and a first embodiment of Davydenko2 still does not teach
On the other hand, a second embodiment of Davydenko2 teaches light splitting to be distributed to detectors through a switch (Davydenko2, Para [0099], Fig 12 ,and where light split through splitters 40 to then be distributed into detectors 381-384 via switches 22c as shown in the figure)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device for scanning measurement of a range to an object of Davydenko1 in view of Imoto, a first embodiment of Davydenko2 and a second embodiment of Davedenko2 by using a reference light switch to utilize available light more efficiently (Davydenko2, Para [0094], where the only difference between the eighth ([0093]) and ninth embodiment ([0099]) are that further distribution matrix 74 does not have switches 22 a, 22 b, 22 c, but passive splitters 40 as disclosed in Para [0099]).
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645