Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 02/05/2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “…a level shift unit, shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC…” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the term “means” or equivalent term coupled with functional language “…a level shift unit, shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the term “level shift unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following table shows that all three prongs of the 3-prong analysis are met and the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details):
The 3-Prong Analysis for Claim Limitation : “…a level shift unit, shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC …”
Met
Prong A
Explicit recitation of “means” or equivalent term
YES
Prong B
Functional recitation of “…a level shift unit, shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC …”
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
A similar 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details) issue regarding the “level shift unit” is also present in Claim 8.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “…an amplification unit, amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit…” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the term “means” or equivalent term coupled with functional language “…an amplification unit, amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the term “amplification unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following table shows that all three prongs of the 3-prong analysis are met and the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details):
The 3-Prong Analysis for Claim Limitation : “…an amplification unit, amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit …”
Met
Prong A
Explicit recitation of “means” or equivalent term
YES
Prong B
Functional recitation of “…an amplification unit, amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit …”
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
A similar 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details) issue regarding the “amplification unit” is also present in Claim 8.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “…a derivation unit, deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC…” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the term “means” or equivalent term coupled with functional language “…a derivation unit, deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the term “derivation unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following table shows that all three prongs of the 3-prong analysis are met and the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details):
The 3-Prong Analysis for Claim Limitation : “…a derivation unit, deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC …”
Met
Prong A
Explicit recitation of “means” or equivalent term
YES
Prong B
Functional recitation of “…a derivation unit, deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC …”
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “…a multiplication-and-division unit, performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery…” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the term “means” or equivalent term coupled with functional language “…a multiplication-and-division unit, performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the term “multiplication-and-division unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following table shows that all three prongs of the 3-prong analysis are met and the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details):
The 3-Prong Analysis for Claim Limitation : “…a multiplication-and-division unit, performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …”
Met
Prong A
Explicit recitation of “means” or equivalent term
YES
Prong B
Functional recitation of “…a multiplication-and-division unit, performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …”
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “…a subtraction unit, performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery…” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use the term “means” or equivalent term coupled with functional language “…a subtraction unit, performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the term “subtraction unit” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
The following table shows that all three prongs of the 3-prong analysis are met and the limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (See MPEP 2181(I) for details):
The 3-Prong Analysis for Claim Limitation : “…a subtraction unit, performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …”
Met
Prong A
Explicit recitation of “means” or equivalent term
YES
Prong B
Functional recitation of “…a subtraction unit, performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …”
YES
Prong C
No structure that performs the function
YES
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant does not intend to have the claim limitation(s) treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 , sixth paragraph, applicant may amend the claim(s) so that it/they will clearly not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, or present a sufficient showing that the claim recites/recite sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function to preclude application of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform each of the claimed functions cited above in the row of the 112(f) grid entitled “Prong B” for each of the respective placeholders.
The specification with regards to the level shift unit, amplification unit, derivation unit, multiplication-and-division unit and subtraction unit; does not demonstrate that the application has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…a level shift unit, shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC …”;. The term “level shift unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of shifting a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “level shift unit” renders claim 1 indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…an amplification unit, amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit …”;. The term “amplification unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “amplification unit” renders claim 1 indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "… amplifying the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit …" in lines 5-6 of Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior disclosure of a “voltage signal” before this point.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "… deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC…" in lines 9-10 of Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior disclosure of a “sample signal output” before this point.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…a derivation unit, deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC …”;. The term “derivation unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of deriving a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “derivation unit” renders claim 1 indefinite.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “…a multiplication-and-division unit, performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …”;. The term “multiplication-and-division unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “multiplication-and-division unit” renders claim 2 indefinite.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “…a subtraction unit, performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery …”;. The term “subtraction unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “subtraction unit” renders claim 3 indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “…shift, by using a level shift unit, a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC…”;. The term “level shift unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of shift a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of shift a voltage level of a voltage signal output from the battery to a median of a measurement range of the ADC. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “level shift unit” renders claim 8 indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “…amplify, by using an amplification unit, the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit…”;. The term “amplification unit” renders the claim indefinite as the claim does not define sufficient structure to achieve the function of amplify the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit; the original specification does not provide clarification as to what structure performs the particular functions of this claim, and one of ordinary skill in the art could interpret so many structures that can perform the particular function of amplify the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit. Thus, for these reasons, the phrase “amplification unit” renders claim 8 indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "… amplify, by using an amplification unit, the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit…" in lines 6-7 of Claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior disclosure of a “voltage signal” before this point.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "… derive a voltage value of a voltage of the battery based on the sample signal output from the ADC…" in lines 10-11 of Claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior disclosure of a “sample signal output” before this point.
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as they further limit Claim 1.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carlin et al. US 2008/0024137 (Hereinafter Carlin).
Regarding claim 1, Carlin teaches a voltage detection device (Figs. 1-3; voltage sensor, 20), measuring a voltage of a battery (Figs. 1, 2; [0033-0036]; Claim 1; measuring battery voltage) by using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (Fig. 3; ADC, 52), the voltage detection device comprising:
a level shift unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]), shifting a voltage level (Figs. 1-3; [0054]) of a voltage signal output (Figs. 1-3; [0054]) from the battery (Figs. 1, 2; [0033-0036]; Claim 1; measuring battery voltage) to a median of a measurement range of the ADC (Fig. 3; ADC, 52);
an amplification unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A), amplifying the voltage signal (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A) in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A);
the ADC (Fig. 3; ADC, 52), measuring the voltage signal (Fig. 3; ADC, 52) amplified by the amplification unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A), and outputting a digital sample signal in accordance with the voltage signal (Fig. 3; ADC, 52); and
a derivation unit (Fig. 3; [0034]), deriving a voltage value (Fig. 3; [0034]) of a voltage of the battery (Figs. 1, 2; [0033-0036]; Claim 1; measuring battery voltage) based on the sample signal output from the ADC (Fig. 3; ADC, 52).
Regarding claim 2, Carlin further teaches the voltage detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the level shift unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]) comprises a multiplication-and-division unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]), performing multiplication or division on the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery (Figs. 1-3; [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Carlin further teaches the voltage detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the level shift unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]) comprises: a subtraction unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]), performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery (Figs. 1-3; [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Carlin further teaches the voltage detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the level shift unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]) and the amplification unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A) are formed by one circuit (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Carlin further teaches the voltage detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein an amplification degree of the amplification unit is arranged to be variable (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A).
Regarding claim 7, Carlin further teaches the voltage detection device as claimed in claim 1, wherein an amplification degree of the amplification unit is arranged to be fixed (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A).
Regarding claim 8, Carlin teaches a voltage detection method (Figs. 1-3; voltage sensor, 20), wherein a processor (Figs. 1-3; processor, 54) comprised in a voltage detection device (Figs. 1-3; voltage sensor, 20) that measures a voltage of a battery (Figs. 1, 2; [0033-0036]; Claim 1; measuring battery voltage) by using an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) (Fig. 3; ADC, 52) is configured to:
shift (Figs. 1-3; [0054]), by using a level shift unit (Figs. 1-3; [0054]), a voltage level of a voltage signal output (Figs. 1-3; [0054]) from the battery (Figs. 1, 2; [0033-0036]; Claim 1; measuring battery voltage) to a median of a measurement range of the ADC (Fig. 3; ADC, 52);
amplify (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A), by using an amplification unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A), the voltage signal in which the voltage level is shifted by the level shift unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A);
measure (Fig. 3; ADC, 52), by using the ADC (Fig. 3; ADC, 52), the voltage signal amplified by the amplification unit (Fig. 3; amplifier, 50A), and outputting a digital sample signal in accordance with the voltage signal (Fig. 3; ADC, 52); and
derive (Fig. 3; [0034]) a voltage value (Fig. 3; [0034]) of a voltage of the battery (Figs. 1, 2; [0033-0036]; Claim 1; measuring battery voltage) based on the sample signal output from the ADC (Fig. 3; ADC, 52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1 and 4,
“…wherein the circuit shifts the voltage level of the voltage signal by performing subtraction from the voltage value of the voltage signal output from the battery.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohkura US 2013/0119898 - A voltage detection section 10 comprises an A/D converter section 13 that outputs an A/D detection voltage value (Vad) for batteries 2[i] and voltage level determination sections 16[i] that output a level determination signal, which are the results of comparisons of an analog voltage signal for the batteries 2[i] and a plurality of reference voltages. In the process of the battery voltage increasing or decreasing, the level determination signal changes when the analog voltage signal for the batteries 2[i] exceeds or falls below any of the reference voltages. A level determination voltage value shown by the level determination signal at that change timing and the A/D detection voltage value (Vad) are compared, and an occurrence of an in-range failure is detected when there is a difference between the two.
Itabashi et al. US 2014/0340045 - An apparatus for battery state estimation can accurately estimate the internal state of a battery by taking into consideration the slow response portion of the battery. The apparatus for battery state estimation includes a charge/discharge current detection unit, a terminal voltage detection unit, an equivalent circuit model including a fast response portion and slow response portion of the battery, a sequential parameter estimation unit that performs sequential parameter estimation, using only the fast response portion among response portions, based on the charge/discharge current value and the terminal voltage value, a constant setting unit that sets a constant representing resistance and capacitance in the slow response portion of the equivalent circuit model.
Matsukawa US 2023/0314529 - A current application unit includes a load element, a switching element, and a shunt resistor connected in series between both terminals of an assembled battery, and a drive control unit of the switching element to apply an alternating current having a predetermined frequency to the assembled battery. The drive control unit includes: a PWM modulator for generating a drive signal; a PDM modulator for generating the drive signal; and a switching unit for switching between a first drive state for driving the switching element by the drive signal generated by the PWM modulator and a second drive state for driving the switching element by the drive signal generated by the PDM modulator.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858