DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
This communication is in response to the application filed on 2/6/25. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “the system enhance energy efficiency in mobile devices.” This should recite “system enhances energy efficiency…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a “system” for deploying small language models, but fails to recite any system components. Moreover, it is unclear what functions/steps are performed by the inventive system. Because the system claims seem to recite functions/intended functions without underlying hardware or structural components to implement the functions, the Examiner understands the system to include software only (i.e. computer instructions for performing the intended functions).
Claim 3 recites “wherein the system for embedding SLMs in nano-devices…”
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5 incorporate the deficiencies of claim through dependency, and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because as drafted, the system claims recite functions or intended functions, with no underlying hardware or memory (i.e. no system components).
Because the system claims seem to recite functions/intended functions without underlying hardware or structural components to implement the functions, the system to include software only or software per se (i.e. computer instructions for performing the intended functions).
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e, a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
35 USC 101 enumerates four categories of subject matter that Congress deemed to be appropriate subject matter for a patent: processes, machines, manufactures and compositions of matter. As explained by the courts, these “four categories together describe the exclusive reach of patentable subject matter. If a claim covers material not found in any of the four statutory categories, that claim falls outside the plainly expressed scope of Section 101 even if the subject matter is otherwise new and useful.” In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1354, 84 USPQ2d 1495, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Applicant’s claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 1-5 are drawn to software per se as explained. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, claims 1-5 will be analyzed under Step 2 as well.
Determining that a claim falls within one of the four enumerated categories of patentable subject matter recited in 35 USC 101 (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter) in Step 1 does not complete the eligibility analysis. Claims drawn only to an abstract idea, a natural phenomenon, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection. As described in MPEP 2106, subsection III, Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis is the first part of the Alice/Mayo test, i.e., the Supreme Court’s “framework for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts.” Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l,134 S. Ct. 2347, 2355, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 77-78, 101 USPQ2d at 1967-68).
In 2019, the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) prepared revised guidance (2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance) for use by USPTO personnel in evaluating subject matter eligibility. The framework for this revised guidance, which sets forth the procedures for determining whether a patent claim or patent application claim is directed to a judicial exception (laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas), is described in MPEP sections 2106.03 and 2106.04.
As explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance explains that abstract ideas can be grouped as, e.g., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes. Moreover, this guidance explains that a patent claim or patent application claim that recites a judicial exception is not ‘‘directed to’’ the judicial exception if the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of the judicial exception. A claim that recites a judicial exception, but is not integrated into a practical application, is directed to the judicial exception under Step 2A and must then be evaluated under Step 2B (inventive concept) to determine the subject matter eligibility of the claim.
Step 2A asks: Does the claim recite a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or an abstract idea? (Prong One) If so, is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application of the judicial exception? (Prong Two) A claim recites a judicial exception when a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. While the terms “set forth” and “describe” are thus both equated with “recite”, their different language is intended to indicate that there are different ways in which an exception can be recited in a claim. For instance, the claims in Diehr set forth a mathematical equation in the repetitively calculating step, while the claims in Mayo set forth laws of nature in the wherein clause, meaning that the claims in those cases contained discrete claim language that was identifiable as a judicial exception. The claims in Alice Corp., however, described the concept of intermediated settlement without ever explicitly using the words “intermediated” or “settlement.” A claim that integrates a judicial exception into a practical application will apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception.
In the instant case, claims 1-5 recite(s) a method and system for certain methods of organizing human activities, which is subject matter that falls within the enumerated groupings of abstract ideas described in MPEP 2106.04 (2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance) Certain methods of organizing human activities includes fundamental economic practices, like insurance; commercial interactions (i.e. legal obligations, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations). Organizing human activity also encompasses managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions.) The recited method and system are drawn to facilitating real-time analysis patient data and providing health predictions and insights.
In particular, claim 1 recites a method and system for:
enabling real- time analysis of patient health data and generating predictive insights.
incorporating SLMs for natural language interactions, including user queries and recommendations; (claim 2)
analyzes biomarkers and generates predictive alerts for early disease detection (claim 3);
automated data interpretation and alert generation (claim 4);
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim language does not recite any improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1); see also MPEP 2106.05(a)(I-II)). Moreover, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the claimed invention does not: apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)); effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (see MPEP 2106.05(c)); or apply or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment see MPEP 2106.05(e). (Considerations for integration into a practical application in Step 2A, prong two and for recitation of significantly more than the judicial exception in Step 2B)
While abstract ideas, natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patenting by themselves, claims that integrate these exceptions into an inventive concept are thereby transformed into patent-eligible inventions. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71-72, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (2012)). Thus, the second part of the Alice/Mayo test is often referred to as a search for an inventive concept. Id. An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2355, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966). Although the courts often evaluate considerations such as the conventionality of an additional element in the eligibility analysis, the search for an inventive concept should not be confused with a novelty or non-obviousness determination. See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 91, 101 USPQ2d at 1973 (rejecting “the Government’s invitation to substitute Sections 102, 103, and 112 inquiries for the better established inquiry under Section 101”). As made clear by the courts, the “‘novelty’ of any element or steps in a process, or even of the process itself, is of no relevance in determining whether the subject matter of a claim falls within the Section 101 categories of possibly patentable subject matter.” Intellectual Ventures I v. Symantec Corp.,838 F.3d 1307, 1315, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (quoting Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. at 188–89, 209 USPQ at 9).
As described in MPEP 2106.05, Step 2B of the Office’s eligibility analysis is the second part of the Alice/Mayo test, i.e., the Supreme Court’s “framework for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of those concepts.” Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. _, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2355, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1981 (2014) (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. 66, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)). Step 2B asks: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claims 1-5 further recite the use of small language models (SLMs) in biomedical device, and nano-devices. As currently drafted, the recitation of SLMs in the claims fails to recite significantly more, and amounts to adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. (See MPEP 2106.05(A))
The recitation of “SLMs” recites only the idea of a solution or outcome (e.g. enabling real- time analysis, and predictive insights; enhance energy efficiency in mobile devices while maintaining accurate language processing capabilities) but the claims fail to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Moreover, as drafted, the claims invoke the use of the “SLMs” merely as a tool to perform an existing process. More specifically, the claims are drawn to analyzing patient data, generating insights and recommendations based on the (biomarker) data, and notifying users of this information.
Furthermore, the courts have recognized certain computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05 (d) (II)). Among these are the following features, which are recited in claims 1-5:
- Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
- Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
- Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
Because Applicant’s claimed invention recites a judicial exception that is not integrated into a practical application and does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself, the claimed invention is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 is dependent from Claim 1 and include(s) all the limitations of claim(s) 1. However, the additional limitations of the claim 5 fails to recite significantly more than the abstract idea. More specifically, the additional limitations further define the abstract idea with additional steps or details regarding data types; or additional steps which amount to insignificant extra solution activities. Therefore, claim(s) 5 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soori-Arachi et al (US 20250364140 A1-referred to hereinafter as Soori).
Claim 1 Soori teaches a system for deploying small language models (SLMs) in biomedical devices, enabling real- time analysis of patient health data and generating predictive insights. (par. 42, par. 157: realtime analysis and insights; par. 56-language processing models; par. 258)
Claim 2. Soori teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system is a mobile health portal incorporating SLMs for natural language interactions, including user queries and recommendations. (par. 130-The analysis system 120 may host a web application. The analysis system 120 may provide applications, such as mobile applications, for download by the medical/consumer electronics device 140 via the network 150. The analysis system 120 may receive information from sensors from the medical/consumer electronics device 140 via the network 150.)
Claim 3. Soori teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system for embedding SLMs in nano-devices analyzes biomarkers and generates predictive alerts for early disease detection. (par. 205-The display 218 may display information captured from sensors of the medical/consumer electronics device 200. The display 218 may display information input via the input 220 such as a patient's information (e.g., name, height, weight, etc.). The display 218 may display information received from a remote server, such as the analysis system 120 in FIG. 1. The display (218) is further configured to present real-time alerts and notifications based on the processed sensor data, and display contextual health insights and recommendations received from the edge compute node and/or the cloud computing platform; see also par. 210-211)
Claim 4. Soori teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system integrates SLMs in diagnostic nano- devices for automated data interpretation and alert generation. (par. 205; par. 210-211)
Claim 5. Soori teaches the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system enhances energy efficiency in mobile devices while maintaining accurate language processing capabilities. (par. 232-The system comprises one or more AI modules that work together to provide accurate diagnoses, determine urgency levels, and offer personalized recommendations based on the input data; par. 620-At step 2312, the potential recommendations are presented to the provider via an interactive user interface. The user interface employs a combination of natural language processing (NLP) and computer vision techniques to enable seamless and efficient interaction with the provider. The user interface generates a natural language explanation for each recommendation using a deep language model; par. 641-accuracy of language model in determining user context)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brilliant et al (US 20250322969 A1)-discloses a system for generating recommendations for health improvement and longevity using AI.
Unnikrishnan et al (US 20220139556 A1 )- system and method for determining patient health indicators through a Machine Learning (ML) model.
RACHEL L. PORTER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/Rachel L. Porter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684