DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 19, “wherein at least one damping subsystem for damping” should be “wherein the at least one damping subsystem is for damping”.
In claim 16, line 2, “wherein said at least one of said one or more dampers” should be “wherein at least one of said one or more dampers”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,2,4-8,11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 13 and 14 the one or more dampers are said to extend between the first component and the second component and are connected to each of the components. It is unclear if this is only referring to the first and second components, or if it is meant to encompass the intermediate component as well. Since it does not appear that the disclosed dampers are connected to the intermediate component, it was assumed for the purposes of examination, that the claim meant to recite that the dampers are connected to each of the first component and the second component, and not the intermediate component.
In claim 7 there is no antecedent basis for the term “the at least one second sliding element of each second translation set” as the second translation set of claim 4 only recites a third sliding element, not a second sliding element as recited in claim 7. Further the second payload brackets disclosed in the specification, 1122a, 1122b, are fixedly connectable to the main frame(intermediate component) and not the first component as recited in the claim.
In claim 8 it is unclear if the guide bars are meant to be the sliding elements introduced in claim 4, and if the brackets are meant to be the third sliding elements also introduced in claim 4, as it appears the claim is intending to reference these elements already introduced as a part of the claimed invention, using a different name. Further in claim 8 it is unclear what else the guide bars are slidably inserted to, as the phrase “slidably inserted also through” implies the guide bars are slidably inserted through something else as well.
Claim(s) 1,2,11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ji(US11965574).
[claim 1] Jo teaches a passive stabilization system (PSS)(fig 1) for stabilizing a payload(6) being carried by a carrier(attachable to plate 1), the PSS comprising at least: a linear displacement subsystem (LDS)(fig 1), comprising a first component(plate 5) fixedly connectable to the payload at one side thereof and a second component(plate 1) fixedly connectable to a carrier at another side thereof, such that the LDS is located between the payload and carrier, wherein the LDS further comprising an intermediate component(33) interposed between the first component and the second component, and mechanically linked therewith in a manner allowing each of the first component or second component to independently perform a lateral linear movement along at least one of the X and Y axes without entailing corresponding movement of the intermediate component(intermediate component can move along guide rails 34, independent of the first and second components), thereby allowing the LDS to enable a three-dimensional (3D) linear displacement of the payload with respect to the carrier, while reducing responsive relative angular movements of the payload with respect to the carrier, for maintaining a stable relative angular orientation of the payload in respect to the carrier(ABS), the LDS comprises at least one damping subsystem(2,4) for damping and/or shock absorption of the carriers movement wherein the damping subsystem comprises one or more dampers(2,4) extending between the first component and the second component and connected to each of the components(fig 1).
[claim 2] wherein the LDS is configured for separate per-axis linear movement(along each of the X,Y and Z axes) of the payload along three linear orthogonal axes of the LDS coordinate system XYZ.
[claim 11] wherein the PSS is located externally to the payload(fig 1).
[claim 12] wherein the PSS is located remotely from a center of mass(COM) of the payload and/or off-axis from the COM axis of the payload(fig 1).
[claim 13] Ji teaches a method for stabilizing a payload carried by a carrier, the method comprising at least: providing a passive stabilization system (PSS)(fig 1) comprising at least a linear displacement subsystem (LDS) and at least one damping subsystem(2,4), wherein the LDS is configured to enable three-dimensional (3D) linear displacement of the payload; the LDS comprising a first component(plate 5) fixedly connectable to the payload(6) at one side thereof and a second component(plate 1) fixedly connectable to a carrier at another side thereof, such that the LDS is located between the payload and carrier, wherein the LDS further comprising an intermediate component(33) interposed between the first component and the second component, and mechanically linked therewith in a manner allowing each of the first component or second component to independently perform a lateral linear movement along at least one of the X and Y axes without entailing corresponding movement of the intermediate component(intermediate component can move along guide rails 34, independent of the first and second components) connecting the PSS at one side thereof to the carrier via said first component and at another side thereof to a payload via said second component, or vice versa, such that the PSS is located between the carrier and the payload; damping movements of the carrier by the at least one damping subsystem; and reducing rotation of the payload in respect to the carrier by using the LDS(ABS), and wherein (the) at least one damping subsystem(2,4) for damping and/or shock absorption of the carrier’s movements, wherein the damping subsystem comprises one or more dampers(2,4) extending between the first component and the second component and connected to each of the components(fig 1).
[claim 14] Ji teaches a passive stabilization system (PSS)(fig 1) for stabilizing a payload(6) being carried by a carrier(attachable to plate 1), the PSS comprising at least: a linear displacement subsystem (LDS)(fig 1), comprising a first component(1) fixedly connectable to the carrier at one side thereof and a second component(5) fixedly connectable to a payload at another side thereof, such that the LDS is located between the payload and the carrier; wherein the LDS further comprising an intermediate component(33) interposed between the first component and the second component, and mechanically linked therewith in a manner allowing each of the first component or second component to independently perform a lateral linear movement along at least one of the X and Y axes without entailing corresponding movement of the intermediate component(intermediate component can move along guide rails 34, independent of the first and second components) and a damping subsystem(2,4) comprising one or more dampers(2,4) extending between the first component and the second component and connected to each of the components, wherein the damping subsystem is located and configured to damp movements of the carrier and the LDS is configured to reduce angular movements of the payload in respect to the carrier by enabling only a three-dimensional (3D) linear displacement of the payload in respect to the carrier, for maintaining a stable relative angular orientation of the payload in respect to the carrier(ABS).
[claim 15] wherein the LDS is configured for separate per-axis linear movement(along each of the XY and Z axes) of the payload along three linear orthogonal axes of the LDS coordinate system XYZ.
[claim 16] wherein the intermediate component is in the form of a frame(3, fig 1,4), and wherein said at least one of said one or more dampers extends between the first component and the second component through an opening of said frame(fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of The Palace Museum (CN113883215A).
[claim 4] Ji teaches a passive stabilization system as detailed above wherein the LDS comprises at least: (i) a first translation assembly having at least one first translation set, each first translation set comprising at least: at least one first sliding element(41) fixedly connected to the first component and at least one second sliding element(upper channel in 42 receiving the upper guide rail in figure 8) fixedly connectable to a main frame(42) constituting said intermediate component; and at least one guide bar(upper guide rail in figure 8), wherein the at least one first sliding element is linearly moveable along the guide bar in parallel to the x-axis(longitudinal axis of upper guide rail in figure 8) for translating force vectors Fx parallel to the x-axis exerted in the x- axis direction into linear sliding movements of the at least one first sliding element fixedly connected to the first component, in parallel to the x-axis direction, thereby enabling linear movement of the carrier in parallel to the x-axis; (ii) a second translation assembly having at least one second translation set, each second translation set comprising at least: at least one third sliding element(lower channel in 42 receiving the lower guide rail in figure 8) fixedly connected to the main frame; at least one second guide bar(lower guide rail in figure 8), wherein the at least one third sliding element is linearly moveable along the at least one second guide bar in parallel to the y-axis(longitudinal axis of the lower guide rail in figure 8), for translating force vectors Fy exerted in the y-axis direction into linear sliding movements of the at least one third sliding element, in parallel to the y-axis. Ji however may not teach at least one rotatable frame(16) mounted to the at least one second guide bar of the second translation set such that force vectors Fz exerted in the z-axis direction are translated into rotation movement of the at least one rotatable frame which causes linear movement of the payload at least in parallel to z-axis direction.
The Palace Museum teaches a similar passive stabilization system which provides linear displacement along the X and Y axes, as well as having at least one rotatable frame(16) mounted to at least one second guide bar(upper guide rails seen in figure 5) of a translation set such that force vectors Fz exerted in the z-axis direction are translated into rotation movement of the at least one rotatable frame(16) which causes linear movement of the payload at least in parallel to z-axis direction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the rotatable frame of The Palace Museum with the system of Ji by attaching it to the second guide bar, as this would provide a means for controlling and damping vertical movement as taught by The Palace Museum.
[claim 5] wherein when arranged as above, the main frame is linearly displaceable with respect to each of the at least one rotatable frame(16 The Palace Museum) of each second translation set via the at least one guide bar thereof, such that the at least one rotatable frame translates Fz exerted forces in the z-axis direction into linear movement of the payload in parallel to the x-axis direction in addition to linear movement in parallel to the z-axis.
[claim 6] wherein the at least one first sliding element of the first translation set comprises one or more first payload brackets(41) fixedly connectable to the first component, which is connectable to the payload.
[claim 7] wherein the at least one second sliding element(as noted in the above 112 rejection, it appears this may be meant to reference the third sliding element) of each second translation set comprises one or more second payload brackets(41) fixedly connectable to the first component, which is connectable to the payload.
[claim 8] wherein the main frame comprises guide bars(guide rails shown in figure 8), which are slidably inserted also through brackets(channels receiving the guide rails in 42, figure 8) of the main frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,2,4-8,11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY DUCKWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632