DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neff (8,302,280).
With respect to claim 16, Neff teaches a household appliance (Figures 3-5, #20), comprising: a functional compartment (C); an insulation arrangement (34/36) for at least one of thermal insulation or acoustic insulation of the functional compartment (C), said insulation arrangement (34/36) configured to cover a first portion of the functional compartment (C) and including a first insulation element (34) and a second insulation element (36), said first insulation element (34) comprising a foam plastic material (Col. 4, Line 10) and said second insulation element (36) comprising a bitumen material (Col. 12, Lines 45-47 – note that it is well known that bitumen is a component of asphalt mastic), and said first insulation element (34) arranged between the functional compartment (C) and the second insulation element (36); and a further second insulation element (36) configured to solely cover and directly contact a second portion of the functional compartment (this is clearly seen in Figure 5, where layer #36 wraps around the bottom end of layer #34 and directly contacts wall #32 of the functional compartment #C).
With respect to claim 17, Neff teaches wherein the household appliance (20) of claim 16, constructed in the form of a household dishwasher (Col. 3, Lines 40-41).
With respect to claim 18, Neff teaches wherein the functional compartment (C) is configured as a dishwashing compartment (Col. 3, Lines 52-55).
With respect to claim 19, Neff teaches wherein the first insulation element (34) and the second insulation element (36) have at least one of a same length or a same width (note that in Figure 3/3A, layers #34 and #36 have the same width in at least the top panel portion).
With respect to claim 20, Neff teaches wherein the first insulation element (34) and the second insulation element (36) are configured to be attached one after another to the functional compartment (C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner considers Neff to teach all of the limitations as claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837