Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 11, 13 – 15, and 16 – 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, lines 11 – 12, states “a fluid conduit arranged between the first layer and the second layer and directly contacting a portion of the stator and the motor housing”. In Applicant’s Fig. 4B, it shows fluid conduit 114 is covered by both the first layer 110 and the second layer 112, which means that the fluid conduit 114 cannot directly contact a portion of the stator and the motor housing therefore, the claim is unclear and rejected. For the purposes of examination, “a fluid conduit arranged between the first layer and the second layer and directly contacting a portion of the stator and the motor housing” will be construed to “a fluid conduit arranged between the first layer and the second layer and the conformal cooling pouch directly contacting a portion of the stator and the motor housing”.
Regarding Claims 2 – 11, because they are dependent on claim 1, they are also rejected.
Regarding Claim 4, it has the same unclear structure as presented above in claim 1 therefore, it is rejected. For the purposes of examination, “the fluid conduit directly contacts the outer wall of the stator and the motor housing” will be construed to “the conformal cooling pouch directly contacts the outer wall of the stator and the motor housing”.
Regarding Claim 13, lines 1 – 3, states “wherein the at least one conformal cooling pouch includes a first conformal cooling pouch and a second conformal cooling pouch spaced circumferentially from the first conformal cooling pouch”. It is unclear where the claimed structure is within the drawing. Due to its lack of structure in the drawings, the claim will be construed as being inherently disclosed in the prior art.
Regarding Claim 14, it has the same unclear structure as presented above in claim 1 therefore, it is rejected. For the purposes of examination, “the fluid conduit directly contacts the stator and the motor housing” will be construed to “the conformal cooling pouch directly contacts the stator and the motor housing”.
Regarding Claim 15, because it is dependent on claim 14, it is also rejected.
Regarding Claim 16, it has the same unclear structure as presented above in claim 1 therefore, it is rejected. For the purposes of examination, “the conformal cooling pouch including a fluid conduit extending between a first end and a second end and directly contacting a portion of the motor housing and portion of the stator” will be construed to “the conformal cooling pouch including a fluid conduit extending between a first end and a second end and the conformal cooling pouch directly contacting a portion of motor housing and portion of the stator”.
Regarding Claims 17 – 20, because they are dependent on claim 16, they are also rejected.
Regarding Claim 20, it has the same unclear structure as presented above in claim 1 therefore, it is rejected. For the purposes of examination, “the fluid conduit directly contacts the stator and the motor housing” will be construed to “the conformal cooling pouch directly contacts the stator and the motor housing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 and 9 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krank et al. (DE 102021131448).
Regarding Claim 1, Krank et al. discloses an electric motor (electric drive motor) (Krank et al. Para [0024] first sentence), comprising:
a motor housing (outer housing part 12) extending along a longitudinal axis (L) (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
a stator (1) coupled to the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
a rotor arranged within the stator and movable with respect to the longitudinal axis (Krank et al. Para [0045] lines 1 – 4);
and a conformal cooling pouch (cooling jacket 13) arranged between the motor housing and the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3), comprising:
a first end (first axial end of cooling jacket 13) (Krank et al. Fig. 3),
a second end (second axial end of cooling jacket 13) spaced from the first end (Krank et al. Fig. 3),
a first layer (inner housing part 11) extending between the first end and the second end (Krank et al. Fig. 3),
a second layer (cooling structure 14) coupled to the first layer (Krank et al. Fig. 3),
and a fluid conduit (cooling channels 15) arranged between the first layer and the second layer (Krank et al. Fig. 3) and the conformal cooling pouch directly contacting a portion of the stator and the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 1, wherein the stator includes an inner wall (inner surface 4) and an outer wall (outer surface 5) spaced from the inner wall (Krank et al. Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 2, further comprising a gap (also cooling jacket 13) arranged between the motor housing and the outer wall of the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 3, wherein the conformal cooling pouch occupies a majority of the gap (Krank et al. Fig. 3) and the conformal cooling pouch directly contacts the outer wall of the stator and the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 1, wherein the fluid conduit includes an inlet and an outlet arranged at opposite ends of the conformal cooling pouch (Krank et al. Para [0014] lines 5 – 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 9, wherein the fluid conduit includes a serpentine path (cooling channel 115) (Krank et al. Fig. 7) between the inlet and the outlet (Krank et al. Para [0014] lines 4 – 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 1, wherein the fluid conduit includes a first fluid conduit (first cooling channel 215) and a second fluid conduit (second cooling channel 215) (Krank et al. Fig. 8 discloses a plurality of cooling channels 215),
the first fluid conduit and the second fluid conduit are arranged parallel to one another (Krank et al. Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 12, , Krank et al. discloses an electric motor (electric drive motor) (Krank et al. Para [0024] first sentence), comprising:
a motor housing (outer housing part 12) extending along a longitudinal axis (L) (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
a stator (1) coupled to the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
a gap (cooling jacket 13) arranged radially between the motor housing and the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
and at least one conformal cooling pouch (also cooling jacket 13) arranged between the motor housing and the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3) and including a fluid conduit (cooling channels 15) extending between a first end (first axial end of cooling jacket 13) and a second end (second axial end of cooling jacket 13) (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 12, wherein the at least one conformal cooling pouch includes a first conformal cooling pouch (first half of cooling structure and a second conformal cooling pouch spaced circumferentially from the first conformal cooling pouch (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 14, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 12, wherein the conformal cooling pouch directly contacts the stator and the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krank et al. in view of Zhang et al. (US 20230361633 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 2.
Krank et al. does not disclose:
wherein the stator includes one or more mounting ears coupled to the outer wall and spaced circumferentially with respect to the longitudinal axis.
Zhang et al. discloses:
wherein the stator (74) (Zhang et al. Fig. 2) includes one or more mounting ears (108) coupled to the outer wall (outer diameter 106) and spaced circumferentially with respect to the longitudinal axis (Zhang et al. Fig. 3).
Krank et al. and Zhang et al. discloses a stator therefore, Zhang et al. constitutes as prior art. Zhang et al. discloses a stator comprising a core with mounting ears. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stator includes one or more mounting ears coupled to the outer wall and spaced circumferentially with respect to the longitudinal axis of Zhang et al. for the purpose of providing a secure mechanical attachment between the stator and housing.
Regarding Claim 6, Krank et al. and Zhang et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 5.
Krank et al. does not disclose:
wherein the conformal cooling pouch includes one or more openings that correspond with the one or more mounting ears.
Krank et al. and Zhang et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the conformal cooling pouch (of Krank et al. Fig. 3) includes one or more openings (cutouts 152) that correspond with the one or more mounting ears (of Zhang et al. Fig. 4).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the conformal cooling pouch includes one or more openings that correspond with the one or more mounting ears of structurally disclosed Krank et al. and Zhang et al. for the purpose of allowing the fluid to flow toward and away from the motor.
Claims 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krank et al. in view of Huber et al. (US 20200227965 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 1.
Krank et al. does not disclose:
wherein the fluid conduit includes an inlet and an outlet arranged at the same end of the conformal cooling pouch.
Huber et al. discloses:
wherein the fluid conduit (cooling ducts 11) includes an inlet (infeed 12) and an outlet (outfeed 14) arranged at the same end (Huber et al. Fig. 1).
Krank et al. and Huber et al. structurally discloses:
wherein the fluid conduit includes an inlet and an outlet arranged at the same end (of Huber et al. Fig. 1) of the conformal cooling pouch (of Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Krank et al. and Huber et al. disclose a stator therefore, Huber et al. constitutes as prior art. Huber et al. discloses a cooling duct comprising an inlet and outlet on the same axial end. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the fluid conduit includes an inlet and an outlet arranged at the same end of the conformal cooling pouch of structurally disclosed Krank et al. and Huber et al. for the purpose of increasing heat transfer between the inlet and outlet of the fluid conduit.
Regarding Claim 8, Krank et al. and Huber et al. disclose the electric motor of Claim 7.
Krank et al. does not disclose:
wherein the fluid conduit includes a serpentine path between the inlet and the outlet.
Krank et al. and Huber et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the fluid conduit includes a serpentine path (cooling channel 115) (of Krank et al. Fig. 7) between the inlet and the outlet (of Huber et al. Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the fluid conduit includes a serpentine path between the inlet and the outlet of structurally disclosed Krank et al. and Huber et al. for the purpose of maximizing heat transfer by increasing turbulent flow and distributing thermal exchange between the inlet and the outlet of the fluid conduit.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krank et al. in view of Nelson et al. (US 20230387755 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Krank et al. discloses the electric motor of Claim 14.
Krank et al. does not disclose:
wherein the fluid conduit includes a water-glycol fluid between the first end and the second end.
Nelson et al. discloses:
wherein the fluid conduit (fluid jacket cavity 46) includes a water-glycol fluid (Nelson et al. Para [0058] first sentence) between the first end (first axial end of fluid jacket 44) and the second end (second axial end of fluid jacket 44) (Nelson et al. Fig. 4).
Krank et and Nelson et al. disclose a stator therefore, Nelson et al. constitutes as prior art. Nelson et al. discloses a fluid jacket comprising a cavity filled with water-glycol mixture. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the fluid conduit includes a water-glycol fluid between the first end and the second end of Nelson et al. for the purpose of stopping corrosion and enable precise temperature control in the fluid conduit.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krank et al. in view of Long et al. (US 20210249935 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Krank et al. discloses a vehicle (Krank et al. Fig. 1), comprising:
the electric motor (electric drive motor) (Krank et al. Para [0024] first sentence) comprising:
a motor housing (outer housing part 12) extending along a longitudinal axis (L) (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
a stator (1) coupled to the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
a rotor arranged within the stator and movable with respect to the longitudinal axis (Krank et al. Para [0045] lines 1 – 4);
a gap (cooling jacket 13) arranged radially between the motor housing and the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3);
and a conformal cooling pouch (cooling jacket 13) arranged in the gap between the motor housing and the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3),
the conformal cooling pouch including a fluid conduit (cooling channels 15) extending between a first end (first axial end of cooling jacket 13) and a second end (second axial end of cooling jacket 13) and the conformal cooling pouch directly contacting a portion of the motor housing and the stator (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Krank et al. does not disclose:
a vehicle body extending between a first end and a second end;
a power reservoir coupled to the vehicle body;
and an electric motor coupled to the vehicle body and communicatively coupled to the power reservoir.
Long et al. discloses:
a vehicle body (main frame or chassis 12) extending between a first end (first axial end of main frame or chassis 12) and a second end (second axial end of main frame or chassis 12) (Long et al. Fig. 1);
a power reservoir (one or more batteries 40) coupled to the vehicle body (Long et al. Fig. 1);
and an electric motor (electric machine 50 applicable to first electric machine 34 and/or second electric machine 36) coupled to the vehicle body (Long et al. Fig. 1) and communicatively coupled to the power reservoir (Long et al. Fig. 1 discloses the electric machines 34 and 36 are communicatively coupled to one or more batteries 40 via the control system).
Krank et al. and Long et al. disclose a vehicle having a cooling system, therefore Long et al. constitutes as prior art. Long et al. discloses a tractor comprising a vehicle body, a power reservoir, and an electric motor. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a vehicle body extending between a first end and a second end; a power reservoir coupled to the vehicle body; and an electric motor coupled to the vehicle body and communicatively coupled to the power reservoir of Long et al. for the purpose of converting electric energy into motion for the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 17, Krank et al. and Long et al. disclose the vehicle of Claim 16, wherein the fluid conduit includes a first fluid conduit (first cooling channel 215) and a second fluid conduit (second cooling channel 215) (Krank et al. Fig. 8 discloses a plurality of cooling channels 215),
the first fluid conduit and the second fluid conduit being arranged in parallel to each other (Krank et al. Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 18, Krank et al. and Long et al. disclose the vehicle of Claim 16, wherein the fluid conduit includes a serpentine pattern (cooling channel 115) between the first end and the second end (Krank et al. Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 19, Krank et al. and Long et al. disclose the vehicle of Claim 16, wherein the conformal cooling pouch consumes almost all of the gap (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Krank et al. and Long et al. disclose the vehicle of Claim 16, wherein the conformal cooling pouch directly contacts the stator and the motor housing (Krank et al. Fig. 3).
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834