DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 15 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 (line 2) “ , notably” should be deleted.
In claim 10 (line 1) “ , in particular” should be deleted.
In claim 10 (line 6) “said coaxial” should recite –said one coaxial--.
In claim 15 (line 1) “ , in particular” should be deleted.
In claim 15 (line 5) “said coaxial” should recite –said one coaxial--.
In claim 19 (line 1) “ , in particular” should be deleted.
In claim 19 (line 5) “said coaxial” should recite –said one coaxial--.
For the purpose of examining the application, it is assumed that appropriate correction has been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZF Friedrichshafen (EP 2 017 496).
As to claim 1, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat 56 intended to be placed on one end of a first spring of a torsion damping device for a vehicle, comprising:
a dorsal part 64 comprising a body which is designed to cooperate with the end of the first spring 44’, and a bar portion 66 forming a surface designed to be one element of a pivot connection; and
a frontal part 150 designed to be connected to the dorsal part by having complementing shapes (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claim 2, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat wherein the frontal part 150 is independent of the dorsal part 44 (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claims 3 and 11, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat wherein the frontal part 150 consists at least partially of a first material and the dorsal part 64 consists at least partially of a second material, which is different from the first material (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claims 4, 12 and 16, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat wherein the body of the dorsal part 64 comprises at least one protuberance 68, which extends perpendicularly from an edge of said body and is designed to guide the first spring 44’ (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claims 5, 13, 17 and 20, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat wherein the bar portion 66 is tubular and has an open cross section facing the frontal part 150 (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claim 6, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat wherein the frontal part 150 comprises a body designed to provide at least one of the following: centring of the first spring 44’, centring of a second spring 44” internal to the first spring, and abutment of the second spring (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claim 7, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a seat wherein the body of the frontal part 150 comprises at least one first rib, which is secured to a first edge of said body, extends radially in relation thereto, and is designed to be inserted into a first slot formed on the body of the dorsal part 64 (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
As to claims 10, 15 and 19, ZF Friedrichshafen discloses a torsion damping device for a vehicle, comprising two coaxial parts 60,62 mounted rotatably relative to one another counter to at least one first spring 44’ with, positioned circumferentially between one of the ends of said first spring and one of the coaxial parts 62, a seat 56, the dorsal part 64 of the seat being designed to bear against said first spring and to itself bear against said one coaxial part, and the frontal part of the seat being designed to be connected to the dorsal part by having complementing shapes (Figures 1-4,28; paragraph [0063]).
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uehara et al. (US 9,909,625).
As to claim 1, Uehara et al. disclose a seat 42 intended to be placed on one end of a first spring 31of a torsion damping device for a vehicle, comprising:
a dorsal part 44 comprising a body which is designed to cooperate with the end of the first spring, and a bar portion 46 forming a surface designed to be one element of a pivot connection; and
a frontal part 45 designed to be connected to the dorsal part by having complementing shapes (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claim 2, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the frontal part 45 is independent of the dorsal part 44 (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claims 3 and 11, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the frontal part 45 consists at least partially of a first material and the dorsal part 44 consists at least partially of a second material, which is different from the first material (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claims 4, 12 and 16, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the body of the dorsal part 44 comprises at least one protuberance 44b, which extends perpendicularly from an edge of said body and is designed to guide the first spring 31 (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claims 6, 14 and 18, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the frontal part 45 comprises a body designed to provide at least one of the following: centring of the first spring 31, centring of a second spring internal to the first spring, and abutment of the second spring (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claim 7, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the body of the frontal part 45 comprises at least one first rib A (Figure 5 reprinted below with annotations), which is secured to a first edge of said body, extends radially in relation thereto, and is designed to be inserted into a first slot formed on the body of the dorsal part 44 (Figures 1-6,10).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 8, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the body of the frontal part 45 additionally comprises at least one second rib B, which is secured to a second edge, situated opposite the first edge, of said body and extends radially in relation to said body, the second rib being designed to be inserted into a second slot formed on the body of the dorsal part 44 (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claim 9, Uehara et al. disclose a seat wherein the first spring 31 bears against the at least one first rib A and against the at least one second rib B (Figures 1-6,10).
As to claims 10, 15 and 19, Uehara et al. disclose a torsion damping device for a vehicle, comprising two coaxial parts 2,11 mounted rotatably relative to one another counter to at least one first spring 31 with, positioned circumferentially between one of the ends of said first spring and one of the coaxial parts 11, a seat 42, the dorsal part 44 of the seat being designed to bear against said first spring and to itself bear against said one coaxial part, and the frontal part 45 of the seat being designed to be connected to the dorsal part by having complementing shapes (Figures 1-6,10).
Conclusion
08/31/26
/MICHAEL P FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619