DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeLuca et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0092009 A1; hereinafter Browne) in view of OH et al (Pub. No. US 2023/0156337 A1; hereinafter OH)
Consider claims 1, and 15, DeLuca clearly show and disclose a method, and a non-transitory computer readable medium, and an electronic device comprising: a communications subsystem that enables the electronic device to communicatively connect to a video communication session involving at least one second electronic device (Client computing device 120 includes user interface (UI) 122, camera 124, conferencing program 126, playback program 128, and database 129; client computing device 120 allowing a user of the client computing device to communicate with participants in the live video conference in other locations by two-way video and audio transmissions; network 110 can be any combination of connections and protocols that will support communication between client computing device 120 and server computing device 130) (fig. 1, labels 120 for electronic device, 110 and 130; paragraphs: 0020-0021); a memory having stored thereon a communication module and a background monitoring/video replacement (BMVR) module for monitoring a background of a live video and replacing the live video with a previously recorded video clip during a video communication session (playback program 128 determines if an indication of an interrupt condition is received (decision block 212). An indication of an interrupt condition is any action or circumstance that indicates the live feed of the video conference is to be interrupted. An indication of an interrupt condition may include such actions as dimming the lights, detecting another person has entered the room or the frame; the program will retrieve selected content/video clip (block 214)) (fig. 1, labels: 126, 128, and 129 for BMVR, fig. 2; and paragraph 0025-0026, 0029); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the communications subsystem (fig. 1, labels: 120, 126 for a processor coupled to 110, 130 communications subsystem), each of the plurality of cameras, and the memory, and which executes program code of the communication module and the BMVR module (fig. 1, labels: 126, 128, and 129 for BMVR; paragraph 0025-0026), the at least one processor configured to cause the electronic device to: while the electronic device is providing a live video to a first video communication session using the first camera (fig. 1, label 124), detect a change in a first background area adjacent to a background of the live video, the change comprising at least one element that would present at least one visual distraction to other participants of the first video communication session (distributed data processing environment 100 represents a video conferencing environment, where conference participants communicate via a network, such as network 110; playback program 128 determines if an indication of an interrupt condition is received (decision block 212). An indication of an interrupt condition is any action or circumstance that indicates the live feed of the video conference is to be interrupted. An indication of an interrupt condition may include such actions as dimming the lights, detecting another person has entered the room or the frame) (paragraphs: 0019, 0022, 0027-0028, 0029 and fig. 1, labels: 120, 124, 126; and fig. 2, labels: 202, 204, 208, 210, and 212); and in response to detecting the change: stop presentation of the live video to the first video communication session (if playback program 128 determines that an indication of interrupt is received (the "YES" branch of decision block 212), the program will retrieve selected content (block 214)) paragraphs: 0029 and fig. 2, label 212 and 214); retrieve a first pre-recorded video clip of a local participant of the first video communication session, the local participant captured within the live video (content can be a video clip or a voice recording. A user of client computing device 120 may select a previously recorded video in temporary storage within playback program 128 or stored in database 129) (paragraphs: 0026-0027, 0029 and fig. 2, 208 and 214); and present the first pre-recorded video clip in place of the live video to the first video communication session (playback program 128 plays the selected content in the live video conference (block 216). Playback program 128 inserts the selected content, interrupting the live feed, and plays the content in the live video conference, so that the selected content is displayed to participants in the live video conference) (paragraphs: 0030 and fig. 2, labels: 216); however, DeLuca does not disclose a plurality of cameras, including a first camera that captures video and images from a first field of view (FOV) and a second camera that captures video and images from a second FOV that is wider than the first FOV.
In the same field of endeavor, OH clearly specifically disclose a plurality of cameras, including a first camera that captures video and images from a first field of view (FOV) and a second camera that captures video and images from a second FOV that is wider than the first FOV (abstract, paragraphs: 0044, 0072 - 0074, 0095)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of OH into teaching of DeLuca for the purpose of using the two cameras in order to track object in the background.
Consider claim 8, DeLuca clearly show and disclose a method comprising: while an electronic device is providing a live video to a first video communication session using a first camera (fig. 1, label 124), detecting, via at least one processor (fig. 1, label 126), a change in a first background area adjacent to a background of the live video (distributed data processing environment 100 represents a video conferencing environment, where conference participants communicate via a network, such as network 110; playback program 128 determines if an indication of an interrupt condition is received (decision block 212). An indication of an interrupt condition is any action or circumstance that indicates the live feed of the video conference is to be interrupted. An indication of an interrupt condition may include such actions as dimming the lights, detecting another person has entered the room or the frame) (paragraphs: 0019, 0022, 0027-0028 and fig. 1, labels: 120, 124, 126; and fig. 2, labels: 212), the change comprising at least one element that would present at least one visual distraction to other participants of the first video communication session (continue to display the live feed of the video conference (block 210). Thus, in various embodiments of the present invention, playback program 128 can continue to display the live feed of the video conference via UI 122 while recording is taking place; an indication of an interrupt condition can include detecting with motion sensors included with camera 124 a change in the user's environment, such as a person entering the room) (paragraphs: 0026-0027, 0029); and in response to detecting the change: stopping presentation of the live video to the first video communication session (if playback program 128 determines that an indication of interrupt is received (the "YES" branch of decision block 212), the program will retrieve selected content (block 214) ) paragraphs: 0029 and fig. 2, label 212 and 214); retrieving a first pre-recorded video clip of a local participant of the first video communication session, the local participant captured within the live video (content can be a video clip or a voice recording. A user of client computing device 120 may select a previously recorded video in temporary storage within playback program 128 or stored in database 129) (paragraphs: 0026-0027, 0029 and fig. 2, 208 and 214); and presenting the first pre-recorded video clip in place of the live video to the first video communication session (playback program 128 plays the selected content in the live video conference (block 216). Playback program 128 inserts the selected content, interrupting the live feed, and plays the content in the live video conference, so that the selected content is displayed to participants in the live video conference) (paragraphs: 0030 and fig. 2, labels: 216); however, DeLuca does not disclose more than one camera.
In the same field of endeavor, OH clearly specifically disclose more than one camera (when the first field of view is greater than the second field of view) (abstract, paragraphs: 0044, 0072 - 0074, 0095)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of OH into teaching of DeLuca for the purpose of using the two cameras in order to track object in the background.
Consider claims 2, 9, and 16, DeLuca and OH clearly show the computer program product, the method, and electronic device, wherein to detect the change, the at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic device to: activate the second camera to capture the second FOV comprising the first background area during the video communication session; identify visible areas within the second FOV that are outside of or on a periphery of the first FOV; monitor the visible areas for changes that can correspond to the at least one visual distraction; in response to detecting the change, perform image analysis to identify whether the change comprises the at least one element that would present the at least one visual distraction; and trigger stopping of the live video, in response to the change comprising the at least one element (OH: 0044, 0072 - 0074, 0095).
Consider claims 3, 10, and 17, DeLuca and OH clearly show the computer program product, the method, and electronic device, wherein to detect the change, the at least one processor configures the electronic device to: extract a first frame from a first video captured by the second camera at a first time; identify the first background area within the first frame; extract a second frame from the first video at a second, later time; identify a second background area within the second frame; determine if visual features of the second background area are sufficiently different than visual features of the first background area; and in response to determining visual features of the second background area are sufficiently different from the first background area, trigger stopping of the presentation of the live video (DeLuca: paragraphs: 0019, 0022, 0027-0028 and fig. 2).
Consider claims 4, 11, and 18, DeLuca and OH clearly show the computer program product, the method, and electronic device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic device to: capture a second video of the second FOV, via the second camera, at a third later time; extract a third frame from the second video; identify a third background area within the third frame; determine if visual features of the third background area are substantially similar to the first background area indicating that the at least one element that would present the at least one visual distraction is no longer present; in response to determining visual features of the third background area are substantially similar to the first background area, stop presentation of the first pre-recorded video clip to the first video communication session; and resume presentation of the live video to the first video communication session (DeLuca: paragraphs: 0027-0031 and fig. 2, labels: 218 and 220).
Consider claims 7, and 14, DeLuca and OH clearly show the method, and electronic device, wherein the first camera is a normal angle FOV camera that captures, within the first FOV, video and images of the local participant of the first video communication session and the second camera is an ultra-wide angle FOV camera that captures, within the second FOV that is wider than the first FOV, video and images comprising the first background area that is outside of or on a periphery of the first FOV of the first camera (OH: paragraphs: 0044, 0072 - 0074, 0095).
2. Consider claims 5-6, 12-13, and 19-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over DeLuca et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0092009 A1; hereinafter Browne) in view of OH et al (Pub. No. US 2023/0156337 A1; hereinafter OH) and further in view of Rothschild et al (Pub. No. US 2023/0027741 A1; hereinafter Rothschild)
Consider claims 5, 12, and 19, DeLuca and OH disclose the claimed invention above but lack teaching the computer program product, the method, and electronic device, further comprising: an audio input device, the audio input device communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic device to: determine if a first audio input comprising speech has been received via the audio input device; and in response to determining the first audio input comprising speech has been received: identify facial movements of the local participant within a foreground of the first pre-recorded video clip; generate a modified first pre-recorded video clip by synchronizing facial movements of the local participant with the first audio input comprising speech; and present the modified first pre-recorded video clip in place of the live video to the first video communication session.
In the same field of endeavor, Rothschild clearly discloses the computer program product, the method, and electronic device, further comprising: an audio input device, the audio input device communicatively coupled to the at least one processor; wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic device to: determine if a first audio input comprising speech has been received via the audio input device; and in response to determining the first audio input comprising speech has been received: identify facial movements of the local participant within a foreground of the first pre-recorded video clip; generate a modified first pre-recorded video clip by synchronizing facial movements of the local participant with the first audio input comprising speech; and present the modified first pre-recorded video clip in place of the live video to the first video communication session (paragraph 0029, and 0040-0041)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of Rothschild into teaching of DeLuca and OH for the purpose of matching expected audio and video play times.
Consider claims 6, 13, and 20, DeLuca and OH clearly show the computer program product, the method, and electronic device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the electronic device to: in response to determining the first audio input comprising speech has not been received, select a second pre-recorded video clip from among a plurality of pre-recorded video clips that does not present the local participant speaking; and present the second pre-recorded video clip in place of the live video to the first video communication session (DeLuca: paragraphs: 0029, 0030, 0033).
Conclusion
/AMAL S ZENATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693