DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 1-6 & 9-17 are rejected.
Claims 7-8 are objected to.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
"an operation unit to receive an operation" in Claim 1, as described in Para. [0046] of Applicant’s specification.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 6, 13 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 recites the limitation “each operator” on Line 4. While only previously reciting “a [single] operator” on Line 13 of Claim 1, it is unclear whether there are additional operators of the system as “each” requires a group of operators. For the purpose of examination, “each operator” is being interpreted as “the operator”.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 13 recites the limitation “each operator” on Line 4. While only previously reciting “a [single] operator” on Line 13 of Claim 1, it is unclear whether there are additional operators of the system as “each” requires a group of operators. For the purpose of examination, “each operator” is being interpreted as “the operator”.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 recites the limitation “the surgical instrument includes an endoscope” on Line 2. It is unclear whether this endoscope of the surgical instrument is the same as the “endoscope” previously recited on Line 3 of Claim 14, or a separate, different endoscope. For the purpose of examination, there is only one endoscope required and the limitation on Line 2 of Claim 15 is assumed to be duplicative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9, 12-13 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nowlin et al. (hereinafter "Nowlin") (US 2006/0241414).
Regarding Claim 1, Nowlin discloses a robotic surgical system (Fig. 1, 10; [0055]) comprising:
a surgical apparatus (Fig. 1, 300; [0055]) including a robot arm (Fig. 4, 302; [0064]) to allow a surgical instrument to be attached thereto (Fig. 4, 304; [0064]);
an operation apparatus (Fig. 1, 200; [0055]) including an operation unit (Fig. 3B, 210B; [0060]) to receive an operation for the surgical instrument (Fig. 11, fh; [0116]), the operation unit having a coordinate system (Fig. 10, a master cartesian space coordinate system X2, Y2, and Z2; [0093]) rotated by a predetermined angle (Figs. 3B, 4, 11 & 13, an angular offset between a master position Xh of 210B and a slave position Xe of 304, wherein an initial angular offset is defined as the angular offset between Xh of 210B, at Xm, and Xe of 304, at Xs; [0102], [0103] & [0107]) with respect to a coordinate system of the surgical apparatus (Fig. 10, 902; [0096]);
a controller (Fig. 11, 400; [0097]) configured or programmed to perform a control (Fig. 11, fs; [0106]) to move the surgical instrument by the robot arm based on the operation received by the operation unit ([0106]); and
a receiver (Fig. 11, a processor including 422; [0137]) to receive a change in the predetermined angle (Figs. 3B, 4, 11 & 13, Xh of 210B is moved from Xm to Xa thereby creating a new angular offset defined as the angular offset between Xh of 210B, at Xa, and Xe of 304, at Xs; [0138]) by an operator (Fig. 1, O; [0057]).
Regarding Claim 2, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the predetermined angle is an angle by which the coordinate system of the operation unit is rotated in a direction away from the operator with respect to a line perpendicular to a surface on which the operation apparatus is placed (Figs. 3B, 11 & 13, movement of Xh of 210B from Xm to Xa is about axis 4 which is closer or further away from O; [0061] & [0138]).
Regarding Claim 4, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the receiver is operable to receive the change in the predetermined angle in fixed angular increments ([0139]).
Regarding Claim 5, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the surgical instrument includes an endoscope (Fig. 4, 304 is an endoscope; [0064]); and
the robotic surgical system comprises a display (Fig. 1, 14; [0057]) to display an image captured by the endoscope ([0057]) in accordance with the coordinate system of the surgical apparatus ([0057]).
Regarding Claim 6, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses a storage (Fig. 13, 424; [0138]) to store the predetermined angle received for the operator (Fig. 13, Xd; [0138]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to:
retrieve the predetermined angle received for the operator and stored in the storage ([0138]); and
set the coordinate system of the operation unit based on a retrieved predetermined angle ([0138]).
Regarding Claim 9, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses a monitoring controller (Fig. 19, 472; [0142]) configured or programmed to monitor command values of the controller for the robot arm and the surgical instrument ([0142]), and actual axis values of the robot arm and the surgical instrument ([0142]); wherein
the monitoring controller is configured or programmed to perform a control to issue a warning when differences between the command values of the controller and the actual axis values exceed a predetermined threshold ([0142]).
Regarding Claim 12, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the predetermined angle is an angle by which the coordinate system of the operation unit is rotated in a direction away from the operator with respect to a line perpendicular to a surface on which the operation apparatus is placed ([0139]);
the surgical instrument includes an endoscope (Fig. 4, 304 is an endoscope; [0064]); and
the robotic surgical system comprises a display (Fig. 1, 14; [0057]) to display an image captured by the endoscope ([0057]) in accordance with the coordinate system of the surgical apparatus ([0057]).
Regarding Claim 13, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 12. Nowlin further discloses a storage (Fig. 13, 424; [0138]) to store the predetermined angle received for the operator (Fig. 13, Xd; [0138]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to:
retrieve the predetermined angle received for the operator and stored in the storage ([0138]); and
set the coordinate system of the operation unit based on a retrieved predetermined angle ([0138]).
Regarding Claim 16, Nowlin discloses a control method ([0009]) for a robotic surgical system (Fig. 1, 10; [0055]), the control method comprising:
receiving a change by an operator ([0137] & [0138]) in a predetermined angle (Figs. 3B, 4, 11 & 13, an angular offset between a master position Xh of 210B and a slave position Xe of 304, wherein an initial angular offset is defined as the angular offset between Xh of 210B, at Xm, and Xe of 304, at Xs; [0102], [0103] & [0107]) of a coordinate system (Fig. 10, a master cartesian space coordinate system X2, Y2, and Z2; [0093]) of an operation unit (Fig. 3B, 210B; [0060]) rotated by the predetermined angle with respect to a coordinate system (Fig. 10, 902; [0096]) of a surgical apparatus (Fig. 1, 300; [0055]);
changing the predetermined angle of the coordinate system of the operation unit based on a received change in the predetermined angle (Figs. 3B, 4, 11 & 13, Xh of 210B is moved from Xm to Xa thereby creating a new angular offset defined as the angular offset between Xh of 210B, at Xa, and Xe of 304, at Xs; [0138]);
receiving an operation with the operation unit (Fig. 11, fh; [0116]) for a surgical instrument (Fig. 4, 304; [0064]) attached to a robot arm (Fig. 4, 302; [0064]) in a state in which the coordinate system of the operation unit has been changed ([0146]); and
moving the surgical instrument by the robot arm based on a received operation ([0106] & [0107]).
Regarding Claim 17, Nowlin discloses a storage medium operable to store a program ([0016]) for a control method ([0009]) for a robotic surgical system, the control method comprising:
receiving a change by an operator ([0137] & [0138]) in a predetermined angle (Figs. 3B, 4, 11 & 13, an angular offset between a master position Xh of 210B and a slave position Xe of 304, wherein an initial angular offset is defined as the angular offset between Xh of 210B, at Xm, and Xe of 304, at Xs; [0102], [0103] & [0107]) of a coordinate system (Fig. 10, a master cartesian space coordinate system X2, Y2, and Z2; [0093]) of an operation unit (Fig. 3B, 210B; [0060]) rotated by the predetermined angle with respect to a coordinate system (Fig. 10, 902; [0096]) of a surgical apparatus (Fig. 1, 300; [0055]);
changing the predetermined angle of the coordinate system of the operation unit based on a received change in the predetermined angle (Figs. 3B, 4, 11 & 13, Xh of 210B is moved from Xm to Xa thereby creating a new angular offset defined as the angular offset between Xh of 210B, at Xa, and Xe of 304, at Xs; [0138]);
receiving an operation with the operation unit (Fig. 11, fh; [0116]) for a surgical instrument (Fig. 4, 304; [0064]) attached to a robot arm (Fig. 4, 302; [0064]) in a state in which the coordinate system of the operation unit has been changed ([0146]); and
moving the surgical instrument by the robot arm based on a received operation ([0106] & [0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10-11 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowlin et al. (hereinafter "Nowlin") (US 2006/0241414) in view of Goldberg et al. (hereinafter "Goldberg") (US 2010/0225209).
Regarding Claim 3, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the receiver includes a touch panel on the operation apparatus to receive a setting for the robotic surgical system.
However, Goldberg teaches a robotic surgical system (Fig. 1A, 100A; [0042]) comprising:
a surgical apparatus (Fig. 1A, 152; [0043]) including a robot arm (Fig. 1A, 153; [0043]) to allow a surgical instrument to be attached thereto (Fig. 1A, 101; [0043]);
an operation apparatus (Fig. 1A, 150; [0043]) including an operation unit (Fig. 9, 905L; [0090]) to receive an operation for the surgical instrument ([0094]);
a controller (Fig. 3A, 302; [0088]) configured or programmed to perform a control to move the surgical instrument by the robot arm based on the operation received by the operation unit ([0094]);
a receiver (Fig. 1A, 151; [0043]); and
wherein the receiver includes a touch panel (Fig. 9, 912; [0134]) on the operation apparatus ([0134]) to receive a setting for the robotic surgical system (ergonomic settings; [0134]).
The advantage of the touch panel is to permit easy access and adjustment of ergonomic settings by the operator (Goldberg; [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the receiver as disclosed by Nowlin, to include the touch panel taught by Goldberg, to permit easy access and adjustment of ergonomic settings by the operator (Goldberg; [0134]).
Regarding Claim 10, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the predetermined angle is an angle by which the coordinate system of the operation unit is rotated in a direction away from the operator with respect to a line perpendicular to a surface on which the operation apparatus is placed (Figs. 3B, 11 & 13, movement of Xh of 210B from Xm to Xa is about axis 4 which is closer or further away from O; [0061] & [0138]). Nowlin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the receiver includes a touch panel on the operation apparatus to receive a setting for the robotic surgical system.
However, Goldberg teaches a robotic surgical system (Fig. 1A, 100A; [0042]) comprising:
a surgical apparatus (Fig. 1A, 152; [0043]) including a robot arm (Fig. 1A, 153; [0043]) to allow a surgical instrument to be attached thereto (Fig. 1A, 101; [0043]);
an operation apparatus (Fig. 1A, 150; [0043]) including an operation unit (Fig. 9, 905L; [0090]) to receive an operation for the surgical instrument ([0094]);
a controller (Fig. 3A, 302; [0088]) configured or programmed to perform a control to move the surgical instrument by the robot arm based on the operation received by the operation unit ([0094]);
a receiver (Fig. 1A, 151; [0043]); and
wherein the receiver includes a touch panel (Fig. 9, 912; [0134]) on the operation apparatus ([0134]) to receive a setting for the robotic surgical system (ergonomic settings; [0134]).
The advantage of the touch panel is to permit easy access and adjustment of ergonomic settings by the operator (Goldberg; [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the receiver as disclosed by Nowlin, to include the touch panel taught by Goldberg, to permit easy access and adjustment of ergonomic settings by the operator (Goldberg; [0134]).
Regarding Claim 11, Nowlin, as previously modified by Goldberg, teaches the robotic surgical system according to Claim 10. Nowlin further discloses wherein the receiver is operable to receive the change in the predetermined angle in fixed angular increments ([0139]).
Regarding Claim 14, Nowlin, as previously modified by Goldberg, teaches the robotic surgical system according to Claim 11. Nowlin further discloses wherein the surgical instrument includes an endoscope (Fig. 4, 304 is an endoscope; [0064]); and
the robotic surgical system comprises a display (Fig. 1, 14; [0057]) to display an image captured by the endoscope ([0057]) in accordance with the coordinate system of the surgical apparatus ([0057]);
the robotic surgical system comprises a storage (Fig. 13, 424; [0138]) to store the predetermined angle received for the operator (Fig. 13, Xd; [0138]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to:
retrieve the predetermined angle received for the operator and stored in the storage ([0138]); and
set the coordinate system of the operation unit based on a retrieved predetermined angle ([0138]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the surgical instrument includes an endoscope (Fig. 4, 304 is an endoscope; [0064]); and
the operation apparatus includes a monitor (Fig. 2, 202; [0059]) to display an image captured by the endoscope (Fig. 20, 800; [0170]) and allow a head of the operator to be inserted thereinto ([0059]).
Nowlin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the monitor has a rotation angle adjusted around an axis along a right-left direction of the operator who operates the operation apparatus; and the receiver is operable to receive the change in the predetermined angle independently of adjustment of the rotation angle of the monitor.
Regarding Claim 8, Nowlin discloses the robotic surgical system according to Claim 1. Nowlin further discloses wherein the surgical instrument includes an endoscope (Fig. 4, 304 is an endoscope; [0064]); and
the operation apparatus includes a monitor (Fig. 2, 202; [0059]) to display an image captured by the endoscope (Fig. 20, 800; [0170]) and allow a head of the operator to be inserted thereinto ([0059]).
Nowlin fails to explicitly disclose wherein the monitor has a rotation angle adjusted around an axis along a right-left direction of the operator who operates the operation apparatus; the predetermined angle is changed in conjunction with rotation of the monitor; and the receiver is operable to receive a further change in the predetermined angle that has been changed in conjunction with the rotation of the monitor.
Regarding Claim 15, Nowlin, as previously modified by Goldberg, teaches the robotic surgical system according to Claim 14. Nowlin further discloses wherein the surgical instrument includes an endoscope (Fig. 4, 304 is an endoscope; [0064]); and
the operation apparatus includes a monitor (Fig. 2, 202; [0059]) to display an image captured by the endoscope (Fig. 20, 800; [0170]) and allow a head of the operator to be inserted thereinto ([0059]).
Nowlin, as previously modified by Goldberg, fails to explicitly teach wherein the monitor has a rotation angle adjusted around an axis along a right-left direction of the operator who operates the operation apparatus; the predetermined angle is changed in conjunction with rotation of the monitor; and the receiver is operable to receive a further change in the predetermined angle that has been changed in conjunction with the rotation of the monitor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Di Guardo et al. (US 2024/0115337) teaches controlling a surgical robot system having a mechanically unconstrained master device.
Sweeney et al. (US 2023/0064265) teaches a movable display system for a surgical robot system.
Itotani et al. (US 2022/0060678) teaches a control device for a master slave surgical robot system.
Ishihara et al. (US 2020/0100852) teaches a remote operation unit for robotic surgery having standing and sitting configurations.
Hondori et al. (US 2020/0015598) teaches a surgical robotic system having an anthropometry-based user console.
Cohen et al. (US 2018/0256267) teaches a multi-joint input arm for control of a surgical mechanical arm.
Nakanishi et al. (US 2017/0165014) teaches a remote control surgical system having different handle postures.
De Mathelin (US 2016/0338789) teaches a master interface device for a motorized endoscope system.
Hiroe et al. (US 2015/0038984) teaches a surgical manipulator system.
Hannaford et al. (US 2011/0238079) teaches a surgical cockpit comprising multisensory and multimodal interfaces for robotic surgery.
Itkowitz et al. (US 2010/0332031) teaches a ratcheting system for master alignment of a teleoperated surgical instrument.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795