DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No.12,247,708. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the instant application can be arrived at from the claim limitations of cited patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8,13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the actuating rod springs". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the actuating rod springs". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the ejection chamber". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the actuating springs". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14 recited “the chemical light stick ejection port” whilst claim 1 recited “a light stick ejection port”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,10,14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2012/0199604).
Claim 1, Brown discloses a tactical chemical light stick dispenser (Brown’s dispenser which dispenses solid bars of soap is fully capable of dispensing a light stick) comprising a dispenser housing comprising a light housing cover (112), a light stick status window (114), a light stick ejection port (fig.5; right above 104) located at the bottom dispenser housing (fig.3; the bottom is herein defined as the lower half portion of the dispensing depicted in fig.3), an actuating plunger (506), and an actuating button (104).
Although Brown does not disclose two actuating plungers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement a plurality of actuating plungers since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 2, Brown discloses a light stick loading port (fig.3; port covered by 112 to load articles to be dispensed), the actuating button (104) is connected to and transitions into the actuating plunger (508) which in turn is connected to and transitions into an actuating rod (504).
Although Brown does not disclose two actuating plungers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement a plurality of actuating plungers since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 10, Brown discloses one side of the dispenser housing forms a chemical light stick status window (114) that permits viewing of the number of remaining chemical light sticks for ejection (para.0019).
Claim 14, Brown discloses the actuating button (104) forces the chemical light stick to eject from the ejection chamber (fig.6; chamber wherein 502 pushes 106 out of dispenser) and out through the chemical light stick ejection port (fig.5; right above 104) and the actuating spring (508) restore the actuating button (104) back to the original ready position.
Although Brown does not disclose the actuating springs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement a plurality of actuating springs since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 3-6,9,11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2012/0199604) in view of Burnsed, Jr. et al. (US 10,577,197).
Claim 3, Brown discloses a chemical light stick housing loading port (fig.3; port covered by 112 that allows loading of articles to be dispensed).
Brown does not disclose a chemical light stick housing vertical spring chamber, a chemical light stick housing vertical spring.
Burnsed discloses a chemical light stick housing vertical spring chamber (fig.4; chamber wherein 40 reside), a chemical light stick housing vertical spring (40). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Brown with a chemical light stick housing vertical spring chamber, a chemical light stick housing vertical spring because such configuration is very well-known in the art for dispensing articles from the uppermost-top or lowermost-bottom of dispensing containers and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 4, Brown discloses one side of the dispenser housing forms a chemical light stick status window (114) that permits viewing of the number of remaining chemical light sticks for activation and ejection.
Claim 5, Brown discloses the chemical light stick housing spring (508) exerts pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick when the actuating button (104) is depressed.
Brown does not disclose the chemical light stick housing vertical spring exerts downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick when the actuating button is depressed.
Burnsed discloses the chemical light stick housing vertical spring (40) exerts downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Brown with the chemical light stick housing vertical spring exerts downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick when the actuating button is depressed because such configuration is very well-known in the art for dispensing articles from the uppermost-top or lowermost-bottom of dispensing containers and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 6, Brown does not disclose the chemical light stick housing vertical spring maintains downward pressure on a vertical spring follower, which in turn, applies downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser that holds the light sticks in place down the dispenser housing all the way to the chemical light stick ejection chamber.
Burnsed discloses the chemical light stick housing vertical spring (40) maintains downward pressure on a vertical spring follower (54), which in turn, applies downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser that holds the light sticks in place down the dispenser housing all the way to the chemical light stick ejection chamber (see fig.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Brown with the chemical light stick housing vertical spring maintains downward pressure on a vertical spring follower, which in turn, applies downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser that holds the light sticks in place down the dispenser housing all the way to the chemical light stick ejection chamber because such configuration is very well-known in the art for dispensing articles from the uppermost-top or lowermost-bottom of dispensing containers and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 9, Brown discloses a chemical light stick housing loading port (fig.3; port covered by 112 that allows loading of articles to be dispensed).
Brown does not disclose a chemical light stick housing vertical spring chamber, a chemical light stick housing vertical spring, a vertical spring follower.
Burnsed discloses a chemical light stick housing vertical spring chamber (fig.4; chamber wherein 40 reside), a chemical light stick housing vertical spring (40), a vertical spring follower (54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Brown with a chemical light stick housing vertical spring chamber, a chemical light stick housing vertical spring, a vertical spring follower because such configuration is very well-known in the art for dispensing articles from the uppermost-top or lowermost-bottom of dispensing containers and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 11, Brown discloses the chemical light stick housing spring (508) exerts pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick when the actuating button (104) is depressed.
Brown does not disclose the chemical light stick housing vertical spring that exerts downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick when the actuating button is depressed.
Burnsed discloses the chemical light stick housing vertical spring (40) that exerts downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Brown with the chemical light stick housing vertical spring that exerts downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser and provides force to dispense a chemical light stick when the actuating button is depressed because such configuration is very well-known in the art for dispensing articles from the uppermost-top or lowermost-bottom of dispensing containers and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 12, Brown does not disclose the chemical light stick housing vertical spring maintaining downward pressure on the vertical spring follower, which in turn, applies downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser that holds the light sticks in place down the dispenser housing all the way to the light stick ejection chamber.
Burnsed discloses the chemical light stick housing vertical spring (40) maintaining downward pressure on the vertical spring follower (54), which in turn, applies downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser that holds the light sticks in place down the dispenser housing all the way to the light stick ejection chamber (see fig.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Brown with the chemical light stick housing vertical spring maintaining downward pressure on the vertical spring follower, which in turn, applies downward pressure on the chemical light sticks in the dispenser that holds the light sticks in place down the dispenser housing all the way to the light stick ejection chamber because such configuration is very well-known in the art for dispensing articles from the uppermost-top or lowermost-bottom of dispensing containers and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Conclusion
/AYODEJI H OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651