DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application with application number JP2022-126176 dated 08/08/2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’s dated 02/06/2025 and 03/05/2025 have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Spelling mistake for the word “image”. It is written as “…mage data…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication US 20190116356 A1, (MATOBA et al.) (hereinafter “Matoba”).
Regarding claim 1, Matoba teaches a simulation device comprising a storage device and a control circuit, the simulation device using a virtual space to simulate display of an image effected by a display device, the storage device storing: (Matoba Abstract, Fig. 4, “[0008] The generation unit generates a simulation image including a plurality of image projection apparatuses and respective display regions of a plurality of images projected by the plurality of image projection apparatuses on the basis of the acquired setting information.”; “[0114] …The operation unit 107 is, for example, a keyboard, a pointing device, a touch panel, or another operation device. When the operation unit 107 includes a touch panel, the touch panel can be integrated with the display unit 106.”; “[0115] The storage unit 108 is a non-volatile storage device and is, for example, a HDD (Hard Disk Drive), a flash memory, or another solid-state memory...”; “[0122] First, an application for providing a simulation service according to the present technology is activated by a user 1 (step 101). The operation unit 107 is operated by the user 1 to input user setting parameters via a setting image 40 displayed on the display unit 106. The input user setting parameters are acquired by a parameter acquisition unit 115 (step 102).”; “[0129] The simulation image 20 includes a projector 21, a room (hall) 22 constituting space S in which the projector 21 is used, a screen 23 serving as a projected object onto which an image is to be projected, and a display region 24 of a projected image. The display region 24 corresponds to the contour of a projected image. In addition, in the present embodiment, a light beam 25 projected from the projector 21 and a light axis 26 of the projector 21 are also displayed.”; “[0118]”)
space information of a real space in which the display device is arranged; (Matoba “[0133] …it is possible to input the width, the height, and the depth of the room 22 as the first setting parameters. The room 22 constituting the space S having sizes corresponding to these input parameters is three-dimensionally displayed in the simulation image 20. It is possible to display a view of the space S and the room 22 in an arbitrary three-dimensional direction and appropriately change the direction through, for example, a drug operation or the like. Thus, a high-accuracy simulation can be performed.”; “[0135] By putting a check mark in a check box 46 shown in FIG. 4, it is possible to display an XYZ reference axis 47 in the simulation image 20. The reference axis 47 is an axis based on which the settings of the positions (coordinates) of the projector 21, the screen 23, or the like are made.”)
parameter information including parameter values to be set in the display device; and (Matoba “[0135] …The reference axis 47 is an axis based on which the settings of the positions (coordinates) of the projector 21, the screen 23, or the like are made.”; “[0142] FIG. 9 is a view showing a configuration example of the third setting image 43 for inputting the third setting parameters on the projector 21.”)
image information to be displayed by the display device, (Matoba “[0190] …the projected image 78 is generated on the basis of the image information of an image selected by a user. For example, an image desired to be projected by the user actually using the projector 21 is selected from a file selection menu or the like. The image information of the selected image is acquired by the parameter acquisition unit 115, and the projected image 78 is generated by the image generation unit 116.”; “[0191] …the projected image 78 is not limited to an image that is to be actually projected, but another image may be displayed as the projected image 78. For example, another video content may be selected, or a confirmation image or the like for confirming an image display state may be selected. For example, as a confirmation image for confirming how an image is to be displayed with a simulated arrangement or the like, an image such as a checker pattern may be prepared and selected.”; “[0193-0229]”)
the control circuit generating virtual space information including a state where a virtual display device having virtual parameter values based on the parameter information set therein is arranged in a virtual space virtually created on the basis of the space information, (Matoba “[0122] First, an application for providing a simulation service according to the present technology is activated by a user 1 (step 101). The operation unit 107 is operated by the user 1 to input user setting parameters via a setting image 40 displayed on the display unit 106. The input user setting parameters are acquired by a parameter acquisition unit 115 (step 102).”; “[0022] The user setting information may include information of space in which the plurality of image projection apparatuses are used. In this case, the generation unit may generate the simulation image including the space.”; “[0133] …it is possible to input the width, the height, and the depth of the room 22 as the first setting parameters. The room 22 constituting the space S having sizes corresponding to these input parameters is three-dimensionally displayed in the simulation image 20. It is possible to display a view of the space S and the room 22 in an arbitrary three-dimensional direction and appropriately change the direction through, for example, a drug operation or the like. Thus, a high-accuracy simulation can be performed.”; “[0135] By putting a check mark in a check box 46 shown in FIG. 4, it is possible to display an XYZ reference axis 47 in the simulation image 20. The reference axis 47 is an axis based on which the settings of the positions (coordinates) of the projector 21, the screen 23, or the like are made.”; “[0135] …The reference axis 47 is an axis based on which the settings of the positions (coordinates) of the projector 21, the screen 23, or the like are made.”; “[0142] FIG. 9 is a view showing a configuration example of the third setting image 43 for inputting the third setting parameters on the projector 21.”)
the control circuit updating the virtual space information to a state where the image information is virtually displayed by the virtual display device (Matoba “[0118] Information processing by the information processing apparatus 100 is realized, for example, when the CPU 101 loads a prescribed program stored in the ROM 102, the storage unit 108, or the like into the RAM 103 and performs the same. In the present embodiment, a parameter acquisition unit 115 and an image generation unit 116 (see FIG. 2) are configured when the CPU 101 performs a prescribed program according to the present technology…”; “[0190] …the projected image 78 is generated on the basis of the image information of an image selected by a user. For example, an image desired to be projected by the user actually using the projector 21 is selected from a file selection menu or the like. The image information of the selected image is acquired by the parameter acquisition unit 115, and the projected image 78 is generated by the image generation unit 116.”; “[0191] …the projected image 78 is not limited to an image that is to be actually projected, but another image may be displayed as the projected image 78. For example, another video content may be selected, or a confirmation image or the like for confirming an image display state may be selected. For example, as a confirmation image for confirming how an image is to be displayed with a simulated arrangement or the like, an image such as a checker pattern may be prepared and selected.”; “[0193-0229]”)
Claim 2 is directed to a simulation method executed by a control circuit that is accessible to a storage device, for simulating display of an image effected by a display device using a virtual space, the storage device storing: (Matoba Abstract, Fig. 4, “[0008] The generation unit generates a simulation image including a plurality of image projection apparatuses and respective display regions of a plurality of images projected by the plurality of image projection apparatuses on the basis of the acquired setting information.”; “[0114] …The operation unit 107 is, for example, a keyboard, a pointing device, a touch panel, or another operation device. When the operation unit 107 includes a touch panel, the touch panel can be integrated with the display unit 106.”; “[0115] The storage unit 108 is a non-volatile storage device and is, for example, a HDD (Hard Disk Drive), a flash memory, or another solid-state memory...”; “[0122] First, an application for providing a simulation service according to the present technology is activated by a user 1 (step 101). The operation unit 107 is operated by the user 1 to input user setting parameters via a setting image 40 displayed on the display unit 106. The input user setting parameters are acquired by a parameter acquisition unit 115 (step 102).”; “[0129] The simulation image 20 includes a projector 21, a room (hall) 22 constituting space S in which the projector 21 is used, a screen 23 serving as a projected object onto which an image is to be projected, and a display region 24 of a projected image. The display region 24 corresponds to the contour of a projected image. In addition, in the present embodiment, a light beam 25 projected from the projector 21 and a light axis 26 of the projector 21 are also displayed.”; “[0118]”) and its steps are substantially similar to the scope and functions performed by the device claim 1 and therefore claim 2 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Matoba teaches wherein the display device is a projector that displays an image by projecting the image information onto a screen, (Matoba “[0129] The simulation image 20 includes a projector 21, a room (hall) 22 constituting space S in which the projector 21 is used, a screen 23 serving as a projected object onto which an image is to be projected, and a display region 24 of a projected image. The display region 24 corresponds to the contour of a projected image…”)
and wherein the space information includes arrangement positions of the projector and the screen (Matoba “[0130] The setting image 40 includes first to third setting images 41, 42, and 43 (see FIG. 6, FIG. 9, or the like) for inputting first to third setting parameters on the room 22, the screen 23, and the projector 21, respectively. The first to third setting images 41, 42, and 43 are displayed to be made switchable by the selection of setting tabs 44 shown in FIG. 4.”; “[0138] The second setting image 42 includes a shape input unit 48 and a position input unit 49. In the present embodiment, it is possible to input the shape, the aspect ratio, the sizes, and the position of the screen 23 as the second setting parameters via the shape input unit 48 and the position input unit 49…”; “[0146] It is possible to input the position of the projector 21 via the position input unit 56. In the present embodiment, the center of gravity of a housing 62 of the projector 21 is arranged at the position of an input numerical value. The center of the gravity is stored or calculated as a value unique to each type of the projector 21.”)
Regarding claim 6, Matoba teaches wherein the space information includes material information of the screen (Matoba “[0217] That is, there could be a case that the right half of an image is projected onto a screen 23 having high reflectance…”; “[0260] When the screen 23 has, for example, the shape of a flat surface, a straight line parallel to the flat surface is set as a path. When the screen 23 has a curved surface, a path along the curved surface is appropriately set.”)
Regarding claim 7, Matoba teaches wherein the space information includes at least one of information regarding the size of the real space, information regarding building materials constituting the real space, information regarding lighting used in the real space, and information regarding objects arranged in the real space (Matoba Fig. 27, “[0177] …the virtual display region is set on the virtual plane, and the display region 24 of the projected image is calculated by the vectors calculated on the basis of the virtual display region. Accordingly, the display region 24 on the screen 23 having the curved surface shape as shown in FIG. 7 can be reproduced with high accuracy. In addition, as shown in FIG. 27, a display region 24 of an image projected onto a three-dimensional projected object 74 can also be reproduced with high accuracy. As a result, a simulation such as projection mapping or the like with which an image is to be projected onto a building, an object, or space can be performed with high accuracy. As shown in FIG. 27, an object different from a screen may be set as a projected object.”; “[0193] A method for generating the projected image 78 from the source image 79 serving as the source of the projected image 78 will be described with reference to FIG. 33. At a position distant from a light source 73 of the projector 21 by L′, a virtual plane perpendicular to a light axis 26 is set. As the light source 73 of the projector 21, a virtual point light source as shown in FIG. 25…”; “[0133] …it is possible to input the width, the height, and the depth of the room 22 as the first setting parameters. The room 22 constituting the space S having sizes corresponding to these input parameters is three-dimensionally displayed in the simulation image 20. It is possible to display a view of the space S and the room 22 in an arbitrary three-dimensional direction and appropriately change the direction through, for example, a drug operation or the like. Thus, a high-accuracy simulation can be performed.”)
Regarding claim 8, Matoba teaches wherein the parameter information includes at least one of a resolution, a luminance, and a chromaticity set in the display device (Matoba “[0199] In addition, an image of which the resolution is reduced with respect to the source image 79 may be displayed as the projected image 78. For example, the source image 79 is divided into a plurality of divided regions each including a prescribed number of pixels. Representative pixels are selected from among pixels included in the divided regions. At projected positions (coordinates V) on the screen of all the pixels in the divided regions, a color is expressed by the pixel data of the representative pixels. That is, all the pixels in the divided regions are expressed by the same color on the screen 23. Thus, an image of which the resolution is reduced is displayed as the projected image 78, whereby a reduction in processing time or the mitigation of a burden on processing can be attained.”; “[0212] As the brightness information, brightness (candela), illumination (lux), or the like calculated on the basis of respective parameters on brightness may be, for example, appropriately used. For example, brightness, illumination, or the like may be calculated based on respective parameters or the like on the basis of all light fluxes (lumen) expressing the brightness of the projector 21. Further, transmittance may be determined based on the calculated brightness, illumination, or the like. Thus, it becomes possible to simulate brightness with high accuracy.”)
Regarding claim 15, Matoba teaches wherein correcting at least one of the arrangement of the display device or the parameter value, distortion of the image information is corrected using geometric correction (Matoba “[0234] As a method for geometrically correcting (warping correction) the shape of an image, it is assumed that source image information is corrected using a computer such as a PC. In this case, it becomes possible to greatly correct distortion of an image and substantially correspond to the occurrence of the distortion of the image.”; “[0235] It is also assumed that warping correction is performed by an image distortion correction function provided in a projector. The warping correction is performed by, for example, an image processing IC (Integrated Circuit) or the like inside the projector 21. In this case, a range in which the warping correction is allowable is determined by the specifications of the image processing IC or the like...”; “[0236-0238] The correction function information of the projector 21 is stored in the storage unit 108 as projector parameters and includes, for example, condition information regarding conditions under which distortion of the display region 24 is correctable.”)
Regarding claim 16, Matoba teaches wherein the display device includes a plurality of display devices arranged at different positions, (Matoba Fig. 15, “[0146] It is possible to input the position of the projector 21 via the position input unit 56. In the present embodiment, the center of gravity of a housing 62 of the projector 21 is arranged at the position of an input numerical value. The center of the gravity is stored or calculated as a value unique to each type of the projector 21.”; “[0162] FIGS. 20 and 21 are views showing other examples of simulations by a plurality of projectors 21. As shown in FIG. 20, three projectors 21a, 21b, and 21c can be displayed by the use of the new addition function or the duplicate function. Further, the various parameters of positions, attitudes, or the like can be freely set for the respective projectors 21. Thus, it becomes possible to simulate various photographing conditions with high accuracy…”). The Examiner notes that Figure 15 shows adding projectors to the space and also changing their positions and orientations (rotation) via projector settings 43 (in Matoba).
wherein the plurality of display devices display a plurality of divided pieces of the image information, respectively, to display the entire image information, (Matoba Fig. 16, “[0158] In a simulation image 20, a display region 24a of the first projector 21a and a blending guide 66a in the display region 24a are displayed. In addition, a display region 24b of the second projector 21b and a blending guide 66b in the display region 24b are displayed. Since various settings are taken over by the duplicate function, the sizes of the display regions 24a and 24b are equal to each other and the sizes of the blending guides 66a and 66b are also equal to each other.”; “[0159] The second projector 21b is moved so that the left end of the display region 24b of the second projector 21b is stacked with the right end of the blending guide 66a of the first projector 21a. Since blending widths are equal to each other, the right end of the display region 24a of the first projector 21a is stacked with the left end of the blending guide 66b of the second projector 21b. That is, the second projector 21b is moved to a position at which mutual projected images are properly combined with each other. By the use of the duplicate function like this, it becomes really easy to simulate the blending of a plurality of images.”)
and wherein correcting at least one of the arrangement of the display device or the parameter value, correction is performed using a blending correction so that the entire image information is displayed (Matoba “[0152] As shown in FIG. 14, it is possible to input a blending width on a pixel-by-pixel basis (pixel unit) in each of the vertical direction and the horizontal direction with the blending guide input unit 61 in the present embodiment. The blending width is the width of the blending region 65 stacked with another combined image. On the basis of the size of an input blending width, a blending guide 66 indicating the inside end of the blending region 65 is displayed (a size from the end of the display region 24 to the blending guide 66 corresponds to the blending width).”; “[0153] By the display of the blending guide 66 like this, it becomes possible to simulate the blending of a plurality of images with a plurality of projectors 21 with high accuracy (see FIG. 16)…”)
Regarding claim 17, Matoba teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a computer program that causes the control circuit to execute the simulation method according to claim 2 (Matoba “[0115] The storage unit 108 is a non-volatile storage device and is, for example, a HDD (Hard Disk Drive), a flash memory, or another solid-state memory. The drive unit 111 is, for example, a device capable of driving a removable recording medium 112 such as an optical recording medium and a magnetic recording tape.”; “[0008] The generation unit generates a simulation image including a plurality of image projection apparatuses and respective display regions of a plurality of images projected by the plurality of image projection apparatuses on the basis of the acquired setting information.”; “[0114] …The operation unit 107 is, for example, a keyboard, a pointing device, a touch panel, or another operation device. When the operation unit 107 includes a touch panel, the touch panel can be integrated with the display unit 106.”; “[0115] The storage unit 108 is a non-volatile storage device and is, for example, a HDD (Hard Disk Drive), a flash memory, or another solid-state memory...”; “[0122] First, an application for providing a simulation service according to the present technology is activated by a user 1 (step 101). The operation unit 107 is operated by the user 1 to input user setting parameters via a setting image 40 displayed on the display unit 106. The input user setting parameters are acquired by a parameter acquisition unit 115 (step 102).”; “[0129] The simulation image 20 includes a projector 21, a room (hall) 22 constituting space S in which the projector 21 is used, a screen 23 serving as a projected object onto which an image is to be projected, and a display region 24 of a projected image. The display region 24 corresponds to the contour of a projected image. In addition, in the present embodiment, a light beam 25 projected from the projector 21 and a light axis 26 of the projector 21 are also displayed.”; “[0118]”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication US 20210227188 A1, (AOKI) discloses position and size adjustment for display devices
US Patent Application Publication US 20200273205 A1, (Yamashita et al.) discloses a calibration apparatus, a captured image acquires data of an image of a calibration chart captured by another imaging apparatus
US Patent Application Publication US 20200202611 A1, (Wang et al.) discloses generating a virtual image by using at least one of images obtained by cameras disposed in different positions and attitudes in a 3D space
US Patent Application Publication US 20200169706 A1, (Mori) discloses a projection control apparatus for controlling projection performed using projectors
US Patent Application Publication US 20190327457 A1, (Urano et al.) discloses a projection control apparatus that controls a plurality of projectors
US Patent Application Publication US 20190124298 A1, (Sugaya) discloses an image providing system which includes selecting a camera from among a plurality of cameras according to a result obtained by capturing a FOV
Conclusion
/A.V.V/Examiner, Art Unit 2612
/Said Broome/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2612
Date: 08/06/2026