DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Claims 16-19
Applicant’s amendments/arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. The corresponding rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim 1
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning (Remark: Page 11), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant alleges a claimed species or subgenus while the prior art is a genus (Remark: Page 12).
The Examiner disagrees. The terms/labels of “first filter” and “second filter” are used in the claim/invention to group several resonators together, each is a filter itself, and the whole device is a filter device. Similarly, the Hahn reference provides several resonators that can be grouped together to be called a “first filter” and a “second filter” even if Hahn does not explicitly used the terms/labels. Each is a filter itself, and the whole device is a filter device in the same manner as claimed. Hahn provides the invention as claimed, there is no claimed species or subgenus while the prior art is genus as alleged by the Applicant.
Also, the numbers of resonators is a result effective variable of the device that can be optimized to obtain desired characteristic (time delay) as taught by Hahn (Col. 4 lines 16-20), and additionally discussed (Col. 4 lines 39-59). Additionally, the grouping of first filter and second filter can vary as well (see Applicant’s Figs. 17A,B).
Applicant alleges benefits and advantages are not taught or suggested by Hahn or any other evidence of record (Remark: Page 12).
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., add pole, phase difference, etc.; [0040], Remark: Page 12) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant alleges criticality on some range or other variable within the claim (Remark: Page 12).
There is no specific range or other variable being claimed thus the argument is not commensurate with what is being claimed.
Applicant alleges main or jump couplings of claimed are not disclosed (Remark: Page 13).
However, Hahn explicitly discloses the resonators may be coupled in any manner (Col. 4 lines 19-20), and further discloses including resistive, capacitive, inductive, electromagnetic, or other manner (Col. 4 lines 21-32). The corresponding couplings of the resonators would map to the claimed couplings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn US 10,187,030 in view of Motoyama US 2022/0077835.
1. Hahn discloses a filter device (Fig. 1, etc.; title) comprising:
a dielectric substrate (Fig. 2A) including a first (top) main surface and a second (bottom) main surface;
an input terminal and an output terminal (Fig. 1, input and output);
a first filter (e.g., left two item 110) and a second filter (e.g., right two item 110) each including a plurality of LC resonators (110) in the dielectric substrate; wherein
a signal transmitted from the input terminal to the first filter to the second filter to the output terminal in this order; and
the plurality of LC resonators is coupled to each other thru magnetic coupling , capacitive (electric field) coupling, or combination thereof (Col. 8 lines 10-18).
Hahn does not explicitly disclose an input terminal and an output terminal on the second main surface; the first filter including a first, second, third, and fourth resonators; the second filter including a fifth, sixth, seventh, and eight resonators; wherein in the first filter, a signal transmitted from the input terminal is transmitted to the second filter through the first resonator, the second resonator, the third resonator, and the fourth resonator in this order; in the second filter, the signal transmitted from the first filter is transmitted to the output terminal through the fifth resonator, the sixth resonator, the seventh resonator, and the eighth resonator in this order; jump coupling is present between the third resonator and the sixth resonator; and one main coupling of coupling between the fourth resonator and the fifth resonator and coupling between the third resonator and the sixth resonator is magnetic coupling, and an other main coupling is electric field coupling.
Hahn additionally discloses the plurality of LC resonators (110) contribute (affect) a time delay (Col. 4 lines 16-20, 39-59); thus, the number of LC resonators is a result effective variable of the filter and any number (e.g., eight) of LC resonators may be used.
Motoyama exemplarily discloses a filter device (Fig. 1, etc.) comprising: a dielectric substrate (Figs. 12, 13, 16, etc.) having a first (top) and second (bottom) main surfaces; input and output terminals (P1, P2) on the second main surface (see Fig. 13); and LC resonators (LC1, etc.).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the number of LC resonators (110) to have at least eight LC resonators. The modification would have been obvious because the number of LC resonators is a result effective variable of the filter that can be optimized to obtain desired characteristic (time delay) as taught by Hahn (Col. 4 lines 16-20, 39-59; MPEP 2144.05(II)).
Therefore, the combination would have the first filter including a first, second, third, and fourth resonators; the second filter including a fifth, sixth, seventh, and eight resonators; wherein in the first filter, a signal transmitted from the input terminal is transmitted to the second filter through the first resonator, the second resonator, the third resonator, and the fourth resonator in this order; in the second filter, the signal transmitted from the first filter is transmitted to the output terminal through the fifth resonator, the sixth resonator, the seventh resonator, and the eighth resonator in this order (simply the connection of the eight LC resonators 110); jump coupling is present between the third resonator and the sixth resonator (Col. 8 lines 10-18); and one main coupling of coupling between the fourth resonator and the fifth resonator and coupling between the third resonator and the sixth resonator is magnetic coupling, and an other main coupling is electric field coupling (Col. 8 lines 10-18; any of the coupling can be used, so that one main is magnetic and the other main is capacitive (electric field) coupling applicable thereof.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the input and output terminals on the second main surface. The modification would have been obvious because Hahn is silent on the location of the terminals, any art recognized placement of the terminals such as Motoyama (Figs. 12, 13) would have been applicable thereof.
2. The filter device according to claim 1, wherein jump coupling is present between the first resonator and the fourth resonator in the first filter and between the fifth resonator and the eighth resonator in the second filter (Hahn: Col. 8 lines 10-18).
3. The filter device according to claim 2, wherein main coupling of jump coupling between the first resonator and the fourth resonator and jump coupling between the fifth resonator and the eighth resonator is magnetic coupling (Hahn: Col. 8 lines 10-18).
4. The filter device according to claim 2, wherein main coupling of jump coupling between the first resonator and the fourth resonator and jump coupling between the fifth resonator and the eighth resonator is electric field coupling (Hahn: Col. 8 lines 10-18).
5. The combination discloses the filter device according to claim 1 as discussed above, but does not disclose a first ground electrode facing the first main surface; and a second ground electrode disposed facing the second main surface between the first ground electrode and the second main surface; wherein each of the resonators is between the first ground electrode and the second ground electrode.
Motoyama additionally discloses the filter device (Fig. 1, etc.) including a first ground electrode (141) facing the first (top) main surface; and a second ground electrode (111B) disposed facing the second (bottom) main surface between the first ground electrode and the second main surface; wherein each of the resonators (LC1; L1, C1) is between the first ground electrode and the second ground electrode.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the filter device with ground electrodes and LC resonators in the dielectric substrate as in Motoyama. The modification would have been obvious because implementation of filter device in dielectric substrate is already taught by Hahn (Col. 5 lines 24-31) and that any an art-recognized implementation of filter device such as LC resonators between ground electrodes in a dielectric substrate such as Motoyama (Figs. 12, 13, 16) would be useable thereof.
6. The filter device according to claim 5, wherein each of the resonators includes: a via (Motoyama: Fig. 13 item V1C, V2C, etc.) including a first end connected to the first ground electrode (141); and a plate electrode (121B, 122, etc.) connected to a second end of the via and facing the second ground electrode (111B).
8. The combination discloses the filter device according to claim 6 as discussed above, but does not disclose, wherein in each of the first filter and the second filter, a distance between vias of two resonators with a main coupling that is magnetic coupling is shorter than a distance between vias of two resonators with a main coupling that is electric field coupling. However, it is well-known in the art (and electromagnetism) that shorter/closer distance produces stronger magnetic coupling (i.e., higher mutual inductance); thus, at the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a distance between vias of two resonators with a main coupling that is magnetic coupling is shorter than a distance between vias of two resonators with a main coupling that is electric field coupling, so that the magnetic coupling is stronger (hence being “main coupling”).
11. The combination discloses the filter device according to claim 6 as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein in each of the first filter and the second filter, a distance between plate electrodes of two resonators with a main coupling that is electric field coupling is shorter than a distance between plate electrodes of two resonators with a main coupling that is magnetic coupling. However, it is well-known in the art (and electromagnetism) that shorter/closer distance produces stronger capacitive coupling (i.e., higher electric field); thus, at the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a distance between plate electrodes of two resonators with a main coupling that is electric field coupling is shorter than a distance between plate electrodes of two resonators with a main coupling that is magnetic coupling, so that the capacitive coupling is stronger (hence being “main coupling”).
15. The filter device according to claim 5, wherein each of the resonators includes: a first plate electrode (Motoyama: Fig. 16 item 161, 162, etc.) facing the first ground electrode (141); a second plate electrode (121, 122, etc.) facing the second ground electrode (111); and a via (V1C, V2C, etc.) including a first end connected to the first plate electrode and a second end connected to the second plate electrode.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Hahn US 10,187,030 in view of Motoyama US 2022/0077835 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ogata US 2023/0044655.
7. The resultant combination discloses the filter device according to claim 6 as discussed above, but does not disclose an inductor electrode connecting vias of two resonators with a main coupling that is magnetic coupling in each of the first filter and the second filter.
Ogata exemplarily discloses a filter device (Fig. 2, etc.) having a dielectric substrate (Figs. 3, 4) including resonators (RC1, RC2, etc.) including vias (V1A, V2A, etc.), and resonators are inductively (magnetic) coupled to each other ([0072], [0075]); an inductor electrode (PC) connecting vias of two resonators, wherein the inductor electrode can adjust the magnetic coupling ([0076]).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added an inductor electrode connecting vias of two resonators with a main coupling that is magnetic coupling in each of the first filter and the second filter. The modification would have been obvious because the inductor electrode can adjust/control the magnetic coupling and reduce loss as taught by Ogata ([0076]).
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Hahn US 10,187,030 in view of Motoyama US 2022/0077835 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ogawa US 2022/0231655.
9. The resultant combination discloses the filter device according to claim 6 as discussed above, but does not disclose a capacitor electrode facing plate electrodes of two resonators with a main coupling that is electric field coupling in each of the first filter and the second filter.
Ogawa exemplarily discloses a filter device (Fig. 1, etc.) having a dielectric substrate (Figs. 2-4) including resonators (LC1, LC2, etc.) including capacitor electrode (102, 202, etc.), and resonators are capacitively (electric field) coupled to each other ([0034]); a capacitor electrode (121) facing plate electrodes (102, 202) of two resonators, thus forming part of capacitive coupling (C12) between the resonators ([0034], [0052]).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a capacitor electrode facing plate electrodes of two resonators with a main coupling that is electric field coupling in each of the first filter and the second filter. The modification would have been obvious because the capacitor electrode can provide further capacitively (electric field) coupling as taught by Ogawa ([0034], [0052]).
10. The resultant combination discloses the filter device according to claim 9 as discussed above, including the dielectric substrate includes a plurality of dielectric layers laminated on each other (Hahn: Fig. 2A; Motoyama: Fig. 1; Ogawa: Fig. 2); but does not explicitly disclose a dielectric constant of one of the dielectric layers between the capacitor electrode and the plate electrode in the dielectric substrate is greater than a dielectric constant of others of the dielectric layers. However, Hahn discloses dielectric constant for dielectric layer for capacitor can be higher-k (Hahn: item 5; Col. 6 lines 14-19), thus higher than other dielectric layers (e.g., standard layer). At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a higher-k dielectric layer for the capacitor (i.e., between capacitor electrode and plate electrode). The modification would have been obvious for fabrication reasons as taught by (Col. 6 lines 14-19, 35-38), such as high capacitance, smaller size, etc. can be realized (based on parallel plate formula C=εrε0A/d, C = capacitance; εr = relative permittivity or dielectric constant; ε0 =8.854×10−12 F/m; A = plate area, d = separation distance).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the resultant combination of Hahn US 10,187,030 in view of Motoyama US 2022/0077835 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ogata US 2023/0044655 and Ogawa US 2022/0231655.
12. The resultant combination discloses the filter device according to claim 6 as discussed above, but does not disclose a first inductor electrode connecting vias of the first resonator and the second resonator; a second inductor electrode connecting vias of the third resonator and the fourth resonator; a third inductor electrode connecting vias of the fifth resonator and the sixth resonator; a fourth inductor electrode connecting vias of the seventh resonator and the eighth resonator; a first capacitor electrode facing a plate electrode of the second resonator and a plate electrode of the third resonator; a second capacitor electrode facing a plate electrode of the fourth resonator and a plate electrode of the fifth resonator; and a third capacitor electrode facing a plate electrode of the sixth resonator and a plate electrode of the seventh resonator.
Ogata exemplarily discloses a filter device (Fig. 2, etc.) having a dielectric substrate (Figs. 3, 4) including resonators (RC1, RC2, etc.) including vias (V1A, V2A, etc.), and resonators are inductively (magnetic) coupled to each other ([0072], [0075]); an inductor electrode (PC) connecting vias of two resonators, wherein the inductor electrode can adjust the magnetic coupling ([0076]).
Ogawa exemplarily discloses a filter device (Fig. 1, etc.) having a dielectric substrate (Figs. 2-4) including resonators (LC1, LC2, etc.) including capacitor electrode (102, 202, etc.), and resonators are capacitively (electric field) coupled to each other ([0034]); a capacitor electrode (121) facing plate electrodes (102, 202) of two resonators, thus forming part of capacitive coupling (C12) between the resonators ([0034], [0052]).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added an inductor electrode connecting vias of two resonators. The modification would have been obvious because the inductor electrode can adjust/control the magnetic coupling and reduce loss as taught by Ogata ([0076]).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a capacitor electrode facing plate electrodes of two resonators. The modification would have been obvious because the capacitor electrode can provide further capacitively (electric field) coupling as taught by Ogawa ([0034], [0052]).
Therefore, the combination would have inductor electrodes and capacitor electrodes as required by the claim 12.
13. The combination discloses the filter device according to claim 12 as discussed above, including the capacitor electrodes (Ogawa: Fig. 4 item 121, 122, etc.) are positioned “above” the plate electrodes (102, 202, etc.); but does not disclose the first capacitor electrode, the second capacitor electrode, and the third capacitor electrode are each between a plate electrode of a corresponding resonator and the second ground electrode. However, the capacitor electrodes may be rearranged to position “below” the plate electrodes and still provide the same capacitances between the capacitor electrode and the plate electrodes. At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to have positioned the capacitor electrodes “below” the plate electrodes. The modification would have been obvious as a rearrangement of parts that provide the similar circuitry (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
14. The filter device according to claim 12, wherein the first capacitor electrode, the second capacitor electrode, and the third capacitor electrode are each between a plate electrode of a corresponding resonator and the first ground electrode (Ogawa: Fig. 4 shows the capacitor electrodes (121, 122, etc.) above the plate electrodes (102, 202, etc.), and Motoyama: Fig. 13 has the first ground (141) near the top and above the plate electrodes (121B, 122, etc.), thus the combination would have capacitor electrodes between the plate electrodes and the first ground electrode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 18, 19 are allowed.
Conclusion
This action is made non-final due to the withdrawal of the previously object allowed claim 10 as Hahn discloses high-k dielectric layer for capacitor.
/A.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843