DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-14, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OKUDA (US 2021/0104364).
Regarding claim 1, OKUDA discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-16) comprising: a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 10) including an inner layer portion (Fig. 2, 10) including a plurality of inner dielectric layers (Fig. 2, 20) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2, 21) alternately laminated in a lamination direction (Fig. 2, T), outer layer portions (Fig. 2, 20 above and below 21s) sandwiching the inner layer portion in the lamination direction (Fig. 2), two main surfaces (Fig. 2, 11/12) opposed to each other in the lamination direction (Fig. 2), two lateral surfaces (Fig. 1, 13/14) opposed to each other in a width direction (Fig. 1, W) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction (Fig. 1), and two end surfaces (Fig. 1, 15/16) opposed to each other in a length direction (Fig. 1, L) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction (Fig. 1); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 1, 51/52) each on a corresponding one of the two end surfaces and each connected to the plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); wherein each of the plurality of internal electrode layers includes an end portion in the width direction including a region A (Fig. 14, Wa) with a low continuity of each of the plurality of internal electrode layers at the end portion (Table 2); and the region A includes a line coverage lower than that in a middle portion (Fig. 16, Wc) in the width direction of each of the plurality of internal electrode layers (Table 2; 48% for Wa and 92% for Wc).
Regarding claim 2, OKUDA further discloses that the region A has a length in the width direction of about 5 µm or more and about 20 µm or less ([0107]).
Regarding claim 3, OKUDA further discloses that the line coverage of the region A is about 50% or less (Table 2; 48%).
Regarding claim 4, OKUDA further discloses that the multilayer ceramic capacitor has a dimension in the length direction of about 0.2 mm or more and about 10 mm or less ([0117]), a dimension in the width direction of about 0.1 mm or more and about 10 mm or less ([0117]), and a dimension in the lamination direction of about 0.1 mm or more and about 10 mm or less ([0117]).
Regarding claim 5, OKUDA further discloses that the multilayer body has a rectangular or substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, OKUDA further discloses that each of the plurality of inner dielectric layers includes BaTiO3 ([0162]), CaTiO3, SrTiO3, or CaZrO3 as a main component.
Regarding claim 7, OKUDA further discloses that each of the plurality of inner dielectric layers includes a Mn compound ([0046]), a Fe compound, a Cr compound, a Co compound, or a Ni compound as a subcomponent.
Regarding claim 8, OKUDA further discloses that a thickness of each of the plurality of inner dielectric layers is about 0.2 µm or more and about 15 µm or less ([0045]).
Regarding claim 9, OKUDA further discloses that each of the plurality of internal electrode layers mainly includes Ni ([0051]).
Regarding claim 10, OKUDA further discloses that each of the plurality of internal electrode layers includes Cu ([0051]), Ag, Pd, Sn or Au, or an alloy including at least one of Cu, Ag, Pd, Sn or Au.
Regarding claim 12, OKUDA further discloses that a thickness of each of the plurality of internal electrode layers is about 0.30 µm or more and about 0.35 µm or less ([0053]).
Regarding claim 13, OKUDA further discloses that each of the pair of external electrodes includes a base electrode layer and a plated layer on the base electrode layer ([0157-0158]).
Regarding claim 14, OKUDA further discloses that the base electrode layer includes metal and glass ([0167]).
Regarding claim 16, OKUDA further discloses that the metal includes Cu as a main component ([0167]).
Regarding claim 19, OKUDA further discloses that the plated layer includes a Ni plated layer and a Sn plate layer on the Ni plated layer ([0167]).
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NISHIKORI (US 2022/0165496).
Regarding claim 11, NISHIKORI discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-12) comprising: a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 10) including an inner layer portion (Fig. 2, 11) including a plurality of inner dielectric layers (Fig. 2, 21/22) and a plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2, 31/32) alternately laminated in a lamination direction (Fig. 2, Z), outer layer portions (Fig. 2, 12/13) sandwiching the inner layer portion in the lamination direction (Fig. 2), two main surfaces (Fig. 2, TS1/TS2) opposed to each other in the lamination direction (Fig. 2), two lateral surfaces (Fig. 1, WS1/WS2) opposed to each other in a width direction (Fig. 1, Y) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction (Fig. 1), and two end surfaces (Fig. 1, LS1/LS2) opposed to each other in a length direction (Fig. 1, X) orthogonal or substantially orthogonal to the lamination direction and the width direction (Fig. 1); and a pair of external electrodes (Fig. 1, 40) each on a corresponding one of the two end surfaces and each connected to the plurality of internal electrode layers (Fig. 2); wherein each of the plurality of internal electrode layers includes an end portion in the width direction including a region A (Fig. 4, 31A) with a low continuity of each of the plurality of internal electrode layers at the end portion ([0049])); and the region A includes a line coverage lower than that in a middle portion (Fig. 4, 31B) in the width direction of each of the plurality of internal electrode layers ([0049] A1<B1).
Regarding claim 11, NISHIKORI further discloses that a thickness of each of the plurality of internal electrode layers is about 0.2 µm or more and about 2.0 µm or less ([0050]).
Regarding claim 13, NISHIKORI further discloses that each of the pair of external electrodes includes a base electrode layer and a plated layer on the base electrode layer (Fig. 2, 50A/70A).
Regarding claim 14, NISHIKORI further discloses that the base electrode layer includes metal and glass ([0087]).
Regarding claim 15, NISHIKORI further discloses that the glass includes at least one of B ([0087]), Si, Ba, Mg, Al, or Li.
Regarding claim 17, NISHIKORI further discloses that the metal includes at least one of Ni ([0087]), Ag, Pd or Au, and an alloy including at least one of Ni, Ag, Pd or Au.
Regarding claim 18, NISHIKORI further discloses that a thickness of each of the pair of external electrodes is about 2 µm or more and about 220 µm or less ([0092 and 0100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHIKORI (US 2022/0165496) in view of Kisumi et al (US 2014/0347783).
Regarding claim 20, NISHIKORI fails to teach the claim limitations.
Kisumi teaches that the plated layer includes a Cu plated layer (Fig. 1, 6a [0072]), a Ni plated layer (Fig. 1, 7a [0072]) on the Cu plated layer, and a Sn plated layer (Fig. 1, 8a [0072]) on the Ni plated layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Kisumi to the invention of NISHIKORI, in order to create a low-cost electrode with high conductivity and adhesion properties (Kisumi [0071-0072]).
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
CHO et al (US 2011/0157766) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-3.
KIM et al (US 2013/0002388) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-5.
SUGITA (US 2023/0115608) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-10.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847