DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on September 15, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) & 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosures of the prior-filed applications, Application Nos. 18/356728 & 63/394666, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, the disclosures do not support an opaque pricing module, executed by the processor, wherein the opaque pricing module generates a bundled vacation package price by concealing at least one individual pricing component, wherein the bundled vacation package price dynamically adjusts based on a revenue management rule, a user engagement metric, and a demand-based pricing variable. The priority date for claims 1-11 is February 6, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "the opaque pricing module generates a bundled vacation package price by concealing at least one individual pricing component, wherein the bundled vacation package price dynamically adjusts based on a revenue management rule, a user engagement metric, and a demand-based pricing variable." The terms revenue management rule, a user engagement metric, and a demand-based pricing variable are recited individually as being used in combination, however these terms contain significant overlap. For example, a demand-based pricing variable can itself also be characterized a revenue management rule. Thus, it is unclear if using only one or two elements that these three read on (e.g., performing user demographic-based price discrimination as an inventory/yield management sales pricing rule) would infringe the claimed invention. The dependent claims inherit the rejections of their respective base claims and, as such, are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 9-10 recite the limitation "the AI-based personalization engine." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter (abstract idea without significantly more). Claims are eligible for patent protection under § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014). Claims 1-11, each considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 1:
The claims recite an abstract idea reflected in the representative functions of the independent claims—including: retrieves at least one vacation package generated based on at least one user-selected vacation topic and displays the at least one vacation package; generates a bundled vacation package price by concealing at least one individual pricing component, wherein the bundled vacation package price dynamically adjusts based on a revenue management rule, a user engagement metric, and a demand-based pricing variable; and a multifactorial decision support algorithm wherein the multifactorial decision support algorithm analyzes at least one user interaction to modify vacation package recommendations in real time.
These limitations taken together qualify as a certain method of organizing human activities because they recite collecting, analyzing, and outputting information for planning the travel behaviors of persons and structuring the related transactional/commercial relationships with travel service providers (i.e., in the terminology of the 2019 Revised Guidance, commercial interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)).
It shares similarities with other abstract ideas held to be non-statutory by the courts (see Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015)—tailoring sales information presented to a user based on, e.g., user data or time data, similar because at another level of abstraction the claims could be characterized as tailoring vacation package sales information presented to a user based on, e.g., user data or price data; Customedia Technologies, LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359 (Fed. Cir. 2020)—delivery of customized/targeted advertisements to users, similar because at another level of abstraction the claims could be characterized as delivery of customized/targeted travel offers to users; Electric Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016)—process of gathering and analyzing information of a specified content, then displaying the results, similar because at another level of abstraction the claims could be characterized as process of gathering and analyzing information of vacation packages, then displaying the results).
These cases describe significantly similar aspects of the claimed invention, albeit at another level of abstraction. See Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1240-41 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("An abstract idea can generally be described at different levels of abstraction. As the Board has done, the claimed abstract idea could be described as generating menus on a computer, or generating a second menu from a first menu and sending the second menu to another location. It could be described in other ways, including, as indicated in the specification, taking orders from restaurant customers on a computer.").
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no meaningful limitations that transform the exception into a patent eligible application. The elements merely serve to provide a general link to a technological environment (e.g., computers and the Internet) in which to carry out the judicial exception (processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, user interface, AI, and engines and modules (including a "popup packaging widget module") that are communicatively coupled and merely described as being programmed to perform the abstract functions of generating and presenting vacation package recommendations—all recited at a high level of generality). Although they have and execute instructions to perform the abstract idea itself (e.g., modules, program code, engines, etc. to automate the abstract idea), this also does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it merely amounts to instructions to "apply it."
Aside from such instructions to implement the abstract idea, they are solely used for generic computer operations (e.g., receiving, storing, retrieving, transmitting data), employing the computer as a tool. See FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("[T]he use of generic computer elements like a microprocessor or user interface do not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter.") (citing DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245,1256 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) (emphasis added).
The claims only manipulate abstract data elements into another form. They do not set forth improvements to another technological field or the functioning of the computer itself and instead use computer elements as tools to improve the functioning of the abstract idea identified above. Looking at the additional limitations and abstract idea as an ordered combination and as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Rather than any meaningful limits, their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation of the abstract idea identified in Prong One. None of the additional elements recited "offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking 'the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,' that is, implementation via computers." Alice Corp., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)).
At the levels of abstraction described above, the claims do not readily lend themselves to a finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. Therefore, the analysis proceeds to step 2B. See BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The Enfish claims, understood in light of their specific limitations, were unambiguously directed to an improvement in computer capabilities. Here, in contrast, the claims and their specific limitations do not readily lend themselves to a step-one finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. We therefore defer our consideration of the specific claim limitations’ narrowing effect for step two.") (citations omitted).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as presented in Step 2A Prong 2 (i.e., they amount to nothing more than a general link to a particular technological environment and instructions to apply it there). Moreover, the additional elements recited are known and conventional computing elements (processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium, user interface, AI, and engines and modules (including a "popup packaging widget module") that are communicatively coupled and merely described as being programmed to perform the abstract functions of generating and presenting vacation package recommendations—see published Specification ¶¶ 0052, 55, 67, 86-87 describing these at a high level of generality and in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements; see also ¶¶ 0071-81 describing the software modules and engines in purely functional terms).
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "an invocation of already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance, for use in carrying out improved mathematical calculations, amounts to a recitation of what is 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional.'" SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (alteration in original) (citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S. 66, 73 (2012)). Apart from the instructions to implement the abstract idea, they only serve to perform well-understood functions (e.g., receiving, storing, retrieving, transmitting data—see Specification above as well as Alice Corp.; Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2015) covering the well-known nature of these basic computer functions).
"The use and arrangement of conventional and generic computer components recited in the claims—such as a database, user terminal, and server— do not transform the claim, as a whole, into 'significantly more' than a claim to the abstract idea itself. We have repeatedly held that such invocations of computers and networks that are not even arguably inventive are insufficient to pass the test of an inventive concept in the application of an abstract idea." Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1056 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (citations and quotation marks omitted). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Dependent Claims Step 2A:
The limitations of the dependent claims but for those addressed below merely set forth further refinements of the same abstract idea identified above without changing the analysis already presented (i.e., they merely narrow the same abstract idea identified above without adding any new additional elements beyond it). Additionally, for the same reasons as above, the limitations fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they use the same general technological environment and instructions to implement the abstract idea as the independent claims (i.e., generic computers and AI, along with modules and engines programmed to "apply it" there).
Claims 2-4 recite blockchain and a smart contract. However, as above, this merely generally links the abstract idea to a generic technology. These are used in their ordinary capacity as tools rather than improving any technological element.
Claims 6 and 8 recite an API, however this is another generic element. See cxLoyalty, Inc. v. Maritz Holdings Inc., 986 F.3d 1367, 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ("The claims apply the abstract idea on a computer by replacing the human intermediary with a GUI and API, but as the Board concluded, representative claim 1 'merely recites generic and conventional computer components (i.e., "processor," "GUI," and "API") and functionality for carrying out' the abstract idea.").
Claims 9-11 further limit the AI limitations to include clustering, deep learning, and collaborative filtering. But as with AI itself, these are recited at a high level of generality and are broadly applicable machine learning tools. Rather than being improved in any technological way themselves, the claims are merely using these tools to lend speed or efficiency to abstract commercial interactions in an ordinary fashion.
When viewed as a combination, the limitations of the dependent claims thus only continue to set forth a general link to a particular technological environment in which the abstract idea is executed, rather than improving any capabilities particular to the computer itself or any other technological element.
Dependent Claims Step 2B:
The dependent claims merely use the same general technological environment and instructions to implement the abstract idea. Although they add the elements identified in 2A above (blockchain, smart contract, API, clustering, deep learning, and collaborative filtering), these do not amount to significantly more for the same reasons they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, the Specification also indicates this is the routine use of known components for the same reasons presented with respect to the elements in the independent claims above (see ¶¶ 0012, 61-62, 95, 134 describing these at a high level of generality, without any appreciable technical specifics, and only serving to perform abstract commercial data analysis). Accordingly, they are not directed to significantly more than the exception itself, and are not eligible subject matter under § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greisen, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0229209 (Reference A of the attached PTO-892) in view of Mahajan, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2026/0038029 (Reference B of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 1, Greisen teaches a system for structuring vacation packages, booking vacation packages, or both, the system comprising:
a processor configured to execute machine-readable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium for vacation package structuring, booking, or both (¶¶ 0028, 91);
a vacation packaging engine, executed by the processor, wherein the vacation packaging engine is communicatively coupled to a group consisting of at least one preference profile module, at least one real-time package availability and pricing module, at least one booking engine, and a combination of thereof (¶¶ 0027-29; Fig. 1—126; see also ¶¶ 0079-83—connected modules);
a popup packaging widget module communicatively coupled to the vacation packaging engine, wherein the popup packaging widget module retrieves at least one vacation package generated by the vacation packaging engine based on at least one user-selected vacation topic and displays the at least one vacation package via at least one user interface communicatively coupled to the processor (¶¶ 0053, 57-58; see also Figs. 4C, 6B, 10A-10B showing popups);
an opaque pricing module, executed by the processor, wherein the opaque pricing module generates a bundled vacation package price by concealing at least one individual pricing component (¶¶ 0022, 65), wherein the bundled vacation package price dynamically adjusts based on a revenue management rule (¶¶ 0027, 56), a user engagement metric (¶¶ 0053, 62), and a demand-based pricing variable (¶¶ 0027, 53); and
a multifactorial decision support algorithm, executed by the processor, wherein the multifactorial decision support algorithm analyzes at least one user interaction to modify vacation package recommendations (¶¶ 0053, 78).
Greisen does not explicitly teach the algorithm is implemented with AI, which is taught by Mahajan (¶ 0018, 68-69). Greisen does not explicitly teach to modify vacation package recommendations in real time; which is taught by Mahajan (¶¶ 0084-86, 91). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate these elements for the same reason they are useful in Mahajan—namely, in order to more quickly and efficiently present recommendations. Moreover, this is merely a combination of old elements in the art of travel planning. In the combination, no element would serve a purpose other than it already did independently, and one skilled in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
As per claim 10, Greisen in view of Mahajan teaches claim 1 as above. Mahajan further teaches the AI-based personalization engine continuously refines at least one user preference model using deep learning-based predictive analytics (¶ 0082); which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 1 above.
As per claim 11, Greisen in view of Mahajan teaches claim 10 as above. Mahajan further teaches the AI-based personalization engine integrates collaborative filtering algorithms to identify vacation packages preferred by similar user segments (¶ 0082); which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 1 above.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greisen, et al. in view of Mahajan, et al. as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Mehrhoff, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0265387 (Reference C of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 2, Greisen in view of Mahajan teaches claim 1 as above. The references do not explicitly teach a blockchain-based transaction module, wherein the blockchain-based transaction module stores at least one booking confirmation and at least one pricing adjustment in a decentralized ledger, ensuring secure recordkeeping and transaction verification; which is taught by Mehrhoff (¶¶ 0019-21; see also ¶¶ 0023, 28—confirmation, ¶¶ 0028, 30—pricing adjustment). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate this element for the same reason it is useful in Mehrhoff—namely, to securely store the transaction details in a distributed way. Moreover, this is merely a combination of old elements in the art of travel planning. In the combination, no element would serve a purpose other than it already did independently, and one skilled in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
As per claim 3, Greisen in view of Mahajan and Mehrhoff teaches claim 2 as above. Mehrhoff further teaches the blockchain-based transaction module is configured to record all transaction details to a decentralized ledger using at least one consensus validation mechanism (¶¶ 0019-23), which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 2 above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greisen, et al. in view of Mahajan, et al. and Mehrhoff, et al.as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Kregar, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2026/0094180 (Reference D of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 4, Greisen in view of Mahajan and Mehrhoff teaches claim 3 as above. Mehrhoff further teaches the blockchain-based transaction module executes at least one smart contract automation process (¶ 0029), which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 2 above. The references not explicitly teach the process is to ensure automatic refund processing in case of pricing inconsistencies, which is taught by Kregar (¶¶ 0040, 52; see also ¶ 0033—smart contracts). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate this element for the same reason it is useful in Kregar—namely, to account for overpayments. The references as modified by Mehrhoff include transactions maintained on the blockchain, and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that incorporating this refund process would apply to the modified set of references in the same way that it is used in Kregar, while yielding the predictable result of a system that will refund excess payments for travel product smart contracts.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greisen, et al. in view of Mahajan, et al., Mehrhoff, et al., and Kregar, et al. as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Marcken, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0167886 (Reference E of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 5, Greisen in view of Mahajan, Mehrhoff, and Kregar teaches claim 4 as above. The references do not explicitly teach a real-time package availability and/or pricing module, wherein the real-time package availability and pricing module retrieves Availability, Rates, and Inventory (ARI) data and verifies the real-time pricing of at least one vacation package component prior to booking; which is taught by Marcken (¶¶ 0087-89, 104-05, 245; see also ¶ 0227 & Fig. 21—results can include lodging in addition to flights). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate this element for the same reason it is useful in Marcken—namely, to speed searching by utilizing caches while also maintaining up-to-date information in the event that data might be stale (see ¶ 0053). Moreover, this is merely a combination of old elements in the art of travel planning. In the combination, no element would serve a purpose other than it already did independently, and one skilled in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
As per claim 6, Greisen in view of Mahajan, Mehrhoff, Kregar, and Marcken teaches claim 5 as above. Greisen further teaches an Application Programming Interface (API) configured to facilitate external communication between the vacation packaging engine and at least one third-party service provider, ensuring real-time data synchronization (¶ 0054).
As per claim 7, Greisen in view of Mahajan, Mehrhoff, Kregar, and Marcken teaches claim 6 as above. Marcken further teaches a booking engine, wherein the booking engine is configured to finalize the at least one transaction of the vacation package based on real-time pricing verification and updates an acceptance module to confirm the successful booking (¶¶ 01014-05, 110; see also ¶ 0280—system maintains history pf past ticket purchases); which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 5 above.
As per claim 8, Greisen in view of Mahajan, Mehrhoff, Kregar, and Marcken teaches claim 6 as above. Greisen further teaches the popup packaging widget module retrieves at least one vacation topic from the vacation packaging engine via the API-based data exchange (¶¶ 0025, 54, 57).
As per claim 9, Greisen in view of Mahajan, Mehrhoff, Kregar, and Marcken teaches claim 8 as above. Greisen further teaches the popup packaging widget module dynamically updates vacation package recommendations (¶¶ 0053, 78). Mahajan further teaches the recommendations are made using the AI-based personalization engine trained on at least one behavioral clustering algorithm (¶¶ 0079, 84-86, 91); which would have been obvious to incorporate for the same reasons as the elements in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cheinet, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0210565 (Reference F of the attached PTO-892) relates to vacation packaging.
Vernitsky, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0103439 (Reference G of the attached PTO-892) relates to vacation packaging.
Sobalvarro, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2006/0287897 (Reference H of the attached PTO-892) relates to vacation packaging.
Widjaja, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0283389 (Reference I of the attached PTO-892) relates to vacation packaging.
Vinod, Artificial intelligence and emerging technologies in hospitality, Revenue Management in the Lodging Industry: Origins to the Last Frontier, 2022, pgs. 279-313 (Reference U of the attached PTO-892) relates to vacation packaging.
Jiang, Price discrimination with opaque products, Journal of Revenue and Pricing Management, Vol. 6, No. 2, 2007, pgs. 118-134 (Reference V of the attached PTO-892) relates to vacation packaging.
/DANIEL VETTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628