DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the filing of a Continuation (CON) of Application 17/651434 which is now United States Patent 12,251,156; hereinafter referred to as Patent (‘156). Claims 1-14, as originally filed, are pending and have been considered as follows.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 3, 9-12 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,225,156; hereinafter referred to as Patent (‘156). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of the instant application mirrors Claim 1 of Patent (‘156) with the exception of the following: The step of determining, by one or more processors, whether a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of a plurality of target phone numbers; responsive to determining that the phone number is one of the plurality of target phone numbers recited in Patent (‘156) is recited as responsive to determining that a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of the plurality of target phone numbers in Claim 1 of the instant application.
Claims 2 and 11 of the instant application mirrors Claim 3 of Patent (’156).
Claim 3 of the instant application mirrors Claim 9 of Patent (’156).
Claim 4 of the instant application mirrors Claim 10 of Patent (’156).
Claim 5 of the instant application mirrors Claim 11 of Patent (’156).
Claim 6 of the instant application mirrors Claim 12 of Patent (‘156) with the exception of the following: Claim 6 of the instant application is directed to a system whereas Claim 12 is directed to an apparatus. Additionally, the step of responsive to determining that a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of the plurality of target phone numbers in the instant application is recited as determine whether a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of a plurality of target phone numbers; responsive to determining that the phone number is one of the plurality of target phone numbers in Claim 12 of Patent (’156).
Claims 7 and 12 of the instant application mirrors Claim 9 of Patent (‘156).
Claims 8 and 13 of the instant application mirrors Claim 10 of Patent (‘156).
Claims 9 and 14 of the instant application mirrors Claim 11 of Patent (’156).
Claim 10 of the instant application mirrors Claim 17 of Patent (’156) with the exception of the following: The step of responsive to determining that a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of the plurality of target phone numbers in the instant application is recited as determine whether a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of a plurality of target phone numbers; responsive to determining that the phone number is one of the plurality of target phone numbers in Claim 17 of Patent (’156).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz et al (2015/0237189 A1) in view of Li et al (2014/0192139 A1), and further in view of Singh et al (11,817,091 B1) and Garcia (2006/0019751 A1).
As per Claim 1, Schultz teaches a method for providing targeted content to a user, the method comprising: responsive to determining that a phone number for a digital call to a user device is one of the plurality of target phone numbers (Figure 7 – Reference 700; Figure 17 – Reference 1305; Page 4, Paragraph [0045]; Page 7, Paragraphs [0091] and [0092]).
(Note: In paragraph [0030], Schultz describes a user device as any computation and communication device [e.g. radiotelephone, PCS terminal, personal digital assistant – PDA, smartphone, laptop computer, tablet computer, personal gaming system, wearable device, etc.]. In paragraph [0044], Schultz describes a voice call module that employs software to place calls via the Internet using voice over internet protocol – VoIP [i.e. digital call])
(Note: In paragraphs [0057] – [0059]; Schultz describes receiving a incoming call request and checking to see if the number dialed is associated with a visual interface. In paragraph [0045], Schultz describes the comparison of the dialed number to a data structure to see if there is a match, and if so the link associated with the dialed number is delivered to the calling party device)
Schultz also teaches identifying one or more content control rules associated with the phone number (Page 7, Paragraphs [0091] and [0092]); wherein one or more actions associated with one or more content control rules comprises providing the targeted content via the call companion interface available (Figure 17 – Reference 1705; Page 7, Paragraph [0092]).
(Note: Figure 7 is an illustration of a data structure [e.g. table] that links telephone numbers to a specific uniform resource locator [URL]; wherein when an indicate telephone number is dialed establishment of call is blocked and the content associated with the URL is provided to the user device as shown in Figure 10. In paragraphs [0091] and [0092], Schultz describes the detection of an automobile-related event [e.g. car accident/ out of gas, etc.] and a subscriber making a call for assistance)
(Note: In paragraphs [0091] and [0092], Schultz describes the use of on-board diagnostics providing information which is used to provide the type of assistance the subscriber requires [i.e. a car accident – emergency responders; a flat tire – roadside assistance] which is an example of identifying one or more actions to be carried out in accordance with the one or more content control rules)
Schultz does not teach allowing the digital call to be established and enabling initiation of a call companion interface on the user device in accordance with the one or more content control rules. However, Li teaches allowing the digital call to be established and enabling initiation of a call companion interface on the user device in accordance with the one or more content control rules (Figure 1 – Reference S10; Page 1, Paragraphs [0024] and [0025]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0024] and [0025], Li describes a user client [i.e. smartphone] opening up multiple windows for some combination of audio/video/instant messaging communications. This allows for a user device to be actively engaged in an audio call and have a separate window [i.e. call companion interface] available for additional communications)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Schultz with the method taught by Li to allow a user to actively engage in multiple channels of communication utilizing different modes of communication simultaneously.
The combination of Schultz and Li does not teach processing, by the one or more processors, one or more features of the digital call using a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a length of an idle instance. However, Singh teaches processing, by the one or more processors, one or more features of the digital call using a machine learning model to generate a prediction of a length of an idle instance (Column 7, Line 57 – Column 8, Line 32).
(Note: In Column 7, Lines 57-59; Singh indicates that a number of different timing parameters may be specified by application owners [i.e. a configurable idle threshold]. In Column 8, Lines 21-32; Singh describes a dialog-based application management service [DAMS] that analyzes patterns of end user behaviors collected over various intervals of time to determine or change timing parameters. Singh indicates that user behaviors may be analyzed by machine learning models to produce, assign or modify various timing parameters [e.g. maximum initial silence duration – MISD, maximum client input duration – MCID, maximum final silence duration – MFSD])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Schultz and Li with the method taught by Singh to conserve processing and storage resources in situations where a user does not access customized content and/or in situations where a user waits a relatively long time before accessing customized content [i.e. releasing concert tickets after a predetermined reservation time expires – e.g. 15 minutes].
The combination of Schultz, Li and Singh does not teach responsive to the prediction of the length of the idle instance satisfying a configurable idle threshold, providing, by the one or more processors, the targeted content for display via the call companion interface; identifying, by the one or more processors, an end of the idle instance experienced by the user of the user device during on the digital call; and responsive to identifying the end of the idle instance, stopping, by the one or more processors, to provide the targeted content for display via the call companion interface.
However, Garcia teaches responsive to the prediction of the length of the idle instance satisfying a configurable idle threshold, providing, by the one or more processors, the targeted content for display via the call companion interface (Page 1, Paragraphs [0009] and [0010]; Page 2, Paragraphs [0028] and [0029]); identifying, by the one or more processors, an end of the idle instance experienced by the user of the user device during on the digital call (Page 2, Paragraphs [0028] and [0029]); and responsive to identifying the end of the idle instance, stopping, by the one or more processors, to provide the targeted content for display via the call companion interface (Page 2, Paragraphs [0028] and [0029]).
(Note: In Column 7, Lines 57-59; Singh indicates that a number of different timing parameters may be specified by application owners [i.e. a configurable idle threshold: maximum initial silence duration – MISD]. In paragraphs [0009] and [0010], Garcia describes providing games of chance [i.e. blackjack] to user devices. In paragraph [0028], Garcia describes a user seeking technical assistance from a call center technician in a conference call; and indicates that if the tech is not available a queuing control process takes over)
(Note: In paragraph [0029], Garcia indicates that while a user is on hold [i.e. idle instance/MISD] the user terminal display/GUI may be sent video-based promotional information, technical information, or other information content. This would allow for a user who is currently on hold to be able to play blackjack while waiting for an operator to assist them)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Schultz, Li and Singh with the method taught by Garcia to provide a media rich environment at a user terminal capable of entertaining a waiting user in n effort to keep the user engaged and reducing the likelihood of call abandonment.
As per Claims 2 and 11, the combination of Schultz, Li, Singh and Garcia teaches wherein the one or more processors are executing on a call management computing entity remote (Garcia: Page 2, Paragraph [0029]). This is also taught by Schultz (Figure 5 – References 510 and 515; Figure 6; Page 2, Paragraphs [0031] and [0032]).
(Note: In paragraph [0029], Garcia describes the pushing of content from an in-queue media pool that is in a remote location. Figure 6 of Schultz is an illustration of the functional components of a user device. In paragraphs [0031] and [0032], Schultz describes a visual interaction [VI] server and a content provider server [i.e. call management computing entity remote] which may operate as separate servers of combined into a single server)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus taught by Schultz, Li and Singh with the method and apparatus taught by Garcia to provide a media rich environment at a user terminal capable of entertaining a waiting user in an effort to keep the user engaged and reducing the likelihood of call abandonment.
As per Claim 3, the combination of Schultz, Li, Singh and Garcia teaches wherein the targeted content comprises application-enabled content, the call companion interface comprises an application resident on the user device, and providing the targeted content for display via the call companion interface comprises: providing the application-enabled content; and causing the application to display the application-enabled content (Schultz: Figure 6 – Reference 610; Figure 10 – Reference 1025 and 1030; Page 2, Paragraph [0031]; Page 3, Paragraphs [0037] and [0040]; Page 5, Paragraph [0062] and [0065]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0037] and [0040], Schultz describes a virtual interface [VI] application residing on a user device that receives targeted content for display via the call companion interface described by Li in Claim 1) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Schultz, Li and Singh with the method taught by Garcia to provide a media rich environment at a user terminal capable of entertaining a waiting user in an effort to keep the user engaged and reducing the likelihood of call abandonment.
As per Claim 4, Schultz teaches wherein providing the targeted content for display via the call companion interface comprises: providing a hyperlink through a communication channel; and responsive to a selection of the hyperlink, causing the call companion interface to display the targeted content (Page 8, Paragraph [0095]; Page 11, Paragraph [0125]).
As per Claim 5, Schultz teaches responsive to determining that the phone number is not one of the plurality of target phone numbers, allowing the digital call to follow normal call operation (Figure 10 – Reference 1035; Page 5, Paragraph [0066]).
As per Claim 6, the combination of Schultz, Li, Singh and Garcia teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Schultz also teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor (Figure 26 – Reference 2620; Page 12, Paragraph [0133]) and at least one memory including program code (Figure 26 – Reference 2630; Page 12, Paragraphs [0133] and [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system taught by Schultz, Li and Singh with the method and system taught by Garcia to provide a media rich environment at a user terminal capable of entertaining a waiting user in an effort to keep the user engaged and reducing the likelihood of call abandonment.
As per Claims 7 and 12, the combination of Schultz, Li, Singh and Garcia teaches wherein the targeted content comprises application-enabled content, the call companion interface comprises an application resident on the user device, and providing the targeted content for display via the call companion interface comprises: providing the application-enabled content; and causing the application to display the application-enabled content (Schultz: Figure 6 – Reference 610; Figure 10 – Reference 1025 and 1030; Page 2, Paragraph [0031]; Page 3, Paragraphs [0037] and [0040]; Page 5, Paragraph [0062] and [0065]).
(Note: In paragraphs [0037] and [0040], Schultz describes a virtual interface [VI] application residing on a user device that receives targeted content for display via the call companion interface described by Li in Claim 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and non-transitory computer storage medium taught by Schultz, Li and Singh with the system taught by Garcia to provide a media rich environment at a user terminal capable of entertaining a waiting user in an effort to keep the user engaged and reducing the likelihood of call abandonment.
As per Claims 8 and 13, Schultz teaches wherein providing the targeted content for display via the call companion interface comprises: providing a hyperlink through a communication channel; and responsive to a selection of the hyperlink, causing the call companion interface to display the targeted content (Page 8, Paragraph [0095]; Page 11, Paragraph [0125]).
As per Claims 9 and 14, Schultz teaches responsive to determining that the phone number is not one of the plurality of target phone numbers, allowing the digital call to follow normal call operation (Figure 10 – Reference 1035; Page 5, Paragraph [0066]).
As per Claim 10, the combination of Schultz, Li, Singh and Garcia teaches a method as described in Claim 1. Schultz also teaches a non-transitory computer storage medium; and one or more computer processors (Figure 26 – References 2620 and 2630; Page 12, Paragraph [0133] and [0136]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and non-transitory computer storage medium taught by Schultz, Li and Singh with the method taught by Garcia to provide a media rich environment at a user terminal capable of entertaining a waiting user in an effort to keep the user engaged and reducing the likelihood of call abandonment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Biswas et al (11,451,666 B1), Waldner et al (6,141,413), Pattan et al (2017/0330557 A1), Liu et al (9,437,186 B1), Fell, JR et al (2010/0306392 A1), Honig et al (2007/0269031 A1), Sylvain (2008/0152116 A1), Surendran (2009/0245479 A1), Yanagisawa et al (7,613,448 B2), Grasso et al (2010/0134587 A1) and Szabo et al (2015/0282074 A1). Each of these describes systems and methods of assisting users seeking to obtain products and/or services from an enterprise.
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693