DETAIL ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sivasanthanam et al (US 20260212671 A1) in view of deCharms (US 20140368601 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sivasanthanam discloses a method for a video surveillance system [e.g. FIG. 1; a video surveillance system] to communicate with an end user [e.g. user interface] about an event [e.g. FIG. 1-2; event captured by camera’s video stream] in a language [e.g. English] associated with the user location [0020-0024 and 0027]; person sat and worked from 9 AM to 5 PM], the method comprising:
storing, in a data structure [e.g. text data] stored in a memory [e.g. FIG. 3-4; storage medium], a text message [e.g. text summary of the event] associated with an event type [e.g. person sat and worked from 9 AM to 5 PM], wherein the text message is stored [e.g. generating text summary] in a first language [e.g. English];
determining a camera [e.g. FIG. 1 and 4; cameras] is in a location [e.g. [0022-0024 and 0027]; cameras are monitoring the surrounding of a parking lot];
determining a video stream [e.g. video streams captured by video cameras] corresponding to the camera contains an instance of the event type [e.g. [0022-0024]];
generating an audio file [e.g. FIG. 1-3; [0024]; generate an alert audio stream based on the text alert] based on the stored text message; and
communicating the audio file to a speaker; associated with the camera, wherein the speaker emits the audio file [e.g. [0024]; generate an alert audio stream based on the text alert and to play the event tailored alert audio stream on the speaker].
It is noted that Sivasanthanam differs to the present invention in that Sivasanthanam fails to explicitly disclose the detail of the language of the audio file to play on the speaker.
However, deCharms teaches the well-known concept of a video surveillance system [e.g. FIG. 1 and 5A; security and video surveillance] determining a camera [e.g. FIG. 1-2; cameras] is in a location [e.g. recording a video using one or more cameras mounted to a user's body; user’s location] associated with a second language [e.g. [0246]; user’s language -preference or responder’s spoken language]; generating an audio file [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 19-21; [0246 and 0262]; performing translation from one language to another on speech] in the second language based on the stored text message [FIG. 1-2 and 5-7; text to speech conversion; an audible message 150 can be output by the speakers of the mobile computing device 102].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video surveillance system disclosed by Sivasanthanam to exploit the well-known translating the audio signal to a different language technique taught by deCharms as above, in order to provide security and assistance to users whenever they are in need and automatically paired with a responder who is able to best assist the user [See deCharms; [0004 and 0022]].
Regarding claim 2, Sivasanthanam and deCharms further disclose storing information about the event type and the text message in a bridge [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1; 16]; deCharms: FIG. 1-2; interface] associated with the camera and the speaker [e.g. camera and speaker], wherein the bridge executes instructions for: capturing the video stream corresponding to the camera [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1; capturing video signal]; deCharms: FIG. 1-2 and 5] determining the event comprises an instance of the event type camera [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1 and 3; [0022-0024]]; deCharms: FIG. 1-2]; generating the audio file in the second language based on the text message; and communicating the audio file to the speaker [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1 and 5; [0022-0024]]; generate an alert audio stream based on the text alert and to play the event tailored alert audio stream on the speaker; deCharms: FIG. 1-2].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video surveillance system disclosed by Sivasanthanam to exploit the well-known translating the audio signal to a different language technique taught by deCharms as above, in order to provide security and assistance to users whenever they are in need and automatically paired with a responder who is able to best assist the user [See deCharms; [0004 and 0022]].
Regarding claim 3, Sivasanthanam and deCharms further disclose communicating the audio file to the bridge, wherein the bridge executes instructions for playing the audio file [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1 and 5; [0022-0024]]; generate an alert audio stream based on the text alert and to play the event tailored alert audio stream on the speaker; deCharms: FIG. 1-2].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video surveillance system disclosed by Sivasanthanam to exploit the well-known translating the audio signal to a different language technique taught by deCharms as above, in order to provide security and assistance to users whenever they are in need and automatically paired with a responder who is able to best assist the user [See deCharms; [0004 and 0022]].
Regarding claim 4, Sivasanthanam and deCharms further disclose communicating the text and a set of instructions for converting the stored text message to speech in the second language [e.g. deCharms: FIG. 1-2 and 19-21; [0246 and 0262]; performing translation from one language to another on speech]; generating the audio file by the bridge; and communicating the audio file from the bridge to the speaker [FIG. deCharms: 1-2 and 5-7; text to speech conversion; an audible message 150 can be output by the speakers of the mobile computing device 102].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video surveillance system disclosed by Sivasanthanam to exploit the well-known translating the audio signal to a different language technique taught by deCharms as above, in order to provide security and assistance to users whenever they are in need and automatically paired with a responder who is able to best assist the user [See deCharms; [0004 and 0022]].
Regarding claim 5, Sivasanthanam and deCharms further disclose executing a set of instructions on the server to detect motion within a field of view of the camera; and determining the motion corresponds to the event type [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1 and 5; [0022-0024 and 0027]]; recognition of a motion event; deCharms: FIG. 1-2; [0061-0064 and 0071]; detecting motion, motion sensors].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video surveillance system disclosed by Sivasanthanam to exploit the well-known translating the audio signal to a different language technique taught by deCharms as above, in order to provide security and assistance to users whenever they are in need and automatically paired with a responder who is able to best assist the user [See deCharms; [0004 and 0022]].
Regarding claim 6, Sivasanthanam and deCharms further disclose the second language comprises a local language [e.g. deCharms: FIG. 1-2 and 19-21; [0246 and 0262]; user’s language -preference or responder’s spoken language; performing translation from one language to another on speech].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the video surveillance system disclosed by Sivasanthanam to exploit the well-known translating the audio signal to a different language technique taught by deCharms as above, in order to provide security and assistance to users whenever they are in need and automatically paired with a responder who is able to best assist the user [See deCharms; [0004 and 0022]].
Regarding claim 7-8 and 12, this is an apparatus that includes same limitation as in claim 2 above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Sivasanthanam and deCharms disclose the system for communicating with a person in the vicinity of a camera [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1-2; deCharms: FIG. 1-2 and 5; recording a video using one or more cameras mounted to a user's body], the system comprising: a server [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1-2; [0018]; cloud-based servers; deCharms: FIG. 1-2; server 210] communicatively coupled to a plurality of cameras including the camera [e.g. cameras], the server comprising: a memory storing a database [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1-2 and 4; deCharms: FIG. 1-2; storage; [0017]; database]
Regarding claim 9-11 and 13, this is a system that includes same limitation as in claim 7 with 3-5 and 13 together above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 14-20, this is a system that includes same limitation as in claim 7-13 together above, the rejection of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Sivasanthanam and deCharms disclose a plurality of sets of text-to-speech instructions [e.g. Sivasanthanam: FIG. 1-2; generating audio alerts using text-to-speech technology; deCharms: FIG. 1-2and 5-7; text to speech conversion; an audible message 150 can be output by the speakers of the mobile computing device 102], each set of text-to-speech instructions being executable to convert a text message of the plurality of text messages into a language of a plurality of languages [e.g. FIG. 1-2 and 19-21; [0246 and 0262]; performing translation from one language to another on speech; user’s language -preference or responder’s spoken languages].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Welch et al (US 20250008290 A1).
AREVALO (US 20230004830 A1).
/ZHUBING REN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658