DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 12, 14, 16, 19, 21, 23, 25, 27-29, 33, 34 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hurlbut (US Patent Pub. 2025/0255859) in view of Talwar et al. (US Patent Pub. 2011/0086070).
Hurlbut discloses compositions for treating or lessening the severity of CFTR-mediated disease or disorders (ABSTRACT). Hurlbut discloses the composition comprising one or more compounds may be capsules or tablets and comprises lactose, cornstarch; hydroxypropyl cellulose at a concentration of 2-10% w/w; lubricating agents such as magnesium stearate and sodium stearyl fumarate at a concentration of 0.25-2% w/w; and diluents including lactose ([0025]). Hurlbut discloses the composition comprises vanzacaftor, tezacaftor, deutivacaftor and combinations ([0038]). Hurlbut discloses the composition comprises polymers ([0031]). Hurlbut discloses the composition is formulated so that a dosage of between 0.01-100 mg/kg ([0028]). Hurlbut discloses the composition comprises polymers, such as hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose ([0043]). Hurlbut discloses the composition comprises sodium lauryl sulfate ([0033])
Hurlbut differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose the formulation of the instant claims.
Talwar et al. disclose orally disintegrating pharmaceutical composition (Abstract). Talwar et al. disclose compressing the granules into tablets ([0023]). Talwar et al. disclose formulations comprising croscarmellose sodium at a concentration of 2-10% w/w; lactose at a concentration of 5-80% w/w; mannitol at a concentration of 5-80% w/w; colloidal silicon dioxide at a concentration of 0.25-2.5% w/w; and magnesium stearate; wherein the dried granules were sized to form uniform granules (0060] and [0061]). Talwar et al. disclose films or strip with a thickness of 1mm; wherein the particular size and may be rectangular, square or round ([0040])
It is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Also, established precedent holds that it is generally obvious to add known ingredients to known compositions with the expectation of obtaining their known function. MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have used formulation known for pharmaceutical formulations.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use a salt or amorphous form of the compounds with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612