DETAILED ACTION
Claims 7, 8, 9 and 15 recites the limitation “the CDN server". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2 and 4 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vinukonda (Vinu), publication number: US 2018/0205742 in view of Gupta, publication number: 2018/0332065.
As per claims 1, 10 and 16, Vinu teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processing device of a content delivery network, a first request for desired content from a client device, wherein the first request comprises one or more resource locators for accessing the desired content and a trust data, in response to a second request for the desired content from the client device (second content request including URL and a token, [0107]);
determining a client device trust status based on the trust data (token validation, [0109]); and
responsive to the client device trust status indicating that the client device is authorized to receive the desired content, providing playback of the desired content to the client device (request to view or listen to item, [0098]).
Vinu does not teach a partial trust metric generated, by a content sharing platform.
In an analogous art, Gupta teaches a partial trust metric generated, by a content sharing platform (generating a trust score for a new device, [0056][0058])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vinu’s access system by including a device score as described in Gupta’s streaming system for the advantage of preventing unwanted content access.
As per claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the partial trust metric is generated using heuristic rules (Gupta: weighted average [0056], Vinu: user validation, [0101]).
As per claims 4, 11 and 17, the combination teaches further comprising:
responsive to the client device trust status indicating that the client device is not authorized to receive the desired content, providing playback of the desired content to the client device using a downgraded quality (Vinu: token validation, [0110]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches further comprising:
responsive to the client device trust status indicating that the client device is not authorized to receive the desired content, rejecting the first request (Gupta: providing access based on threshold, [0051]).
As per claims 6, 12 and 18, the combination teaches wherein the first request is digitally signed using one or more signed parameters that provide at least one of an expiration time for the one or more resource locators, an expiration time for the partial trust metric, a bit rate for delivering the desired content, or an identifier of a playback event created for the first request (Vinu: expiration time, [0102]).
As per claims 7, 13 and 19, the combination teaches wherein a plurality of characteristics used to generate the partial trust metric are not available to the CDN server, and wherein the partial trust metric but not any of the plurality of characteristics are provided to the CDN server when the client device requests the desired content (Vinu: token with request, [0107]).
As per claims 8, 14 and 20, the combination teaches further comprising:
combining the partial trust metric with one or more additional factors to determine the client device trust status, wherein the one or more additional factors are identified by the CDN server based on data available to the CDN server (Gupta: determining trust, [0056][0058]).
As per claims 9 and 15, the combination teaches wherein the additional factors comprise at least one of an IP address used by the client device to request the content from the CDN server, one or more cookies provided to the CDN server with the content request, a client agent reported by the client device to the CDN server, a type of the requested content, a bitrate of the requested content, or an amount of content requested in the content request (Vinu: IP address, [0102]).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vinukonda (Vinu), publication number: 2018/0205742 in view of Gupta, publication number: 2018/0332065 in further view of Makey, publication number: US 2022/0141223.
As per claim 3, the combination of Vinu and Gupta teach a trust metric system.
The combination does not teach wherein the partial trust metric is generated using a machine learning model.
In an analogous art, Makey teaches wherein the partial trust metric is generated using a machine learning model (Machine learning, [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Vinu and Gupta’s trust system to include generating metrics based using machine learning as described in Makey’s trust metric system for the advantages of having a smart system that is able to determine trust based on evolving and more complex attributes.
Conclusion
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494