DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seth et al. (US 7,919,158 B2).
With regard to claim 1: Seth et al. discloses a double-pane insulating glazing unit (200) (fig. 2), the double-pane insulating glazing unit having a single between-pane space (240) and two glass panes (210, 212) (fig. 2; claim 2), such that the single between-pane space (240) is located between the two glass panes (210, 212) (fig. 2; claim 2). Seth et al. discloses that the width between the two glass panes is 0.5 inches (col. 12, lines 63-67), converted and rounded is 13mm
Seth further discloses that the double-pane insulating glazing unit (200) is devoid of a third glass pane, the double-pane insulating glazing unit (200) having an aerogel layer (in contact with or attached to the multilayer polymeric film 250) and a low-emissivity coating (fig. 2; col. 11, line 50 – col. 12, line 24; claim 4),
the low-emissivity coating being on an interior surface of a first one (210) of the two glass panes (210, 212) (col. 8, lines 50-55), the aerogel layer (in contact with or attached to the multilayer polymeric film 250) being on an interior surface of a second one (212) of the two glass panes (210, 212), such that the low-emissivity coating and the aerogel layer are both located in the between-pane space (240) (fig. 2; col. 11, line 50 – col. 12, line 24; claim 4), the low-emissivity coating and the aerogel layer being separated from each other by a gas gap, the gas gap containing a gaseous atmosphere (fig. 2; col. 8, lines 63-67).
With regard to claim 2: Seth et al. discloses that the structure of the double-pane insulating glazing unit as claimed and would be expected to have the same performance characteristics including a U factor in a range of from 0.11 to 0.21 Btu/(h-f²-°F).
With regard to claim 3: Seth et al. discloses that the structure of the double-pane insulating glazing unit as claimed and would be expected to have the same performance characteristics including a visible transmission in a range of 0.64 to 0.76.
With regard to claim 4: Seth et al. discloses that the structure of the double-pane insulating glazing unit as claimed and would be expected to have the same performance characteristics including a haze of from 0.5% to 4%.
With regard to claim 5: Seth et al. discloses that the aerogel layer is devoid (monolithic or fiber
reinforced sheet) of flowable aerogel particles (col. 11, lines 30-33).
With regard to claim 6: Seth et al. discloses the aerogel layer is formed by one or more aerogel sheets (monolithic or fiber reinforced sheet) adhered to the interior surface of the second one (212) of the two glass panes via the infrared radiation reflecting multilayer polymeric film (250) (col. 11, lines 33- 36).
With regard to claim 7: Seth et al. discloses that the aerogel layer is formed by a single aerogel sheet that is a self-supporting sheet (monolithic or fiber reinforced sheet).
With regard to claim 8: Seth et al. discloses that the width between the two glass panes is 0.5 inches converted and rounded to 13mm, the thickness of an infrared radiation reflecting multilayer polymeric film (250) having a thickness of less than 1 micrometer and an aerogel thickness in the range of 3mm (col. 8, lines 56-67; col. 11, lines 26-30; and col. 12, lines 62-67). Accordingly, the width of the gas gap would be approximately 10mm taking into account the thickness of aerogel layer.
With regard to claim 9: Seth et al. discloses that that the aerogel layer has a thickness in the range of 3mm (col. 11, lines 26-30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seth et al. (US 7,919,158 B2) in view of de Moncuit et al. (US 5,154,953).
With regard to claim 10: Seth et al. discloses a double-pane insulating glazing unit (200) (fig. 2), the double-pane insulating glazing unit having a single between-pane space (240) and two glass panes (210, 212) (fig. 2; claim 2), such that the single between-pane space (240) is located between the two glass panes (210, 212) (fig. 2; claim 2). Seth et al. discloses that the width between the two glass panes is 0.5 inches (col. 12, lines 63-67), converted and rounded is 13mm.
Seth further discloses that the double-pane insulating glazing unit (200) is devoid of a third glass pane, the double-pane insulating glazing unit (200) having an aerogel layer (in contact with or attached to the multilayer polymeric film 250) and a low-emissivity coating (fig. 2; col. 11, line 50 – col. 12, line 24; claim 4),
the low-emissivity coating being on an interior surface of a first one (210) of the two glass panes (210, 212) (col. 8, lines 50-55), the aerogel layer (in contact with or attached to the multilayer polymeric film 250) being on an interior surface of a second one (212) of the two glass panes (210, 212), such that the low-emissivity coating and the aerogel layer are both located in the between-pane space (240) (fig. 2; col. 11, line 50 – col. 12, line 24; claim 4), the low-emissivity coating and the aerogel layer being separated from each other by a gas gap, the gas gap containing a gaseous atmosphere (fig. 2; col. 8, lines 63-67).
Seth et al. does not disclose a transparent conductive oxide coating, the transparent conductive oxide coating being on an exterior surface of the second one of the two glass panes, such that the second one of the two glass panes supports both the aerogel layer and the transparent conductive oxide coating.
However, de Moncuit et al. discloses a transparent conductive oxide coating (5), the transparent conductive oxide coating (5) being on an exterior surface of the second one (10) of a two glass panes (6, 10) (fig. 3; col. 5, lines 34-38; col. 8, lines 22-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the double-pane insulating glazing unit of Seth et al. to include a transparent conductive oxide coating being on an exterior surface of a second one of glass panes such as taught by de Moncuit et al. in order to provide a means of reducing the emissivity of the coated face in respect of a long wavelength infrared radiation where the coating is highly resistant to abrasion and weathering. Seth et al. as modified by de Moncuit et al. discloses that the second one of the two glass panes supports both the aerogel layer and the transparent conductive oxide coating.
With regard to claim 11: Seth et al. discloses that the structure of the double-pane insulating glazing unit as claimed and would be expected to have the same performance characteristics including a U factor in a range of from 0.11 to 0.19 Btu/(h-f2-oF).
With regard to claim 12: Seth et al. discloses that the structure of the double-pane insulating glazing unit as claimed and would be expected to have the same performance characteristics including a visible transmission in a range of 0.64 to 0.72.
With regard to claim 13: Seth et al. discloses that the structure of the double-pane insulating glazing unit as claimed and would be expected to have the same performance characteristics including a haze of from 0.5% to 4%.
With regard to claim 14: Seth et al. discloses that the aerogel layer is devoid (monolithic or fiber
reinforced sheet) of flowable aerogel particles (col. 11, lines 30-33).
With regard to claim 15: Seth et al. discloses the aerogel layer is formed by one or more aerogel sheets (monolithic or fiber reinforced sheet) adhered to the interior surface of the second one (212) of the two glass panes via the infrared radiation reflecting multilayer polymeric film (250) (col. 11, lines 33- 36).
With regard to claim 16: Seth et al. discloses that the aerogel layer is formed by a single aerogel sheet that is a self-supporting sheet (monolithic or fiber reinforced sheet).
With regard to claim 17: Seth et al. discloses that the width between the two glass panes is 0.5 inches converted and rounded to 13mm, the thickness of an infrared radiation reflecting multilayer polymeric film (250) having a thickness of less than 1 micrometer and an aerogel thickness in the range of 3mm (col. 8, lines 56-67; col. 11, lines 26-30; and col. 12, lines 62-67). Accordingly, the width of the gas gap would be approximately 10mm taking into account the thickness of aerogel layer.
With regard to claim 18: Seth et al. discloses that that the aerogel layer has a thickness in the range of 3mm (col. 11, lines 26-30).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,438. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elements of the instant claims can be found within the patented claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to energy efficient windows.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633