DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed March 18, 2026. The specification and claims 1-3 and 7 have been amended. Claim 6 has been cancelled. Claims 11 and 12 have been added. Claims 1-5 and 7-12 are pending.
In response to the amendment, the objection to the specification, the 112(b) rejection of claims 1-10, and the 112(d) rejection of claims 6 and 10 have been withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s remarks regarding the Double Patenting rejections, the Double Patenting rejection of claims 7-10 has been withdrawn light of the amendment. However, the Double Patenting rejections of claims 1-5 remain.
In response to Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1-7, see page 8-14 of the remarks filed with respect to the 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of claims 7-10 has been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,338 (“the’338 patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4, 5,7 and 8 recite the elements currently claimed.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘338 patent recites a knee brace kit comprising: (line 1) a wrap having an inner surface and an outer surface opposite the inner surface, the outer surface carrying an engagement element of a hook-and-loop engagement having a first of a hook engagement or a loop engagement (lines 2-6), the wrap comprising: a body (line 7) comprising a hole (line 14) located such that, when the wrap is worn in an applied arrangement by a person, the hole is disposed over a knee of the person (lines14-16; it is inherent that he body of the wrap comprises the hole); straps extending from the body and terminating at respective tips, an inner surface at each respective tip carrying an engagement element having a second of the hook engagement or the loop engagement that is complemental to the first of the hook engagement or the loop engagement (lines 8-13), wherein when the wrap is worn by the person, the straps are wrapped above and below the hole (lines 14-17); and an annular sheet secured to the inner surface of the wrap, encircling the hole, wherein the annular sheet carries an engagement element having the first of the hook engagement or the loop engagement (lines 18-21); and mating elements having the second of the hook engagement or the loop engagement on opposed sides of the mating elements, the mating elements being removably engaged to the annular sheet (lines 22-25) and configured for removably engaging with a pocket configured to carry a thermal pack (lines 26-31).
Regarding claim 2, the ‘338 patent recites the knee brace kit of claim 1, further comprising the pocket, the pocket having engagement strips comprising the first of the hook engagement or the loop type engagement such that the engagement strips of the pocket are configured to be removably engaged to the mating elements to, thereby, removably engage the pocket to the inner surface of the wrap (claim 1, lines 26-31).
Regarding claim 3, the ‘338 patent recites knee brace kit of claim 1, further comprising replacement points for the respective tips, wherein the replacement points each have a lower face carrying an engagement element having the second of the hook engagement or the loop engagement applicable to the outer surface of the wrap (see claims 4 and 5).
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘338 patent in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,282,587 (“McSpadden et al.”)
Regarding claim 4, the ‘338 patent recites the knee brace kit of claim 1, except wherein the kit further comprises further comprising at least one hinge assembly configured to be adjustably coupled to the outer surface of the wrap, each of the at least one hinge assemblies comprising: an upper arm; a lower arm; and a hinge coupling the upper arm to the lower arm.
However, McSpadden et al. in its analogous disclosure of a knee brace kit (constituted by therapy and stabilization system 100) teaches it is known to provide a knee wrap (10, see col. 4, line 15) with at least one hinge assembly (140, 142, see col. 5, lines 1-13) configured to be adjustably coupled (see col. 7, lines 18-26, which discloses “[o]ftentimes, the joint stabilization member 140 has a point of rotation about which first and second portions thereof rotate. Oftentimes, the joint stabilization member may need to be disposed in a particular orientation and in a particular position relative to the joint of a user so that the point of rotation of the joint stabilization member 140 aligns with the point of rotation of the joint in order to both allow joint rotation while at the same time providing joint stabilization against undesired joint movements”, thus it is adjustable coupled) to the outer surface of the wrap, each of the at least one hinge assemblies comprising: an upper arm; a lower arm; and a hinge coupling the upper arm to the lower arm (see annotated Fig. 10 below) in order to provide joint stabilization (col. 2, lines 10-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to have modified the ‘338 patent such that it includes at least one hinge assembly comprising an upper arm, a lower arm and a hinge coupling the upper arm to the lower arm in order to provide joint stabilization when it is required.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of the ‘338 patent in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,282,587 (“McSpadden et al.”), as evidenced by U.S. Patent No. 4,887,590.
Regarding claim 5, the modified ‘338 patent recites the knee brace kit of claim 4, except wherein the upper arm and the lower arm each comprise a respective pad covered with a respective engagement element configured to adjustably and removably couple to the outer surface of the wrap adjacent to the hole in the body of the wrap.
However, as can be seen from Fig. 6, the hinge assembly is inserted into pockets, see annotated Fig. 6 for disposition in a particular orientation and in a particular position relative to the joint of a user so that the point of rotation of the joint stabilization member (140) aligns with the point of rotation of the joint in order to both allow joint rotation while at the same time providing joint stabilization against undesired joint movements, as evidenced by U.S. Patent No. 4,887,590, which discloses a wrap or sleeve for placement on a limb, and having a having joint stabilizing feature.
Since McFadden et al. teach an equivalent structure allowing for adjustability and removability of the upper and lower arms of the hinge assemblies, the Office contends that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have attached the brace to the outer surface of the sleeve using any means of adjustability such as a pocket or pads of hook and loop material as an obvious design choice absent a showing of criticality or unexpected results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McSpadden et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,139,476 (“Peters”) and U.S. Patent No. 3,804,084 (“Lehman”).
Regarding claim 11, McSpadden et al. discloses a knee brace (100, see Fig. 1 and col. 3, lines 60-64) comprising: a wrap (expandable orthopedic device 10, Fig. 1, 4 and see col. 3, lines 6-8) configured to expose a knee of a person when the wrap is worn in an applied arrangement by the person (patella opening 128, see col. 4, lines 39-40; the patella opening exposes the knee), the wrap comprising: a body (see col. 4, lines 26-33 which describes the material of the body, see also Fig. 4), a first strap (strap 112, see Fig. 1) extending from the body and comprising at least a first engagement element configured to secure the first strap to an outer surface of itself above the knee, and a second strap (114, see Fig. 8A,8B) extending from the body and comprising at least a second engagement element configured to secure the second strap to an outer surface of itself below the knee; a hinge (140,142, see col. 5, lines 1-13), comprising: an upper arm disposed against the body at a position above the knee when the wrap is worn in the applied arrangement by the person (see annotated Fig. 6 below), a lower arm disposed against the body at a position below the knee when the wrap is worn in the applied arrangement by the person (see annotated Fig. 6 below), and a pivot rotatably coupling the upper arm to the lower arm (polycentric hinge, single axis, complex hinge 140, 142, see col. 5, lines 6-11); and a sealed bladder (thermal wrap 106 which includes an inflatable bladder 110, see col. 5, lines 14-21) configured to be disposed between at least a portion of the wrap and the person when the wrap is worn in the applied arrangement (the thermal wrap is positioned on the inner surface of the bladder and when positioned on the person during use, it will be positioned between the wrap the person, see Fig. 7B), the sealed bladder comprising at least one tube extending from the wrap and configured to supply a fluid to the sealed bladder (see Fig. 7B and col. 5, lines 23-26).
McSpadden et al. fail a first strap extending from the body and comprising at least a first engagement element configured to secure the first strap to an outer surface of the body above the knee, and a second strap extending from the body and comprising at least a second engagement element configured to secure the second strap to an outer surface of the body below the knee.
However, Peters in its analogous disclosure of wrap teaches it is known to provide a wrap (100) with a first strap (3) extending from the body (1) and comprising at least a first engagement element configured to secure the first strap to an outer surface of the body above the knee, and a second strap (4) extending from the body and comprising at least a second engagement element configured to secure the second strap to an outer surface of the body below the knee (see col. 2, line 65-col. 3, line 8, which recites the thermal therapy wrap 106 includes an inflatable compression bladder 110 contained in, for example, a textile covering such as, for example, nylon; the thermal therapy wrap 106 further includes a plurality of fluid tubes 108 located beneath the inflatable compression bladder 110; in a typical embodiment, the fluid tubes 108 may be, for example, a fluid flow temperature bladder; the fluid flow temperature bladder and the inflatable compression bladder 110 may be connected via a flexible hose to a precision fluid pump having thermal control and compression capabilities).
Lehman in it analogous disclosure of knee wrap (see Fig. 4) teaches it is known to provide a wrap (12) with a first strap (60) extending from the body and comprising at least a first engagement element configured to secure the first strap to an outer surface of the body above the knee, and a second strap (62) extending from the body and comprising at least a second engagement element configured to secure the second strap to an outer surface of the body below the knee (see col. 3, line-col. 4, line17, which discloses attachment means are provided to hold the support about the knee of a wearer; these attachment means comprise an upper and a lower elastic strip designated by the numerals 60 and 62; the upper elastic strip extends laterally from the upper portion of one of the side edges as at 64 adjacent the top edge and is of a length to span the gap between the side edges when the support is placed about the thigh of a wearer as shown in FIG. 5; the lower elastic strip 62 extends from the lower portion of one of the side edges as at 66 adjacent the bottom edge and is of a length to span the gap between the side edges of the panel when the support is placed about the leg of a wearer below the knee cap, again see FIG. 5; mutually intercooperating connector means are provided on the terminal ends 68 and 67 of the upper and lower elastic strips and on the exterior surface of the panel adjacent the side edge opposite to the side edge on which the strips are arranged, the latter being designated by the numeral 70 and 72).
Because McFadden et al., Peters and Lehman all teach straps for securing a knee wrap about a knee, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention to have substituted one type of strap for the other type of strap to achieve the predictable result of securing the wrap to the knee of the user.
Thus, substituting a strap that attaches to itself via hook and loop components or substituting a strap that attaches to the body of a wrap would have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 12, modified McSpadden et al. discloses the knee brace of claim 11, wherein the at least one tube extending from the wrap is configured to supply the fluid to the sealed bladder for at least partially inflating the sealed bladder with the fluid (see col. 5, lines, which recites the thermal therapy wrap 106 includes an inflatable compression bladder 110 contained in, for example, a textile covering such as, for example, nylon; the thermal therapy wrap 106 further includes a plurality of fluid tubes 108 located beneath the inflatable compression bladder 110; in a typical embodiment, the fluid tubes 108 may be, for example, a fluid flow temperature bladder; the fluid flow temperature bladder and the inflatable compression bladder 110 may be connected via a flexible hose to a precision fluid pump having thermal control and compression capabilities; thus McSpadden et al. discloses least one tube extending from the wrap is configured to supply the fluid to the sealed bladder for at least partially inflating the sealed bladder with the fluid).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: see the remarks filed on pages 8-14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIM M LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786