Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/06/2025 and 01/30/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 02/06/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7, 9, 11, and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "heat source area." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "capillary pore." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "first region." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "first region." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “air inlet side edge,” “longitudinal axis,” and "hot zone heat pipes." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2015/060020).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a high heat cooling device (10, Fig. 1, [0036]), comprising:
a heat-conducting chamber body (10, Fig. 1, [0036]) having a heat-absorbing surface (1142, Fig. 4, [0037]), a first chamber (11, Fig. 5, [0036]) and a second chamber (123 connected to 111a, Fig. 5, [0038]), the first chamber being arranged closer to the heat-absorbing surface than the second chamber (1142, Fig. 4, [0037]); and
at least one isolation ring disposed in the first chamber of the heat-conducting chamber body that divides the first chamber into a primary hot zone and a secondary hot zone (See annotated Fig. 5 below), wherein:
the primary hot zone is not in communication with the secondary hot zone ([0036]), and
the primary hot zone is surrounded by the isolation ring and is in communication with the second chamber (See annotated Fig. 5 above, [0038]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the primary hot zone and the secondary hot zone are filled with different types of cooling fluid (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The different types of cooling fluid being worked upon by the primary hot zone and the secondary hot zone does not impart patentability to the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the freezing point of the cooling fluid in the primary hot zone is lower than that of the cooling fluid in the secondary hot zone (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The freezing points of the cooling fluids being worked upon by the primary hot zone and the secondary hot zone does not impart patentability to the claim).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches a cooling fluid filling rate in the primary hot zone is different from that in the secondary hot zone (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The filling rates of the cooling fluid being worked upon by the primary hot zone and the secondary hot zone does not impart patentability to the claim).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the cooling fluid filling rate in the primary hot zone is greater than that in the secondary hot zone (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The filling rates of the cooling fluid being worked upon by the primary hot zone and the secondary hot zone does not impart patentability to the claim).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the area of the primary hot zone is equal to or greater than 5% of the heat source area, and less than or equal to 80% of the heat source area (See annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 above, the area of 114 occupied by the primary hot zone area is about half of the heat source area, which [0037] states to be 1142, the other face of 114 as a heat contact face).
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches the cooling fluid filling rate in the primary hot zone is equal or greater than 60% of the volume of the capillary pore, and the cooling fluid filling rate in the secondary hot zone is at least 50% of the volume of the capillary pore and does not exceed 130% of the volume of the capillary pore (See MPEP 2115, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” The filling rates of the cooling fluid being worked upon by the primary hot zone and the secondary hot zone does not impart patentability to the claim).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches a plurality of primary hot zone heat pipes (one 16 connected with 111a and one 16 connected with 111b, Fig. 5, [0039]), wherein the plurality of primary hot zone heat pipes are disposed in the heat-conducting chamber body (16 is within 10) and are in fluid communication with the second chamber and the primary hot zone of the first chamber ([0039], 16 communicates with 111a, and [0038], 12 also communicates with 111a; therefore, 16 communicates with 12 through 111a; one of the plurality of 16 is connected with 12, and both are connected with the primary hot zone; therefore, the plurality of 16, collectively, communicates with both 12 and the primary hot zone).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches at least one primary hot zone heat pipes is positioned outside (Fig. 5) of the first region (1141, Fig. 4, [0037]) that is an area right above the heat-absorbing surface in the heat-conducting chamber body (Fig. 4, [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches a plurality of secondary hot zone heat pipes (12 and 16 connected with 111d, Fig. 5, [0039]), wherein the secondary hot zone heat pipes are disposed in the heat-conducting chamber body (12 and 16 are within 10) and communicated to the secondary hot zone of the first chamber ([0038], [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches the secondary hot zone heat pipes are configured to be positioned entirely outside of the a first region (1141, Fig. 4, [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches at least one primary hot zone heat pipe (16 connected with 111a, Fig. 5, [0039]) is located on a side of the heat-conducting chamber body along a longitudinal axis (See annotated Fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches wherein the heat-conducting chamber body includes an air inlet side edge (161 connected with 111a, Fig. 5, [0039]), and the distance from the air inlet edge to the nearest primary hot zone heat pipe is less than or equal to one-third of the length of the longitudinal axis of the heat-conducting chamber body (the distance is zero because the primary hot zone heat pipe is positioned at the air inlet side edge).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches a portion of the plurality of primary hot zone heat pipes are located adjacent to the air inlet side edge (the plurality of primary hot zone heat pipes has one heat pipe positioned at the air inlet side edge, which has the heat pipe as a portion adjacent to the air inlet side edge).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches a plurality of primary hot zone heat pipes (one 16 connected with 111a and another 16 connected with 111b, Fig. 5, [0039]), wherein at least one primary hot zone heat pipe is in fluid communication with the primary hot zone ([0039]), and the number of the primary hotzone heat pipes located on the side adjacent to the air inlet side edge (161 connected with 111a, Fig. 5, [0039]) along the longitudinal axis (See annotated Fig. 5 below) of the heat-conducting chamber body (the plurality of primary hot zone heat pipes has one 16 positioned at the air inlet side edge, which is adjacent to the air inlet side edge) is greater than or equal to 10% of the total number of the primary hot zone heat pipes and the hot zone heat pipes combined together (the number of primary hot zone heat pipes adjacent to the air inlet side edge is 1, which is 50% of the total number of 2 primary hot zone heat pipes).
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches a first heat-conducting casing (11 without the partition plate in annotated Fig. 5 below, [0036], [0037]);
a second heat-conducting casing (12 connected with 111a, Fig. 5, [0038]); and
at least one partition plate having at least one opening (See annotated Fig. 5 below), wherein:
the partition plate is arranged between the first-heat conducting casing and the second heat-conducting casing (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the first chamber and the second chamber are formed by coupling the first heat- conducting casing, the second heat-conducting casing and the partition plate, and the first chamber and the second chamber are located on opposite sides of the partition plate (See annotated Fig. 5 below),
the heat-absorbing surface (1142, Fig. 4, [0037]) is located on a side of the first heat-conducting casing and is further away from the second heat-conducting casing (Fig. 4, [0037]),
the isolation ring having (Same as shown in annotated Fig. 5 in claim 1 rejection above) a first end and a second end connect to the first heat- conducting casing and the partition plate, respectively (See annotated Fig. 5 below), and
the primary hot zone is communicated to the second chamber via at least one opening (121, [0038]).
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches a capillary structure is disposed in both the first chamber ([0037]) and the second chamber ([0038]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches a capillary structure is only disposed on the secondary hot zone of the first chamber ([0037], the capillary structure of the secondary hot zone is only disposed on the secondary hot zone and not in the primary hot zone or any other chamber).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 2015/060020).
Regarding claim 17, Yang does not teach the thickness of the partition plate is equal to or greater than 0.1mm and less than or equal to 5mm.
However, having the thickness of the partition plate is equal to or greater than 0.1mm and less than or equal to 5mm would not affect the operation of the device.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the thickness of the partition plate is equal to or greater than 0.1mm and less than or equal to 5mm. Because such thickness would not have modified the function of the device, the modification of the device orientation would be a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the thickness of the partition plate was significant. (See Gardner v.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984))
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763