DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,327,404. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are broader than the claims of the conflicting patent, as shown in the table below:
Current application 19/046901
Conflicting patent 12,327,404
21
1
22
1
23
3
24
3
25
1
26
4
27
6
28
7
29
7
30
10
31
10
32
7
33
11
34
6
35
13
36
14
37
13
38
6
39
16
40
17
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “preprocessing module” and “object detection module” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-35, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Deep Neural Network Based Salient Object Detection with Image Enhancement, 17 November 2018, LNTCS, Vol. 11304, Pages 444-453), hereinafter “Zhou”, in view of Dulski et al. (Evaluation of hardware implementation of the infrared image enhancement algorithm, 2012, QIRT, pages 1-9), hereinafter “Dulski”, in view of Conti et al. (A Regularized Deep Learning Approach for Image De-Blurring, 2017, IML ’17, Pages 1-5), hereinafter “Conti”.
Claim 28 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
Zhou discloses:
An apparatus (See the Abstract.) comprising:
a processor (See page 449: “We train and test all these datasets on a NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080Ti GPU, with in total 200000 training iterations.”)…configured to process…a second ANN (See the saliency prediction network in Fig. 1.),
wherein the second ANN is configured to perform object detection function to the image to detect at least one object included in the image (See page 445: “Inspired by the outstanding performance made by FCN, meanwhile to make use of the priors, we proposed an end-to-end model for salient object detection.” Note: as currently recited, the examiner interprets this claim so that the output of the “first ANN” is not necessarily required to be the input of the “second ANN”. In other words, the “first ANN” and “second ANN” receive a copy of the “image” and function independently. In contrast, claim 1 requires the “first ANN” to pass a deblurred and denoised image to the “second ANN”.).
Zhou does not disclose the following; however, Dulski discloses:
a processor, implemented into a form of an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (See page 5: “Complex algorithms for real time image processing are often executed by specially designed ASIC integrated circuits.”)
Zhou and Dulski together partly meet the limitations of claim 28. Dulski is directed to a similar field of art (a two-stage infrared image enhancement and object detection algorithm). Therefore, Zhou and Dulski are combinable. Zhou relies on a GPU to implement their proposed technique. Dulski indicates that an ASIC is an alternative suitable for complex algorithms. Modifying the system and method of Zhou by simple substitution of the GPU of Zhou for the ASIC indicated by Dulski would yield the expected and predictable result of complex, real-time processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou and Dulski in this way.
The combination of Zhou and Dulski does not disclose the following; however, Conti discloses:
process a first artificial neural network (ANN) (See the network in Fig. 1(b).)
wherein the first ANN is configured to perform deblur and denoise functions to an image (See the Abstract: “The structure of the model is based on two sub models devoted, respectively, to deblurring and denoising of an input image.”), and
Zhou, Dulski, and Conti together disclose the limitations of claim 28. Conti is directed to a similar field of art (a convolutional neural network dedicated to deblurring and denoising of images). Therefore, Zhou, Dulski, and Conti are combinable. As currently recited, claim 28 is interpreted to describe a branching approach in which an image is independently processed in multiple ways. Modifying the system and method of Zhou and Dulski by adding a separate/independent function of jointly deblurring and denoising the image of Zhou would yield the expected and predictable result of a system with diverse capabilities (i.e., an option for standalone deblurring/denoising and an two-stage option for contrast enhancement followed by object detection). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou, Dulski, and Conti in this way.
Claim 29 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein
And Conti further discloses:
the image is image processed by the first ANN in order to increase a rate of object detection performed by the second ANN (Note: the underlined limitation does not have patentable weight since it is an intended use limitation that merely states an outcome. The remainder of the claim (“the image is image processed by the first ANN”) is disclosed by the network depicted in Fig. 1(b).).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 28.
Claim 30 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein
And Zhou further discloses:
weight parameters of the first ANN are trained to increase a rate of object detection for the second ANN (Note: the underlined limitation does not have patentable weight since it is an intended use limitation that merely states an outcome. The remainder of the claim is disclosed by the network parameters in Fig. 2.).
Claim 31 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein
And Zhou further discloses:
weight parameters of the second ANN are trained to perform the object detection function (See network parameters implied in section 2.3 on pages 448-449.).
Claim 32 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein
And Zhou further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the first ANN is configured to adjust image parameters of the image captured by the image sensor (See page 445: “Based on the superpixel segmentation, a multi-level unit-linking PCNN performs weighting to the image and highlight image foreground.”).
Claim 33 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein
And Zhou further discloses:
the first ANN is further configured to perform at least one of wide dynamic range (WDR), high dynamic range (HDR), color tone mapping, and demosaicing functions (See page 445: “The image enhancement network uses contrast and structural features to enhance the input image.” Contrast adjustment paired with the use of structural features meets the claimed WDR and HDR.).
Claim 34 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 21, wherein
And Zhou further discloses:
the second ANN is configured to infer a type and location of the at least one object included in the image (See the refined saliency map in Fig. 3(h), which indicates the pixel locations of the object and the type of object with multilevel segmentation (see page 447).).
Claim 35 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 28.
Claim 37 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 23.
Claim 38 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 27.
Claim 39 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 33.
Claim 40 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 35, wherein
And Zhou further discloses:
the processor is further configured to perform at least two among brightness operation processing, contrast operation processing, defog operation processing, auto white balance operation processing, back light compensation operation processing, and decompression operation processing (See page 445: “The image enhancement network uses contrast and structural features to enhance the input image.” Contrast adjustment meets the claimed contrast operation processing.).
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (Deep Neural Network Based Salient Object Detection with Image Enhancement, 17 November 2018, LNTCS, Vol. 11304, Pages 444-453), in view of Dulski (Evaluation of hardware implementation of the infrared image enhancement algorithm, 2012, QIRT, pages 1-9), in view of Conti (A Regularized Deep Learning Approach for Image De-Blurring, 2017, IML ’17, Pages 1-5), in view of Sharma et al. (Classification-Driven Dynamic Image Enhancement, 2018, CVF, Pages 4033-4041), hereinafter “Sharma”.
Claim 36 is met by the combination of Zhou, Dulski, Conti, and Sharma, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti discloses:
The apparatus of claim 35, wherein
The combination of Zhou, Dulski, and Conti does not disclose the following; however, Sharma discloses:
if the image is compressed, the image preprocessing ANN is configured to compensate for a compression loss of the image (See page 4033: "Examples include enhancement to remove the effects of blur, noise, poor contrast, and compression artifacts - or to boost image details.").
Motivation to combine:
Zhou, Dulski, Conti, and Sharma together teach the limitations of claim 36. Sharma is directed to a similar field of art (two-stage architecture for image classification). Therefore, Zhou, Dulski, Conti, and Sharma are combinable. Modifying the system and method of Zhou, Dulski, & Conti by adding the capability to "compensate for a compression loss of the image ", as taught by Sharma, would yield the expected and predictable result of application to a wider range of input images having degradations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhou, Dulski, Conti, and Sharma in this way.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-27 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action.
Claim 21 recites: “an object detection module configured to process a second ANN configured to perform object detection function to an image output from the preprocessing module to detect at least one object included in the image output from the preprocessing module.” The underlined limitation makes clear that the output of the first ANN (deblurred and denoised) is passed to the second ANN. None of the prior art of record discloses or suggest this limitation.
Conti, as relied on above, does disclose a model with two sub-models devoted to deblurring and denoising an input image. However, Conti does not disclose a follow-up step of object detection on that deblurred and denoised image. In addition, the examiner believes that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the art to combine the two-stage approach of Zhou with the joint deblurring/denoising of Conti.
Claims 22-27 are dependent on claim 21 and are indicated as having the same allowable subject matter.
Contact
/Jonathan S Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677