DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to application filed on 02/06/2025. Currently claims 17-50 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41, 43, 48, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (Lee J.W., Park J-H, Prausnitz M. R., Dissolving Microneedles for Transdermal Drug Delivery, Biomaterials, 2008 May; 29 (13): pg. 2113-2124), in view of Tomono (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0208134 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Tomono”.
Regarding claim 41, Lee teaches in Fig. 3(d) that a dissolvable microneedle array is configured for delivery of biologically active molecules to human skin, wherein the delivery of biologically active molecules to human skin comprises penetrating the stratum corneum (SC in the figure) to deliver the biologically active molecules to the viable epidermis (VE in the figure, equivalent to epidermis) and/or dermis (D in the figure). Lee also teaches a dissolving microneedle array formed by forming a microneedle array by forming a sheet of material having a plurality of layers, at least one of the plurality of layers comprising a bioactive component by teaching a microneedle array that it-self has the drug or vaccine along with other biocompatible filler material, and said microneedle is made by mold casting process with plurality of layers in the material (abstract). Lee also teaches the formation of a sheet of material with plurality of layers by teaching the presence of a first layer in the microneedle which is the backing layer or the base layer that contain only hydrogel (and not any drug or vaccine or any bioactive component); and another second layer, that possess a drug or vaccine (layer of hydrogel mixed with drug or vaccine, which is a bioactive component). Lee also teaches the use of carboxymethylcellulose as the microneedle matrix material (page 3, Materials and Methods section). Additionally, Lee also teaches the use of polylactic acid based polymers (polylactic-co-glycolic acid, PLGA; and PLA) in the fabrication process. Lee further teaches in Fig. 1(a) that the microneedle array comprises of a base portion (flat base area) from which the plurality of microneedles extends from the surface of the base portion.
Lee fails to explicitly teach that the plurality of microneedles extending from the surface of the base portion are being pre-formed to have a pillar-shape. However, Tomono teaches in Fig. 3, a perspective view schematically showing the microneedle array extending from the base portion, and teaches in Fig. 6, that the microneedles take the form of a pillar shape. Tomono also teaches that the microneedles include a biocompatible material. Typically, the biocompatible material is a biocompatible and biodegradable material (para. [0054]), for example, chitin and/or chitosan, poly lactic acid, a copolymer of poly lactic acid and glycolic acid, etc. (para. [0054]). Tomono further teaches in Fig. 6 that the microneedle has the structure in which it is tapered down from the support layer. The first end section (element 121a) has a quadrangular pyramid shape. The second end section (element 121b) has a quadrangular prism shape. As such, the micro-needle 121 whose second end section 121b has a columnar shape (equivalent to pillar) is useful when the tip of the microneedle must reach to a position far from the surface of a living body (para. [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to apply the teaching of Tomono, and apply a known technique to a known device to form a microneedle having plurality of layers of Lee and form microstructures (array of microneedle) with very well-defined pillar structures that will dissolve (carboxymethylcellulose being dissoluble) upon piercing through the epidermis and distribute the drug directly with efficient release ability to with defined structure that would reach to a position further inside from the surface of a living body (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143). Since the reference deal with microbarbs (microneedle) using biocompatible, bioresorable material, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claim 43, Lee teaches a method, wherein the microneedle comprises a plurality of layers of dissoluble biocompatible material; by teaching to use polymers such as polylactic-co-glycolic acid (page 2), and PLA (page6-7), which are dissoluble and a biocompatible material.
Regarding claim 48, Lee, in view of Tomon teaches a method, wherein Tomono teaches in Fig. 1 an array of microneedle that would be used for administering bioactive substances into a living body. Tomono also teaches to use of dye at least in the top portion by teaching the use of dye in the bioinsert substance for use in cosmetics (para. [0062]).
Regarding claim 50, Lee, in view of Tomono teaches a method, wherein a dissolvable microneedle comprising of bioactive component. Maintaining the active agent composition at 30% by weight, would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation to get desired product.
Claim 42, 46-47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (Lee J.W., Park J-H, Prausnitz M. R., Dissolving Microneedles for Transdermal Drug Delivery, Biomaterials, 2008 May; 29 (13): pg. 2113-2124), in view of Tomono (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0208134 A1), in view of Park et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0082543 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Park”.
Regarding claim 42, Lee, and Tomono together teach a method , wherein a dissolvable microneedle array comprises of a base portion, and the plurality of microneedles extends from the surface of the base portion. But Lee, and Tomono fail to explicitly teach that the microneedles also comprises of a fillet portion, the fillet portion being located at the area where respective microneedles contact the base portion. However, Park teaches in Fig. 4 the formation of multiple layers (material 1, material 2, material 3, and material 4) within the microneedle structure. Park also teaches that the multiple layers in the microneedle will have drugs and/or matrices of different material (para. [0124]). Park further teaches in Fig. 10b the formation of fillet portion that is located at the area where the microneedle contacts the base portion of the microneedle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Park, and combine the use of a known technique to improve similar device, because this improvement would allow complex release pattern of multiple materials, and the formation of fillet portion at the base portion of the microneedle would provide structural rigidity the microneedle structure (KSR Rationale C, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with microneedle array formation, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claims 46-47, Lee, and Tomono together teach a method, wherein a dissolvable microneedle array comprises of a base portion, and the plurality of microneedles extends from the surface of the base portion. But Lee, and Tomono fail to explicitly teach microneedles having antigen, adjuvant or a combination thereof. However, Park teaches to use antigens and adjuvants (para. [0045] [0092]) as bioactive agents to be delivered using microneedles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Park, and use for the microneedle comprising antigen, adjuvant or a combination thereof to obtain desired results by delivering specific bioactive agents to generate antibodies, or to help create strong immune response. Since the reference deal with production of array microneedles, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Regarding claim 49, Lee, and Tomono together teach a method, wherein a dissolvable microneedle array comprises of a base portion, and the plurality of microneedles extends from the surface of the base portion. But Lee, and Tomono fail to explicitly teach microneedles have an apex angle of greater than about 30 degrees. However, Park teaches in Fig. 1g that the microneedle has an apex angle of greater than about 30 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of Park, and use a known technique to provide an apex angle of greater than about 30 degrees for the microneedle to obtain predictable results for the insertion. Since the reference deal with production of array microneedles, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Lee et al. (Lee J.W., Park J-H, Prausnitz M. R., Dissolving Microneedles for Transdermal Drug Delivery, Biomaterials, 2008 May; 29 (13): pg. 2113-2124), in view of Tomono (US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0208134 A1), in view of Xu (US Patent Application Publication Number 2008/0214987 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Xu”.
Regarding claim 45, Lee, and Tomono together teach a method, wherein a dissolvable microneedle array comprises of a base portion, and the plurality of microneedles extends from the surface of the base portion. But Lee, and Tomono fail to explicitly teach that the microneedles having bioactive agent comprises a chemotherapeutic agent, a cytotoxic agent, an immune stimulant, or any combination thereof. However, Xu teaches the use of microdevices (equivalent to microneedle) to be used for effective transdermal delivery of an agent or a combination of agents (para. [0026]). Xu also teaches that the active agents or active substances that can be delivered using microdevices (microneedle) are therapeutic agents such as "Fluorouracil" (para. [0060]), which is also known as a chemotherapeutic agent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Xu, and substitute the bioactive agent with Fluorouracil (an active chemotherapeutic agent), because that would allow the treatment of cancer (KSR Rationale B, MPEP 2143). Since the references deal with microneedles, one would have reasonable expectation of success from the combination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-40 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of references (of record) does not teach or fairly suggest the subject matter of independent claims 17, and 27 especially with the combination of the following limitation:
“a plurality of microneedles, the microneedles extending from a surface of the base portion and being pre-formed to have a shape that comprises a first cross-sectional dimension at a top portion, a second cross-sectional dimension at a bottom portion, and a third cross- sectional dimension at an intermediate portion, wherein the intem1ediate portion is located between the top portion and the bottom portion, and the third cross-sectional dimension is greater than the first and second cross-sectional dimensions, such that the bottom portion tapers inward on all sides to the second cross-sectional dimension” for claim 17, and
“wherein the microneedles comprise carboxymethylcellulose” in claim 27.
Claims 18-26 depend directly or indirectly on claim 17, and claim 28-40 depend directly or indirectly on claim 27.
Claim 44 is objected to as being directly or indirectly dependent upon rejected base claim 41, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitation of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indication of allowable subject
matter:
Regarding claim 44, the prior art of references (of record) does not teach or fairly suggest the (by themselves or in combination) a method “wherein the dissoluble biocompatible material is carboxymethylcellulose”.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742