Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hofer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0015948).
Regarding claim 1, Hofer et al. disclose a method comprising:
capturing one or more OCT images of an eye of a subject using an OCT imaging apparatus (see abstract, [0008], [0016], [0119], [0038], claim 6 and figures 1-2 for example);
generating a fixation target (see [0016], and claim 1 for example);
moving the fixation target (see [0016], and claim 1 for example); and
directing a laser beam generated by a laser at an IOL implanted within the eye of the subject to adjust a base power of the IOL (see abstract, [0003], [0013], and [0021] and claim 1 for example).
Hofer et al. disclose a system comprising:
an optical coherence tomography (OCT) imaging apparatus configured to produce one or more OCT images of an eye of a subject having an intraocular lens (IOL) implanted within the eye (see abstract, [0008], [0016], [0119], [0038], claim 6 and figures 1-2 for example);
a fixation target source configured to generate a moveable fixation target (see the aiming beam source of the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) col. 8:44 through col. 10:34); and
a laser (see [0019], [0027], and see the laser source of the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625)) configured to generate and direct a laser beam at the IOL to adjust a base power of the IOL (see abstract, [0003], [0013], and [0021] and claim 1 for example).
Regarding claims 2, and 12, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0016], claim 1, and figures 1-7 for example).
Regarding claims 3, and 13, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) col. 8:44 through col. 10:34).
Regarding claims 4, and 14, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) col. 11:7-25, and figures 1-4).
Regarding claims 5, and 15, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) see col. 5:57 through col. 7:14).
Regarding claims 6, and 16, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (herein the light source is interpreted to include the scanner/scanning mechanism disclosed, see [0019], also see the scanner/scanning system comprising “scanning” devices 40 and 50 in Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) see figures 1-4).
Regarding claims 7, and 17, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) col. 8:44 through col. 10:34).
Regarding claims 8, and 18, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see [0019]-[0021], and [0024] for example).
Regarding claims 9, and 19, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see figures 1, and 3-7 for example).
Regarding claims 10, and 20, Hofer et al. disclose the claimed invention (see the incorporation by reference in its entirety of Angley et al. (U.S. Patent 8,845,625) col. 19:43 through col. 20:67 and figures 1, and 15, and 20-21).
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792