DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant claims the benefit of US Provisional Application No. 63/551,101, filed 8 February 2024. Claims 1-20 have been afforded the benefit of this filing date.
Claim Interpretation
Under MPEP 2143.03, "All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claims 7 and 19 recite “at least one of,” and claim 15 recites “selected from a list consisting of.” Since “at least one of” and “selected from” are disjunctive, any one of the elements found in the prior art is sufficient to reject the claim. While citations have been provided for completeness and rapid prosecution, only one element is required. Because, on balance, it appears the disjunctive interpretation enjoys the most specification support and for that reason the disjunctive interpretation (one of A, B OR C) is being adopted for the purposes of this Office Action. Applicant’s comments and/or amendments relating to this issue are invited to clarify the claim language and the prosecution history.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 15-16 and 18-19 (all claims except 13-14, 17 and 20) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication 2023 0349803 A1, (Miklosi et al.). References are listed in the Notice of Cited References when they were first cited. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text.
Claim 1
[AltContent: textbox (Miklosi et al. Fig. 9, showing groupings of proteins in a cancer cell.)]
Regarding Claim 1, Miklosi et al. disclose a method of designing a drug by at least one processor ("this may uniquely characterise patient tumor samples, tumor neutralizing potential of native T-cell populations in the presence of drug molecules, and therapeutic immune cells," paragraph [0132]), the method comprising:
obtaining at least one image representing protein expression in at least one sample, taken from at least one respective subject ("obtaining an optical image of the plurality of cells; performing a segmentation algorithm on the optical image of the plurality of cells; and extending a border obtained by the segmentation algorithm by a predetermined distance," paragraph [0009] and "the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function.," paragraph [0010]);
identifying, in the at least one image, location of proteins of a first type, within a first type of cells ("In some implementations, the data vector includes a measure of cell-cell interactions. This would apply, for example, where the plurality of cells being investigated is in the context of a tumor or tissue sample," paragraph [0012]);
identifying, in the at least one image, location of proteins of a second type, within a second type of cells ("the distance between cells of different types; (c) neighbouring cell cluster colocalization; and (d) Ripley's K function distribution of cells," paragraph [0012]);
extracting, from the at least one image, a spatial feature value representing a spatial relationship between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type ("In some implementations, constructing the data vector further comprises: performing colocalization analysis on an overlapping area between any two of the plurality of cells," paragraph [0014] where colocation analysis is a spatial relationship);
applying a pretrained, Machine Learning (ML) based classification model on the at least one image and/or said spatial feature value, to classify the at least one sample as one of a predetermined set of subject states ("In some implementations, the data analysis may involve using a classification algorithm obtained through machine learning," paragraph [0031]);
computing a correlation between the spatial feature value and said classification of subject state ("The features that define the spatial organisation of the molecules on the cell surface may then be correlated with specific properties of the target-effector cell interaction, such as an immune cell-cancer interaction. For example, the spatial organisation of surface receptors on chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cells may be used to predict the ability of the cells to specifically and efficiently neutralise particular cancer cells," paragraph [0094])s; and
based on said correlation, selecting at least one of the first type of proteins and second type of proteins, to design a drug, wherein said drug is adapted to modulate interaction between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type ("The method provided herein may be used for application such as patient stratification and quality assessment of cell therapy products, a reference library of patient data is assembled by applying the method to data obtained from the cells of the patient," paragraph [0220]).
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein computing a correlation between the spatial feature value and the state of the subject comprises applying an interpretability model on the sample classification model, to calculate said correlation as a contribution of the spatial relationship to the classification of the subject's state ("For example, the similarity may be evaluated based on a probability distance metric (as described above), e.g. with a greater probability distance metric being indicative of greater similarity. Alternatively, the probability may be obtained through a machine learning assessment, e.g. by applying multinomial regression and interpreting the softmax outputs as probabilities," paragraph [0053]).
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim of claim 1, further comprising:
applying an ML based segmentation algorithm on the at least one image, to obtain a plurality of cell segments, each representing a cell in the sample ("Classification of the cells may be carried out using a machine learning classification algorithm, such as logistic regression or a convolutional neural network (CNN)," paragraph [0219]); and
identifying one or more cell segments as pertaining to the first cell type or the second cell type, based on indication of protein expression within the one or more cell segments, as depicted in the at least one image ("To this end, the disclosed method may be used to analyse and categorise the expression of any cell surface marker on any cell type," paragraph [0220]).
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim of claim 3, wherein one of the first cell type and second cell type is an immune cell and, and wherein the other cell type is a disease cell, or a healthy cell of the same cell type as said disease cell ("This may uniquely characterise patient tumor samples, tumor neutralizing potential of native T-cell populations in the presence of drug molecules, and therapeutic immune cells," paragraph [0220] and "The target diseased cell may be a cancerous cell" paragraph [0222]).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim of claim 3, wherein the first cell type is an immune cell type, and wherein the method further comprises:
identifying one or more cell segments as respective immune cells, belonging to the first cell type ("This may uniquely characterise patient tumor samples, tumor neutralizing potential of native T-cell populations in the presence of drug molecules, and therapeutic immune cells," paragraph [0220] and "The target diseased cell may be a cancerous cell" paragraph [0222]);
determining a cell activation status value of the immune cells based on indication of protein expression within the respective cell segments ("The surface marker may be any cell surface marker or biomarker, which may be a cell surface protein. The surface marker may be a marker that is suitable for use as a phenotypic marker to identify a particular cell type, or a particular maturation or activation state of a particular cell type," paragraph [0223]); and
selecting at least one of the first type of proteins and second type of proteins further based on the determined cell activation status value ("The method provided herein may be used for application such as patient stratification and quality assessment of cell therapy products, a reference library of patient data is assembled by applying the method to data obtained from the cells of the patient," paragraph [0220]).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 3, wherein the second cell type is a cancer cell type, and wherein the method further comprises:
identifying a plurality of cell segments as respective cancer cells, belonging to the first cell type ("This may uniquely characterise patient tumor samples, tumor neutralizing potential of native T-cell populations in the presence of drug molecules, and therapeutic immune cells," paragraph [0220]);
defining a cluster of cancer cells based on said identification ("In the data analysis step, determining whether the sample of cells is classified into one of the defined types may comprise evaluating a probability distance metric between the sample feature vector and the reference feature vector(s); and determining whether the sample of cells is classified into one of the defined types, and if so, which type. For instance, if the probability distance metric between the sample feature vector and the reference feature vector is within a predetermined threshold, then the sample of cells may be classified into the defined type corresponding to that reference feature vector," paragraph [0030]); and
selecting at least one of the first type of proteins and second type of proteins further based on the defined cluster of cancer cells ("The method provided herein may be used for application such as patient stratification and quality assessment of cell therapy products, a reference library of patient data is assembled by applying the method to data obtained from the cells of the patient," paragraph [0220]).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein said spatial feature value is a measure of at least one of a distance between a protein of the first type and a protein of the second type ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010]), a distribution of distances between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010]), a distance between a cell of the first type and a cell of the second type ("the distance between cells of different types; (c) neighbouring cell cluster colocalization; and (d) Ripley's K function distribution of cells," paragraph [0012]), a distribution of distances between cells of the first type and cells of the second type, a contact between a protein of the first type and a protein of the second type, a contact between a cell of the first type and a cell of the second type, a structure of a protein of the first type and a protein of the second type, a distribution of proteins of the first type, a distribution of proteins of the second type, an abundance of proteins of the first type, an abundance of proteins of the second type.
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the spatial relationship comprises a distance metric, indicating a distance between proteins of the first type, and proteins of the second type in the at least one image ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010]).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising identifying, within the at least one image, a plurality of protein pairs, each comprising a protein of the first type and a protein of the second type, whose locations are within a predetermined distance, and wherein the spatial feature value is defined as an abundance of the protein pairs within the at least one image ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010] where the plural of proteins is at least a pair).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the at least one image comprises a plurality of protein types, corresponding to a respective plurality of cell types, and wherein the ML based classification model is configured to classify the at least one sample to one of the predetermined set of subject states based on spatial feature values of pairs of protein types, derived from the at least one image ("In the data analysis step, determining whether the sample of cells is classified into one of the defined types may comprise evaluating a probability distance metric between the sample feature vector and the reference feature vector(s); and determining whether the sample of cells is classified into one of the defined types, and if so, which type. For instance, if the probability distance metric between the sample feature vector and the reference feature vector is within a predetermined threshold, then the sample of cells may be classified into the defined type corresponding to that reference feature vector," paragraph [0030]).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the interpretability model is further configured to identify a pair of protein types, whose spatial feature value statistically significantly contributed to the classification of the state of a subject ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010] where the plural of proteins is at least a pair); and
provide one protein type of the pair as the first protein type, and the other protein type of the pair as the second protein type ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010] where the plural of proteins is at least a pair and multiple types is a first type and a second type).
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising training the ML based classification model by:
receiving a training dataset, comprising (i) one or more images of tissue samples taken from subjects and/or (ii) one or more spatial features, extracted from images of tissue samples taken from subjects ("The classification algorithm may be obtained by applying a machine learning model to a set of training data comprising a set of reference feature vectors for the reference cells of said one or more defined types. Each of the reference feature vectors in the set of training data may be labelled as corresponding to one of the plurality of types of reference cells," paragraph [0032]);
receiving corresponding annotations indicating a state of said subjects ("In the second aspect, the reference cells of said one or more defined types may correspond to diseased cells from patients which are confirmed to be responsive to a specific medical treatment. Advantageously, in such instances the classification method can be used as a means to predict the responsiveness of a patient suffering from a disease to a specific medical treatment," paragraph [0033] where responsiveness to a specific treatment is an annotation); and
training the classification model to determine a state of a subject based on the training dataset, while using said annotations as supervisory information ("The classification algorithm may be configured to determine, based on the sample feature vector, whether the patient is classified into one of the defined types, and if so, which of the defined types," paragraph [0032]).
Claim 15
Regarding Claim 15, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the subject states are selected from a list consisting of: a healthy state, a disease state, a state of responding to therapy, a state of non-response to therapy, a state of disease regression, a state of disease stability, a state of disease progression, a state of positive disease prognosis, a state of negative disease prognosis, a state of disease resistance, and a state of disease susceptibility ("In some implementations, there is provided method of classifying a plurality of cells of a patient into a plurality of types of reference cells," paragraph [0018] and "In the second aspect, the reference cells of said one or more defined types may correspond to diseased cells from patients which are confirmed to be responsive to a specific medical treatment. Advantageously, in such instances the classification method can be used as a means to predict the responsiveness of a patient suffering from a disease to a specific medical treatment" paragraph [0033] where responsiveness of a patient is a state of positive disease prognosis).
Claim 16
Regarding Claim 16, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 8, wherein the distance metric indicates a distance that surpasses a predetermined threshold, and wherein modulating the interaction between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type comprises associating between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type ("In some implementations, determining comprises: when the probability distance metric between the plurality of cells of the patient and one of the reference cells, is larger than a predetermined threshold, classifying the cell into the corresponding type of the reference cells," paragraph [0020]).
Claim 18
Regarding Claim 18, Miklosi et al. disclose a method of drug design, the method comprising:
receiving, by a trained machine learning (ML) model("In some implementations, the data analysis may involve using a classification algorithm obtained through machine learning," paragraph [0031]), one or more images of a tissue sample of a subject ("obtaining an optical image of the plurality of cells," paragraph [0009]), wherein said ML model is trained to distinguish between tissue samples from subjects in a first state and tissue samples from subjects in a second state ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function.," paragraph [0010]);
classifying said received one or more images as being from a subject in the first state or second state by applying said trained ML model("In some implementations, the data analysis may involve using a classification algorithm obtained through machine learning," paragraph [0031]); and
extracting from said ML model groups of biological components comprising at least two biological components whose spatial relationship contributed to said classifying ("In some implementations, constructing the data vector further comprises: performing colocalization analysis on an overlapping area between any two of the plurality of cells," paragraph [0014] where colocation analysis is a spatial relationship), thereby identifying at least two biological components for drug design, wherein said biological components are selected from proteins, nucleic acid molecules, lipids, ions, macromolecules and organelles ("The method provided herein may be used for application such as patient stratification and quality assessment of cell therapy products, a reference library of patient data is assembled by applying the method to data obtained from the cells of the patient," paragraph [0220]).
Claim 19
Regarding Claim 19, Miklosi et al. disclose the method of claim 18, wherein said spatial relationship is a measure of at least one of: distance between said at least two biological components ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010]), distribution of distances between said at least two biological components ("the constructed data vector comprises at least one measure of the localisation distribution of detected proteins within the cells. This localisation distribution may be one or more of: (a) the number density of localisations of the spatial coordinates of the detected proteins within the cells; (b) the distance between localisation across multiple types of proteins; or ( c) Ripley's K function," paragraph [0010]), contact of said at least two biological components, association of said at least two biological components, structure of said at least two biological components, density of said at least two biological components, abundance of said at least two biological components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14, 17 and 20 (all remaining claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2023 0349803 A1, (Miklosi et al.) in view of US Patent Publication 2024 0346804 A1, (Eastham et al.). The references are listed in a PTO-892 from the Office Action in which they are first used. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text.
Claim 13
Regarding Claim 13, Miklosi et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one image is an image of a slide, containing a tissue section, and wherein obtaining the at least one image comprises:
receiving a plurality of slide images representing a tissue section, wherein protein types in each slide are uniquely stained ("The proteins were stained using directly conjugated (Alexa Fluor 647 or Alexa Fluor 555) or non-conjugated primary antibodies. For the latter, fluorescently labelled secondary antibodies were used. In order to achieve photoblinking a thiol based reducing buffer with an oxygen scavenger was used," paragraph [0243] where staining using non-conjugated antibodies is uniquely stained).
[AltContent: textbox (Eastham et al. Fig. 29, showing categorizing cells by distance and grouping.)]
Miklosi et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of multiplexed image.
However, Eastham et al. teach registering the plurality of slide images with each other, to produce a multiplexed image of the tissue section ("Furthermore, the disclosed pipelines can allow for expansion into a multiplexed methodology with the identification of more than one immune cell phenotype," paragraph [0347]).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Miklosi et al. and Eastham et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify Cell Classification Algorithms, and use of such algorithms to Inform and Optimize Medical Treatments” as taught by Miklosi et al. to use “Pipelines for Tumor Immunotyping” as taught by Eastham et al., showing that Miklosi et al. and Eastham et al. are analogous art because both are cancer diagnosis and treatment. The suggestion/motivation for combination is that, “Immunophenotyping, which is the process of determining an immunophenotype of a biological sample ( e.g., a tumor), can be predictive of the possible benefits provided by CI therapy. Traditionally, trained pathologists analyze digital pathology images of biological samples to determine the tumor immunophenotype. Depending on the tumor immunophenotype, different immunotherapies or no immunotherapies may be provided to the patient. Therefore, accurately determining the tumor immunophenotype can have a direct impact on patient survival.” as noted by the Eastham et al. disclosure in paragraph [0005], which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a better success rate as better diagnosis means better treatment as there is a reasonable expectation that there are many ways to recognize cancer; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, Miklosi et al. teach the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the at least one image comprises:
receiving a plurality of slide images representing a tissue section, wherein protein types in each slide are uniquely stained ("The proteins were stained using directly conjugated (Alexa Fluor 647 or Alexa Fluor 555) or non-conjugated primary antibodies. For the latter, fluorescently labelled secondary antibodies were used. In order to achieve photoblinking a thiol based reducing buffer with an oxygen scavenger was used," paragraph [0243] where staining using non-conjugated antibodies is uniquely stained), as noted above.
Miklosi et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of multiplexed image.
However, Eastham et al. teach registering the plurality of slide images with each other, to produce a multiplexed image of the tissue section ("Furthermore, the disclosed pipelines can allow for expansion into a multiplexed methodology with the identification of more than one immune cell phenotype," paragraph [0347]).
Miklosi et al. and Eastham et al. are combined as per claim 13.
Claim 17
Regarding claim 17, Miklosi et al. teach the method of claim 8, as noted above.
Miklosi et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of disrupts the association of said pair of biological components.
However, Eastham et al. teach wherein the distance metric indicates a distance that is below a predetermined threshold ("a spatial density representation (e.g., a feature vector) may be projected into a multidimensional feature space and a tumor immunophenotype may be assigned to the digital pathology image based on a distance in the multidimensional feature space between the projected spatial density representation and a cluster of representations associated with the tumor immunophenotype being less than a threshold distance," paragraph [0086]), and wherein modulating the interaction between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type comprises disrupting an association between proteins of the first type and proteins of the second type ("Patients whose IHC assay yields a positive result are expected to respond to therapies that disrupt the PD/PD-Ll interaction, such as atezolizumab or nivolumab," paragraph [0064]).
Miklosi et al. and Eastham et al. are combined as per claim 13.
Claim 20
Regarding claim 20, Miklosi et al. teach the method of claim 18, as noted above.
Miklosi et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of disrupts the association of said pair of biological components.
However, Eastham et al. teach wherein said second state is an undesired state and said first state is a desired state, and (a) said pair of biological components are closer to each other in said second state than said first state and said drug disrupts the association of said pair of biological components ("a spatial density representation (e.g., a feature vector) may be projected into a multidimensional feature space and a tumor immunophenotype may be assigned to the digital pathology image based on a distance in the multidimensional feature space between the projected spatial density representation and a cluster of representations associated with the tumor immunophenotype being less than a threshold distance," paragraph [0086]); or (b) said pair of biological components are closer to each other in said first state than said second state and said drug causes association of said pair of biological components to each other ("Patients whose IHC assay yields a positive result are expected to respond to therapies that disrupt the PD/PD-Ll interaction, such as atezolizumab or nivolumab," paragraph [0064]).
Miklosi et al. and Eastham et al. are combined as per claim 13.
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patent Publication 2023 0395186 A1 to Kohl et al. discloses training a structure prediction neural network that comprises an embedding neural network and a main folding neural network. According to one aspect, a method comprises: obtaining a training network input characterizing a training protein; processing the training network input using the embedding neural network and the main folding neural network to generate a main structure prediction.
US Patent Publication 2006 0188140 A1 to Gholap et al. discloses automatic digital image based tissue independent simultaneous nucleus, cytoplasm and membrane quantitation. Plural types of pixels comprising cell components including at least cell cytoplasm and cell membranes from a biological tissue sample to which a chemical compound has been applied and has been processed to remove background pixels and pixels including counterstained components are simultaneously identified.
Conclusion
/Heath E. Wells/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
Date: 22 October 2026