DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. US 2024/0383699 A1 (hereinafter “Ogawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa discloses a document conveying device comprising:
an operation device (470) that accepts a user's instruction input thereto;
a document loading tray (61) that receives sheets of original document loaded thereon;
a document detection sensor (73) that detects presence or absence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray;
a document ejection tray (62);
a feed roller (41) that is provided above the document loading tray and feeds the sheets of original document on the document loading tray sheet by sheet;
a document conveying mechanism (63) that conveys the sheet of original document fed by the feed roller to a reading position of a document reading device and ejects the sheet of original document conveyed to the reading position to the document ejection tray;
an elevating mechanism (64) that moves up and down the document loading tray between a predetermined lower limit position and an upper limit position at which a top surface of an uppermost one of the sheets of original document loaded on the document loading tray presses against the feed roller; and
a control device (10) that includes a processor and functions as a controller (100) through the processor executing a control program,
wherein, upon passage of a predetermined first waiting time (WT, refer to [0046]-[0048]) from when the document detection sensor has detected the presence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray, the controller allows the elevating mechanism to move the document loading tray to a predetermined standby position located between the upper limit position and the lower limit position and stop the document loading tray at the standby position, and
wherein, upon acceptance of an instruction (refer to [0049]-[0050]) to read the original document through the operation device, the controller allows the feed roller to feed the sheet of original document on the document loading tray, allows the document conveying mechanism to convey the sheet of original document fed by the feed roller to the reading position, and allows the elevating mechanism to move up the document loading tray to the upper limit position.
Note: To overcome rejection without amending the claims, the applicant could either:
(1) perfect the foreign priority claim OR
(2) invoke an exception under 102(b)(1).
Regarding claim 5, Ogawa further discloses wherein the document loading tray comprises:
a document loading table (21) on which sheets of original document are to be loaded;
a cursor (22) provided on a top surface of the document loading table and slidable in a direction of width of the sheet of original document orthogonal to a direction of conveyance of the sheet of original document;
a document width guide (23) that stands upright from the cursor and restricts a widthwise position of the sheets of original document by abutting on the sheets of original document loaded on the document loading table from the direction of width of the sheet of original document; and
a cursor movement detection sensor (74) that detects movement of the cursor, and
when the cursor movement detection sensor detects movement of the cursor, the controller keeps the document loading tray from starting moving until a specified time passes from when the movement of the cursor has gone undetected by the cursor movement detection sensor (refer to [0056]-[0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa discloses wherein when the cursor movement detection sensor detects the movement of the cursor, the controller stops counting the time, resets a counted time, and then starts counting the time at a time the movement of the cursor goes undetected by the cursor movement detection sensor (refer to [0057]).
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa discloses an image forming apparatus (1) comprising:
the document conveying device according to claim 1;
a document reading device (5) that reads an image of a sheet of original document conveyed to a reading position; and
an image forming device (12) that forms the image on a recording medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa US 11,530,101 (hereinafter “Suwa”) in view of Hattori JP 11-237771 A (hereinafter “Hattori”).
Regarding claim 1, Suwa teaches a document conveying device comprising:
an operation device (c1 of 416) that accepts a user's instruction input thereto;
a document loading tray (30) that receives sheets of original document loaded thereon;
a document detection sensor (10) that detects presence or absence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray;
a document ejection tray (17);
a feed roller (1) that is provided above the document loading tray and feeds the sheets of original document on the document loading tray sheet by sheet;
a document conveying mechanism (conveyance rollers of 200, shown in FIG. 4A) that conveys the sheet of original document fed by the feed roller to a reading position of a document reading device and ejects the sheet of original document conveyed to the reading position to the document ejection tray;
an elevating mechanism (312) that moves up and down the document loading tray between a predetermined lower limit position (“descended position”) and an upper limit position (“ascended position”) at which a top surface of an uppermost one of the sheets of original document loaded on the document loading tray presses against the feed roller (refer to “Second Embodiment” in col. 14, lines 25-58); and
a control device (301) that includes a processor and functions as a controller through the processor executing a control program,
wherein, when the document detection sensor has detected the presence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray, the controller allows the elevating mechanism to move the document loading tray to a predetermined standby position located between the upper limit position and the lower limit position and stop the document loading tray at the standby position, and
wherein, upon acceptance of an instruction to read the original document through the operation device, the controller allows the feed roller to feed the sheet of original document on the document loading tray, allows the document conveying mechanism to convey the sheet of original document fed by the feed roller to the reading position, and allows the elevating mechanism to move up the document loading tray to the upper limit position.
Suwa teaches the claimed invention except the controller allows the elevating mechanism to move the document loading tray to a predetermined standby position located between the upper limit position and the lower limit position and stop the document loading tray at the standby position upon passage of a predetermined first waiting time from when the document detection sensor has detected the presence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray.
Hattori teaches the desirability to introduce a predetermined waiting time (refer to [0025]) before lifting a document loading tray (7) thereby allowing a user to properly set a document on the loading tray.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Suwa’s control device to provide a predetermined waiting time as taught by Hattori in order to allow a user to enough time to properly set the document on the loading tray prior to any movement of the loading tray, thereby preventing a misaligned fed document.
Regarding claim 2, while the combination of references is silent to teaching wherein when the controller accepts through the operation device the instruction to read the original document before the first waiting time passes from when the document detection sensor has detected the presence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray, the controller allows the elevating mechanism to move up the document loading tray to the upper limit position before passage of the first waiting time, the examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to allow the operation device to overrule the predetermined 1st waiting time for further shortening the total time for the document to be ready to be conveyed.
Regarding claim 7, Suwa teaches an image forming apparatus (180) comprising:
the document conveying device according to claim 1;
a document reading device (150) that reads an image of a sheet of original document conveyed to a reading position; and
an image forming device (160) that forms the image on a recording medium.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa in view of Hattori, and further in view of Fujii et al. WO 2023/276806 A1 (hereinafter “Fujii”).
Regarding claim 3, Suwa fails to teach an ejected document detection sensor that detects presence or absence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray,
wherein when the presence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray is undetected by the ejected document detection sensor at a time the presence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray has gone undetected by the document detection sensor, the controller waits for passage of a predetermined second waiting time from when the presence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray has been undetected by the ejected document detection sensor, and, upon passage of the second waiting time, controls drive of the elevating mechanism to move down the document loading tray to the lower limit position (claim 3), and
wherein when the ejected document detection sensor detects the presence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray at the time the presence of any sheet of original document on the document loading tray has gone undetected by the document detection sensor, the controller waits for passage of a predetermined third waiting time from when the presence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray has been detected, and, upon passage of the third waiting time, controls the drive of the elevating mechanism to move down the document loading tray to a predetermined intermediate position located between the upper limit position and the lower limit position and stop the document loading tray at the intermediate position (claim 3).
wherein when the presence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray goes undetected by the ejected document detection sensor while the controller allows the document loading tray to be stopping at the intermediate position, the controller waits for passage of a predetermined fourth waiting time from when the presence of any sheet of original document on the document ejection tray has gone undetected by the ejected document detection sensor, and, upon passage of the fourth waiting time, controls the drive of the elevating mechanism to move down the document loading tray to the lower limit position (claim 4).
Fujii teaches a similar device with an ejected document detection sensor (18) to operate in the manner claimed ([0050], [0071], [0080]) for utilizing the capacity of the document loading tray depending the presence and absence of the document on the document ejection tray.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Suwa’s conveying device with an ejected document sensor and controller function as taught by Fujii in order to utilize the capacity of the document loading tray depending the presence and absence of the document on the document ejection tray.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LUIS A GONZALEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653