July 15, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 3, “the pad thickness direction” lacks antecedent basis. On line5, “the outside” lacks antecedent basis. What does the applicant mean by “the outside”?
In claim 6, line 7, “the outside” lacks antecedent basis. What does the applicant mean by “the outside”?
In claim 4, line 2, should the word - - a - - be inserted in front of “side surface”?
The aforementioned problems render the claims vague and indefinite. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuta et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,077,074 B2) in view of Wolas et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0276463 A1).
Ikuta et al. teach the structure substantially as claimed including a seat comprising: a seat pad having a central pad 4 and two side pads 5, wherein the central pad comprises a plurality of ventilation through holes 14 having outwardly openings facing the side pad in a seat width direction in a shape penetrating in the pad thickness direction with respect to the central pad but does not teach a first abutting member covering the ventilation through hole from the outside in the seat width direction.
However, Wolas et al. teach the concept of using an abutting member 110 for covering a ventilation through hole from the outside in the seat width direction. It would have been obvious and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art to modify the seat, as taught by Ikuta et al., to include an abutting member, as taught by Wolas et al, since it would ensure that most of the air from the ventilation system is directed toward the occupant of the seat.
As for Claim 2, Ikuta et al. teach a flow path cover 16 being arranged adjacent to the back surface of the central pad for covering an air distribution groove formed along the back surface of the central pad.
As for Clams 6 and 9, Wolas et al. teach a blower configured to draw air from the seat pad; is configured to draw out hot air from a front side of the seat via the plurality of ventilation through holes. (see paragraph [0056 where it reads “…..the air is drawn in from away from the air curtain C generated by the first and second air vents 32, 34 so that the generated air curtain C is not “wrapped” about the occupant. The conditioned air is then provided to the first and second air vents 32, 34 and into the vehicle cabin without further obstruction.”).
As for Clams 7, Wolas et al. teach that the plurality of ventilation through holes, at least in part, lines up on both upper edges of the central pad so as to open outward in the seat width direction; where in the plurality of ventilation through holes, at least in part, lines up apart inwardly from the edge of the central portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636