Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a resiliently deformable element in claim 1; a blocker engageable with the sliding latch in the extended position to prevent the sliding latch from moving towards the retracted position; a second resiliently deformable element in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 4, “along its length,” is indefinite. It is unclear what “its” is referring to. The claims were examined as “its” was referring to the sliding latch. The claims were examined a best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0263757 to Vandervelde.
In re Claim 1, Vandervelde teaches a personal hygiene tool (see Figs. 1-4) comprising:
a handle extending along a first axis and comprising an opening formed at a first end (see Figs. 1-4, and Fig. 3, opening in which #positioning apparatus #30 is located), where a plurality of recesses are formed within the opening (see Fig. 4, recessed #36 are located in the opening); and
a tool head attachment at least partially retained within the opening and rotatable with respect to the handle around a second axis (see Figs. 3-4, #16/.26 are located in the opening and rotatable about a second axis));
wherein the tool head attachment comprises a latching mechanism (see Figs. 3-4, #30) comprising:
- a sliding latch slideable between an extended position where the sliding latch protrudes into one of the plurality of recesses and a retracted position where the sliding latch is disengaged from the recesses (See Fig. 3, #38 and Para. 0012/0014);-
a resiliently deformable element arranged to urge the sliding latch towards the extended position (see Fig. 3, #39 and Para. 0014); and-
a first actuator configured to urge the sliding latch towards the retracted position against the resiliently deformable element (see Fig. 3, #39 and Para. 0014 which states: A spring biasing member 39 biases the stop into the locking position.)
In re Claim 4, Vandervelde teaches wherein the sliding latch is an elongate element slideable along its length in a plane perpendicular to the second axis (see Fig. 3-4, showing #38 movies perpendicular to the axis of rotation in Fig. 4).
In re Claim 5, Vandervelde teaches teaches wherein an outer edge of each recess and a protruding end of the sliding latch are beveled or rounded (see Fig. 3, showing #38 and 36 have corresponding angled surfaces or are ‘beveled’), and
wherein the first actuator is configured to urge the sliding latch to a point between the extended position and the retracted position where the sliding latch is partially engaged with one of the plurality of recesses (when #38 is halfway between the locking position and the unlocking position, the stop #38 is halfway in the slot #36).
In re Claim 6, Vandervelde teaches wherein the plurality of recesses and a protruding end of the sliding latch have a circular form(see Fig. 3, the tips of #38 and the ends of slots #36 have a circular -curved- form).
In re Claim 11, Vandervelde teaches wherein the plurality of recesses are arranged in an arc extending in a plane perpendicular to the second axis (see Fig. 3, #36, showing recesses #36 extending in a plane perpendicular to the axis of rotation illustrated in Fig. 4).
In re Claim 12 Vandervelde teaches wherein the tool head attachment define a third axis extending between the second axis and a working point of the tool, and the sliding latch is arranged to extend at 45 degrees to the third axis (see Fig. 3, when stope #38 is located in either of the “side” recesses #36, the blade is at a 45 degree angle relative to the direction of movement of actuator/stop #38).
In re Claim 13, Vandervelde teaches wherein the second axis is perpendicular to the first axis (see axis of rotation in Fig. 4 in view of the direction of latch #38 in Fig. 3).
In re Claim 14, Vandervelde teaches wherein the tool is a shaver, trimmer or scraper, and the tool head attachment comprises a blade or blade assembly (see Fig. 1, #10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0263757 to Vandervelde in view of US 10,405,685 to Wong.
In re Claim 2, Vandervelde does not teach wherein the first actuator comprises a user-depressible button movable along the second axis.
However, Wong teaches that it is known in the art of rotating blades to provide a blade rotation mechanism wherein the user-depressible button is movable along the second axis. In the same field of invention, rotating blades in a hand-held device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to replace the blade rotation mechanism of Vandervelde with that of Wong. Doing is the substation of one known blade rotation locking mechanism with another known blade rotation locking mechanism to achieve the result of locking a blade relative to the handle (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, and 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is:
US 2016/0263757 to Vandervelde; and
US 10,405,685 to Wong.
In re Claim 3, Wong fails to teach a sliding latch. Both Wong and Vandervelde fail to teach the combination of a camming surface, on an actuator, set at an angle to a movement direction of the first actuator, and the camming surface is arranged to engage with the sliding latch and urge the sliding latch in a direction perpendicular to the movement direction of the first actuator. As such, Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claim 7, none of the cited prior art teach the structure of a blocker which is engageable with the sliding latch in the extended position to prevent the sliding latch from moving towards the retracted position. No reason was found to add this structure to Vandervelde. As such, Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Dependent Claims 8-10 are allowed by virtue of their dependence to Claim 7.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724