DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0359046 – hereinafter referred to as “Aoki”) in view of Maric et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0325678 – hereinafter referred to as “Maric”).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki teaches an optical apparatus (Figure 17), comprising:
a bracket (Figure 18 attachment portion 124, [0167]), comprising a bracket entrance pupil opening (Figure 18 opening in attachment portion 124, see labeled figure below) and at least one locking hole (Figure 18 screw hole 308, [0167]) adjacent to the bracket entrance pupil opening (Figure 18 screw hole 308 is adjacent to opening in attachment portion 124);
an image module (Figure 18 input device 20B, [0165])), disposed on the bracket (Figure 18 input device 20B is disposed on attachment portion 124), wherein the image module comprises an exit pupil area (Figure 18 exit pupil area of input device 20B, see labeled image below), and the exit pupil area faces the bracket entrance pupil opening (Figure 18 exit pupil area of input device 20B faces opening in attachment portion 124, see labeled figure below); and
an adjustment assembly (Figure 18 housing 20b), comprising:
an adjustment sheet (Figure 18 screwing portions 302, [0166]), fastened on a side of the image module facing the bracket (Figure 18 screwing portions 302 are fastened to input device 20B and face the bracket), comprising at least one adjustment hole (Figure 18 hole 304, [0166]) corresponding to the at least one locking hole (Figure 18 hole 304 corresponds to screw hole 308); and
at least one adjustment screw (Figure 18 adjusting screws 306), passing through the at least one adjustment hole of the adjustment sheet and being screwed into the at least one locking hole ([0168] adjusting screws 306 pass through holes 304 and are screwed into screw holes 308).
Aoki fails to teach an elastic member, disposed on the bracket and disposed around the bracket entrance pupil opening and the adjustment sheet abutted against the elastic member. However, Maric is related to Aoki with respect to imaging devices for head-mounted displays (Figure 4) and teaches elastic member (Figure 15 gasket 70, [0058]), disposed on the bracket and disposed around the bracket entrance pupil opening ([0058] gasket 70 presses against peripheral portions of lens 30) and the adjustment sheet abutted against the elastic member (Figure 15 gasket 70 is abutted against support structure portion 32-2). Maric further teaches using a gasket to help seal the imaging module from contaminants ([0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki to add an elastic member disposed on the bracket and around the entrance pupil opening with the adjustment sheet abutted against the elastic member as taught by Maric in order to seal the imaging module from contaminants (Maric [0057]).
Regarding claim 2, Aoki and Maric teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Aoki further teaches the bracket comprises a plurality of locking holes (Figure 18 plurality of screw holes 308, [0168]), and the adjustment sheet comprises a plurality of adjustment holes (Figure 18 plurality of holes 304, [0168]) respectively corresponding to the plurality of locking holes (Figure 18 screw holes 308 corresponds to holes 304), wherein a line connecting centers of at least two locking holes passes through an optical axis of the image module (Figure 17 and 18 line connecting screw holes on opposite side of input device 20B passes through optical axis).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki and Maric teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Aoki fails to teach the image module comprises a bearing portion, a groove opening is provided on a side of the bracket facing the image module, and the bearing portion passes through the adjustment sheet and is disposed in the groove opening of the bracket. However, Maric teaches the image module (Figure 15 lenses 30) comprises a bearing portion (Figure 15 extension on lens 30-2), a groove opening is provided on a side of the bracket facing the image module (Figure 15 support structure portion 32-1 has a groove), and the bearing portion passes through the adjustment sheet and is disposed in the groove opening of the bracket (Figure 15 extension of lens 30-2 passes through support structure portion 32-2 and is disposed in groove of support structure portion 32-1). Maric further teaches using a groove to seat a gasket allowing the gasket to press again the imaging module and inwardly facing portions of the support structure to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants ([0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki and Maric by adding a groove to the bracket and bearing portion to the image module disposed in the groove opening of the bracket in order to seat a gasket allowing the gasket to press again the imaging module and inwardly facing portions of the support structure to prevent ingress of environmental contaminants (Maric [0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki and Maric teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Aoki further teaches a glass frame body (Figure 1 frame 2, [0057]), wherein the bracket is disposed on the glass frame body (Figures 1 and 17 display unit 10 which includes attachment portion 124 is disposed on frame 2, [0057]); and
a waveguide sheet (Figure 17 light guide plate 30B), disposed between the glass frame body and the bracket (Figures 1 and 17 light guide plate 30B is disposed between frame 2 and attachment portion 124), wherein the waveguide sheet comprises an entrance pupil area (Figure 7 input portion 31B, [0082]), and the entrance pupil area corresponds to the bracket entrance pupil opening (Figures 7 and 18 input portion 31B corresponds to opening in attachment portion 124), wherein a first included angle is defined between a normal of the entrance pupil area and an optical axis of the image module (See labeled figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki and Maric teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 5. Aoki further teaches the bracket has an upper surface (Figure 18 upper surface of attachment portion 124) and a lower surface that are opposite to each other (Figure 18 lower surface of attachment portion 124 opposite upper surface of attachment portion 124), a second included angle is defined between the upper surface and the lower surface (Figure 18 angle between upper and lower surface of attachment portion 124 is 0° since surfaces are parallel, see labeled figure below), an angle of the second included angle is the same as an angle of the first included angle (See labeled figure below, angle between optical axis and normal of the entrance pupil area is 0° which is equal to angle upper and lower surfaces of attachment 124 which is 0°), the image module is disposed on the upper surface of the bracket (Figure 18 input device 20B is disposed on upper surface of attachment 124), and the waveguide sheet is parallel to the lower surface of the bracket (Figure 18 light guide
plate 30B is parallel to lower surface of attachment portion 124).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0359046) in view of Maric (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0325678) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hiraide (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0378163).
Regarding claim 4, Aoki and Maric teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 1. Aoki and Maric fail to teach the adjustment sheet further comprises at least one positioning hole, and the bracket further comprises at least one positioning post passing through the at least one positioning hole. However, Hiraide is related to Aoki with respect to an imaging device for a head-mounted display (Figure 11A) and teaches teach the adjustment sheet further comprises at least one positioning hole (Figure 11B hole 61x on fixing unit 61f, [0109]), and the bracket further comprises at least one positioning post passing through the at least one positioning hole (Figure 11A boss 39x disposed on tube 39, [0109] boss 39x is fitted to hole 61x). Hiraide further teaches using a post and hole to regulate the positioning of the tube (bracket) and fixing unit (adjustment sheet; [0109]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki and Maric by adding the position post and hole taught by Hiraide in order to regulated the positioning of the bracket and adjustment sheet (Hiraide [0109]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0359046) in view of Maric (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0325678) in further view of Osterhout et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0333393 – hereinafter referred to as “Osterhout”) and in further view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0196319 – hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki teaches an optical apparatus (Figure 17), comprising:
a bracket (Figure 18 attachment portion 124, [0167]), comprising a bracket entrance pupil opening (Figure 18 opening in attachment portion 124, see labeled figure below) and at least one locking hole (Figure 18 screw hole 308, [0167]) adjacent to the bracket entrance pupil opening (Figure 18 screw hole 308 is adjacent to opening in attachment portion 124);
an image module (Figure 18 input device 20B, [0165])), disposed on the bracket (Figure 18 input device 20B is disposed on attachment portion 124), wherein the image module comprises:
a housing (Figure 18 housing 20b), comprising an exit pupil area (Figure 18 exit pupil area of input device 20B, see labeled image below), wherein the exit pupil area faces the bracket entrance pupil opening(Figure 18 exit pupil area of input device 20B faces opening in attachment portion 124, see labeled figure below);
a light source (Figure 7 display element 21B, [0077]), disposed in the housing (Figures 7 and 18 display element 21B is disposed in housing 20b), wherein the light source generates light traveling in a first direction (Figure 7 light from display element 21B travels in a first direction), wherein the exit pupil area is located in the first direction (Figures 1 and 18 exit pupil area of input device 20B is located in the first direction);
a lens assembly (Figure 7 optical system 22B, [0079]), comprising a lens ([0079] optical system 22B is a collimating lens) and a first base body (Figure 18 housing 20b), wherein the lens is disposed on the first base body (Figures 7 and 8 optical system 22B is disposed in housing 20b)
an adjustment assembly (Figure 18 housing 20b), comprising:
an adjustment sheet (Figure 18 screwing portions 302, [0166]), fastened on a side of the image module facing the bracket (Figure 18 screwing portions 302 are fastened to input device 20B and face the bracket), comprising at least one adjustment hole (Figure 18 hole 304, [0166]) corresponding to the at least one locking hole (Figure 18 hole 304 corresponds to screw hole 308); and
at least one adjustment screw (Figure 18 adjusting screws 306), passing through the at least one adjustment hole of the adjustment sheet and being screwed into the at least one locking hole ([0168] adjusting screws 306 pass through holes 304 and are screwed into screw holes 308).
Aoki fails to teach an elastic member, disposed on the bracket and disposed around the bracket entrance pupil opening and the adjustment sheet abutted against the elastic member. However, Maric is related to Aoki with respect to imaging devices for head-mounted displays (Figure 4) and teaches elastic member (Figure 15 gasket 70, [0058]), disposed on the bracket and disposed around the bracket entrance pupil opening ([0058] gasket 70 presses against peripheral portions of lens 30) and the adjustment sheet abutted against the elastic member (Figure 15 gasket 70 is abutted against support structure portion 32-2). Maric further teaches using a gasket to help seal the imaging module from contaminants ([0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki to add an elastic member disposed on the bracket and around the entrance pupil opening with the adjustment sheet abutted against the elastic member as taught by Maric in order to seal the imaging module from contaminants (Maric [0057]).
Aoki and Maric fail to teach the light comprises first polarized light,
the lens assembly, located on an optical path in a second direction that is perpendicular to an optical path in the first direction,
a modulation assembly, located downstream of the optical path of the lens assembly in the second direction and fastened on the housing, wherein the modulation assembly comprises a modulator and a second base body, the modulator is fastened on the second base body, the modulator converts the first polarized light into second polarized light that is orthogonal to the first polarized light, the second base body comprises a second thread matching the first thread, and the first base body is screwed to the second thread of the second base body through the first thread; and
a polarizing beam splitter, disposed in the housing, located downstream of an optical path of the light source, and located between the light source, the lens assembly and the exit pupil area, wherein the polarizing beam splitter is capable of reflecting the first polarized light, and the second polarized light is capable of passing through the polarizing beam splitter.
However, Osterhout is related to Aoki with respect to an imaging device for a head-mounted display (Figure 68) and teaches the light comprises first polarized light (Figure 68 polarized light source 6850, [0437]), the lens assembly (Figure 18 field lens 6820), located on an optical path in second direction (Figure 68 lens 6820 is in second direction) that is perpendicular to an optical path in the first direction ([0436] reflective display is illuminated with a front light arranged to direct the illumination at angles around 90 degrees from the active reflective surface of the reflective display),
a modulation assembly (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810, [0440]), located downstream of the optical path of the lens assembly in the second direction (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810 is in second direction) and fastened on the housing (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810 is in a housing; [0645] for example housing for optics 14510), wherein the modulation assembly comprises a modulator (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810, [0440]) and the modulator converts the first polarized light into second polarized light that is orthogonal to the first polarized light ([0440] image content from reflective image source 6810 has a polarization state opposite to the polarization state of the illumination light), and
a polarizing beam splitter (Figure 68 reflective polarizer 6830 is a polarizing beam splitter, [0439]), disposed in the housing ([0645] for example housing for optics 14510), located downstream of an optical path of the light source (Figure 68 reflective polarizer 6830 is downstream of polarized light source 6850), and located between the light source, the lens assembly and the exit pupil area (Figure 68 reflective polarizer 6830 is between polarized light source 6850, field lens 6820, and exit pupil area), wherein the polarizing beam splitter is capable of reflecting the first polarized light ([0439] illumination light is reflected), and the second polarized light is capable of passing through the polarizing beam splitter ([0440] image light passes through reflective polarizer 6830). Osterhout further teaches this arrangement provides an optical assembly that is lightweight, small, and produces a high quality image ([0436]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki and Maric by using the imaging module taught by Osterhout in order to have an optical assembly that is lightweight, small, and produces a high quality image (Osterhout [0436]).
Aoki, Maric, and Osterhout fail to teach the first base body comprises a first thread and a second base body, the modulator is fastened on the second base body, the second base body comprises a second thread matching the first thread, and the first base body is screwed to the second thread of the second base body through the first thread. However, Cheng is related to Aoki with respect to an image module for a head-mounted display (Figure 12) and teaches the first base body (Figure 12 shell body 218b, [0047]) comprises a first thread (Figure 12 threaded portion S2) and a second base body (Figure 12 shell body 218a), the modulator is fastened on the second base body ([0047] light valve is fastened to shell body 218a), the second base body comprises a second thread (Figure 12 threaded portion S1) matching the first thread ([0047] threaded portions S1 and S2 are screwed together), and the first base body is screwed to the second thread of the second base body through the first thread ([0047] threaded portions S1 and S2 are screwed together). Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP 2144.04 Section V. In addition screwing together elements is a well-known method of connecting components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki, Maric, and Osterhout by providing a first base and second base fasten to the modulator with corresponding threaded portions allowing the first and second base to be screwed together since separating a structure in to separate elements only involves routine skill in the art and screwing components together is a well-known method of connecting components.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0359046) in view of Maric (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0325678), Osterhout (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0333393), and Cheng (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0196319) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Ran (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0299781).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki, Maric, Osterhout, and Cheng teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Aoki, Maric, Osterhout, and Cheng fails to teach the second base body of the modulation assembly comprises a buckling member, the housing comprises a buckling portion, and the buckling member is buckled to the buckling portion. However, Ran is related to Aoki with respect to head-mounted displays and teaches the second base body (Figure 34 housing 312, [0221]) comprises a buckling member (Figure 34 buckling member 3123), the housing (Figure 37 housing 322) comprises a buckling portion (Figure 37 buckling member 3223), and the buckling member is buckled to the buckling portion ([0221] buckling member 3123 is buckled to buckling member 3223). Ran further teaches buckling housing members in order to fix housings in place ([0282]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical apparatus taught by Aoki, Maric, Osterhout, and Cheng by using buckling members as taught by Ran to buckle the housing and second base together in order to fix the second base to the housing (Ran [0282]) and buckles are well-known connection means in the art.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterhout (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0333393) in view of Cheng (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0196319).
Regarding claim 12, Osterhout teaches an image module (Figure 68), comprising:
a light source (Figure 68 polarized light source 6850, [0437]), configured to generate light traveling in a first direction (Figure 68 illumination light 6837 travels in a first direction), wherein the light comprises first polarized light ([0437] polarized light source 6850);
a lens assembly (Figure 18 field lens 6820), located on an optical path in a second direction (Figure 68 lens 6820 is in second direction) that is perpendicular to an optical path in the first direction, comprising a lens and a first base body ([0436] reflective display is illuminated with a front light arranged to direct the illumination at angles around 90 degrees from the active reflective surface of the reflective display), wherein the lens is disposed on the first base body (Figure 68 field lens 6820 is in a housing; [0645] for example housing for optics 14510),
a modulation assembly (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810, [0440]), located downstream of the optical path of the lens assembly in the second direction (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810 is in second direction), wherein the modulation assembly comprises a modulator (Figure 68 reflective image source 6810, [0440]) and the modulator converts the first polarized light into second polarized light that is orthogonal to the first polarized light ([0440] image content from reflective image source 6810 has a polarization state opposite to the polarization state of the illumination light), and
a polarizing beam splitter (Figure 68 reflective polarizer 6830 is a polarizing beam splitter, [0439]), located downstream of an optical path of the light source (Figure 68 reflective polarizer 6830 is downstream of polarized light source 6850), and located between the light source, the lens assembly and the exit pupil area (Figure 68 reflective polarizer 6830 is between polarized light source 6850, field lens 6820, and exit pupil area), wherein the polarizing beam splitter is capable of reflecting the first polarized light ([0439] illumination light is reflected), and the second polarized light is capable of passing through the polarizing beam splitter ([0440] image light passes through reflective polarizer 6830).
Osterhout fails to teach the first base body comprises a first thread, and a second base body, the modulator is fastened on the second base body, the second base body comprises a second thread matching the first thread, and the first base body is screwed to the second thread of the second base body through the first thread. However, Cheng is related to Osterhout with respect to an image module for a head-mounted display (Figure 12) and teaches the first base body (Figure 12 shell body 218b, [0047]) comprises a first thread (Figure 12 threaded portion S2) and a second base body (Figure 12 shell body 218a), the modulator is fastened on the second base body ([0047] light valve is fastened to shell body 218a), the second base body comprises a second thread (Figure 12 threaded portion S1) matching the first thread ([0047] threaded portions S1 and S2 are screwed together), and the first base body is screwed to the second thread of the second base body through the first thread ([0047] threaded portions S1 and S2 are screwed together). Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP 2144.04 Section V. In addition screwing together elements is a well-known method of connecting components.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image module taught by Osterhout by providing a first base and second base fasten to the modulator with corresponding threaded portions allowing the first and second base to be screwed together since separating a structure in to separate elements only involves routine skill in the art and screwing components together is a well-known method of connecting components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the closest prior art of record Aoki, Meric, Osterhout, and Cheng teach all the limitations of the claimed invention with respect to claim 7. Aoki, Meric, Osterhout, and Cheng fail to teach or reasonably suggest, alone or in combination, “a window is provided at a position of the housing facing the second thread, the first base body further comprises a toggling portion, the toggling portion is exposed through the window, and the first base body is rotatable in relation to the second base body through toggling of the toggling portion” in combination with the intervening limitations of the claims (Cheng [0047] teaches first shell body 218a is rotatable relative to second shell body 218b but this modification would not have been obvious in view of the teachings of Aoki and Osterhout). Moreover, modifying the system to satisfy such a condition would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
As such, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach the cumulative details of claim 7, specifically the limitation: “a window is provided at a position of the housing facing the second thread, the first base body further comprises a toggling portion, the toggling portion is exposed through the window, and the first base body is rotatable in relation to the second base body through toggling of the toggling portion”
Claims 9-10 depend from claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Masuda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0004004) discloses an optical apparatus configured to adjust the position of display module using adjustment screws.
Alex Rickel
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/A.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872