DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Office Action dated 12/5/25 is superseded with the Office Action presented herewith.
The response filed 12/1/25 is entered. Claims 2 and 9 are cancelled. Claim 15 is new. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/1/25 have been fully considered but they are directed to newly amended claims and therefore believed to be answered by and thus moot in view of new grounds of rejections presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo, KR-20210105740, in view of Solomon, US-7048422.
In regards to claim 1, Pyo discloses an information device for controlling a display of information (Fig. 1, display device), comprising: a LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) having a surface with a first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) and a second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate); a LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel), wherein the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) is configurable and a part of the first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate); a control interface (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes), wherein the control interface (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) and is configured to receive a control command from a control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) to adapt the display of information on the first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) of the information device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”), wherein the control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) is part of the information device (Fig. 1, display device), and wherein the display of the information on the first area of the LED panel includes at least one information object comprising pictures in a form of pictograms that are displayed in a static or dynamic manner (Par. 0011 “display device”, i.e. presenting information, wherein anything displayed can be considered a static or dynamic “pictogram”).
Pyo does not disclose expressly the control device is part of the information device and is wirelessly connectable to the control interface of the information device.
Solomon discloses a transparent display (Col. 3, 28-29 “transparent emergency vehicle signaling apparatus (EVSA)”, i.e. display) comprising: a control device (Fig. 5, 514 remote control) is part of the information device (Fig. 5, information device) and is wirelessly connectable (Fig. 5, wireless connection of 514 remote control) to the control interface (Fig. 5, 540 cable controlling EVSA 102) of the information device (Fig. 5, information device).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the information device of Pyo can be controlled via remote control in the manner of Solomon. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide control operations at a distance.
In regards to claim 8, Pyo discloses display system (Fig. 1, display device) comprising an information device (Fig. 1, display device), the information device comprising: a LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) having a surface with a first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) and a second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate); a LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel), wherein the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) is configurable and a part of the first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate); a control interface (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes), wherein the control interface (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) and is configured to receive a control command from a control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) to adapt the display of information on the first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) of the information device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”), , wherein the control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) is part of the information device (Fig. 1, display device), and wherein the display of the information on the first area of the LED panel includes at least one information object comprising pictures in a form of pictograms that are displayed in a static or dynamic manner (Par. 0011 “display device”, i.e. presenting information, wherein anything displayed can be considered a static or dynamic “pictogram”).
Pyo does not disclose expressly the control device is part of the information device and is wirelessly connectable to the control interface of the information device.
Solomon discloses a transparent display (Col. 3, 28-29 “transparent emergency vehicle signaling apparatus (EVSA)”, i.e. display) comprising: a control device (Fig. 5, 514 remote control) is part of the information device (Fig. 5, information device) and is wirelessly connectable (Fig. 5, wireless connection of 514 remote control) to the control interface (Fig. 5, 540 cable controlling EVSA 102) of the information device (Fig. 5, information device).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the information device of Pyo can be controlled via remote control in the manner of Solomon. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide control operations at a distance.
In regards to claim 3, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose the control interface (Pyo Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate).
In regards to claim 4, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) applied to at least a part of the surface of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate), the fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) being configured to apply the information device (Pyo Fig. 1, display device) on a second surface of an object (Pyo Par. 0043 “housing 10 may be installed on the window frame of the glass window 3 or on the wall 1 above the window frame”).
In regards to claim 5, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose at least the first area (Pyo Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a transparent property (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate; Pyo Par. 0057 “flexible transparent substrate 40 preferably has a transmittance of 80 to 95%”) that is configurable by the control device (Pyo Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Pyo Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”; output of light emitting devices changes transparency of the substrate).
In regards to claim 6, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a luminance value of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) is configurable between a security mode and maintained mode (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value), wherein in the security mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of at least 2 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value) and wherein in the maintained mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of about 500 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value).
In regards to claim 7, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a contrast property of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) between a green reference color and a white reference color is configurable between an x-coordinate-value and a y-coordinate-value in a chromaticity diagram as defined in the ISO 3 864-4 standard (a display can control hue and brightness according to this standard).
In regards to claim 10, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose the control interface (Pyo Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate).
In regards to claim 11, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) applied to at least a part of the surface of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate), the fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) being configured to apply the information device (Pyo Fig. 1, display device) on a second surface of an object (Pyo Par. 0043 “housing 10 may be installed on the window frame of the glass window 3 or on the wall 1 above the window frame”).
In regards to claim 12, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose at least the first area (Pyo Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a transparent property (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate; Pyo Par. 0057 “flexible transparent substrate 40 preferably has a transmittance of 80 to 95%”) that is configurable by the control device (Pyo Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Pyo Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”; output of light emitting devices changes transparency of the substrate).
In regards to claim 13, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a luminance value of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) is configurable between a security mode and maintained mode (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value), wherein in the security mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of at least 2 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value) and wherein in the maintained mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of about 500 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value).
In regards to claim 14, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a contrast property of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) between a green reference color and a white reference color is configurable between an x-coordinate-value and a y-coordinate-value in a chromaticity diagram as defined in the ISO 3 864-4 standard (a display can control hue and brightness according to this standard).
In regards to claim 15, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, the fixing component comprises a mechanical component, adhesive component, or magnetic component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2628 2/17/26