DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The response filed 6/18/26 is entered. Claims 1, 3, 8, and 10 are amended. Claims 2 and 9 are cancelled. Claim 15 is new. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-15 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues “Applicant submits that if the "control interface" is on/in the LED film (as claimed), then the rejection must identify where Solomon discloses a wireless interface on the film (or on the display apparatus) to which a control device that is itself part of the same information device is wirelessly connectable; neither reference is cited for that proposition. Solomon's remote control is not a "part of the information device" as claimed, and is a mere user accessory. Further, the wireless link is in Solomon is not the claimed "control interface" that is part of the LED film, rather, it is a separate receiver/controller. Thus, the claims are not obvious.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The control interface device as rejected is the 60 transparent electrodes of Pyo, which are on the substrate 40 the LED film, i.e. integrated with the LED film. The control device is the controller 80 of Pyo, which as modified by Solomon becomes the remote control of Solomon. The remote control of Solomon as combined is part of the information device, i.e. the display device system of Pyo, as it controls the display device system. The remote control of Solomon controls the controller of Solomon which drives the cable 540, which is equivalent to the transparent electrode control interface device of Pyo. As such, the combination teaches the claim language as it is currently presented. As such, the combination teaches the claim language as it is currently presented. Further, As the control interface device is not defined in the claims the transparent electrodes teach the current claim language.
Applicant's disclosure, and the claims as amended, treat the "control interface" as a structural interface on the LED film/device that receives control commands and drives the LED panel display, while the "control device" is optionally integrated into the information device and connectable (including wirelessly) to that interface (SPEC [0016]-[0019], [0024]-[0026]). By contrast, Pyo's transparent electrode is a power/signal delivery conductor to LEDs (not a command-receiving interface from a wireless control device), and Solomon's "remote control" communicates with a receiver/controller rather than being disclosed as integrated into the display apparatus or wirelessly connectable to a film-borne control interface as claimed (Pyo [0073]-[0085]; Solomon, Fig. 5), so the combination as actually evidenced in the cited references does not teach the amended limitation and the rejection should be withdrawn (OA p. 6-7, 8).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The control interface device as rejected is the 60 transparent electrodes of Pyo, which are on the substrate 40 the LED film, i.e. integrated with the LED film. The control device is the controller 80 of Pyo, which as modified by Solomon becomes the remote control of Solomon. The remote control of Solomon as combined is part of the information device, i.e. the display device system of Pyo, as it controls the display device system. The remote control of Solomon controls the controller of Solomon which drives the cable 540, which is equivalent to the transparent electrode control interface device of Pyo. As such, the combination teaches the claim language as it is currently presented. Further, As the control interface device is not defined in the claims the transparent electrodes teach the current claim language.
Further clarification of the control device and control interface device, would overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo, KR-20210105740, in view of Solomon, US-7048422.
In regards to claim 1, Pyo discloses an information device for controlling a display of information (Fig. 1, display device system), comprising: an LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) having a surface with a first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) and a second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate); an LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel), wherein the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) is configurable and a part of the first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate); a control interface device (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) that is integrated with the LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate), wherein the control interface device (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) and is configured to receive a control command from a control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) to adapt the display of information on the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) of the information device (Fig. 1, display device system; Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”), wherein the control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) is part of the information device (Fig. 1, display device system), and wherein the display of the information on the LED panel includes at least one information object comprising pictures in a form of pictograms that are displayed in a static or dynamic manner (Par. 0011 “display device system”, i.e. presenting information, wherein anything displayed can be considered a static or dynamic “pictogram”) and that are received by the control interface device (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) from the control device as the control command (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”), and are caused to be displayed on the LED panel by the control interface device (Par. 0011 “display device system”, i.e. presenting information, wherein anything displayed can be considered a static or dynamic “pictogram”).
Pyo does not disclose expressly the control device is wirelessly connectable to the control interface of the information device; pictures that are received wirelessly.
Solomon discloses a transparent display (Col. 3, 28-29 “transparent emergency vehicle signaling apparatus (EVSA)”, i.e. display) comprising: a control device (Fig. 5, 514 remote control) and is wirelessly connectable (Fig. 5, wireless connection of 514 remote control) to the control interface (Fig. 5, 540 cable controlling EVSA 102) of the information device (Fig. 5, information device); pictures that are received wirelessly (Fig. 5, 514 remote control is wirelessly connected to 540 cable controlling EVSA 102; Col. 6, 21-22 “local remote control 514 designed for short range communication with controller 500 is provided”; Col. 6, 11-12 “controller 500 which controls all aspects of the display provided on EVSA 102”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the information device of Pyo can be controlled via remote control in the manner of Solomon. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide control operations at a distance.
In regards to claim 8, Pyo discloses display system (Fig. 1, display device system) comprising an information device (Fig. 1, display device system), the information device comprising: an LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) having a surface with a first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) and a second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate); an LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel), wherein the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) is configurable and a part of the first area (Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate); a control interface device (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) that is integrated with the LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate), wherein the control interface device (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the second area (Fig. 3, bottom area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) and is configured to receive a control command from a control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) to adapt the display of information on the LED panel (Fig. 3, a plurality of 50 light emitting devices create a panel) of the information device (Fig. 1, display device system; Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”), wherein the control device (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”) is part of the information device (Fig. 1, display device system), and wherein the display of the information on the LED panel includes at least one information object comprising pictures in a form of pictograms that are displayed in a static or dynamic manner (Par. 0011 “display device system”, i.e. presenting information, wherein anything displayed can be considered a static or dynamic “pictogram”) and that are received by the control interface device (Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) from the control device as the control command (Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”), and are caused to be displayed on the LED panel by the control interface device (Par. 0011 “display device system”, i.e. presenting information, wherein anything displayed can be considered a static or dynamic “pictogram”).
Pyo does not disclose expressly the control device is wirelessly connectable to the control interface of the information device; pictures that are received wirelessly.
Solomon discloses a transparent display (Col. 3, 28-29 “transparent emergency vehicle signaling apparatus (EVSA)”, i.e. display) comprising: a control device (Fig. 5, 514 remote control) and is wirelessly connectable (Fig. 5, wireless connection of 514 remote control) to the control interface (Fig. 5, 540 cable controlling EVSA 102) of the information device (Fig. 5, information device); pictures that are received wirelessly (Fig. 5, 514 remote control is wirelessly connected to 540 cable controlling EVSA 102; Col. 6, 21-22 “local remote control 514 designed for short range communication with controller 500 is provided”; Col. 6, 11-12 “controller 500 which controls all aspects of the display provided on EVSA 102”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the information device of Pyo can be controlled via remote control in the manner of Solomon. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide control operations at a distance.
In regards to claim 3, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose the control interface device (Pyo Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate).
In regards to claim 4, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) applied to at least a part of the surface of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate), the fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) being configured to apply the information device (Pyo Fig. 1, display device system) on a second surface of an object (Pyo Par. 0043 “housing 10 may be installed on the window frame of the glass window 3 or on the wall 1 above the window frame”).
In regards to claim 5, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose at least the first area (Pyo Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a transparent property (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate; Pyo Par. 0057 “flexible transparent substrate 40 preferably has a transmittance of 80 to 95%”) that is configurable by the control device (Pyo Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Pyo Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”; output of light emitting devices changes transparency of the substrate).
In regards to claim 6, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a luminance value of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) is configurable between a security mode and maintained mode (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value), wherein in the security mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of at least 2 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value) and wherein in the maintained mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of about 500 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value).
In regards to claim 7, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a contrast property of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) between a green reference color and a white reference color is configurable between an x-coordinate-value and a y-coordinate-value in a chromaticity diagram as defined in the ISO 3 864-4 standard (a display can control hue and brightness according to this standard).
In regards to claim 10, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose the control interface device (Pyo Fig. 3, 60 transparent electrodes) is part of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate).
In regards to claim 11, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) applied to at least a part of the surface of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate), the fixing component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll) being configured to apply the information device (Pyo Fig. 1, display device system) on a second surface of an object (Pyo Par. 0043 “housing 10 may be installed on the window frame of the glass window 3 or on the wall 1 above the window frame”).
In regards to claim 12, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose at least the first area (Pyo Fig. 3, top area of 40 transparent substrate) of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a transparent property (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate; Pyo Par. 0057 “flexible transparent substrate 40 preferably has a transmittance of 80 to 95%”) that is configurable by the control device (Pyo Fig. 3, 80 control unit; Pyo Par. 0073 “the transparent electrode 60 is connected to the control unit 80 and serves as a passage for transmitting power and electrical signals to the light emitting device 50.”; output of light emitting devices changes transparency of the substrate).
In regards to claim 13, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a luminance value of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) is configurable between a security mode and maintained mode (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value), wherein in the security mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of at least 2 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value) and wherein in the maintained mode the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) has a luminance value of about 500 cd/in2 (Pyo Par. 0040 “A predetermined character or picture can be expressed by operating the light emitting device 50 located on the flexible transparent substrate 40”; outputting a black picture, i.e. security mode with low luminance value, and outputting a normal image, i.e. maintained mode with high luminance value).
In regards to claim 14, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, disclose a contrast property of the LED film (Pyo Fig. 2-7, 40 transparent substrate) between a green reference color and a white reference color is configurable between an x-coordinate-value and a y-coordinate-value in a chromaticity diagram as defined in the ISO 3 864-4 standard (a display can control hue and brightness according to this standard).
In regards to claim 15, Pyo and Solomon, as combined above, the fixing component comprises a mechanical component, adhesive component, or magnetic component (Pyo Fig. 2, 10 housing + 20 winding roll).
Conclusion
/CORY A ALMEIDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 6/25/26