DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on 5/22/2025 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B forms).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 10-11, 15-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niu et al. (US 2026/0039716, hereinafter “Niu”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Niu discloses a device in a wireless communication system (Fig. 5), the device (terminal, Fig. 5, implemented as communication apparatus 300, Fig. 27, memory and processor to execute instructions, para. 0005) comprising:
a transceiver (communication interface 303, Fig. 27); and
a controller coupled with the transceiver (processor 302 connected to communication interface 303 via bus 304, Fig. 27) and configured to:
receive, from a reader, first information for a device to reader (D2R) transmission (S202, base station sends system information to the terminal, the information including time domain resource info, and frequency domain resource info, para. 0100, Fig. 5); and
transmit, to the reader, the D2R transmission based on the first information (S203, terminal sends response information for the system information to the base station, para. 0104, Fig. 5),
wherein the first information includes at least one of information on a frequency domain resource, information on a time domain resource, or a chip duration (the information including time domain resource info and frequency domain resource info, para. 0100-0101).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Niu discloses a reader in a wireless communication system (base station in the system of Fig. 5, implemented as communication apparatus 300, Fig. 27, memory and processor to execute instructions, para. 0005), the reader comprising:
a transceiver (communication interface 303, Fig. 27); and
a controller coupled with the transceiver (processor 302 connected to communication interface 303 via bus 304, Fig. 27) and configured to:
transmit, to a device, first information for a device to reader (D2R) transmission (S202, base station sends system information to the terminal, the information including time domain resource info, and frequency domain resource info, para. 0100, Fig. 5);
and receive, from the device, the D2R transmission based on the first information (S203, terminal sends response information for the system information to the base station, para. 0104, Fig. 5),
wherein the first information includes at least one of information on a frequency domain resource, information on a time domain resource, or a chip duration (the information including time domain resource info and frequency domain resource info, para. 0100-0101).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, Niu further discloses receiving, from the reader, a paging message including at least one identifier of the device or an identifier of a group for multiple devices (auxiliary info also includes information related to a terminal that is paged or receives the auxiliary information including terminal identification, para. 0086, 0089-0090),
Wherein the device includes an ambient-internet of things (A-IoT) device (AIoT Layer, of the terminal, Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (US 2026/0039716, hereinafter “Niu”) in view of Cheng et al. (US 2025/0150507, hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Niu discloses everything applied to claim 1 above, but does not expressly disclose performing a modulation for the D2R transmission based on a modulation scheme, and wherein the modulation scheme includes an on-off keying (OOK) modulation scheme.
Cheng also discloses an A-IoT system in which the Device to Reader (D2R) link employs on-off keying (OOK) for baseband modulation (para. 0150).
Because both Niu and Cheng disclose A-IoT systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, to substitute one data processing scheme for another, for the predictable result of implementing OOK modulation for the D2R transmission, as suggested by Cheng.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17, 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/David S Huang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 6/27/2026