DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Applicant's submission filed on 02/06/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-10 and 63-72 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaked et. al. US PgPub. 2021/0312915 (cited in IDS) in view of Mosseri, et. al. US PgPub 2020/0335121.
Regarding claim 1, Shaked teaches an audio signal processing apparatus comprising one or more processors and one or more memories storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more processors, to cause the audio signal processing apparatus to: input a multi-source audio signal sample associated with at least one audio capture device to an audio feature extraction model that is configured to generate one or more isolate source audio features from the multi-source audio signal sample(see Shaked, [0028, 0029, 0040] discusses microphones 110 ( audio capture devices) connected to an echo cancellation engine 140, an audio-only separation engine 150, an audio-visual separation engine 160 ( separation engine) ( as shown in Shaked, Fig. 1)); input a video signal sample associated with at least one video capture device to a video feature extraction model that is configured to generate one or more speaker source features from the video signal sample (see Shaked, [0032,0036-0038] discusses the camera or cameras 120 may record, capture, or otherwise sample images, the audio preprocessing engine 111 is configured to isolate specific audio channels based on visual gesture detection, the video input includes detected faces( speaker source features), the engine 111 may be configured to calculate the angle and position of each face relative to the microphone or microphones , Faces may be detected using facial recognition methods ); input the one or more isolate source audio features and one or more speaker source features to a multi-modal audio source channelization model that is configured to generate a source separated channel audio sample based at least in part on the one or more isolate source audio features and on the one or more speaker source features(see Shaked, [0043] The audio-visual separation engine 160 allows for the separation of audio inputs into component channels, by audio source, based on video data); and output the source separated channel audio sample to one or more audio output devices (see Shaked, [0045] he audio-only separation engine 150 is configured to separate audio inputs into component channels, wherein each component channel reflects one audio source captured in the audio input. [0060, 0062] The audio-only separation engine 150 may be configured to separate an audio input 410 into at least one audio-only separation vocal output 420 and at least one audio-only separation remainder output 421. In a further embodiment, when the human voice is included in the audio input 410, the audio separation engine may be configured to split the audio input 410 into two channels, wherein a single channel includes a specific human voice, and where the remaining channel includes the contents of the audio input 410 without the selected specific human voice ).
Shaked teaches input the one or more isolate source audio features and one or more speaker source features to a multi-modal audio source channelization model that is configured to generate a source separated channel audio sample based at least in part on the one or more isolate source audio features and on the one or more speaker source features based on location based selection, Mosseri further teaches input the one or more isolate source audio features and one or more speaker source features to a multi-modal audio source channelization model that is configured to generate a source separated channel audio sample based at least in part on the one or more isolate source audio features and on the one or more speaker source features (see Mosseri, [0051, 0053, 0056] In the visual stream, the system 100 extracts visual features 120 from the stream of frames 107 for the respective speakers 110A-B in the video 105. In the audio stream, the system 100 extracts audio features 125 from the audio soundtrack 115 for the respective speakers 110A-B in the video 105. The system 100 combines the visual features 120 and the audio features 125 of the video 105 to obtain joint audio-visual embeddings 130 of the video 105. A joint audio-visual embedding represents both audio features of a soundtrack and visual features of a face; Mosseri, Fig. 1); and output the source separated channel audio sample to one or more audio output devices(see Mosseri, [0056] The system 100 generates, from the processed audio-visual embeddings 130 of the video 105, an isolated speech signal 140A for speaker A 110A and an isolated speech signal 140B for speaker B 110B).
Shaked and Mosseri are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both relate to multi modal audio source separation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shaked to audio separation based on image processing with audio-visual speech separation using neural system teachings of Mosseri to produce an isolated speech signal for each speaker, in which only the speech of the respective speaker can be heard (see Mosseri, [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Shaked further teaches wherein the multi-source audio signal sample is captured by multiple audio capture devices over multiple audio channels (see Shaked, [0028, 0036] discuss different microphones/arrays, accept one or more audio sources ).
Regarding claim 3, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Shaked further teaches wherein the multi-source audio signal sample is captured by one audio capture device over a single audio channel (see Shaked, [0035, 0036, 0037] discuss different microphones/arrays, accept one or more audio sources, known audio sources( single audio channel) ).
Regarding claim 4, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Mosseri further teaches wherein the multi-modal audio source channelization model is configured to further generate a second source separated channel audio sample based at least in part on the one or more isolate source audio features and on the one or more speaker source features, and output the second source separated channel audio sample to one or more audio output devices (see Mosseri, [0056] The system 100 generates, from the processed audio-visual embeddings 130 of the video 105, an isolated speech signal 140A for speaker A 110A and an isolated speech signal 140B for speaker B 110B). The same motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 5, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 4. Mosseri further teaches wherein the source separated channel audio sample is associated with a first target audio source and the second source separated channel audio sample is associated with a second target audio source (see Mosseri, [0056, 0090, 0091] The system 100 generates, from the processed audio-visual embeddings 130 of the video 105, an isolated speech signal 140A for speaker A 110A and an isolated speech signal 140B for speaker B 110B; he system determines, from the audio-visual embedding for the video, a respective spectrogram mask of the one or more speakers (step 312). As described above with reference to FIG. 2, the system can process the audio-visual embedding for the video through a masking neural network, where the masking neural network generates a respective spectrogram mask for the one or more speakers(first, second target audio sample).The system determines, from the respective spectrogram masks and the corresponding audio soundtrack, a respective isolated speech signal for each speaker(first, second target audio sample) (step 314).). The same motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 6, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Shaked further teaches wherein the one or more speaker source features generated by the video feature extraction model comprise speaking indications associated with human facial images of the video signal sample(see Shaked, [0038, 0076, 0077, Fig. 9] discusses faces may be detected using facial recognition methods including mouth position detector ( 930) as the initiation of a person to talk is an example for gesture-based activation based on facial features).
Regarding claim 7, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Shaked further teaches wherein the one or more speaker source features generated by the video feature extraction model comprise speaking indications associated with human gesture images of the video signal sample (see Shaked, [0076, 0077, 0107, fig. 9] discusses the initiation of a person to talk is an example for gesture-based activation. The gesture detector 940 is configured to detect human gestures.).
Regarding claim 8, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Shaked further teaches wherein the audio signal processing apparatus is further configured to input the multi-source audio signal sample to a source spatialization model to generate isolate source spatial input data associated with the one or more isolate source audio features(see Shaked, [0029, 0037] discusses the audio preprocessing engine 111 may be configured to generate a beamformer, normalizing and consolidating the audio inputs from the microphones 110 to capture audio originating from specific sources, positions, or angles), and wherein the one or more isolate source audio features, the isolate source spatial input data, and the one or more speaker source features are input to the multi-modal audio source channelization model to generate the source separated channel audio sample (see Shaked, [0030, 0042, 0085, 0086, 0094, 0095], Fig. 7) discusses based on the detection and tracking, the engine 170 may be configured to direct a beamformer generated by the audio preprocessing engine 111 to the speaker and not to background noise. For example, if there are a number of passengers in a car, and a passenger in the back seat speaks, the engine 170 would direct the beamformer to the speaking passenger and not to the driver. In this way, the voice separations performed by the engines 130 through 160 may be made more accurate. The 3D microphone input and angle positions are calculated and the beamformer is used to separate channels).
Regarding claim 9, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 8. Shaked further teaches wherein the source separated channel audio sample comprises isolate source spatial output data (see Shaked, [0095] At S760, channels are separated by their contents. The separation of channels may include some or all aspects of the audio-visual separation engine 160 described in FIG. 5, below, the audio-only separation engine 150 described in FIG. 4, below, other, like, separation methods or systems, and any combination thereof. In an embodiment, the separation of channels by their contents may include the isolation of sounds from their individual sources.).
Regarding claim 10, Shaked in view of Mosseri teaches the audio signal processing apparatus of claim 1. Shaked further teaches wherein the video signal sample is a multi-feed video signal sample associated with two or more video capture devices (see Shaked, [0032, 0061] discusses the multiple cameras 120 types, arrangements).
Regarding claim 63, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 1 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 64, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 2 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 65, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 3 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 66, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 4 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 4.
Regarding claim 67, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 5 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 68, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 6 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 6.
Regarding claim 69, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 7 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 7.
Regarding claim 70, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 8 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 8.
Regarding claim 71, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 9 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 9.
Regarding claim 72, is directed to a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim presented in claim 10 and is rejected under the same grounds stated above regarding claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gao, R., et. al. (2021, June). Visualvoice: Audio-visual speech separation with cross-modal consistency. In 2021 IEEE/CVF Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR) (pp. 15490-15500) teaches leveraging the speaker’s face appearance as an additional prior to isolate the corresponding vocal qualities speakers are likely to produce (see Gao, abstract).
Nefian et al US PgPub. 2005/0228673 teaches The audio and video are separated and corresponding portions of the audio are mapped to the visual features for purposes of isolating audio associated with each speaker and for purposes of filtering out noise associated with the audio (see Nefian, abstract).
/NANDINI SUBRAMANI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2656