DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2025 is/are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Office Action Summary
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner), further in view of Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner) and Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1), further in view of Kokura (US 2021/0358081 A1).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner) and Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1), further in view of Xu (US 2018/0373999 A1).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner), Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1), and Kokura (US 2021/0358081 A1), further in view of Dierickx (US 2006/0239580 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner), further in view of Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 1, Liu teaches method of training a neural network configured to perform image processing operations (Figure 2; Figure 3; and Paragraph [0044]), the method comprising:
the generation of a modified image, by a modified data generator, based on a first image(Figure 6; Figure 10; Paragraph [0149]: “Each training sample in the training data set includes an input image corresponding to a ground truth target image, where a portion of the pixel data of the input image is invalidated by adding holes to the ground truth target image”; and Paragraph [0150]: “a number of hole patterns are defined (e.g., thousands of hole patterns) and randomly applied to the ground truth target images to generate the input images”);
the supplying of the modified image to the network (Figure 2; and Paragraph [0035]: “the neural network 210 receives an input that includes an image 202 and a corresponding mask 204”);
the generation, by the network, of a corrected image (Figure 2; and Paragraph [0037]: “the neural network 210 generates an output that includes an image 212. The image 212 includes synthesized pixel data for at least a portion of the invalid pixels of the image 202”);
the supplying of the corrected image, by the network, and the supplying of an indication of the position of the at least one modified pixel, by the generator, to a computing circuit the generation of an error value, based on the application of a loss function, by the computing circuit, taking as inputs the first image, the indication, and the corrected image (Equation (3); Equation (4); Figure 10; and Paragraph [0149]: “In one embodiment, given input image Iin, initial binary mask M, and the predicted image Iout, generated by the neural network 210, the training primary relies on the computation of the per-pixel L1 loss for both valid and invalid pixels […] The total loss function used for training can combine the L1 loss functions of Equations 3 and 4 […] Each training sample in the training data set includes an input image corresponding to a ground truth target image, where a portion of the pixel data of the input image is invalidated by adding holes to the ground truth target image”).
Liu fails to teach the generation of a modified image, by a modified data generator, based on a first image, the modified image comprising at least one outlier pixel value with respect to the first image; and the correction of parameters associated with the network by backpropagation of the error in the network.
However, Huang teaches the generation of a modified image, by a modified data generator, based on a first image, the modified image comprising at least one outlier pixel value with respect to the first image (Figure 1; Paragraph [0034]: “[…] random density salt and pepper noise is added to these image blocks to obtain noise image blocks. At the same time, the position where the noise is added is marked as a white point, and other positions are marked as black points, and a noise mask corresponding to the noise image is generated”; and Paragraph [0043]: “At the same time, mark the position where noise is added each time and mark it as 1, while mark the pixels in the image where no noise is added as 0, thereby generating a noise mask”);
the supplying of the corrected image, by the network, and the supplying of an indication of the position of the at least one modified pixel, by the generator, to a computing circuit the generation of an error value, based on the application of a loss function, by the computing circuit, taking as inputs the first image, the indication, and the corrected image (Figure 1; Figure 7; Paragraph [0034]: “[…] random density salt and pepper noise is added to these image blocks to obtain noise image blocks. At the same time, the position where the noise is added is marked as a white point, and other positions are marked as black points, and a noise mask corresponding to the noise image is generated”; and Paragraph [0045]: “In order to achieve high-performance denoising, a DCNN needs to be trained, and the data fed to the DCNN is a "noisy image-clean image" pair. Among them, the noisy image is the input of DCNN, and the output of the convolutional neural network will be compared with the clean image to generate a loss function”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image reconstruction training method of Liu to generate modified training images by adding salt-and-pepper noise to selected pixels of original images and to generate corresponding noise-location masks, as taught by Huang, in order to improve the robustness of the training data and train the neural network to reconstruct images containing varying patterns of corrupted pixels. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to employ the noise generation technique and corresponding noise location information of Huang in the training framework of Liu, using the known noise locations to distinguish corrupted pixels from uncorrupted pixels during reconstruction-loss calculation. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Liu and Huang fail to teach the correction of parameters associated with the network by backpropagation of the error in the network. However, Yi teaches the correction of parameters associated with the network by backpropagation of the error in the network (Paragraph [0054]: “Backpropagation is an algorithm for training a DNN. Backpropagation is used to adjust (also referred to as update) a value of a parameter (e.g., a weight) in the DNN, so that the error (or loss) in the output becomes smaller […] Backpropagation calculates a gradient of the loss function with respect to the parameters of the DNN, and a gradient algorithm (e.g., gradient descent) is used to update the parameters to reduce the loss function. Backpropagation is performed iteratively, so that the loss function is converged or minimized”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further employ the backpropagation technique taught by Yi to update the parameters of the neural network in the modified training method of Liu and Huang, to reduce the calculated reconstruction error and improve the accuracy of the reconstructed image. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to modified image reconstruction network of Liu and Huang would have provided a known neural network training technique for minimizing the reconstruction loss and adjusting network parameters. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 1, where Yi teaches wherein the generation of the corrected image by the network comprises:
the generation, by a first sub-module, of an intermediate data value based on the modified image, the intermediate data item being an at least partial reconstruction of the first image (Figure 4; Paragraph [0087]: “The inpainting generator 101 is based on a two-stage coarse-to-fine framework including a coarse network 402 that generates coarse inpainting output”; Paragraph [0089]: “The coarse network 402 has a plurality of layers that encode the input to a feature map in a latent feature space, and a plurality of layers that decode the feature map to generate a predicted inpainting output in which the inside-mask area has been inpainted”; and Paragraph [0090]: “The coarse inpainting output is added to the low-resolution image at an addition operation 412, to replace the inside-mask area of the low-resolution image with the coarse inpainting output. The resulting coarse inpainted image is provided as input to the refine network 404”);
the generation, by a second sub-module of the network, of an attention data item based on one of the intermediate data item and/or of the modified image, the attention data item comprising an estimate of the location of the at least one modified pixel (Figure 3; Figure 4; Paragraph [0091]: “The highest-level feature map P is provided as input to an attention computing module 414, which computes contextual attention scores using the highest-level feature map. The attention scores are provided as input to a second attention transfer module 416, which performs attention transfer on each lower-level feature map Pl, and outputs respective contextualized feature maps”; Paragraph [0081]: “Instead, the attention scores may implicitly indicate the inside-mask area”; and Paragraph [0097]: “The attention computing module 414 calculates the similarity between regions corresponding to the outside-mask area (denoted as pi for the i-th outside-mask region) and regions corresponding to the inside-mask area (denoted as pj for the j-th inside-mask region)”);
the generation of the corrected image, by the first sub-circuit or by a third sub-circuit, based on the intermediate data item and on the indication data item (Figure 4; and Paragraph [0091]: “The attention scores are provided as input to a second attention transfer module 416, which performs attention transfer on each lower-level feature map Pl, and outputs respective contextualized feature maps. The contextualized feature maps (indicated in FIG. 4 by different shading) are concatenated to the respective feature map Pl for decoding by the decoding layers”).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 2, where Huang teaches wherein the generation of the attention data item comprises the execution of a convolutional neural network configured for image segmentation, based on the intermediate data item and/or on the corrected image (Figure 2; Paragraph [0012]: “S4. Denoise the noisy image: Use MCNN to mark the noise points in the image. For the pixels marked as noise points by MCNN, use the DCNN network model to denoise the noisy image”; Paragraph [0014]: “the MCNN network model includes several convolutional layers, the preferred range is 8 to 12 convolutional layers, and the optimum is 10 convolutional layers”; Paragraph [0036]: “The network uses the "noise image-noise mask" pair data set as training data, and uses the mean square error (mse) between the network output image and the ideal noise mask as the loss function”; and Paragraph [0050]: “Input a noisy image and use MCNN to mark the noise points in the image”).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 3, where Liu teaches wherein the convolutional neural network is a U-net type network or a variant of a U-net type network (Figure 8; and Paragraph [0118]: “The neural network 210 is a modified type of convolutional neural network (CNN), which can be referred to generally as a U-Net or a V-Net because of the structure and connections between each stage of the network. Like a conventional CNN, the neural network 210 includes an encoder that applies a number of partial convolution operations to an input 802 to extract feature information. The neural network 210 also includes a decoder that expands the feature information in pixel space and combines the feature information with spatial information forwarded from the stages of the encoder to generate the output 804”).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 3, where Yi teaches wherein the generation of the attention data item further comprises an NL1-type normalization, based on the data item generated by the convolutional neural network (Figure 4; Paragraph [0091]: “The highest-level feature map P is provided as input to an attention computing module 414, which computes contextual attention scores using the highest-level feature map”; Paragraph [0097]: “At the attention computing module 414, attention scores are calculated based on region affinity, based on the highest-level feature map P”; and Paragraph [0098]: “A softmax function is then applied on the similarity scores to obtain the attention score”).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 2, where Yi teaches wherein the generation of the corrected image comprises a multiplexing operation and/or a multiplication operation, for example a pointwise multiplication, based on the attention data item and on the intermediate data item (Figure 4; Paragraph [0091]: “The attention scores are provided as input to a second attention transfer module 416, which performs attention transfer on each lower-level feature map Pl, and outputs respective contextualized feature maps”; and Paragraph [0101]: “The second attention transfer module 416 uses the attention scores to generate contextualized regions to fill in the inside-mask area of each lower-level feature map Pl. This may be performed using a weighted aggregation operation, where the attention scores are used as the weights”).
Regarding claim(s) 7, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 1, wherein the generation of an error value comprises the application of a focal loss function taking, as input data, the modified image, the first image, and the indication of the location of the at least one modified pixel (where Liu teaches in Equation (3); Equation (4); Equation (11); Figure 10; Paragraph [0149]: “In one embodiment, given input image Iin, initial binary mask M, and the predicted image Iout, generated by the neural network 210, the training primary relies on the computation of the per-pixel L1 loss for both valid and invalid pixels […] The total loss function used for training can combine the L1 loss functions of Equations 3 and 4 […] Each training sample in the training data set includes an input image corresponding to a ground truth target image, where a portion of the pixel data of the input image is invalidated by adding holes to the ground truth target image”; and Paragraph [0155]: “the loss term weights wt, are determined by performing a hyper-parameter search over 100 validation images. In one exemplary case, appropriate weights for the total loss function”; and where Huang teaches in Paragraph [0043]: “At the same time, mark the position where noise is added each time and mark it as 1, while mark the pixels in the image where no noise is added as 0, thereby generating a noise mask”).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 7, where Liu teaches wherein the generation of an error value further comprises the application:
of a loss function based on an averaging taking, as input data, the modified image and the first image (Equation (3); Equation (4); Figure 10; and Paragraph [0149]: “In one embodiment, given input image Iin, initial binary mask M, and the predicted image Iout, generated by the neural network 210, the training primary relies on the computation of the per-pixel L1 loss for both valid and invalid pixels […] The total loss function used for training can combine the L1 loss functions of Equations 3 and 4 […] Each training sample in the training data set includes an input image corresponding to a ground truth target image, where a portion of the pixel data of the input image is invalidated by adding holes to the ground truth target image”); and/or
of a regularization function taking, as an input data item, the modified image (Equation (10); Paragraph [0153]: “In some embodiments, the total loss function can be augmented to account for a total variation loss component, which is a smoothing penalty for a region associated with a 1-pixel dilation of the hole region (i.e., around the edge of the hole regions)”; and Paragraph [0154]: “the total loss function is a weighted combination of all of the above loss components”).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 1, where Liu teaches wherein the first image is comprised in a database (Figure 10; and Paragraph [0156]: “the set of training data includes a large number of images collected from, e.g., photo databases and/or computer-generated video games. Each training sample in the training data set includes a ground truth target image and an input image that is a version of the ground truth target image including a number of holes”).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 1, wherein the generation of the modified image comprises, for each pixel:
the determination of whether the pixel is to be modified (where Liu teaches in Figure 10; and Paragraph [0150]: “a number of hole patterns are defined (e.g., thousands of hole patterns) and randomly applied to the ground truth target images to generate the input images”; and where Huang teaches in Figure 6; and Paragraph [0043]: “Based on the 70*70 image block generated above, random density salt and pepper noise is added to generate a noise image. At the same time, mark the position where noise is added each time and mark it as 1, while mark the pixels in the image where no noise is added as 0, thereby generating a noise mask”); and
where Huang teaches if the pixel is to be modified, the replacing of the value associated with the pixel by an outlier (Figure 1; Paragraph [0034]: “random density salt and pepper noise is added to these image blocks to obtain noise image blocks”; and Paragraph [0043]: “the noise image is obtained by adding noise on the basis of the image block. The noise mask marks the position where the noise is added as a white point, and the normal pixels are marked as black spots”).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner) and Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1), further in view of Kokura (US 2021/0358081 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 1, where Liu teaches wherein the generation of the modified image, by the modified data generator(Figure 6; Figure 10; Paragraph [0149]: “Each training sample in the training data set includes an input image corresponding to a ground truth target image, where a portion of the pixel data of the input image is invalidated by adding holes to the ground truth target image”; and Paragraph [0150]: “a number of hole patterns are defined (e.g., thousands of hole patterns) and randomly applied to the ground truth target images to generate the input images”).
Liu, Huang, and Yi fail to teach wherein the generation of the modified image, by the modified data generator, is further performed based on a mosaic pattern. However, Kokura teaches wherein the generation of the modified image, by the modified data generator, is further performed based on a mosaic pattern (Figure 5; Figure 6; Paragraph [0035]: “The data set generation unit 212 includes a channel separation unit 501, an R image noise addition unit 502, a G image noise addition unit 503, a B image noise addition unit 504, a mosaic image generation unit 505, a channel connection unit 506, and an image pair generation unit 507”; and Paragraph [0041]: “The mosaic image generation unit 505 samples the pixel values of the pixels R00, R02, R20, and R22 in accordance with a color filter array 605 among these 16 pixels and inputs them to the corresponding positions of a buffer 604”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the training-image generation process of Liu, as modified by Huang and Yi, by incorporating the mosaic-pattern-based image generation technique taught by Kokura, in order to generate noise-corrupted training images representative of images captured by color-filter-array image sensors. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to generate mosaic-pattern-based training images with added noise for training a demosaicing network, thereby improving the network's robustness to noise and reducing artifacts in reconstructed RGB images. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach image processing method comprising: but do not specifically teach the capture of an image scene, by an imager of an image processing device, the captured image being an image mosaiced according to a mosaic pattern the supplying of the mosaiced image to a neural network of the processing device trained according to the training method according to claim 1; and the generation of a corrected image, by the network, based on the mosaiced image.
However, Kokura teaches the capture of an image scene, by an imager of an image processing device, the captured image being an image mosaiced according to a mosaic pattern the supplying of the mosaiced image to a neural network of the processing device trained according to the training method according to claim 1 (Figure 1; Figure 3: “step S308”; Figure 4; Paragraph [0002]: “The image (RAW image) obtained by performing image capturing with a digital camera adopting the Bayer array color fitter will be a so-called mosaic image in which only the pixel value corresponding to one color of RGB is set to each pixel of the image capturing element”; Paragraph [0034]: “First, a received sample image 401 is a mosaic image in the Bayer format in which each pixel of the R (red) pixel, the G (green) pixel, and the B (blue) pixel is arranged regularly in the arrangement shown schematically”; and Paragraph [0051]: “an RGB image is obtained by inputting the input RAW image to the CNN (trained demosaic network) to which the updated network parameters have been applied and performing demosaic estimation by the same method as that performed in the demosaic learning unit 213”); and
the generation of a corrected image, by the network, based on the mosaiced image (Figure 3: “step S308”; and Paragraph [0051]: “At S308, the demosaic estimation unit 111 constructs the same CNN as that used in the learning in the demosaic learning unit 213 and demosaic the input RAW image. At this time, the existing network parameters are initialized by the updated network parameters received from the cloud server 200. After this, an RGB image is obtained by inputting the input RAW image to the CNN (trained demosaic network) to which the updated network parameters have been applied and performing demosaic estimation by the same method as that performed in the demosaic learning unit 213. The RGB image obtained by the demosaic estimation is sent to the noise reduction unit 112”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the neural network based image reconstruction method of Liu, as modified by Huang and Yi, by incorporating the CNN-based demosaicing technique taught by Kokura to process mosaiced RAW images captured by an imaging device and generate corrected images. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to improve the robustness of neural network based demosaicing against noise in captured RAW images, thereby reducing artifacts in reconstructed RGB images and improving image quality. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Liu as modified by Huang, Yi, and Kokura teach image processing method according to claim 13, where Kokura teaches wherein the mosaic pattern corresponds to a mosaic pattern used during the generation of a modified image during the training of the network (Figure 5; Figure 6; Paragraph [0035]: “The data set generation unit 212 includes a channel separation unit 501, an R image noise addition unit 502, a G image noise addition unit 503, a B image noise addition unit 504, a mosaic image generation unit 505, a channel connection unit 506, and an image pair generation unit 507”; and Paragraph [0041]: “The mosaic image generation unit 505 samples the pixel values of the pixels R00, R02, R20, and R22 in accordance with a color filter array 605 among these 16 pixels and inputs them to the corresponding positions of a buffer 604”).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach image processing device comprising: but do not specifically teach an imager configured to capture image scenes, according to a mosaic pattern; a neural network trained according to the training method according to claim 1, configured to generate a corrected image based on the mosaiced image.
However, Kokura teaches an imager configured to capture image scenes, according to a mosaic pattern (Figure 1; Figure 4; Paragraph [0002]: “The image (RAW image) obtained by performing image capturing with a digital camera adopting the Bayer array color fitter will be a so-called mosaic image in which only the pixel value corresponding to one color of RGB is set to each pixel of the image capturing element”; and Paragraph [0034]: “First, a received sample image 401 is a mosaic image in the Bayer format in which each pixel of the R (red) pixel, the G (green) pixel, and the B (blue) pixel is arranged regularly in the arrangement shown schematically”);
a neural network trained according to the training method according to claim 1, configured to generate a corrected image based on the mosaiced image (Figure 3: “step S308”; Paragraph [0030]: “the configuration may be one in which all the generation of learning data, demosaic learning, and demosaic estimation are performed in the digital camera 10 comprising both the function of the client PC 100 and the function of the cloud server 200.”; and Paragraph [0051]: “an RGB image is obtained by inputting the input RAW image to the CNN (trained demosaic network) to which the updated network parameters have been applied and performing demosaic estimation by the same method as that performed in the demosaic learning unit 213”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the neural network based image reconstruction technique of Liu, as modified by Huang and Yi, in an image processing device having a Bayer-pattern image sensor and a trained convolutional neural network, as taught by Kokura. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to integrate image acquisition and neural network based image processing into a digital camera, thereby enabling the captured mosaiced RAW images to be processed using a trained demosaicing network to generate reconstructed RGB images. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner) and Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1), further in view of Xu (US 2018/0373999 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Liu as modified by Huang and Yi teach method according to claim 1, but do not specifically teach wherein the model of the modified data generator is a neural network model previously trained in modified image generation, and configured for the implementation of so-called “style transfer” techniques.
However, Xu teaches wherein the model of the modified data generator is a neural network model previously trained in modified image generation, and configured for the implementation of so-called “style transfer” techniques (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0032]: “The style transformer network 21 is a feed-forward convolutional neural network with (or without) residual connections. This network can be trained to perform style transformation for different target styles, where each target style needs to be separately trained for”; Paragraph [0029]: “After the style transformer network is trained, it is used to transform the original training images obtained in step S12 into transformed training images (step S15)”; and Paragraph [0028]: “[…] the style transformer network learns to perform a style transformation that can transform an input image into a transformed image that (1) keeps the contents of the input image, (2) maintains the photorealistic quality of the input image, but (3) have a style that matches the style of the style target image (step S14)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the training-image generation process of Liu, as modified by Huang and Yi, by incorporating the previously trained neural style transformer network taught by Xu, in order to generate additional training images having different camera-specific imaging characteristics while preserving the original image content. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to generate additional training images through neural style transfer while preserving the original image content, thereby augmenting the training dataset and improving the generalizability of the neural network. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0295228 A1) in view of Huang et al (CN 116823652 A; See translation provided by Examiner), Yi et al (US 2021/0150678 A1), and Kokura (US 2021/0358081 A1), further in view of Dierickx (US 2006/0239580 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Liu as modified by Huang, Yi, and Kokura teach image processing method according to claim 13, wherein the generation of the corrected image by the network comprises:
the supplying of the mosaiced image to a first sub-module of the network configured to generate an intermediate data item by performing a first demosaicing of the mosaiced image (where Kokura teaches in Figure 3: “step S308”; and Paragraph [0051]: “At S308, the demosaic estimation unit 111 constructs the same CNN as that used in the learning in the demosaic learning unit 213 and demosaic the input RAW image. At this time, the existing network parameters are initialized by the updated network parameters received from the cloud server 200. After this, an RGB image is obtained by inputting the input RAW image to the CNN (trained demosaic network) to which the updated network parameters have been applied and performing demosaic estimation by the same method as that performed in the demosaic learning unit 213. The RGB image obtained by the demosaic estimation is sent to the noise reduction unit 112”; and where Yi teaches in Figure 4; Paragraph [0087]: “The inpainting generator 101 is based on a two-stage coarse-to-fine framework including a coarse network 402 that generates coarse inpainting output”; and Paragraph [0090]: “The coarse inpainting output is added to the low-resolution image at an addition operation 412, to replace the inside-mask area of the low-resolution image with the coarse inpainting output. The resulting coarse inpainted image is provided as input to the refine network 404”);
the supplying of the intermediate data item to a second sub-module of the network configured to generate an attention data item based on the intermediate data item, the attention data item comprising estimates of the location of (where Yi teaches in Figure 3; Figure 4; Paragraph [0091]: “The highest-level feature map P is provided as input to an attention computing module 414, which computes contextual attention scores using the highest-level feature map. The attention scores are provided as input to a second attention transfer module 416, which performs attention transfer on each lower-level feature map Pl, and outputs respective contextualized feature maps”; Paragraph [0081]: “Instead, the attention scores may implicitly indicate the inside-mask area”; and Paragraph [0097]: “The attention computing module 414 calculates the similarity between regions corresponding to the outside-mask area (denoted as pi for the i-th outside-mask region) and regions corresponding to the inside-mask area (denoted as pj for the j-th inside-mask region)”; and where Huang teaches in Paragraph [0036]: “The network uses the "noise image-noise mask" pair data set as training data, and uses the mean square error (mse) between the network output image and the ideal noise mask as the loss function”; and Paragraph [0050]: “Input a noisy image and use MCNN to mark the noise points in the image”); and
the generation of the corrected image, by a third sub-module, based on the intermediate data item and on the attention data item (where Yi teaches in Figure 4; and Paragraph [0091]: “The highest-level feature map P is provided as input to an attention computing module 414, which computes contextual attention scores using the highest-level feature map. The attention scores are provided as input to a second attention transfer module 416, which performs attention transfer on each lower-level feature map Pl, and outputs respective contextualized feature maps”; and where Huang teaches in Paragraph [0037]: “The network uses the "noisy image-clean image" pair data set as training data, and uses the mse between the network output image and the clean image as the loss function”; and Paragraph [0052]: “Input a noisy image, and use DCNN to denoise the pixels marked as noise by MCNN. Pixels marked as normal points by MCNN are not processed”).
Liu, Huang, Yi, and Kokura fail to teach the supplying of the intermediate data item to a second sub-module of the network configured to generate an attention data item based on the intermediate data item, the attention data item comprising estimates of the location of dysfunctional pixels of the imager.
However, Dierickx teaches the supplying of the intermediate data item to a second sub-module of the network configured to generate an attention data item based on the intermediate data item, the attention data item comprising estimates of the location of dysfunctional pixels of the imager (Figure 1; and Paragraph [0021]: “a finite number of pixels in an image sensor (e.g., image sensor 1000) may be defective or yield a signal that deviates visibly from the exact pixel value, as exemplified by defective pixel 110.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the neural network based image reconstruction method of Liu, as modified by Huang and Yi, by incorporating Kokura's CNN-based demosaicing technique into the initial reconstruction stage of Yi's coarse to fine architecture and applying the resulting network to mosaiced images captured by an image sensor having defective pixels, as taught by Dierickx. Further, it is obvious to incorporate Huang's neural network based noise location estimation into Yi's attention based refinement stage to generate attention information indicative of defective-pixel locations and use that information together with intermediate reconstructed image data to produce a corrected image. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to improve the reconstruction of mosaiced images affected by defective sensor pixels by combining neural network based demosaicing, defective pixel location estimation, and attention based image refinement, thereby reducing image artifacts and improving the quality of reconstructed images. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim(s) 17, Liu as modified by Huang, Yi, and Kokura teach image processing device according to claim 16 but do not specifically teach wherein the imager comprises one or a plurality of dysfunctional pixels. However, Dierickx teaches wherein the imager comprises one or a plurality of dysfunctional pixels (Figure 1; Figure 4; Paragraph [0037]: “Image sensor 1000 includes an imaging core 1010 and components associated with the operation of the imaging core. The imaging core 1010 includes a pixel matrix 1020 having an array of pixels (e.g., pixel 1021) and the corresponding driving and sensing circuitry for the pixel matrix 1020”; and Paragraph [0021]: “The example Bayer pattern 100 illustrated in FIG. 1 includes red (R), blue (B) and green (G) pixels and a defective pixel 110. Due to processing imperfections, statistics, etc., a finite number of pixels in an image sensor (e.g., image sensor 1000) may be defective or yield a signal that deviates visibly from the exact pixel value”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image processing device of Liu, as modified by Huang, Yi, and Kokura, by incorporating an image sensor having one or more defective pixels, as taught by Dierickx, such that the trained neural network processes mosaiced images captured by the image sensor to generate corrected images. The motivation for this combination of references would have been to reduce image artifacts caused by defective pixels in a Bayer-pattern image sensor by correcting inaccurate pixel values before they propagate into neighboring pixels during demosaicing, thereby improving the quality of reconstructed color images. This motivation is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Suthar et al (US 2024/0202874 A1) are relevant prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Suthar discloses a method comprising: obtaining multiple input image frames, at least two of the input image frames captured using different capture conditions; separating color channels of each of the input image frames; generating at least one bad pixel map for each color channel of each input image frame, wherein each bad pixel map is generated by identifying one or more outliers in pixel values in the corresponding color channel based on an intensity distribution of the pixel values in a specified operation window within the corresponding color channel, the specified operation window having a window size based on at least one of: the capture condition associated with the corresponding image frame and local image content in the corresponding image frame; combining the bad pixel maps associated with the color channels to produce at least one combined bad pixel map; performing a morphological operation to refine the at least one combined bad pixel map and produce at least one refined bad pixel map; and using one or more coordinates of one or more bad pixels identified in the at least one refined bad pixel map to update one or more pixel values of at least one of the input image frames.
Schafer et al (US 2020/0065945 A1) are relevant prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Schafer discloses one or more non-transitory computer readable media embodying a program of instructions executable by machine to perform operations for defective pixel correction, the operations comprising: receiving first and second training image datasets; performing adversarial training of a corrector and a classifier with the first and second training image datasets respectively, wherein the corrector is trained to correct a first input image and the classifier is trained to recognize whether a second input image is real or generated by the corrector; applying the trained corrector to a current image to generate a corrected image by correcting one or more defective pixels; and presenting the corrected image.
Conclusion
/JONGBONG NAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2674