DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2025 and 10/10/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 13-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et. al, henceforth Miao, (WO 2022134933 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20250247879 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miao teaches the limitations:
“A positioning method, wherein the method comprises: obtaining information about a plurality of satellite reference points” ([FIG. 4], steps 401-403 and [0106-0108], terminal receives ephemeris information of a satellite (ephemeris information is positioning information, thus in this context is equivalent to information about satellite reference points). [FIG. 3] and [0090] discloses a “single satellite” configuration where the same (service) satellite is positioned across different points (marked “satellite 1”, “satellite 2” and “satellite 3” in FIG. 3) in time, resulting in multiple “reference points” to be utilized by the terminal when obtaining ephemeris information from said points).
“determining time information corresponding to a service satellite” ([0061], satellite network sends time reference information to the terminal for processing / calibration of the reference time or the clock frequency).
Miao differs from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach:
“and reporting, to the service satellite, time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points and the time information corresponding to the service satellite, wherein the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points is determined based on the time information corresponding to the service satellite and the information about the plurality of satellite reference points”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Zhu teaches:
“and reporting, to the service satellite, time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points and the time information corresponding to the service satellite, wherein the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points is determined based on the time information corresponding to the service satellite and the information about the plurality of satellite reference points” ([0059-0061] discloses that a UE may send (report) time information (i.e. UE-satellite delay or TA values) to a network device. [0032] discloses that this network device may be a base station on a satellite. [0057] additionally discloses that this time information is based on the different terminal positions or network device positions (equivalent to information about the plurality of satellite reference points)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the reference point extraction feature of Miao with the information reporting feature of Zhu, for the advantage of more efficient positioning of a terminal through information exchanges between a device and multiple reference points of a single satellite.
Regarding claim 4, Zhu further teaches:
“wherein the reporting the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points includes reporting position information” ([0044], terminal device sends TA value information. [0045] discloses that the TA value information is based on positioning information (positions of the satellite and the terminal).
Regarding claim 5, Miao further teaches the limitation:
“wherein the obtaining the information about a plurality of satellite reference points includes: receiving the position information of the plurality of satellite reference points from the service satellite” ([FIG. 4], steps 401-403 and [0106] and [0108], terminal receives ephemeris information of a satellite (ephemeris information is positioning information, thus in this context is equivalent to information about satellite reference points)).
Regarding claim 6, Miao further teaches the limitation:
“wherein the reporting the position information of the plurality of satellite reference points includes reporting absolute coordinates, or the reporting the position information of the plurality of satellite reference points is includes relative coordinates relative to the service satellite” ([0091-0092], positioning information is transmitted between terminal and satellite. P1, P2 and P3 are included in the positioning information and are coordinates from the terminal to one or more satellites (fitting the definition of relative coordinates)).
Regarding claim 7, Miao further teaches:
“wherein the reporting the position of the plurality of satellite reference points includes reporting the position of the plurality of satellite reference points located on a moving trajectory of the service satellite and/or a moving trajectory of another satellite” ([0072], satellite position indication information includes both the moving speed, moving track and the specific position of the satellite. All three parameters relate to a satellite’s changing position (trajectory)).
Regarding claim 9, Miao further teaches the limitation:
“wherein the reporting the plurality of time points includes reporting absolute times, or the reporting the plurality of time points includes reporting relative times” ([0062], time reference information may include absolute time information or relative time information relative to a certain time point).
Regarding claim 10¸ Miao teaches the limitations:
“A communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus comprises: a processor, configured to obtain information about a plurality of satellite reference points, and to determine time information corresponding to a service satellite” ([0151], processor 610. [FIG. 4], steps 401-403 and [0106-0108], terminal receives ephemeris information of a satellite (ephemeris information is positioning information, thus in this context is equivalent to information about satellite reference points). [FIG. 3] and [0090] discloses a “single satellite” configuration where the same (service) satellite is positioned across different points in time, resulting in multiple “reference points” to be utilized by the terminal when obtaining ephemeris information from said points. [0061], satellite network sends time reference information to the terminal for processing / calibration (determination) of the reference time or the clock frequency).
Miao differs from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach:
“and a communication unit configured to report, to the service satellite, time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points and the time information corresponding to the service satellite, wherein the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points is determined based on the time information corresponding to the service satellite and the information about the plurality of satellite reference points”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Zhu teaches:
“and a communication unit configured to report, to the service satellite, time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points and the time information corresponding to the service satellite, wherein the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points is determined based on the time information corresponding to the service satellite and the information about the plurality of satellite reference points” ([0059-0061] discloses that a UE may send (report) time information (i.e. UE-satellite delay or TA values) to a network device. [0032] discloses that this network device may be a base station on a satellite. [0057] additionally discloses that this time information is based on the different terminal positions or network device positions (equivalent to information about the plurality of satellite reference points)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the reference point extraction feature of Miao with the information reporting feature of Zhu, for the advantage of more efficient positioning of a terminal through information exchanges between a device and multiple reference points of a single satellite.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu further teaches:
“wherein the information about the plurality of satellite reference points is position information” ([0044], terminal device sends TA value information. [0045] discloses that the TA value information is based on positioning information (positions of the satellite and the terminal), and thus itself in position information relating to the satellite’s reference points across different positions.
Regarding claim 14, Miao further teaches:
“wherein in response to obtaining the information about the plurality of satellite reference points, the processor is configured to: receive the position information of the plurality of satellite reference points from the service satellite by using the communication unit” [0102-0109], processor controls a transceiver as part of a network device. [FIG. 4], steps 401-403 and [0106] and [0108], terminal receives ephemeris information of a satellite (ephemeris information is positioning information, thus in this context it is equivalent to information about satellite reference points)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of Miao in view of the position information reception feature of Zhu, for the advantage of more efficiently positioning a device through the sending of positioning information from a satellite to a device.
Regarding claim 15, Miao further teaches the limitation:
“wherein the position information of the plurality of satellite reference points is absolute coordinates, or the position information of the plurality of satellite reference points is relative coordinates relative to the service satellite” ([0091-0092], positioning information is transmitted between terminal and satellite. P1, P2 and P3 are included in the positioning information and are coordinates from the terminal to one or more satellites (fitting the definition of relative coordinates)).
Regarding claim 16, Miao further teaches the limitation:
“wherein positions of the plurality of satellite reference points are located on a moving trajectory of the service satellite and/or a moving trajectory of another satellite” ([0072], satellite position indication information includes both the moving speed, moving track and the specific position of the satellite. All three parameters relate to a satellite’s changing position (trajectory)).
Regarding claim 18, Miao further teaches the limitation:
“wherein the plurality of time points are absolute times, or the plurality of time points are relative times” ([0062], time reference information may include absolute time information or relative time information relative to a certain time point).
Regarding claim 19, Miao teaches the limitations:
“A computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer storage medium stores computer-readable instructions” ([0194-0195], processor-readable storage medium),
“and in response to the computer- readable instructions running on a communication apparatus, the communication apparatus is configured for: obtaining information about a plurality of satellite reference points” ([FIG. 4], steps 401-403 and [0106] and [0108], terminal receives ephemeris information of a satellite (ephemeris information is positioning information, thus in this context is equivalent to information about satellite reference points). [FIG. 3] and [0090] discloses a “single satellite” configuration where the same (service) satellite is positioned across different points in time, resulting in multiple “reference points” to be utilized by the terminal when obtaining ephemeris information from said points).
“determining time information corresponding to a service satellite” ([FIG. 3], [0090], [0061], satellite network sends time reference information to the terminal for processing / calibration of the reference time or the clock frequency, which can be performed in FIG. 3’s single satellite configuration).
Miao differs from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach:
“and reporting, to the service satellite, time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points and the time information corresponding to the service satellite, wherein the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points is determined based on the time information corresponding to the service satellite and the information about the plurality of satellite reference points”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Zhu teaches:
“and reporting, to the service satellite, time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points and the time information corresponding to the service satellite, wherein the time information corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points is determined based on the time information corresponding to the service satellite and the information about the plurality of satellite reference points” ([0059-0061] discloses that a UE may send (report) time information (i.e. UE-satellite delay or TA values) to a network device. [0032] discloses that this network device may be a base station on a satellite. [0057] additionally discloses that this time information is based on the different terminal positions or network device positions (equivalent to information about the plurality of satellite reference points)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the reference point extraction feature of Miao with the information reporting feature of Zhu, for the advantage of more efficient positioning of a terminal through information exchanges between a device and multiple reference points of a single satellite.
Claims 8, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et. al, henceforth Miao, (WO 2022134933 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20250247879 A1), and in further in view of Lu (US 20260197788 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Miao and Zhu differs from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitation:
“wherein the reporting the position information about the plurality of satellite reference points includes reporting time points corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Lu teaches:
“wherein the reporting the position information about the plurality of satellite reference points includes reporting time points corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points” ([0038], [0046-0047], satellite coverage information may be sent between a network device (may be a satellite) and a UE. It includes different time points corresponding to the coverage of satellite signals at different points (can be considered equivalent to reference points)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the positioning information report feature as taught by Lu, for the advantage of more efficiently positioning a device by measuring and reporting time points associated with a satellite.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Miao and Zhu differs from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitation:
“wherein the information about the plurality of satellite reference points is time points corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Lu teaches:
“wherein the information about the plurality of satellite reference points is time points corresponding to the plurality of satellite reference points” ([0038], [0046-0047], satellite coverage information may be sent between a network device (may be a satellite) and a UE. It includes different time points corresponding to the coverage of satellite signals at different points (can be considered equivalent to reference points)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the positioning information report feature as taught by Lu, for the advantage of more efficiently positioning a device by measuring and reporting time points associated with a satellite.
Claims 2-3, 11-12, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao et. al, henceforth Miao, (WO 2022134933 A1) in view of Zhu (US 20250247879 A1), and further in view of Gu (EP 3846552 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Miao and Zhu differ from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitations:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a moment at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a frame number of a downlink signal of the service satellite”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which the downlink signal is sent by the service satellite”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which an uplink signal is sent to the service satellite”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a timing advance (TA) for sending an uplink signal to the service satellite”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gu teaches:
“The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a moment at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a frame number of a downlink signal of the service satellite”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which the downlink signal is sent by the service satellite”,
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which an uplink signal is sent to the service satellite” ([0029], UE time parameter K2 may be determined via a minimum round trip time. This round-trip time is defined as being the amount of time the uplink signal to a satellite lags behind a downlink signal from a satellite (essentially, the comparisons of when the uplink and downlink signals reach their respective destinations),
“or the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes determining a timing advance (TA) for sending an uplink signal to the service satellite”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the time information determination feature of Gu, for the advantage of efficiently positioning a device using time information determined through the measuring of time difference of receptions of both uplink and downlink signals between a device and satellite.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Miao and Zhu differ from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitations:
“wherein the determining time information corresponding to a service satellite includes: obtaining a common TA, wherein the common TA is used for representing a round trip delay from the service satellite to an uplink synchronization common point”,
“and determining, based on the common TA, the time information corresponding to the service satellite”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gu teaches:
“wherein the determining time information corresponding to a service satellite includes: obtaining a common TA, wherein the common TA is used for representing a round trip delay from the service satellite to an uplink synchronization common point” ([0028-0029], a minimum RTT is used as a fixed TA ([0025] discloses it as a “fixed TA part” (common TA) used by all UEs). [0029], this same RTT may be used to represent round trip delay between a UE and satellite),
“and determining, based on the common TA, the time information corresponding to the service satellite” ([0025-0029], The RTT may be used to represent round trip delay between a UE and satellite, and is used to further determine K2, a time parameter (part of time information) associated with the UE and satellite)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the TA-based time determination feature as taught by Gu, for the advantage of more efficiently positioning a device through time advance associated with a satellite.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Miao and Zhu differ from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitations:
“The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a moment at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a frame number of a downlink signal of the service satellite”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which the downlink signal is sent by the service satellite”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which an uplink signal is sent to the service satellite”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a timing advance (TA) for sending an uplink signal to the service satellite”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gu teaches:
“The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a moment at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a frame number of a downlink signal of the service satellite”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which the downlink signal is sent by the service satellite”,
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which an uplink signal is sent to the service satellite” ([0029], UE time parameter K2 may be determined via a minimum round trip time. This round-trip time is defined as being the amount of time the uplink signal to a satellite lags behind a downlink signal from a satellite (essentially, the comparisons of when the uplink and downlink signals reach their respective destinations),
“or the time information corresponding to the service satellite is a timing advance (TA) for sending an uplink signal to the service satellite”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the time information determination feature of Gu, for the advantage of efficiently positioning a device using time information determined through the measuring of time difference of receptions of both uplink and downlink signals between a device and satellite.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Miao and Zhu differ from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitations:
“wherein in response to the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite, the processor is configured to: obtain a common TA, wherein the common TA is used for representing a round trip delay from the service satellite to an uplink synchronization common point”,
“and determine, based on the common TA, the time information corresponding to the service satellite”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gu teaches:
“wherein in response to the determining the time information corresponding to the service satellite, the processor is configured to: obtain a common TA, wherein the common TA is used for representing a round trip delay from the service satellite to an uplink synchronization common point” ([0065-0066], base station (may be part of a satellite) includes a processor containing instructions. [0028-0029], a minimum RTT is used as a fixed TA ([0025] discloses it as a “common TA” used by all UEs). This same RTT may be used to represent round trip delay between a UE and satellite),
“and determine, based on the common TA, the time information corresponding to the service satellite” ([0029] The RTT may be used to represent round trip delay between a UE and satellite, and is used to further determine K2, a time parameter (part of time information) associated with the UE and satellite)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the TA-based time determination feature as taught by Gu, for the advantage of more efficiently positioning a device through time advance associated with a satellite.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Miao and Zhu differ from the claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach the limitations:
“The medium according to claim 19, wherein the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a moment at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a frame number of a downlink signal of the service satellite”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which the downlink signal is sent by the service satellite”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which an uplink signal is sent to the service satellite”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a timing advance (TA) for sending an uplink signal to the service satellite”.
However, pertaining to the same field of invention, Gu teaches:
“The medium according to claim 19, wherein the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a moment at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a frame number of a downlink signal of the service satellite”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which the downlink signal is sent by the service satellite”,
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a time difference between a time at which a downlink signal of the service satellite is received and a time at which an uplink signal is sent to the service satellite” ([0029], UE time parameter K2 may be determined via a minimum round trip time. This round-trip time is defined as being the amount of time the uplink signal to a satellite lags behind a downlink signal from a satellite (essentially, the comparisons of when the uplink and downlink signals reach their respective destinations),
“or the obtaining the time information corresponding to the service satellite includes obtaining a timing advance (TA) for sending an uplink signal to the service satellite”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the field of the claimed invention before the effective filing date to combine the limitations of the combination of Miao and Zhu with the time information determination feature of Gu, for the advantage of efficiently positioning a device using time information determined through the measuring of time difference of receptions of both uplink and downlink signals between a device and satellite.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN H. NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649