DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that an information disclosure statement (IDS) was not included in the electronic file wrapper of the instant application. Applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose information material to patentability as defined by 37 C.F.R. 1.56 (also see MPEP 2001).
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 3 and 10 contain the typo “Argo” in line 6 of claim 3 and line 6 of line 10, which should be “Argon”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the second dielectric layer" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, "the second dielectric layer" will be considered to mean "the first dielectric layer".
Claims 9-12 depend from claim 8 and, therefore, also contain this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0104562, hereafter Subbaraman ‘562) in view of Schumann (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0141954, hereafter Schumann ‘954).
Claim 1: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches a method of creating a printed circuit board ([0012]) comprising:
providing a core (101) having alignment marks (102), which correspond to the claimed fiducials, thereon and including a first circuit structure (104) (Fig. 1A, [0025]);
aligning a printer with the alignment markers based on optical images of the core including the alignment marks ([0026]), the component of the printer performing the optical alignment corresponding the claimed camera;
printing with the printer a first dielectric layer (105) on a first side of the core (Fig. 1B, [0026]); and
printing with the printer a second circuit structure (108, 109, 110) in the first dielectric layer (Fig. 1C, [0027]).
With respect to claim 1, Subbaraman ‘562 does not explicitly teach that the method includes printing a second one or more dielectric layer on a second side of the core, the second side reverse of the first side, and printing a third one or more circuit structure in the second dielectric layer on the second side of the core.
Schumann ‘954 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board ([0003]) comprising providing a core (1) having a first circuit structure (1C) (Figs. 8D and 10A, [0126], [0133]), forming a dielectric layer (2) on a first side of the core (Figs. 8E and 10A, [0127], [0133]), and forming a circuit structure (21) in the dielectric layer (Figs. 8F and 10C, [0128], [0135]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that applying the dielectric layer and the circuit structure in the dielectric layer can be performed on both a first side of the core and a second side opposite the first side (Figs. 8D-F and 10A-C, [0127], [0128]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board ([0017], [0020]). Both Schumann ‘954 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘954, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the steps of printing with the printer a first dielectric layer and printing with the printer a second circuit structure in the first dielectric layer in the method taught by Subbaraman ‘562 on both sides as taught by Schumann ‘954 because forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board, as taught by Schumann ‘954.
Claim 3: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches that the components of the printer can include an ink-jet head (abstract, [0026]).
Claim 4: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches that the core can be a flexible circuit board containing circuit structure designed to be flexible ([0012], [0025]).
Claim 7: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches that the method can further comprise printing with the printer an additional dielectric layer (111) and circuit structure (114) on the first side of the core (Figs. 1D-E, [0028], [0029]).
With respect to claim 7, the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 do not explicitly teach that the method includes printing an additional dielectric layer and circuit structure on the second side of the core.
Schumann ‘954 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board ([0003]) comprising providing a core (1) having a first circuit structure (1C) (Figs. 8D and 10A, [0126], [0133]), forming a dielectric layer (2) on a first side of the core (Figs. 8E and 10A, [0127], [0133]), forming a circuit structure (21) in the dielectric layer (Figs. 8F and 10C, [0128], [0135]), and forming an additional dielectric layer (5) and circuit structure (2P,2C) on the first side (Fig. 10C, [0135]) Schumann ‘954 teaches that applying the additional dielectric layer and the circuit structure can be performed on both a first side of the core and a second side opposite the first side (10C, [0135]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board ([0017], [0020]). Both Schumann ‘954 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘954, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the step of printing with the printer an additional dielectric layer and circuit structure in the method taught by the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 on both sides as taught by Schumann ‘954 because forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board, as taught by Schumann ‘954.
Claim 8: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches a method of creating a printed circuit board ([0012]) comprising:
providing a circuit structure core (101) having a masking layer (102, 103, 104) with alignment marks (102), which correspond to the claimed fiducials, thereon and defining a plurality of contact pads (103, 104) which could connect to a surface mounted device (Fig. 1A, [0025]);
aligning a printer with the alignment markers based on optical images of the core including the alignment marks ([0026]), the component of the printer performing the optical alignment corresponding the claimed camera;
printing with the printer a first dielectric layer (105) on a first side of the core (Fig. 1B, [0026]); and
printing with the printer a second circuit structure (108, 109, 110) in the first dielectric layer (Fig. 1C, [0027]).
With respect to claim 8, Subbaraman ‘562 does not explicitly teach that printing the first dielectric layer is performed on a second side of the circuit structure, the second side reverse of the first side.
Schumann ‘954 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board ([0003]) comprising providing a core (1) having a first circuit structure (1C) (Figs. 8D and 10A, [0126], [0133]), forming a dielectric layer (2) on a first side of the core (Figs. 8E and 10A, [0127], [0133]), and forming a circuit structure (21) in the dielectric layer (Figs. 8F and 10C, [0128], [0135]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that applying the dielectric layer and the circuit structure in the dielectric layer can be performed on both a first side of the core and a second side opposite the first side (Figs. 8D-F and 10A-C, [0127], [0128]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board ([0017], [0020]). Both Schumann ‘954 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘954, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the steps of printing with the printer a first dielectric layer and printing with the printer a second circuit structure in the first dielectric layer in the method taught by Subbaraman ‘562 on both sides as taught by Schumann ‘954 because forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board, as taught by Schumann ‘954.
Claim 10: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches that the components of the printer can include an ink-jet head (abstract, [0026]).
Claim 11: Subbaraman ‘562 teaches that the method can further comprise printing with the printer an additional dielectric layer (111) and circuit structure (114) on the first side of the circuit structure core (Figs. 1D-E, [0028], [0029]).
With respect to claim 11, the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 do not explicitly teach that the method includes printing an additional dielectric layer and circuit structure on the second side of the circuit structure core.
Schumann ‘954 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board ([0003]) comprising providing a circuit structure core (1) having a first circuit structure (1C) (Figs. 8D and 10A, [0126], [0133]), forming a dielectric layer (2) on a first side of the core (Figs. 8E and 10A, [0127], [0133]), forming a circuit structure (21) in the dielectric layer (Figs. 8F and 10C, [0128], [0135]), and forming an additional dielectric layer (5) and circuit structure (2P,2C) on the first side (Fig. 10C, [0135]) Schumann ‘954 teaches that applying the additional dielectric layer and the circuit structure can be performed on both a first side of the core and a second side opposite the first side (10C, [0135]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board ([0017], [0020]). Both Schumann ‘954 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘954, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the step of printing with the printer an additional dielectric layer and circuit structure in the method taught by the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 on both sides as taught by Schumann ‘954 because forming the layers on both sides of the core allows for the inclusion of more wiring layers on the printed circuit board, as taught by Schumann ‘954.
Claim 12: With respect to claim 12, the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 do not explicitly teach that the method comprises mounting one or more SMT components to the plurality of contact pads.
Schumann ‘954 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board ([0003]) comprising providing a circuit structure core (1) having a first circuit structure (1C) (Figs. 8D and 10A, [0126], [0133]), including a plurality of connection pads ([0011]). Schumann ‘954 teaches that the method can further comprise mounting electronic components, which correspond to the claimed SMT components, on the connection pads ([0011], [0012]). Both Schumann ‘954 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘954, [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the step of mounting electronic components on the connection pads taught by Schumann ‘954 to the method taught by the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 because it would have been a combination of prior art elements that would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al. ‘562 in view of Schumann ‘954 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0118602, hereafter Lee ‘602).
Claim 2: The modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 teach the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. With respect to claim 2, they do not explicitly teach that the method comprises laminating a plurality of conductive layers together with one or more prepreg layers between adjacent conductive layers to form the core.
Lee ‘602 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board (abstract) comprising providing a core (101, 102a, 102b) (Fig. 7a, [0089]), applying a first dielectric (103a) on a first side of the core (Fig. 7a, [0086], [0089]), applying a first circuit (104a) on the first dielectric (Fig. 7a, [0089]), applying a second dielectric (103b) on a second side of the core reverse of the first side (Fig. 7a, [0086], [0089]), and applying a second circuit (104b) on the second dielectric (Fig. 7a, [0089]). Lee ‘602 teaches that forming the core can comprise laminating two copper layers (102a, 102b) together with a prepreg layer (101) between the copper layers (Fig. 7a, [0089]). Both Lee ‘602 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘602, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the step of forming the core by laminating two copper layers together with a prepreg layer between the copper layers taught by Lee ‘602 to the method taught by the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 because it would have been a combination of prior art elements that would have yielded predictable results.
Claim 9: The modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 teach the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. With respect to claim 9, they do not explicitly teach that the method comprises laminating a plurality of conductive layers together with one or more prepreg layers between adjacent conductive layers to form the circuit structure core.
Lee ‘602 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board (abstract) comprising providing a circuit structure core (101, 102a, 102b) (Fig. 7a, [0089]), applying a first dielectric (103a) on a first side of the core (Fig. 7a, [0086], [0089]), applying a first circuit (104a) on the first dielectric (Fig. 7a, [0089]), applying a second dielectric (103b) on a second side of the core reverse of the first side (Fig. 7a, [0086], [0089]), and applying a second circuit (104b) on the second dielectric (Fig. 7a, [0089]). Lee ‘602 teaches that forming the core can comprise laminating two copper layers (102a, 102b) together with a prepreg layer (101) between the copper layers (Fig. 7a, [0089]). Both Lee ‘602 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘602, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the step of forming the circuit structure core by laminating two copper layers together with a prepreg layer between the copper layers taught by Lee ‘602 to the method taught by the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 because it would have been a combination of prior art elements that would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al. ‘562 in view of Schumann ‘954 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0408552, hereafter Cheng ‘552).
Claims 5-6: The modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 teach the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above. With respect to claim 5, they do not explicitly teach that the first dielectric layer, second circuit structure, second dielectric layer, and third circuit structure are disposed in one or more rigid regions of the PCB, which is a rigid-flex PCB having one or more flexible regions which are distinct from the one or more rigid regions. With respect to claim 6, they do not explicitly teach that printing the first dielectric layer, second circuit structure, second dielectric layer, and third circuit structure includes avoiding printing in the one or more flexible regions.
Cheng ‘552 teaches a method of making a printed circuit board (abstract). Cheng ‘552 teaches that the printed circuit board can be a rigid-flex PCB (11) having a flexible region (112) which is distinct from the rigid regions (111) (Fig. 1A, [0027]) where the circuitry layers are deposited only in the rigid regions (Fig. 1A, [0027]). Cheng ‘552 teaches that this structure allows attaching modules in the flexible region while decreasing device thickness while increasing yield rate of device production ([0007]-[0009]). Both Cheng ‘552 and Subbaraman ‘562 teach methods of making a printed circuit board (‘562, [0012]; ‘552, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the printed circuit board be a rigid-flex PCB having a flexible region which is distinct from the rigid regions where the circuitry layers are deposited only in the rigid regions as taught by Cheng ‘552 in the method taught by the modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 because this structure allows attaching modules in the flexible region while decreasing device thickness while increasing yield rate of device production, as taught by Cheng ‘552.
The modified teachings of Subbaraman ‘562 teach that the circuitry layers, which would include the dielectric layers and circuit structures, are deposited only in the rigid regions of the PCB, as discussed above. Therefore, printing these layers avoids the flexible regions.
Conclusion
/BG/
/SHAMIM AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713