DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 6 include the limitations “the information is mathematically expressed using the coding information and image data of the images”. It is not readily apparent what mathematical expression is output from the image sensor. For purposes of art rejection, broadest reasonable interpretation will be exercised.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosaka (US 2007/0153335).
Regarding claim 1, Hosaka discloses an imaging system comprising: a coding element (fig. 6; ¶75); an image sensor (101) that, in operation, detects light from the coding element (¶78); and one or more processor that, in operation, generates images by executing image reconstruction process based on a color image output from the image sensor, the color image including information corresponding to red wavelength band, green wavelength band, and blue wavelength band, wherein the images correspond one-to-one to four or more wavelength bands (RGBA) (fig. 8; ¶81-84).
Regarding claim 2, Hosaka discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosaka also teaches further comprising: a red filter that transmits light in the red wavelength band; a green filter that transmits light in the green wavelength band; and a blue filter that transmits light in the blue wavelength band (fig. 8; ¶81).
Regarding claim 3, Hosaka discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosaka also teaches wherein the one or more processors generates the images based on coding information, the coding element has transmission spectra in a wavelength range including the four or more wavelength bands, and the coding information corresponds to the transmission spectra (fig. 8; ¶75, 81-84).
Regarding claim 4, Hosaka discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosaka also teaches wherein the one or more processors generates the images based on coding information, the coding element has transmission spectra in a wavelength range including the four or more wavelength bands, the image sensor outputs information when the image sensor detects the light, and the information is
Regarding claim 5, Hosaka discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosaka also teaches wherein the one or more processors generates the images based on coding information, the coding element includes filters, the filters correspond one-to-one to transmission spectra in a wavelength range including the four or more wavelength bands, transmission spectra are different from each other, and the coding information corresponds to the transmission spectra (fig. 6, 8; ¶75, 81-84).
Regarding claim 6, Hosaka discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosaka also teaches wherein the one or more processors generates the images based on coding information, the coding element includes filters, the filters correspond one-to-one to transmission spectra in a wavelength range including the four or more wavelength bands, transmission spectra are different from each other, the image sensor outputs information when the image sensor detects the light, and the information is
Claim 8 is rejected as applied to claim 1 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Hosaka.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka in view of Lee (US 2015/0285677).
Regarding claim 7, Hosaka discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hosaka also teaches wherein the coding element has transmission spectra in a wavelength range including the four or more wavelength bands (fig. 6, 8; ¶75, 81-84). Hosaka fails to explicitly disclose wherein the coding element has transmission spectra in a wavelength range including the four or more wavelength bands, and each of the transmission spectra includes peaks.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches spectrometry apparatus with multiple optical filters with mutually different transmittance, for example, the filter having the random transmittance function represents a graph that sharply varies with numerous peak values throughout the whole wavelength band instead of the specific point in the range of 400 nm to 800 nm, and the filter having the random transmittance function may have at least three random peak values…the non-ideal filter has a single peak value or two peak . The device includes RGB filters (fig. 5; ¶31). In light of the teaching of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Lee’s teaching in Hosaka’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in improving the resolution of a spectroscopic apparatus using a digital signal processing device, and suggests a spectroscopic apparatus and a spectroscopic method, capable of improving the accuracy of a spectrum.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639