DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20160057851A1) in view of Zhang (US20190208619A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method for measuring crosstalk between two ports in an electronic circuit, the electronic circuit having a plurality of ports ([0048-0056]; Figs. 6-10).
determining two ports of interest of the electronic circuit to measure crosstalk in between (wherein measured ports 720 and 722 are provided for FEXT measurement and measured ports 920 and 922 are provided for NEXT measurement ([0050-0052], [0055-0056]; Figs. 7-10).
determining two or more ports of the electronic circuit to be terminated, independent from the two ports of interest (wherein open ports 724 and 726 are separate from measured ports 720 and 722, and open ports 924 and 926 are separate from measured ports 920 and 922 ([0052, 0055]; Figs. 7 and 9)).
covering the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated with a piece of absorber sheet (wherein layers of absorbing material 810 and 812 cover open ports 724 and 726, and absorbing material 1010 covers open ports 924 and 926 to provide effective termination ([0053, 0056]; Figs. 8 and 10)).
applying pressure to the piece of absorber sheet (wherein the absorbing material may be applied to the substrate and retained in place by fastening, gluing, applying pressure, or other methods known in the art ([0053, 0056])).
such that the piece of absorber sheet absorbs electromagnetic signals traveling into the ports determined to be terminated, thereby terminating the ports determined to be terminated (wherein the absorbing material substantially terminates signals traveling to open ports 724 and 726 and provides effective termination of signals traveling to open ports 924 and 926, with electromagnetic waves entering the absorbing material attenuating and dissipating as heat ([0052-0057]; Figs. 7-10).
measuring crosstalk between the ports of interest (wherein Figs. 7-8 are directed to FEXT measurements and Figs. 9-10 are directed to NEXT measurements ([0049-0050]; Figs. 7 -10)).
Huang does not expressly teach the electronic circuit having a via structure associated
with each of the plurality of ports or applying pressure to the piece of absorber sheet to
create a contact to the via structure associated with each of the ports determined to be terminated.
Zhang in a relevant art teaches a PCB having a via associated with a signal path and electromagnetic absorbing material coupled to the via ([0007]), further teaches electromagnetic absorbing material attached directly underneath the stub of a via, wherein the material absorbs signal propagating down the via stub and reduces or eliminates reflected signal energy ([0048-0050]; Fig. 6), and electromagnetic absorbing material coaxially surrounding and attached to a portion of a via stub ([0061-0063]; Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the open ports and absorbing terminators of Huang with the absorber to via arrangement taught by Zhang, in order to absorb signal energy propagating into the via and reduce reflected signal energy, thereby providing the absorber contact with the associated via when Huang's absorber is retained by the expressly taught application of pressure.
Regarding claims 2, 15, Huang as modified further teaches wherein said determining two or more ports of the electronic circuit to be terminated comprises selecting two or more unused ports (wherein Huang identifies open ports 724 and 726 separate from measured ports 720 and 722 and applies absorbing material to the open ports to substantially terminate signals traveling thereto ([0052-0053]; Figs. 7-8). Huang likewise identifies open ports 924 and 926 separate from measured ports 920 and 922 and applies absorbing material thereto to provide effective termination ([0055-0056]; Figs. 9-10).
Regarding claims 3, 16, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein the electromagnetic signals comprise microwave frequency signals.
Zhang teaches high speed signals propagating through PCB signal paths and vias and
evaluates electromagnetic absorbing material over frequencies extending through the GHz
range, including approximately 3-4 GHz and 15 GHz ([0004, 0050-0053]; Figs. 11 - 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the open ports and absorbing terminators of Huang with the absorber to via arrangement taught by Zhang, in order to gain substantial improvement in the insertion loss and also leads to a larger data eye as well as a reduction in crosstalk between adjacent stubs [0050].
Regarding claims 4, 17, 19, Huang as modified further teaches (wherein the absorber sheet comprises a foam-like sheet (the absorbing material may comprise commercially available absorbing materials provided in various forms, including foam, plastic, adhesive/glue, tape, or film ([0016])).
Regarding claims 6, 18, Huang as modified further teaches wherein said covering the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated comprises covering the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated with a single piece of monolithic absorber sheet material configured to cover the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated (at least one layer of absorbing material 1010 applied over open ports 924
and 926, wherein the layer covers both ports and provides effective termination of signals
traveling thereto [0056]; Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, Huang as modified further teaches (wherein said covering the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated comprises covering each of the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated with a separate piece of the absorber sheet (separate layers of absorbing material 810 and 812 applied respectively to open ports 724 and 726, covering the respective ports to provide effective termination of signals traveling thereto ([0053]; Fig. 8)).
Regarding claim 8, Huang as modified further teaches wherein the electronic circuit comprises a high frequency electronic circuit (PCB interconnects carrying high speed electrical signals and absorbing material selected according to the resonant frequency of reflected signals ([0014-0016, 0057-0067])).
Regarding claim 9, Huang as modified further teaches (further comprising assembling the electronic circuit (method comprising forming at least one interconnect on a printed circuit board (PCB) assembly, disposing a connecting component of the interconnect on the PCB, and applying absorbing material to the connecting component ([0095-0097]; claims 16-19).
Regarding claim 10, Huang as modified further teaches (wherein said measuring crosstalk between the ports of interest comprises measuring near-end crosstalk between the two ports of interest (the arrangement of first and second transmission lines enables measurements of near end cross talk (NEXT) associated with the electrical signal ([0049-0050]; Figs. 6, 9-10; claim 7).
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified further teaches (wherein said measuring crosstalk between the ports of interest comprises measuring far end crosstalk between the two ports of interest (absorbing terminators in PCB assemblies configured for far end cross talk (FEXT) measurements ([0044-0046, 0050-0053]; Figs. 4, 7-8; claim 5).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches a method for measuring crosstalk between two ports in an electronic circuit, the electronic circuit having a plurality of ports ([0048-0056]; Figs. 6-10),
selecting two ports of interest of the electronic circuit to measure the cross talk in between (wherein measured ports 720 and 722 are provided for FEXT measurements and measured ports 920 and 922 are provided for NEXT measurements ([0050-0052, 0055-0056]; Figs. 7-10).
selecting one or more ports of the electronic circuit to be terminated, independent from the ports of interest (wherein open ports 724 and 726 are separate from measured ports 720 and 722, and open ports 924 and 926 are separate from measured ports 920 and 922 ([0052, 0055]; Figs. 7 and 9).
covering the ports of the electronic circuit determined to be terminated with an absorber material (wherein absorbing material 810 and 812 covers open ports 724 and 726 and absorbing material 1010 covers open ports 924 and 926 to provide effective termination ([0053, 0056]; Figs. 8 and 10).
applying pressure to the absorber material (wherein the absorbing material may be retained in place by fastening, gluing, applying pressure, or other methods known in the art ([0053, 0056]).
wherein the absorber material absorbs electromagnetic signals traveling into the ports determined to be terminated, thereby terminating the ports determined to be terminated (wherein absorbing material is applied to the open ports to substantially terminate signals traveling thereto and electromagnetic waves entering the absorbing material attenuate and dissipate as heat ([0052-0057]).
measuring crosstalk between the ports of interest (including FEXT and NEXT measurements ([0049-0050]; Figs. 7-10).
Huang does not expressly teach "a via structure associated with each of the plurality of ports" or "applying pressure to the absorber material to create a contact to the via structure associated with each of the ports determined to be terminated."
Zhang in a relevant art teaches a PCB having a via associated with a signal path and electromagnetic absorbing material coupled to the via ([0007]), including absorber material directly underneath a via stub and absorber material surrounding and attached to a portion of a via stub, such that signal energy propagating down the via is absorbed ([0048-0050, 0061-0063]; Figs. 6 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the open ports and absorbing terminators of Huang with the absorber to via arrangement taught by Zhang in order to absorb signal energy propagating into the via and reduce reflected signal energy, thereby providing absorber contact with the associated via when Huang's absorber is retained by the expressly taught application of pressure.
Regarding claim 13, Huang as modified further teaches wherein the absorber material comprises a portion of an absorber sheet (layers of absorbing material 810,812 and 1010 covering the respective open ports and portions of the transmission lines forming the ports ([0053, 0056]; Figs. 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 14, Huang teaches a method for mitigating crosstalk between two or more ports in an electronic circuit, the electronic circuit having a plurality of ports (wherein absorbing terminators are used in a PCB assembly having multiple ports and transmission lines to absorb unwanted signal energy associated with crosstalk ([0044-0057]; Figs. 4, 6-10).
identifying two or more ports of the electronic circuit in use and potentially subject to crosstalk (wherein measured ports 720 and 722 and measured ports 920 and 922 correspond to transmission line ports used for FEXT and NEXT measurements, respectively ([0050-0056]; Figs. 7-10).
selecting one or more ports of the electronic circuit to be terminated, wherein the selected ports to be terminated are independent from and different than the identified in use ports (wherein open ports 724 and 726 are distinct from measured ports 720 and 722 and open ports 924 and 926 are distinct from measured ports 920 and 922 ([0052, 0055]; Figs. 7 and 9).
covering the one or more selected ports of the electronic circuit to be terminated with an absorber material (wherein absorbing material covers open ports 724/726 and 924/926 to provide effective termination ([0053, 0056]; Figs. 8 and 10).
applying pressure to the absorber material (wherein the absorber may be retained by applying pressure ([0053, 0056])).
wherein the absorber material absorbs electromagnetic signals traveling into the selected ports to be terminated, thereby terminating the selected ports to be terminated (wherein the absorber substantially terminates signals traveling to the open ports and electromagnetic waves entering the absorber attenuate and dissipate as heat ([0052-0057]).
Huang does not expressly teach the claimed via structure/contact relationship.
Zhang teaches a PCB having vias carrying signals and electromagnetic absorbing material coupled or attached to the vias to absorb signal energy propagating along the via and reduce reflected signal energy ([0007, 0048-0050, 0061-0063]; Figs. 6 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Huang's absorber terminated ports with Zhang's absorber to via arrangement in order to absorb signal energy propagating into the via and reduce reflected signal energy, thereby providing absorber contact with the associated via when Huang's absorber is retained by application of pressure.
Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US20160057851A1), Zhang (US20190208619A1) as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above and further in view of De Vos (US20050079892A1).
Regarding claims 5, 20, Huang as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the absorber sheet is formed of one or more absorber materials having an attenuation in an inclusive range from 22 dB/cm to 26 dB/cm at 3 GHz.
However De Vos in a relevant art teaches that the absorption material is a thin sheet of silicon rubber blend together with magnetic particles," that the material has "a very high attenuation at UHF bands," and expressly teaches that "the attenuation is approximately 15 dB/cm at 1 GHz, and 24 dB/cm at 3 GHz." ([0031]). Thus, the expressly disclosed 24 dB/cm at 3 GHz falls within the claimed inclusive range of 22 dB/cm to 26 dB/cm at 3 GHz, further teaches that absorption material is incorporated in an electronic card to avoid adverse effects from electromagnetic radiation and that the absorption material is selected to provide high insertion loss at the frequencies concerned ([0011, 0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the absorber material taught by De Vos as the absorber material of Huang, as modified by Zhang, to provide a known electromagnetic absorbing sheet having high attenuation at the operating frequencies, wherein De Vos expressly teaches an attenuation of 24 dB/cm at 3 GHz.
Conclusion
2. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Straka (US 8052483) providing a circuit board in direct contact with the plug interface contacts and located at the plug interface contacts beyond where the plug makes electrical contact with the plug interface contacts; and compensating at the circuit board for substantially all of the crosstalk of the plug for at least one combination of the conductive path pairs
/TAQI R NASIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858